Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

beef price tracker

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Cassidy2

Any quotes for next week.staying the same around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Hershall

Cassidy2 wrote: »
    Any quotes for next week.staying the same around here

Not as fussy about weight or age of steers anyway. No shift on the quotes though!!!

Hershall wrote: »
    Not as fussy about weight or age of steers anyway. No shift on the quotes though!!!

Is there much cattle around.heard cattle in northern Ireland are getting scarce

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

Hershall wrote: »

I was told by liffey meats that the were offering 3.85 on the grid for bullocks up to 420kg but for bullocks over 420kg the were offering 3.70 flat price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

I think that craic will become the norm. These heavier carcasses are not wanted unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Hershall

Is there much cattle around.heard cattle in northern Ireland are getting scarce

They're getting into enough of them at the moment anyway but not leaving them behind where possible. Fight your corner its no good but every little helps!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 247 ✭✭primary 2

i was talking to an agent last night,he rang me 3 90 on the grid for steers,age not a problem and no cuts on weight under 420kg, if i wanted to deal i would of probally got no weight limits and maybe 3 95,he usually leaves a bit of room to play around with

primary 2 wrote: »
    i was talking to an agent last night,he rang me 3 90 on the grid for steers,age not a problem and no cuts on weight under 420kg, if i wanted to deal i would of probally got no weight limits and maybe 3 95,he usually leaves a bit of room to play around with

What Factory does he represent?

restive wrote: »
    What Factory does he represent?

he usually buys for slaney

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭tommy5678

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

he's near 3 year old but only looks about 350m- 400 kg. who would kill him for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

3.90 to 420 kgs as long as under 36 months. slaney Liffey meats hacketstown, abp Waterford.

Willfarman wrote: »
    3.90 to 420 kgs as long as under 36 months. slaney Liffey meats hacketstown, abp Waterford.

what were you quoted last week? there seems to be a bit more of interest since christmas,do you think they might start to rise a bit?

Any word of bulls.is there anymore than 3.90 and 3.80 to be got?

what were you quoted last week? there seems to be a bit more of interest since christmas,do you think they might start to rise a bit?

Yes they will rise a bit I think but nothing dramatic and no way would I hold back fit cattle. Quotes are last week yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭epfff

Same here

Seems to be no problem getting them in atm
    Will take the heavier ones any day now too but still cutting

As it goes on I think all predictions are just a shot in the dark for this year

Sheds well cleared here very cautious to replace as stores too dear

I think that's the height of it cas. Not my forte but from anyone I've talked to the job is sluggish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

I think that's the height of it cas. Not my forte but from anyone I've talked to the job is sluggish.

U16 or U24 mts lads?

Yes they will rise a bit I think but nothing dramatic and no way would I hold back fit cattle. Quotes are last week yes.

if they went up to maybe 4 or 4 05 base by the end of the month it wouldnt be to bad

U16 or U24 mts lads?

Under 24.

if they went up to maybe 4 or 4 05 base by the end of the month it wouldnt be to bad

Yes it'd keep a bottom in the bucket at least.

Under 24.

Goodman clough
    You are lucky you have a well paid job

That's optimistic

how do you see things going yourself?

That's optimistic

Who was the hard seller here about a year and half ago that didn't sell that many but always got more than quotes?
    It bugging me to know if they still managing it

tommy5678 wrote: »

Would an animal like this put on weight if fed over the summer or has he reached his natural limit?

epfff wrote: »
    Who was the hard seller here about a year and half ago that didn't sell that many but always got more than quotes?
    It bugging me to know if they still managing it

It easy enough to spew ****e on this about getting pie in the sky but that's all it is.
    The cartel is ,was ,
    and will be the tail tail wagging the dog for the foreseeable future..

how do you see things going yourself?

I like to see things rising but if it does it will be small and slow.when cattle are fit Imo you have to kill them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Goodman clough
    You are lucky you have a well paid job

Your point being?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,990 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It is not so much is he worth it as is he worth the gamble. the gamble is can you get him to 300kgs DW by September with flesh on him. That means 600-630kgs LW. He may grow or he might flesh out. At 3.3/kg he would come into a thousand euro.
    restive wrote: »
    Would an animal like this put on weight if fed over the summer or has he reached his natural limit?

Friesians are funny animals they tend to grow when you least expect. Hard to gauge his weight but he could be anything from 350-420 kgs. If he was the upper end he is well worth it. At the lower end I might still chance him for grass. Only thing is he want to be well gone before next Christmas with all the young cattle that will come on stream.

It is unlikely there be a price rise before late April/May and might be June. The lads that were quietly getting 4.2 of a base during August and September put too many cattle into the shed. Along with young cattle coming fit off grass and put in shed in good condition loads of finished cattle around. It a case of suck em and see. As a lad said during the week to me ''what Larry give Larry takes away''. He is you friend today he piss in you tomorrow. Translated as he is you friend in August and screws during the winter. I taught all the big lad got contracts for the winter. They usually get a few cent more than the rest of us.

There was a load of fellas here that had good contacts with agents during the summer. They were able to forecast every price fall from late July on. These boys will surly be in the know about what is happening. 3.90-3.95 is the base. It will remain more or less at that unless Larry feels sorry for you. No processor is interested in bulls unless cattle are scarce. Donegal Meats might be paying a bit more than the average.

As a gambling man I say the base will be over 4.25 in July like last year. Then is the time to have cattle.

Slava Ukrainii

Somebody thinks he is he was sold yesterday before midday. Was going to head with the small box behind the van after work. You can't win them all.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭tanko

Any ideas what could be got for a couple of 34 month old non QA R grade LimX heifers approx 330kgs DW?

tanko wrote: »
    Any ideas what could be got for a couple of 34 month old non QA R grade LimX heifers approx 330kgs DW?

Very insulted
    Is first answer I can think of

Week after Xmas I heard of aax heifers 27 months getting 360
    Heard same price for u grade bullocks about 34 months (not as reliable)
    Very hard round here to get anywhere to entertain you with them

epfff wrote: »
    Very insulted
    Is first answer I can think of

Week after Xmas I heard of aax heifers 27 months getting 360
    Heard same price for u grade bullocks about 34 months (not as reliable)
    Very hard round here to get anywhere to entertain you with them

No issue down my way base price paid on all cattle under 36 months. It is a ABP plant. Moved a few before Christmas got the base of 3.9/kg. All on the load were over 30 months and under 36. They have stopped the 3 euro QA that you were getting

Slava Ukrainii

No issue down my way base price paid on all cattle under 36 months. It is a ABP plant. Moved a few before Christmas got the base of 3.9/kg. All on the load were over 30 months and under 36. They have stopped the 3 euro QA that you were getting

Sorry I was thinking from non QA herd

No problems here either once herd is qa

Sorry I see they are not QA most factory's want only QA stock when there are plenty around.

Mart might be worth a gamble in 4-6 weeks time some lad might take a punt on them for grass. If they were mine I let them to grass as early as possible and sell In July off grass if they will carry the weight and get QA sorted in the meantime.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Tho on a side note, is there a cut off limit of 30 months on heifers that's going to a butcher? Something to do with the back bone over 30 months affecting the meat in someway,?

I kill Bulls mostly so rarely affected with overage heifers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Tho on a side note, is there a cut off limit of 30 months on heifers that's going to a butcher? Something to do with the back bone over 30 months affecting the meat in someway,?

I kill Bulls mostly so rarely affected with overage heifers

Butchers dont want them that age because of size more than anything. Local butcher kills his own and aims for 280-300kg dead

Most butchers want heifers in the 220-240kg range, they would prefer a 200kg DW animal rather than a 250 kg one. Some abbatoirs near large towns or city's will take heavier cattle and even smaller framed bullocks.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Most butchers want heifers in the 220-240kg range, they would prefer a 200kg DW animal rather than a 250 kg one. Some abbatoirs near large towns or city's will take heavier cattle and even smaller framed bullocks.

Around me the butchers want them around 300.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

R cows- 330/340 quoted by agent this morning. Sound about right?

Kovu wrote: »

I heard 335 for R grade cows during the week, hopefully they'll rise a bit soon.
    Roscrea mart looks like a good place for heavy U grade cows according to the Journal.
    Are yours ready to go?

I heard 335 for R grade cows during the week, hopefully they'll rise a bit soon.
    Roscrea mart looks like a good place for heavy U grade cows according to the Journal.
    Are yours ready to go?

Yea, won't put more on without running to fat. One cow is hard as a rock with muscle, not a quiver of fat to be seen. I'll get a pic of them before they go and see if yiz are good at guessing how they KO.

Roscrea cows were young though, 13 and 11 were they not? Cow-heifers really.

Yea, won't put more on without running to fat. One cow is hard as a rock with muscle, not a quiver of fat to be seen. I'll get a pic of them before they go and see if yiz are good at guessing how they KO.

Roscrea cows were young though, 13 and 11 were they not? Cow-heifers really.

True, those cows are young but they're still cows. It shows what cows can make tho. The right mart on a good day is still probably better than the factory.
    I remember bringing an AA x HE cow to the factory years ago, she was 5+ for fat. I didn't think that was possible, she looked more like a hippo than a cow.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

What would it drop to for O grade?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    What would it drop to for O grade?

I think around 3.20, he won't be taking them til Tues/Wed so I'll know for sure then.

Tanko I know what you mean but I prefer letting them off to die quick than be beat round a mart and up a lorry and round a shed for another while.
    Looking at them this evening and the R one will KO well, about 55% at a guess, the other will be less than 50.

I think around 3.20, he won't be taking them til Tues/Wed so I'll know for sure then.

Tanko I know what you mean but I prefer letting them off to die quick than be beat round a mart and up a lorry and round a shed for another while.
    Looking at them this evening and the R one will KO well, about 55% at a guess, the other will be less than 50.
    Not a hope of a r grade cow killing out at 55%.

Well prob not 55% but the higher end of the dry cow KO scale for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,358 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Was talking to a friend New Years Eve, who specialises in feeding cows and he was getting 3.40 for a double of R's and he was not a happy camper. He reckoned that he needed 3.60 to cover his costs before any penny profit.
    I always prefer to send cattle to the factory and take my chances. In a way it affirms my judgement of stock be it good or bad - you learn by your mistakes.
    Also the fact that most marts are now inundated and taken over by dealers who put the hand in for their turn at my expense :mad:

The are bringing a rob in comparison to plain friesian bullocks.. A tweak of the machine has the majority grading p+ @ 3.50 to 3.60 a kilo.