Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guys... Health notice Showing in Gym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

that poor guy. the kids parents should never have let this go to court. jesus, they could have ruined his life. stupidity of the highest order

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

While everyone hates how there's always one guy happily walking around in the nude in the changing room for 15-20 minutes whoever signed off on letting this go to court should be sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Really poor parenting to let the young lad in there by himself and shame on them for accussing that man, its something that happens in every changing room in the country and it must have been an awful feeling to be charged with something of that seriusness.
    Thankfully the jury saw sense

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭qrrgprgua

I honestly can't see how this got to court? FGS.

I go to my local gym and there are 2 guys over 60's to take for ages to get dressed and could be there the their birthday suits for a good 20 minutes. I have young kids myself and once I thought one of the guys could be pervish... Anyway one day in the sauna got taking to the guy and found out that he was widowed and would go to Gym/Pool to pass the time, nothing more, so he would shower and dress at his leasure. He had absolutely no interest in Kids, once I knew him it was clear, If there were any boys in the shower he would just return to pool until the changing room was clear.

So how this case got to court is crazy. Its not unnatural for guys to shower nude in a gym changing room.

However I have always been careful if there are kids around to cover up, but that's just me, other guys just get on with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

How on earth did this drag on for over four years?

You can guarantee it generated hundreds of hours of paperwork. Once they're kept busy it's not a waste of money right?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

This is so dumb. It is not unusual to have communal showers in a swimming pool or gym. Do we need to worry about ending up in court for washing now? Ridiculous. The poor man. Can you imagine the stress for 4 and a half years.

And the boy is what 16 or 17 now? You would imagine at some point in the last 4 and a half years he would have become more socialised to changing rooms.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    And the boy is what 16 or 17 now? You would imagine at some point in the last 4 and a half years he would have become more socialised to changing rooms.

I question if the boy even had a father.. I mean come on.. Was he protected so much the family never let him go to a pool?

I think the most important thing that should come out of this is clear guidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

This totally makes me sick! That poor man :( its ridiculous that this went to court!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Serious questions need to be asked about how this ended up in court.
    A complete waste of time and money.

Am I right in saying the DPP would have had to approve this case going to court, what the hell was he thinking. Also what were the parent thinking letting the case go on.

The mind boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Can't believe this was ever taken to court.

Reminds me of this though:

dAy8u.png

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

What. the. fúck.

How in the name of jaysus did that ever get to court!? That guy probably just wants to forget about this now but I really hope he sues the shíte out of that boy's parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Francescoli

absolute disgrace this went to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

mawk wrote: »
    that poor guy. the kids parents should never have let this go to court. jesus, they could have ruined his life. stupidity of the highest order

I'm gonna jump straight to the conclusion that his parents are money hungry assh0les. The correct thing to do in this situation is to tell the kid that being naked in a dressing room is how things go. The completely incorrect thing is to get the cops involved. It's a naked man in a fcuking changing room, how completely messed up do his parents have to be to bring that to court.

Those parents need a kick in the backside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Skepticism

That's a very ridiculous situation. Should have been sorted within 2 weeks, nonetheless 4 and a half years.

A changing room is obviously going to have some degree of nudity, and if the child was that disturbed by it, then he must be leading a very clouded life. I presume it was just a case of money-hungry parents trying to milk a situation for all it's worth.

Glad the case has been resolved and the man's life can go back to normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Just to play devils advocate on this,wasnt the guy accused of committing a lewd act?

There isnt alot of information in the article on this.Now if it was a case of him just purely being naked in a mens changing room and that was what was construed as been a lewd act then I agree,it is laughable in the extreme but what if he had been accused of something else that could constitute a lewd act?

It may not be as black and white as people seem to think re the charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Skepticism

Just to play devils advocate on this,wasnt the guy accused of committing a lewd act?

There isnt alot of information in the article on this.Now if it was a case of him just purely being naked in a mens changing room and that was what was construed as been a lewd act then I agree,it is laughable in the extreme but what if he had been accused of something else that could constitute a lewd act?

It may not be as black and white as people seem to think re the charges.

It looks like he was just walking around naked from the article, but that's true, it mightn't be as plain and simple as it seems. I'm sure if it was something more serious that they'd have broadcasted it though?

Not necessarily.

A lewd act could constitute a helluva lot of things.Im by no means saying he did anything wrong but say if he was drying his genitals when the child walked in.

Totally innocent right?

But what if the child goes to his parents and says that there was a man touching himself when he went in,its true,there was,but what a 12 year old sees and what an adult sees in the exact same situation can be two very different things.

Im glad to see the accused was exonerated completely but with things like this,the greater good does need to be taken into account.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭dipper.meath16

Most public pools have individual cubicals or that just my local pool?
    Reminds me of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Im glad to see the accused was exonerated completely but with things like this,the greater good does need to be taken into account.

Is dragging a man through the courts for over 4 years really the greater good? I definitely woulnd't consider it so, and while a "lewd" act can be whatever to a child, a little common sense and benefit of the doubt is definitely called for here. The chances of a man trying to seduce a child in a dressing room seem very small to me. I think this really was parents being greedy.

Well what if he had been standing there jerking off while looking at the child,thats the point Im trying to make.

With the limited information available its not as simple as saying that his parents were trying to make a quick buck imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Well what if he had been standing there jerking off while looking at the child,thats the point Im trying to make.
    ...but he wasn't. Because if he had, he would be guilty.

I agree with the gist of what you're saying - going by the article, he was probably scratching his balls like any man does.

It's very easy for a parent to prompt a child to give the answers that they want (intentionally or otherwise), so in relaying his discomfort to his parents the child probably agreed that "the man was playing with his willy".

So I agree at the basic idea that a child making such an accusation is cause for investigation, but it seems pretty clear in this instance that there was nothing in it. The question is how in the hell this thing even got to court without someone getting the actual version of events from the child.

seamus wrote: »
    ...but he wasn't. Because if he had, he would be guilty.

I agree with the gist of what you're saying - going by the article, he was probably scratching his balls like any man does.

It's very easy for a parent to prompt a child to give the answers that they want (intentionally or otherwise), so in relaying his discomfort to his parents the child probably agreed that "the man was playing with his willy".

So I agree at the basic idea that a child making such an accusation is cause for investigation, but it seems pretty clear in this instance that there was nothing in it. The question is how in the hell this thing even got to court without someone getting the actual version of events from the child.

Basically the point I was trying to make,only delivered much more succinctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

to continue the devil's advocate theme, obviously the guards and the DPP thought they had a case worth pursuing. now, surely, if it was a guy just drying his bits or scratching his balls, they wouldn't have wasted the time, hassle or expense? or am I being too idealistic?! it just makes me wonder if we haven't heard the full story.

sam34 wrote: »
    to continue the devil's advocate theme, obviously the guards and the DPP thought they had a case worth pursuing. now, surely, if it was a guy just drying his bits or scratching his balls, they wouldn't have wasted the time, hassle or expense? or am I being too idealistic?! it just makes me wonder if we haven't heard the full story.

Hmm. I don't know.. Has any of you guys seen "atonement"? Girl realises what she saw as a Child was not what was reality.

the man could have been cleaning his dick.. Pull back the foreskin and clean around the glans, its what all doctors say,.... You would be surprised how many parents don't teach their boys NORMAL hygiene.

then shock horror , boy sees man cleaning himself..

Goes to Mammy/Daddy... That old guy in the shower was rubbing his dick.. Parents assume masturbation... Call guards.. Goes to trial.

In trial is all comes out, Guy is good character. etc... etc.. bla bla bla.

The whole thing is Crazy. All the old fellas in my gym spend ages naked.. Half annoys me as they are there starting up conversations etc.. But I know its completely innocent, after years of seeing them I know exactly that none of them have any interest in kids,.. actually they all purposely only use the place when there are no kids as they annoy them.

What annoys me about the whole story is the 4 years it took to clear up the mess... and a TRIAL!. OMG if that accusation happened to my it would kill me totally. Suspicion is like black oil,, you can never fully wash it out.

Since when do the Gardai decide if there's a case to answer or not? I thought once something was reported they investigated and sent off a file, their hands are pretty much tied. Coupla tools in the DPP is all it takes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,768 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I don't get what the problem is with people being naked in a changing room? Why does it bother people so much?

I have been playing team sports all my life so I suppose I am use to seeing people naked in changing rooms and wouldn't think twice about it if someone was naked in the gym changing room. I just don't get the problem.

On the OP, it is disgusting what happened to this man. Surely a bit of cop on was required by the parents of the boy, the Gardai and the DPP who taught they had a case against the man. Absolutely shocking stuff and I hope there were are few wrists slapped over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,294 ✭✭✭source

amacachi wrote: »
    Since when do the Gardai decide if there's a case to answer or not? I thought once something was reported they investigated and sent off a file, their hands are pretty much tied. Coupla tools in the DPP is all it takes.

It depends on the seriousness of the case. The DPP has consented to Gardai being able to make the decision on whether to prosecute or not for some minor cases, decision is usually made by an Inspector or Superintendent. A case like this would more than likely have had to go to the DPP for approval.

Floppybits wrote: »
    I don't get what the problem is with people being naked in a changing room? Why does it bother people so much?

I have been playing team sports all my life so I suppose I am use to seeing people naked in changing rooms and wouldn't think twice about it if someone was naked in the gym changing room. I just don't get the problem.

Without wishing to stray too far off-topic it's not the nudity per se that annoys me. I find it happens a bit too often to be coincidental that there's one person being "the nude one" in the changing room. Everyone else is happy enough putting a towel around themselves until they need to access the area. It seems like it's first-come, first-serve on being the naked guy each time though, I've seen one guy who was always walking around for 10-15 minutes in sandals, leaning over a sink etc., but one day he walked in and someone was already being the naked guy so he didn't bother.
    It just seems like an unwritten and annoying rule that there'll be one (usually old) guy being OTT with the nudity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Without wishing to stray too far off-topic it's not the nudity per se that annoys me. I find it happens a bit too often to be coincidental that there's one person being "the nude one" in the changing room. Everyone else is happy enough putting a towel around themselves until they need to access the area. It seems like it's first-come, first-serve on being the naked guy each time though, I've seen one guy who was always walking around for 10-15 minutes in sandals, leaning over a sink etc., but one day he walked in and someone was already being the naked guy so he didn't bother.
    It just seems like an unwritten and annoying rule that there'll be one (usually old) guy being OTT with the nudity.

Yea I always hate it when I'm the designated nude person :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I haven't been a member of a gym for a few years but I was always uncomfortable with people walking around naked. I always found it a bit odd. I would find myself having to stare at the ground when walking around.

I suppose it wouldn't be odd if everybody did it or most people did it. But it is always just one or two.

Yea I always hate it when I'm the designated nude person :(

Do us all a favour and wait til you get home to shave. Or find a high sink to do it in. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Dubhlinner

Jesus what a photo to accompany the story.

py2006 wrote: »
    I haven't been a member of a gym for a few years but I was always uncomfortable with people walking around naked. I always found it a bit odd. I would find myself having to stare at the ground when walking around.

I suppose it wouldn't be odd if everybody did it or most people did it. But it is always just one or two.

But why are ya uncomfortable? I mean the guy is probably not paying you any notice and doesn't even see ya there, so why are you uncomfortable? Is he waving his nads in your face or something?

When I was in the gym I would be get naked to change into my gym gear, then when I finished my work out I would get naked, grab the towel and into the shower, then dry myself in the wet area of the changing room and not walk through the changing room dripping wet leaving puddles everywhere, which to me is a bigger annoyance than walking around naked, then walk to wear my clothes are and get dressed. I dont see what's wrong with that, Im minding my own business, I'm not doing anything offensive other than have a shower and get changed. Where is the problem with it? It is starting to sound like men are turning into women and will soon have to be gymnasts to get dressed without exposing any skin. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

^^ Appropriate username. :pac:

uhuh and not ashamed of it either. :D

But why are ya uncomfortable? I mean the guy is probably not paying you any notice and doesn't even see ya there, so why are you uncomfortable? Is he waving his nads in your face or something?

When I was in the gym I would be get naked to change into my gym gear, then when I finished my work out I would get naked, grab the towel and into the shower, then dry myself in the wet area of the changing room and not walk through the changing room dripping wet leaving puddles everywhere, which to me is a bigger annoyance than walking around naked, then walk to wear my clothes are and get dressed. I dont see what's wrong with that, Im minding my own business, I'm not doing anything offensive other than have a shower and get changed. Where is the problem with it? It is starting to sound like men are turning into women and will soon have to be gymnasts to get dressed without exposing any skin. :(

Do you wear sandal-type things? They're the only thing that causes any run-off from me in the changing rooms. It takes about 5 seconds to dry off enough to the point that you won't be dripping all over everything.

Do you mean flip flops? yeah I do wear them but thats to protect my feet from picking up something in the changing rooms. I am talking about the guys that have a shower and don't bother toweling off and walk through the changing room dripping wet leaving puddles behind, where as 2 minutes toweling off in the wet area would stop that.

Yeah flip flops, they tend to leave a load of very wet footprints, not a lot can be done about that. For me it's only a few seconds of towelling needed to stop dripping later and I've got a lot of skin to drip from :pac:

You have no idea how deeply disturbing seeing an overweight middle aged man walking around naked. It isn't illegal so he has every right. He may not be looking at me but I don't want to be accused at looking either so eyes the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,311 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

You have no idea how deeply disturbing seeing an overweight middle aged man walking around naked. It isn't illegal so he has every right. He may not be looking at me but I don't want to be accused at looking either so eyes the floor.
    I gave up caring. I strip off after the gym, grab towel, and goto the shower. I see no sense in wrapping the clean towel around my sweaty body, just so I can rub that sweat on my body after I wash myself :confused: Likewise afterwards, I dry myself in the shower cubicle, walk back to the locker with towel in hand, and proceed to get dressed.

I don't get these people trying to hide their balls. I don't care about their balls, but holy christ they make a show on trying to hide them. The old lads don't care. And most others don't care. Gone are the days of some immature git slagging you over your tackle, so why hide it?

Oh, and all kids must leave at 19:00, so I make sure I don't finish before then, so I don't make any of the daddies uncomfortable.

Mickey Dazzler,post deleted,if you dont have anything worth while to contribute then dont bother contributing at all.

you have to be taking the mickey?

the_syco wrote: »
    I gave up caring. I strip off after the gym, grab towel, and goto the shower. I see no sense in wrapping the clean towel around my sweaty body, just so I can rub that sweat on my body after I wash myself :confused: Likewise afterwards, I dry myself in the shower cubicle, walk back to the locker with towel in hand, and proceed to get dressed.

I don't get these people trying to hide their balls. I don't care about their balls, but holy christ they make a show on trying to hide them. The old lads don't care. And most others don't care. Gone are the days of some immature git slagging you over your tackle, so why hide it?

Oh, and all kids must leave at 19:00, so I make sure I don't finish before then, so I don't make any of the daddies uncomfortable.

+1. I don't understand why some people have a problem with this. Once seen a guy with his towel wrapped around his chest, that is more obvious than walking around naked if you ask me because you are thinking why is he wearing a towel like a woman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Well I guess there's a reason why their called 'private parts'.

A little discretion in a changing room is to be welcomed.

If you're going to scratch the meat and two veg please do it while showering :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I really don't see why people have a problem with people being naked in the shower area. Don't like it? Don't shower at the gym.

Galvasean wrote: »
    I really don't see why people have a problem with people being naked in the shower area. Don't like it? Don't shower at the gym.

Showing Naked is not the problem... The problem was the what the kid "Thought" he saw and the 4 years it took to clear up the mess.

I mean if could be any of us... Suddenly Guards appear at our house saying we are suspected to X Y Z... unless you have a strong stomach to weather the ordeal it can knock you for 6.

All that is needed now is clear Guidelines to protect innocent people for these useless prosecutions.

I know a local Pool/Gym that have always clearly stated that nudity was not allowed and they have private showing cubicals and changing areas, swim suit must be worn at all times... no cameras allowed.. So its clear, end of story. And they have CCTV cameras in the common areas of the changing rooms (outside all the cubicles)

So do we need clear guidelines or not? Or is this case a once off and should we just teach our kids to keep their eyes to themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,294 ✭✭✭source

qrrgprgua wrote: »
    Galvasean wrote: »

Showing Naked is not the problem... The problem was the what the kid "Thought" he saw and the 4 years it took to clear up the mess.

I mean if could be any of us... Suddenly Guards appear at our house saying we are suspected to X Y Z... unless you have a strong stomach to weather the ordeal it can knock you for 6.

All that is needed now is clear Guidelines to protect innocent people for these useless prosecutions.

I know a local Pool/Gym that have always clearly stated that nudity was not allowed and they have private showing cubicals and changing areas, swim suit must be worn at all times... no cameras allowed.. So its clear, end of story. And they have CCTV cameras in the common areas of the changing rooms (outside all the cubicles)

So do we need clear guidelines or not? Or is this case a once off and should we just teach our kids to keep their eyes to themselves?

That's all we need, more regulations when all that's needed is common sense.

you have to be taking the mickey?

pun intended? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,311 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

qrrgprgua wrote: »
    Could you please PM the name of said pool/gym so I can avoid it? It sounds like someone ingrained with some good ole fashioned "irish catholic guilt" is in charge of it, and would be somewhere that I'd prefer to avoid. And if that's the only decent pool/gym in the area, I'll avoid that area completely.