Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

syndicate

Options
  • 23-01-2012 10:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

me and a few of my buddys want to buy a greyhound and would like to know is it difficult to train a greyhound yourself or is a trainer expensive.we all have other types of dogs and have been talking about doing it for a while now.also is it difficult to enter races.where do we start?:confused:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pugw

Firstly I just want to state that Im no expert but I have been doing a bit of research about getting into the sport myself. Are you looking for a track dog or a coursing dog? I reckon you would probably get more value (in terms of race entries and nights out) from a track dog but coursing there is more of a buzz going coursing! There is a nice bit of info on this document http://www.teagasc.ie/ruraldev/docs/factsheets/58_GREYHOUNDS.pdf Off the cuff you could be looking at spending maybe 1-2grand on the dog and 50+ a week to have it trained! Take your time and go to a a few race meetings and sales, speak to a trainer near you. If you decide to train it yourself it would be a great help if you befriend someone who owns and trains their own dogs as they could advise you and help you get started.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭makita

Check this out can't go wrong http://www.igb.ie/Trainers-Landing/SyndicationI/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 bignob7

would you recommend buying a pup and can you start training it young?

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭makita