Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Name the bondholders - yay or nay ?

• 25-01-2012 3:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭

http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/adams-calls-on-taoiseach-to-name-anglo-bondholders-537259.html
    Adams calls on Taoiseach to name Anglo bondholders
    25/01/2012 - 12:40:28

Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams has today called on Taoiseach Enda Kenny to name the bondholders who will receive payment of €1.25bn today.

Deputy Adams described the hand over as “scandalous”, particularly in light of the dire circumstances that ordinary people across the state find themselves now in as a result of government cuts and stealth taxes.

“This state is carrying too much debt,” he said. “Last year the Government gave the banks €20bn. At the same time there is too little investment in job creation and a whole series of new and additional stealth taxes have been introduced which are crippling low and middle income families and the poor.

“Today’s payment to unsecured, unguaranteed bondholders in the former Anglo Irish Bank is further evidence of the failure of Government austerity policies.

“This morning, I asked the Taoiseach to name the bondholders who will receive this payment. His response was that he could not. I have written to the Comptroller and Auditor General asking him to investigate this matter.

“To add insult to injury on the 31st of March a further €3.1bn of taxpayers’ money will be handed over in a promissory note in continuation of Fianna Fail’s disastrous strategy of dealing with the banking crisis.

“By the time it concludes paying this promissory note the state will have spent €74.6bn. We believe the Government should tell the European Central Bank that it cannot afford to these notes and begin serious negotiations to secure an acceptable resolution that works for Irish citizens.”

What say you ? Should the govt name the bondholders ? I can't really think of a legitimate reason why they would not.

Should the bondholders be named ? 118 votes

Name the Bondholders
    0%
    Do NOT name the Bondholders
    100%
    VenomentropiKintarō Hattorigurramok[Deleted User]aidan_walshDe HipsterPherekydesHal1Dara Robinsonkeano_afcDoesNotComputeRichieCDonkeyStyle \o/squrmpoeticseraphimstrobeswingking[Deleted User][Deleted User] 118 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Hardly makes a difference does it? Still gonna be paid. Rightly so imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Of course. And they won't. Because half of them are probably pals of the cronies or the cronies themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

alproctor wrote: »

Well then you're an idiot. The unsecured bondholders were paid.

They took the risk and lost and we had no legal or moral obligation to pay them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Weren't they already outed on the Guido Fawkes blog a while back?

http://order-order.com/2010/10/15/anglo-irish-bondholders-should-take-the-lossesis-the-ecb-forcing-ireland-to-protect-german-investments/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I thought there were named already?

didnt a list come out in november

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

You can bet your ass one of them will include Bertie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

A few of the names on the Guido Fawkes blog have been confirmed as fake/incorrect, so it calls into question the whole thing.

The way he puts the Anglo Irish logo transposed on the list in an attempt to make it look official would be another indication that its spoof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

listermint wrote: »
    I thought there were named already?

didnt a list come out in november

I don't think those are all of them, nor is that a verifiable / official list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

So who is the cheque made out to? Cash?

Of course they should name them.

So who is the cheque made out to? Cash?

For the amount of cash in today's payment you'd need a container truck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I'm a bondholder and I went off to purchase some new swag and wives today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 33 The Lorax

I don't even know what a bondholder is, or the implications of paying or not paying them. Boring, TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,965 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Don't really see the point.
    The majority will be investment funds with meaningless names, pension funds and the like. All it will be is few more addresses for the crusties currently littering Dame Street to go to and harrass people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

The LoraxI don't even know what a bondholder is, or the implications of paying or not paying them. Boring, TBH.

Well nice to see you have some valuable opinions and an interest in why we as a country are in this mess today.

blackwhite wrote: »
    Don't really see the point.
    The majority will be investment funds with meaningless names, pension funds and the like. All it will be is few more addresses for the crusties currently littering Dame Street to go to and harrass people.

Are there any reasons why they should not be named ? Apart from the potential for 'harrassment of individuals by crusties'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Can you explain why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

I thought I read that Irish Pension Funds had a big stake in all of this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

The Lorax wrote: »
    I don't even know what a bondholder is, or the implications of paying or not paying them. Boring, TBH.

Poster unfortunately reflects the opinions of many who are simply so downtrodden and burdened with debt that it's pointless worrying about it. I get that. But, remember that this debt will be paid by your children and probably grandchildren in the form of greater taxation and lack of services for years to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Whats happening today is daylight robbery simple as that. FG can be sure the Irish public wont forget about it come the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

A few of the names on the Guido Fawkes blog have been confirmed as fake/incorrect, so it calls into question the whole thing.

The way he puts the Anglo Irish logo transposed on the list in an attempt to make it look official would be another indication that its spoof.

It could be a spoof. Naming them would put an end to speculation and potentially misplaced ill-feeling towards certain companies.

It won't happen though because the government themselves have already stated that even they don't know who the bond holders are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭simit

Yeah they should be named, we have a right to know where our money is going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'm a bond holder and so is my wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭quietriot

It's fairly irrelevant if they're named or not? What are Irish people going to do about it? Nothing. Talkers but not walkers, unless of course there's a few to get together to shake some scary placards about outside the Dail...providing the weather is ok, of course.

The cost of paying the bondholders now is cheaper for our country long term than it would be to burn them. The consequences of burning them would be much more than the €2bn we're paying out. That's the unfortunate truth of the matter. We certainly have no legal obligation to do it, but if we don't then every one of us will face the consequences and they won't be pretty.

There's a good thread in the Irish Economy forum that explains some of the reasoning behind paying them, it's worth the read.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Surely a Freedom of Information request could acquire this info. It is public funds after all?

quietriot wrote: »
    It's fairly irrelevant if they're named or not? What are Irish people going to do about it? Nothing. Talkers but not walkers, unless of course there's a few to get together to shake some scary placards about outside the Dail...providing the weather is ok, of course.

The cost of paying the bondholders now is cheaper for our country long term than it would be to burn them. The consequences of burning them would be much more than the €2bn we're paying out. That's the unfortunate truth of the matter. We certainly have no legal obligation to do it, but if we don't then every one of us will face the consequences and they won't be pretty.

There's a good thread in the Irish Economy forum that explains some of the reasoning behind paying them, it's worth the read.

What if you don't agree that it is 'fairly irrelevant' ?

Are there reasons NOT to name them ? Will the skies fall if the list is made public or something ?

WindSock wrote: »
    I'm a bond holder and so is my wife.

"Crusties to aisle one, crusties to aisle one. Bondholder in need of harrassment".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

I think we need to know because if it was some one in a position to influence the decisions to pay the bond holder's or not it would be very important information in regards to corruption/bias of the people making the decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Didn't I read somewhere the our very own Finance Minister is an unsecured senior bondholder, so it's in his interest to pay?

Or is this misinformation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭quietriot

Morlar wrote: »
    What if you don't agree that it is 'fairly irrelevant' ?

Are there reasons NOT to name them ? Will the skies fall if the list is made public or something ?
    Doesn't really make a difference one way or another. More transparency is always good but I suppose if I were in the bondholders position I would probably want my right to privacy respected.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

I guaran-fcuking-tee you the papertrail leads to lending institutions that Irish politicians and rich property developers have stocks and shares in.

Guaranteed.

Also, since this is taxpayers money, too fcuking right should the bondholders be named. I'm paying for the fcuking caviar, I'd at least like to know who's eating it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

If only all bookies though the same way as yourself, $$$

Gerry Adams wants their names and addresses.

G'wan Gerry!

Also
    Minister for Finance Michael Noonan is an investor in German government bonds as well as share funds focused on China, India and the US, according to the 2010 register of interests for Dáil deputies published last night.
    Mr Noonan, who has opposed “burning” bondholders in the main Irish banks, owns German government bonds paying a modest 1.75 per cent rate of interest and maturing in 2020, according to his entry in the register.

His interests also include popular share funds specialising in Chinese and Indian enterprises and metals and mining companies.

Mr Noonan listed occupational income in the form of a reduced teacher’s pension and his ownership of 20 acres of mixed pasture and woodland at his home in Foynes, Co Limerick.
    - Irish Times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Poll neglects me. I don't think it's necessary to name them but at the same time I dont care if they are named. Carry on.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

stop moaning and pay your taxes, suckers! we need your money

yours truly

bondholders :P

dsmythy wrote: »
    Poll neglects me. I don't think it's necessary to name them but at the same time I dont care if they are named. Carry on.

I almost had a 'Yay or Nay or Gay' option (in place of boring atari jaguar) but thought better of it :)

Edz87 wrote: »
    Gerry Adams wants their names and addresses.

So he can send da lads around?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 mandate

here are the biggest bondholders in Anglo Irish Bank and all you need to know about them and their connection to the IMF

here is the full list of Anglo Irish bondholders, and the fact that the government are saying that they dont know, is a load of rubbish. 30 seconds on google will tell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Didn't I read somewhere the our very own Finance Minister is an unsecured senior bondholder, so it's in his interest to pay?

Or is this misinformation?

I'd like to know more on this.

woodoo wrote: »
    I'd like to know more on this.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2011/0409/1224294305462.html

There ya go.

So he can send da lads around?

Would be some craic if that happened though!

The press release would be gold. "Uh.. We uh.. We're grand for the eh money actually so eh, ye can keep it. Sorry for the hassle"

Then Gerry walking into the Dail with a huge sh­it eating grin, a true Irish hero! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I think its important to know who the bondholders are so we can all see how their profits do over the next few years. Maybe thats why there is such resistance to us knowing, both here on boards and in the media in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

Looks like 4 of them are boardsies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

What difference does it make?

Its not as if we are going to get our money back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

The Government don't necessarily know who is in receipt of the Anglo bond redemption.

It isn't a simple matter of some guy in London or NYC faxing over his serial number and account details. This stuff tends to go through intermediary parties.

Naming the headline purchasers of the debt named on the indenture is pointless, because there's very little chance they're still the owners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

AeoNGriM wrote: »
    I guaran-fcuking-tee you the papertrail leads to lending institutions that Irish politicians and rich property developers have stocks and shares in.

Guaranteed.

Also, since this is taxpayers money, too fcuking right should the bondholders be named. I'm paying for the fcuking caviar, I'd at least like to know who's eating it!

Does knowing who's eating your caviar solve anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

tmc86 wrote: »
    Well nice to see you have some valuable opinions and an interest in why we as a country are in this mess today.

I'm with him, i think the people of the country created the mess, and smart people made money off it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

What difference does it make?

Its not as if we are going to get our money back
    No, we never will. But at least we'll get to see how well the recipient does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

mandate wrote: »
    here are the biggest bondholders in Anglo Irish Bank and all you need to know about them and their connection to the IMF

here is the full list of Anglo Irish bondholders, and the fact that the government are saying that they dont know, is a load of rubbish. 30 seconds on google will tell you.

That list has been discredited elsewhere on boards. Thread in the politics forum I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 mandate

I am on the political forum every day, as well as politics.ie, and I have seen countless arguments that have been discredited by various different posters. Doesn't mean they are right, and it doesn't mean Im right either. The point is if this list of bondholders is not acurate, and the list of Anglo bondholders were revealed to the public, I think it would make little difference as we may not have ever heard of most of them. It is the other link which I am more interested in which details the Rothschild owned banks that Anglo have aquired since 1996, that we are now footing the bill for.