Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ableton Clipping problem

Options
  • 24-01-2012 9:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭

Hi there, I'm new to the forum and wondering if I can get any help from more experienced people with a problem I'm having with Ableton.

I only starting using Ableton lately and kind of learning it on the go with youtube videos and things. I've put together a 50 min mix with it and am happy with how the mixes between tracks are working.

There's 2 tracks though that keep clipping no matter what I do with them. As I said I'm a real amateur so after research I went back and changed all the channel levels to no greater than -4db. I have no effects running on the individual channels or the master, all I have is the EQ3 plug in. It keeps distorting though..
    I've tried compressors on the individual track and also on the master channel as well as limiters but admittedly I don't really know what I'm at with these plug ins.

The song giving me most trouble is Jaytech-New Vibe with the main piano pieces so on the off chance somebody who has this tune and is handy with ableton might try it out or else maybe have some advice, it would be greatly appreciated. I'm also having problems with Wolfgang Gartner - Illlmerica.

I can put what I have on soundcloud perhaps and see what the opinions are on the sound problems?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

Have you tried going into the track clip and adjusting the volume from in there?

Just dropping it slightly. Also you may be able to see the clips and spikes from in there.