Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Holiday at home - will you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I see that the chief executive of booking website GoIreland, Mike Webster, has sent out a plea to Irish holidaymakers to consider taking their holidays at home here in Ireland - to "Occupy Ireland" - instead of travelling abroad.

Now, sh*tty weather notwithstanding, are there any other reasons why you might not consider holidaying in Ireland? Rip off prices? Shoddy service? Nothing for the kiddies to do? Seen evertyhing there is to see already?

So your saying you can't go to lidil or some were bye your kids a couple of buckets and spades some boogie boards... and bring them to the beach or you can't take them some were were they can learn a bit of the local eco system or bring them to an adventure center dump them there for the day and chill out with the lady

who cares about weather make your own fun or have you became that brain dead you rely on the stupid box for entertainment...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

And NAMA should use some of the empty apartments in its portfolio for vacation rentals or convert them to hostels or something.

I'm not sure this is a good idea. It would impact people who are supplying a reasonable service at the moment and I shudder at the thought of a quango styled subset of NAMA populated by government cronies running anything.

Better left to the market imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Jim_Kiy

Reasons to holiday in ireland

you wont arrive at your destination late stressed and bagless.
    you wont die of hunger cos you are just not that adventurous food wise.
    you wont increase your chances of getting sunburned or worse skin cancer.
    you wont get homesick after a week.
    you wont have to watch 15 TV channels broadcasting porn in a foreign lanquage.
    you will be helping the Irish economy and not the Spainish one and pissing off Micheal O Leary in the process.

Having said all Im looking forward to my trip to Futraventura later in the year:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I have had no holiday abroad for two year now but this year we are planning on going to Spain. We are just sick of going to all the tourist spots in Ireland and pubs full off G A A shirts. Thereis nothing like reading a good mag on a sunny beach with all the fair grounds within spitting distance, getting in all the local culture and cuisine in your friendly Irish pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

But this country is a rip off? Maybe they should become more competitive before asking people to stay at home. Why stay in Ireland when you can go to Spain/Portugal for the same price?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Originally posted by oppenheimer1
    We have enough hotels as it is... we certainly don't need NAMA providing more.

Really? There seems to be a distinct lack of cheap, decent hotels in Dublin. Maybe things have changed over the last year?
    I'm not sure this is a good idea. It would impact people who are supplying a reasonable service at the moment and I shudder at the thought of a quango styled subset of NAMA populated by government cronies running anything.

Better left to the market imo.

Well why not let some entrepreneurs run that space and at least try to make some money off of it? Dublin in particular could stand to upgrade their hostel space - there is a reason why the new one that opened in Smithfield is packed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Did it last Summer camping for what was meant to be 2 weeks but ended up 6 days. It rained every single day and the prices when we went to eat out where a joke.

Myself and my wife work hard and i'll be fcked if we are ever going to waste our time on holiday here again. Have a week in Florida and 10 days in France booked for this year.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Heading to Dingle again, renting a house, early bird menus supplemented with nosh from the Dingle Farmers' market, cheese shop and Supervalue. Will swim whatever the weather and thaw out over homemade soup in Brics of Riasc.
    BRING IT ON!

Been a long time since I had a proper holiday, the odd day away for a gig here and there would be the closest I've had to one in years. Was looking at heading away for a few nights this summer with my girlfriend but after a lot of searching we realised that heading abroad was as cheap if not cheaper than holidaying here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Really? There seems to be a distinct lack of cheap, decent hotels in Dublin. Maybe things have changed over the last year?

Well why not let some entrepreneurs run that space and at least try to make some money off of it? Dublin in particular could stand to upgrade their hostel space - there is a reason why the new one that opened in Smithfield is packed.

You can stay in a 5 star hotel in Dublin for less than €150 a night. It doesn't take much hunting around to find ordinary hotels doing €50 per night rates as well. That is pretty cheap by western standards and you'd be hard pushed to find the same rate in any other European city.

Btw, NAMA does run a lot of hotels in the country at the moment. There is a major bed surplus in Ireland, and will be for quite some time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Heading to Dingle again, renting a house, early bird menus supplemented with nosh from the Dingle Farmers' market, cheese shop and Supervalue. Will swim whatever the weather and thaw out over homemade soup in Brics of Riasc.
    BRING IT ON!
    There endenth the free advertising for Musgrave?Supervalue and Brics of Riasc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

You can stay in a 5 star hotel in Dublin for less than €150 a night. It doesn't take much hunting around to find ordinary hotels doing €50 per night rates as well. That is pretty cheap by western standards and you'd be hard pushed to find the same rate in any other European city.

Btw, NAMA does run a lot of hotels in the country at the moment. There is a major bed surplus in Ireland, and will be for quite some time.

Wow, just looked on booking.com, and it has DEFINITELY gotten a lot cheaper. Have food prices dropped as well, or is a mediocre dinner without drinks still 35 quid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

boobar wrote: »
    Where will you holiday was the question.

I was wondering how long it would take for someone to introduce the "BASH THE PUBLIC SERVICE" as a response ;)
    No, the question was "apart from the ****ty weather can you think of any other reasons not to holiday in Ireland".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Wow, just looked on booking.com, and it has DEFINITELY gotten a lot cheaper.

There was a hotel a week opening in Ireland at the height of the pyramid - I think it was propelled by tax-breaks.

IIRC some of the more established hoteliers were complaining that NAMA hotels were hurting genuine business because they were only operating at all because they were rescued by NAMA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I would do a long weekend away in Ireland for sure, that can be so nice.

Other than that though I wouldn't. My parents had a caravan when we were young and we traveled around for like 2 weeks a year so I've seen pretty much the whole country.

I prefer travelling to new places, love an adventure :)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd love to rent a camper and spend the month of August touring around this beautiful island. I've often suggested it to friends but it never works out with peoples work arrangements etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

I am not holidaying in Ireland this year because i have been to every major landmark and county in the country.There is an awful lot of guff sprouted in this thread Ireland is not expensive at all to holiday in for the quality accommodation you get i have stayed in some awful hole's of hotels in Europe that were supposed to be 4* at between 100-150 a night.Food quality is good in Ireland as well with the exception of Italy probaly the second best for basic ingredients.Eating out is affordable as well in most towns and city you can get a 3 course meal for 15 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,496 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Not reading the whole thread, but staying in Ireland can be great. My place of choice is Valentia Island, amazing place, it just takes some initiative to want to go there. So much better than many places I visited in Oz on my last holiday. I'm going to Germany this year for a few days (music fest), but if I can squeeze a few more days, I'll definitely stay in Ireland.

So many places to see in Ireland, I wouldn't have one minutes hesitation staying here to see the places of interest. Even Lahinch on a freezing cold May day is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

I'll be staying in Wexford for a week during the summer.

Usually head down for two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I am not holidaying in Ireland this year because i have been to every major landmark and county in the country.There is an awful lot of guff sprouted in this thread Ireland is not expensive at all to holiday in for the quality accommodation you get i have stayed in some awful hole's of hotels in Europe that were supposed to be 4* at between 100-150 a night.

If you do proper research and avoid tourist traps this wouldn't happen to you. However yo are right that hotels in ireland are very good value, because the market is completely saturated.

Food quality is good in Ireland as well with the exception of Italy probaly the second best for basic ingredients.Eating out is affordable as well in most towns and city you can get a 3 course meal for 15 euro.

Eating out in Ireland is still expensive. Any 3 course meal you get in Ireland would most likely be sh*te but I have had a few lovely 3 course meals for 15 euro in france. Dining out os far better value on mainland europe.

I won't be holidaying in Ireland because the weather is always sh!t and I like a bit of warmth every now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

MadYaker wrote: »
    I am not holidaying in Ireland this year because i have been to every major landmark and county in the country.There is an awful lot of guff sprouted in this thread Ireland is not expensive at all to holiday in for the quality accommodation you get i have stayed in some awful hole's of hotels in Europe that were supposed to be 4* at between 100-150 a night.

If you do proper research and avoid tourist traps this wouldn't happen to you. However yo are right that hotels in ireland are very good value, because the market is completely saturated.

Food quality is good in Ireland as well with the exception of Italy probaly the second best for basic ingredients.Eating out is affordable as well in most towns and city you can get a 3 course meal for 15 euro.

Eating out in Ireland is still expensive. Any 3 course meal you get in Ireland would most likely be sh*te but I have had a few lovely 3 course meals for 15 euro in france. Dining out os far better value on mainland europe.

I won't be holidaying in Ireland because the weather is always sh!t and I like a bit of warmth every now and again.
    You can get a 3 course meal in the beehive down here in wicklow for €15 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

gcgirl wrote: »
    You can get a 3 course meal in the beehive down here in wicklow for €15 :)

Stop pimping your county!:P

I shall be holidaying in Ireland this year...plenty of places I haven't been to and I mean to camp out a couple of times too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Wow, just looked on booking.com, and it has DEFINITELY gotten a lot cheaper. Have food prices dropped as well, or is a mediocre dinner without drinks still 35 quid?

I had a 3 course meal in the Westbury before Christmas for about €25. There is value out there, but like everything else it can take a while for perceptions to change.

Some pubs are still very expensive though, but I am noticing in more places I'm getting my pint with change from a fiver. Like it should be... but there is still a distance to go yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Dublin Mark

I would love to spend more time holidaying here, but I still find hotels too expensive...Was quoted between €400 - €500 for a 3 night stay over Easter in a moderate 4 star hotel in Athlone, same in Kilkenny. A quick look on Expedia and I can fly to Edinburgh, stay at a city centre hotel with a pool and car hire for the same price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Can't really understand, why people always travel to the Sun. There are many nice spots in Ireland, imo[/Q.UOTE]

Em..because they want sunshine, heat, that's pretty much gauranteed? You just don't get it here.

Yes, there are plenty of nice places in Ireland, but if you want the real outdoors - Canada, Australia etc. If you want sunshine too you can also go to tons of places in Europe - a lot more nice beaches too. And a lot of the time people just want to 'get away', literally.

It just depends what you want and what you can afford. I'd be more inclined to go on a weekend away in Ireland, but for a 'proper holiday' - I'm packin' my bags and going to the States and Canada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

the gov need to introduce a tax on wearing ugg boots with tracksuits or pajamas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I didn't take a holiday last year. Spent a few long weekends going around Ireland instead. It was better than any holiday I ever took. I went to Lough Kee in Roscommon, Up to Sligo around Strandhill, Out the Sky Road in Clifden and the old Alcock and Brown landing site/Marconi Wireless station, Down to the Cliffs of Moher and Lahinch, Went to the Glencar waterfall in Leitrim and over to Dublin Zoo, The Guinness Storehouse and Kilmainham Jail and around Temple Bar for a night.

We have a great country. Lots to see. Still haven't been to Donegal or Kilkenny which are meant to be class. Same as parts of Wicklow. Maybe in the next few weeks before I move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

I stayed in Ireland last year, spent a week aroung Galway, Mayo, Kerry, Cork & waterford, there is some amazing places to see and overall it was very enjoyable but the thing is it just doesnt feel like a holiday.

Restaurants in tourist spots just completely take the piss with regards to food cost, 1/2 the quality but more expensive than say a good qaulity meal in somewhere like Alexis Bar and grill in Dublin.

Hotels, its really bizarre the hotel set up in this country, stayed in a lovely 4 star hotel in Kerry, Kerry park hotel with great service, services, food and a very reasonable rate, stayed in a absolute sh*t hole in westport with minus the food was the same price as the one in kerry but there was no comparisment, i found this really stupid that dumps like that hotel are charging the same price.

There needs to be a complete overhauling of the star sytem, most 3* in Ireland should be 1* and price of a room in these places should be a reflection of that.

Also charging into to see the cliffs of moher is a real piss take and reflects poorly on us, its a natural wonder and should be free.

Overall i had a nice time but felt confused at the amount of money i spent considering the lack of quality in hotels, restaurants and places like this, its a shame really as i think we could have a massive vibrant tourist sector if it was regulated properly, not overly but fairly to both business owner and guests.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

When i go on holiday i want a change of scene with different people, different landscapes, different food and a different culture and the feeling of getting away. Being in Ireland doesn't give me any of that.
    Plus the cost of holidaying here is more expensive in some cases here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Holidaying in ireland isn't expensive. Last year I rented a cottage for a week in the west and it cost €300. €75 between 4 (it had 2 twin rooms).
    Food isn't expensive if you shop around. What makes it expensive is if you head to the pub every night, the pub in ireland is still a rip off. But if you get a house and the weather is nice, you can pick up a crate of beer for €15 and drink outside the gaff you rented.
    Standard of food in irish pubs is decent enough i find.

If you could guarentee 3 months of dry weather in ireland during the summer, it would be the best country in Europe for holidays imho. Being able to drive to your holiday destination, have your own car for the week, be able to travel in your own time. Although, if it rains for a week it's poxy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

i definitely WONT be spending any holidays in ireland this year (or any year in the near future). I am saving hard to go abroad. I don't like to be TOLD to spend my holidays here in Ireland (while the fat cats fly off to their houses in other destinations). I have given enough of my money to these as*wipes, and I will spend my money OUTSIDE of the country whenever I possibly can.

Why? Because it makes me feel good.

why should I have to bow down to the liars and cheats. Let THEM holiday in Ireland. I'm off to spend my money in a foreign country :p

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Holidaying in ireland isn't expensive. Last year I rented a cottage for a week in the west and it cost €300. €75 between 4 (it had 2 twin rooms).
    Food isn't expensive if you shop around. What makes it expensive is if you head to the pub every night, the pub in ireland is still a rip off. But if you get a house and the weather is nice, you can pick up a crate of beer for €15 and drink outside the gaff you rented.
    Standard of food in irish pubs is decent enough i find.

classy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Yes, I will yet again be holidaying in my own home. I will take day trips, but returning to sleep in my own evermore more expensive bed. If mortgage interest hikes continue and my pay continues to decline I'll be looking for a bed from the VdP hostel.

(I'm one of those bloated public workers)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

classy :D

What's wrong with drinking outside :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

Yes of Course I will holiday at home:D keep the money in ireland and all that ;)

(goes to hotels website...)
    Checks Prices for 1 night not including brekkie :eek:....mixed with:rolleyes:

(picks himself off the floor)

I guess I wont be holidaying at home:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

i definitely WONT be spending any holidays in ireland this year (or any year in the near future). I am saving hard to go abroad. I don't like to be TOLD to spend my holidays here in Ireland (while the fat cats fly off to their houses in other destinations). I have given enough of my money to these as*wipes, and I will spend my money OUTSIDE of the country whenever I possibly can.

why should I have to bow down to the liars and cheats. Let THEM holiday in Ireland. I'm off to spend my money in a foreign country :p

you mad.jpg

Paparazzo wrote: »
    What's wrong with drinking outside :confused:

nothing paparazzo, i supposed it was just the picture that came into my head. My apologies. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I'd love to rent a camper and spend the month of August touring around this beautiful island. I've often suggested it to friends but it never works out with peoples work arrangements etc.

This is a great idea, going around in a camper van is great fun and exciting and offers a great opportunity to see a country, and why not Ireland, you won't be short of places to see and go to here.

What and how do the campsites measure up though in comparision to those on the continent. I think this kind of travel should be promoted much more by Failte Ireland, and create and promote an appeal to Irish and visitors coming here also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Sounds good, is funland still goin ahead this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Sounds good, is funland still goin ahead this year?

Mosney is where it's at :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭mongoman

Unfortunately a lot of the Irish market still lacks value for money. It's a sad state of affairs when you can save a small fortune by holidaying abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Jesus, nobody told you ya had to. It was a statement suggesting if people did it might result in a shot in the arm for the economy. Get back up on your high horse and ride off on out of this country

I don't travel by horse, I tend to use planes to destinations where I get value for money. :D But at the rate things are going here in Ireland, we will all be back travelling by horse and cart soon. :o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭kenmc

why would you want to holiday in Ireland if you live here? the whole point in going to visit other countries is to experience new cultures, try new food and see new things. nicer weather, friendly locals and better value is also a nice change too.

besides, we'll all have to feckin holiday here when the oil runs out and there's no more air travel anyway, so get out while you can..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

7 nights in Italy (self-catering) in September E250.

7 nights in a similar place in Ireland in September E410.

Cost of eating out in Italy at least 15-20% less than in Ireland.

Yep, flights etc bring one week's self-catering, car hire, plus flights to around E700. And the weather will more than likely be perfect.

We will be taking a break in Killarney in March though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I've always loved the idea of hiring a cruise boat and floating along the shannon. It would be nice if I could rely on the weather though. Picnics on a river bank sound more appealing than sitting in and paying for restaurants.

Anyone ever done the boat thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Visit the Carlton in Tralee. Nevermind holidaying abroad. It will make you want to emmigrate. Another Nama kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭kenmc

I've always loved the idea of hiring a cruise boat and floating along the shannon. It would be nice if I could rely on the weather though. Picnics on a river bank sound more appealing than sitting in and paying for restaurants.

Anyone ever done the boat thing?

have you looked at the price? :eek: if the weather is good, it's great. however, when it rains, a boat is a very small place to be confined, esp as you'll have left the car where you hired from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

kenmc wrote: »
    have you looked at the price? :eek: if the weather is good, it's great. however, when it rains, a boat is a very small place to be confined, esp as you'll have left the car where you hired from.

Don't think I'll check the price after your "eek" ;)

and that doesn't even include the "oar" tax. :P