Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seached by the cops last night

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I don't want to drag this off-topic (we've already had about 50 posts addressing a question I never even asked) but I would imagine that anyone who wants to use drugs recreationally would be safer buying them from controlled outlets rather than being forced into the criminal underworld, where they are more likely to have to interact and be influenced by scumbags, and more likely to end up using product that has been 'cut' or treated.

Nobody is forced to buy drugs from dealers. It's not an item critical to life in any way. It's a choice.
    Police officers not acting within the limits of their authority and respecting my rights is a sign of incompetence IMO. Also the fact they searched the wrong person, and the wrong house. That is unless my friends lead a double-life and have kilos of coke stashed under the sofa that they've never mentioned, and since you seem rather desperate that there is 'more to the story', maybe we can pretend that is the case?

So you think their intel being wrong makes them incompetent? Thank you, that's a bit clearer.
    People choose to join the guards. They choose to enforce said legislature. That excuse is straight out of the "but soldiers are just following orders" book of bulls***.

So is your solution that nobody should join the Gardaí or that Gardaí should have the choice as to what legislation they enforce?
    Bahahahaha :pac: and here's me just getting over the fact that the dodgy VHS copy of Wrestlemania 99 my mate gave me directly contributed to global terrorism :pac:

You don't think the money from drug dealin contributes to gang murders now?
    benway wrote: »
    Good, now that we're all friends again, I suppose I'll overlook the fact that you're just plain wrong about the "it's an order" point.

This is getting tiresome. I said the word demand. The poster wanted this clarified. I used a synonym for the word demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Corruptable

Good, now that we're all friends again, I suppose I'll overlook the fact that you're just plain wrong about the "it's an order" point.

@Corruptable, Gardaí don't have "rights" as against the citizenry. Legislation provides for certain derogations from citizens' rights to facilitate the executive, in this case the Gardaí, in the performance of specific tasks in specific instances.

I do think that it's kinda telling that people are keen to attribute powers to the Gardaí that they just don't have (see also almighty1 on The Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994 earlier in the thread) ... kinda treating them as infallible and all-powerful.

Dangerous game, that.

Apologies to OP for the massive thread meander.

Normally they're described as "powers" as opposed to rights, but in theory, it sounds like your analyse is correct.

I'm not completely familiar with the Public Order Act 1994-2003, but it's noted that certain powers under it only apply with respect to issues arising under specific sections of that particular Act. But in terms of the identification/name and address issue, even the ICCL wasn't bothered going through all the various circumstances which require you to provide the details.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

MagicSean wrote: »
    Nobody is forced to buy drugs from dealers. It's not an item critical to life in any way. It's a choice.
    Buying drugs from criminals is not a choice, as it is the only option thanks to said legislation.
    So is your solution that nobody should join the Gardaí or that Gardaí should have the choice as to what legislation they enforce?
    I didn't offer a solution, I said I hold the people who choose to enforce it responsible.
    You don't think the money from drug dealin contributes to gang murders now?
    I believe I have already quite clearly outlined this as a problem and something I would like prevented.

Buying drugs from criminals is not a choice, as it is the only option thanks to said legislation.

I didn't offer a solution, I said I hold the people who choose to enforce it responsible.

I believe I have already quite clearly outlined this as a problem and something I would like prevented.

Don't buy drugs then, is Sean's point. Did you miss the bit in primary school where they covered "wants" and "needs"?

It is a choice. You can choose to just not buy them.

Of course you didn't offer a solution. It's easier to preach.

So why did you laugh at my post? :confused:
    Bahahahaha :pac: and here's me just getting over the fact that the dodgy VHS copy of Wrestlemania 99 my mate gave me directly contributed to global terrorism :pac:

Either you accept that buying drugs contributes to gang murders or you don't. You can't say the legislation is causing deaths and then pretend that the buyer has no responability in handing over the actual cash.

Don't buy drugs then, is Sean's point. Did you miss the bit in primary school where they covered "wants" and "needs"?
    Yes, because prohibition works wonders. Drugs have been illegal for how many years now? How many billions have been poured into the 'war on drugs'. And yet we still have them. Odd that. Still, don't question it, just keep your head in the sand and hope it works itself out!
    MagicSean wrote: »
    It is a choice. You can choose to just not buy them.
    I don't buy them. I'm yet to see my compliance with the law cripple the gangland infrastructure :rolleyes: I have a few friends that do, and given the choice, they would all rather buy them from a licensed and controlled vendor, just like you can alcohol and tobacco.
    Of course you didn't offer a solution. It's easier to preach.
    It's even easier to be stupid.
    So why did you laugh at my post? :confused:
    Because it amused me. The same way the anti-piracy clowns who tell you you're swelling the coughers of Al-Queda et al when you buy a knock-off DVD from Johnny in your local.
    Either you accept that buying drugs contributes to gang murders or you don't.
    I'm not sure why you keep using the 'gang murders' thing. Why don't you go for something a little more dramatic, maybe the murdering of innocent children or something like that. Nobody particularly cares if some scumbag cartel boss in Dublin gets offed. Not even your precious Garda.

Yes, because prohibition works wonders. Drugs have been illegal for how many years now? How many billions have been poured into the 'war on drugs'. And yet we still have them. Odd that. Still, don't question it, just keep your head in the sand and hope it works itself out!

I don't buy them. I'm yet to see my compliance with the law cripple the gangland infrastructure :rolleyes: I have a few friends that do, and given the choice, they would all rather buy them from a licensed and controlled vendor, just like you can alcohol and tobacco.

Because it amused me. The same way the anti-piracy clowns who tell you you're swelling the coughers of Al-Queda et al when you buy a knock-off DVD from Johnny in your local.

I'm not sure why you keep using the 'gang murders' thing. Why don't you go for something a little more dramatic, maybe the murdering of innocent children or something like that. Nobody particularly cares if some scumbag cartel boss in Dublin gets offed. Not even your precious Garda.

I've to borrow a phrase from Sean and say that's a pretty big chip you've got there.

If you don't agree with prohibition then you have to go to the Oireachtas and get a majority to vote to legalise. Some fellow travellers can be found here http://www.legalisecannabis.ie/

As has been previously noted, the gardai and the courts simply enforce the law, they don't make it and their agreement is not necessary for its formation.

Fact is that it is illegal to possess cannabis in this country. If you disagree with it you should lobby for change politically through your local representatives. I've yet to see one proper movement for the decriminalising of cannabis.

But it isn't legal here so they can't. So there options are to either not buy it and campaign for change in the law or buy it illegally and contribute to criminal gangs.

That's a poor attempt at an insult.

So on one hand you laugh at the idea that buying drugs contributes to gangland crime but on the other you condem the legislation that makes drugs illegal because it contributes to gangland crime.

It's not always the scumbags that get killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What a post. I often wonder at the mentality of people who can make little of the taking of a life no matter whose it is. I actually feel sorry for you after coming out with that last comment. Not all the people who die by gangs in Dublin, Limerick or elsewhere because of the drugs market are guilty. Look at what happened to the little Polish girl whose body was dug up only days ago.

your questions OP are reasonable, there is nothing wrong with wondering if you have to give those details under the law. nothing wrong with defending your human rights, at all.

however, your attitude as the thread has gone on has undermined your questions.

you have expressed the attitude that Gardai should not enforce drug legislation because you believe drugs should be legal. this obviously has coloured your view of gardai doing their job.

its this simple, gardai were clearly planning a raid on the house you were in, had you been in the house when the warrant was executed then you would have been searched and asked for your name, address etc, and you would have had to give them. now, realistically, gardai are watching a house, ready to search it, you leave, of course they are going to stop and find out who you are.

dont give them your details if you dont wish but be prepared to be arrested under the misuse of drugs act and brought to the station. the very fact that you had left a house shortly before a warrant was executed there would be reason enough, do you not think?

whether or not you think drugs should be legalised is a completely seperate issue, its illegal right now and thats that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

"Hi there, my name is Garda ____ and I need to search you under the Misuse of Drugs Act, could step out of the vehicle please"

I think you've made your opinion on the guards and the work they do crystal clear. I'd say if the guard had rolled out the red carpet you'd still be on complaining about them. I do find it hilarious though that you carry your passport and willingly show it to any random barman or bouncer who asks but get offended when a guard does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 The ally cat

Ah here, don't be so touchy. SC is a colleague, not exactly a friend, and it is a true story in so far as I'm aware - it's certainly what he told me more or less verbatim.

I think anyone who's spent enough time around the Courts will have seen enough botched prosecutions and investigations to have a certain ... circumspection ... towards the Gardaí, can imagine what 20 years on the bench would have done to you. I thought it was a good story ... and tbh I still do.

Back on topic, it's not semantics, it's a fundamental separation of powers point - this is legal discussion, is it not? A Garda doesn't have the authority to order me to do much - where I refuse, it's up to the Court to back the request with a sanction.

Where would the courts be without gardai?
    In fairness the courts and legal profession are well capable of producing their own cock ups, I know the judge you refer to and he's no addition to the courts or his profession!

I'd say if the guard had rolled out the red carpet you'd still be on complaining about them.
    Yet another stupid and misguided assumption. You certainly aren't short of those.
    I do find it hilarious though that you carry your passport and willingly show it to any random barman or bouncer who asks but get offended when a guard does.
    I don't show it to "any random barman or bouncer who asks". I show it to bouncers employed by a premises I wish to enter. If I was walking down the street minding my own business and a bouncer asked to see my ID, I would question them in a similar fashion. A poor analogy, but if it's any consolation, it's not the stupidest thing you've come out with in this thread.

I'd say if the guard had rolled out the red carpet you'd still be on complaining about them.
    Yet another stupid and misguided assumption. You certainly aren't short of those.
    I do find it hilarious though that you carry your passport and willingly show it to any random barman or bouncer who asks but get offended when a guard does.
    I don't show it to "any random barman or bouncer who asks". I show it to bouncers employed by a premises I wish to enter. If I was walking down the street minding my own business and a bouncer asked to see my ID, I would question them in a similar fashion. A poor analogy, but if it's any consolation, it's not the stupidest thing you've come out with in this thread.

It's time a national identity card was rolled out and that passports get used for what they are actually for which is travelling abroad. Too many spotty teenagers handing them to bouncers and losing them when pissed on nights out! If they didn't carry them with them the gardai wouldn't know who they are when they get randomly stopped. There's a garda age card for €10 it would be much more appropiate OP.

Possibly the most irrelevant post so far, and that's saying something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭blueythebear

Why does every thread on this site involving Gardaí become a Garda bashing session?

The OP was stopped by the Gardaí and questioned. They are allowed to do this. They asked various questions and asked for ID, they are permitted to do so. They are permitted to ask any question they want but the OP does not have to necessarily answer.

However, if you fail to answer an innocuous question or comply with a reasonable request, that in and of itself could lead to the Garda employing the wide powers that they do have as in doing so, you appear suspicious.

I don't see anything particularly wrong with the action of the Gardaí in this case.

Possibly the most irrelevant post so far, and that's saying something.

Only if you're not spotty!

Indeed. I'm well past the age of spots, in fact I'm well past the age of really having to carry a passport around, but I do so in case the odd jobsworth (who probably failed the Garda recruitment...) decides to ruin my night to satisfy his ego.

Apologies, You fooled me, I was full sure you had a face full of blackheads! I love the bit where you say while one guard was searching you the other was chatting your Girlfriend telling her to leave you behind, I've a feeling he was giving her more than a bit of good advice. That's probally your biggest gripe! What section did that power come from horse box!

He was just being a smarmy bell-end and she saw right through it. They were inconveniencing her just as much as me.

That's what she told you! Wonder what she was really thinking?

Oh man, I am so trolled right now.

In all fairness you had it coming. You come on complaining about Gardaí enforcing drugs legislation and comparing them to the nazis "just following orders" and you claim that drug legislation is forcing people to give money to drug dealers and contributing to murders.

On the flip side, you also complain that Gardaí don't do their job properly and that the person who actually gives money to drug dealers doesn't contribute to murders, and even if they do, well sure they're only scumbags that get killed.

Pretty polarising views to be coming from one person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

This is why we can't have nice things... :rolleyes: