Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people dislike Bernard Dunne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

walshb wrote: »
    I don't know him. But, comes across as likable.

As for abilities, well, I guess that is another thread, but this thread was bound to bring up his abilities and performances etc.

It's Boring Bren and been done over and over, if its a thread for that then cool but i think the fact some people dislike him is nothing to do with Boxing, it's more the fact he is a confident lad and people here seem to prefer to see down throdden characters, if he was american it would be a non issue..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,338 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

cowzerp wrote: »
    it's more the fact he is a confident lad and people here seem to prefer to see down throdden characters, if he was american it would be a non issue..

And as this thread proves, most people DO like him. so while there are unquestionably some begrudgers, most people aren't like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,656 ✭✭✭✭walshb

It's Boring Bren and been done over and over, if its a thread for that then cool but i think the fact some people dislike him is nothing to do with Boxing, it's more the fact he is a confident lad and people here seem to prefer to see down throdden characters, if he was american it would be a non issue..

There is no reason why anyone should dislike him unless he's done something to piss them off. But, people will always judge a personality from how they behave, appear, their success, etc. As a person I would rate him.

Put it this way, anytime I have seen him on tv being interviewed he came across a whole lot better than some of our other known celebs/personalities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭tryingmybestt

i can't think of any good fighter who didn't have confidence

a fighter without confidence is a beaten man

dunne was confident but he wasn't overly cocky..he always gave respect to his opponents ability

mayweather is someone who is very cocky but he backs it up....i like a bit of cockiness, all the great fighters had it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭iluvcheese92

I've always liked Bernard Dunne but i found it frustrating when the media overhyped his relatively minor achievements in the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

anyone who beats a very good world champion in a fight of the year IMO can be considered a good pro...

not an all time great but defiitely something to be proud of and a good pro

dunne had top rate boxing skills from the amateurs through the pro's...

he got cold against martinez....it happens

against cordoba it was a 12 round war....great stamina

against poonsawat he was against a terribly strong fighter with a great punch....poonsawat was training in my mates club before the fight and he is supposed to look like a serious banger on the pads, i saw a clip and it definitely looked so....in that fight dunne fought the wrong fight, trying too much in front of the home support....he should have been more cautious for the first 5 rounds...dunnes problem was when he got caught he went to war and fought back too much

and surely this is a serious flaw in itself?

I tend to agree with Bren, when the pace suited him Dunne was a lovely slick boxer. Technically very good, but he had serious SERIOUS flaws. He could be tagged handily enough, and was always susceptible to being KO'd by average fighters who could bang.

For instance as limited as Kiko is, i'd still give him a good shot at KO'ing Bernard again, thats saying something.

When an opponent doesn't respect your power and also knows your chin is dodgy he can just hunt you down, give away rounds even looking to land that big shot.

His fights were good nights out or whatever yeah for sure, but you have to critically judge him as a fighter and he was a proponent of the "carefully matched" nature of the sport. He was a good fighter, not world class and not even very good, just my honest opinion.

As for being a legit World Champ, Dunne may have been the "regular WBA champ", but doesn't change the fact that he held one third of a version of the WBA title.

And as for being gutsy in taking the Poonsawat fight, he had no choice seeing as it was a mandatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Dodge wrote: »
    And as this thread proves, most people DO like him. so while there are unquestionably some begrudgers, most people aren't like that

Dunne is a sound bloke by all accounts. Don't understand why someone would hate him tbh.

Also don't see how there is begrudgery in this case, the only issue people may have is how he was portrayed as a legit world champ and a world class fighter.

Jayob10 wrote: »

I tend to agree with Bren, when the pace suited him Dunne was a lovely slick boxer. Technically very good, but he had serious SERIOUS flaws. He could be tagged handily enough, and was always susceptible to being KO'd by average fighters who could bang.

For instance as limited as Kiko is, i'd still give him a good shot at KO'ing Bernard again, thats saying something.

When an opponent doesn't respect your power and also knows your chin is dodgy he cant just hunt you down, give away rounds even looking to land that big shot.

His fights were good nights out or whatever yeah for sure, but you have to critically judge him as a fighter and he was a proponent of the "carefully matched" nature of the sport. He was a good fighter, not world class and not even very good, just my honest opinion.

As for being a legit World Champ, Dunne may have been the "regular WBA champ", but doesn't change the fact that he held one third of a version of the WBA title.

And as for being gutsy in taking the Poonsawat fight, he had no choice seeing as it was a mandatory.

His team let him down in matching him with PK. I know well it was a mandatory, but a good team would have sidestepped that. Bernard deserved a pay day or two before a crushing defeat. And, reading his book, he was not at all happy with having to face PK, and rightly so IMO. I was at the fight. Yes, great atmosphere. Many many there from my view were not real fans, just on the Peter's-Dunne-RTE bandwagon. Best of luck to them.

I agree with everything else you wrote. Pace suited him, the guy hadn't any power, then Dunne could look good, but so could any good boxer. It's when the pace was higher, the opponent better, and a half decent puncher, and it was trouble.

IF Dunne had a chin I think he outboxes Kiko all night, but he does not. So, Kiko would always be a big threat to Dunne, as would any half decent puncher. His reaction to good shots was pretty poor, something he had no real control over.

As for the title, it is well known that the belt was a version of the real belt, and that Dunne had done nothing of note to earn the shot. He had three comeback fights vs. very average opponents after a bad loss to Kiko, and the money machine got him this shot. Fair play to them for that. Nobody is begrudging him this shot. He took it, and made the most of it.

I always found that when some simply stated facts about Dunne and his career, they were accused of disliking him as a person? Ludicrous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Francescoli

I thought Dunne was well liked.He was a decent fighter but nothing more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SupaNova

I did know someone who didn't like Dunne up until the Cordoba fight. Said person thought he was over hyped and found him cocky, but that fight made him a fan. After the fight his comment was along the lines of "jeez that was one of the most exciting fights I have ever seen, and the bleep has got some heart in fairness".

Jayob10 wrote: »

When an opponent doesn't respect your power and also knows your chin is dodgy he can just hunt you down, give away rounds even looking to land that big shot.

yeah that was a flaw

i disagree that he wasn't world class

i feel any boxer who beats a very good champion in a fight of the year is world class

it was unlucky he fought someone in poonsawat who was all wrong for him in his first defence

dunne could have beaten many other boxers who were more boxer than fighter

Bernard Dunne was world class ability wise, Unfortunately his chin or his power where not and this stopped him and these are not skills, there attributes he could do nothing about.

If he had these 2 attributes he could have been Irelands greatest ever Boxer.

He Didn't unfortunately.

Solid chin and good power, and maybe a better defense too, and yes, a whole lot better. Thing is, the first two are so so important.

I also hear folks saying if Bernard boxed and didn't war he would have won this and that. But, you cannot expect this to last for 36 mins, like it or not, the chin will be hit clean at some point, and his reactions to good heavy shots was just poor. If he had Pea like defense I could get behind that argument. He didn't have a great defense.

Solid chin and good power, and maybe a better defense too, and yes, a whole lot better. Thing is, the first two are so so important.

I also hear folks saying if Bernard boxed and didn't war he would have won this and that. But, you cannot expect this to last for 36 mins, like it or not, the chin will be hit clean at some point, and his reactions to good heavy shots was just poor. If he had Pea like defense I could get behind that argument. He didn't have a great defense.

He had a standard defense, good enough to go far if he had either a better chin or more power to deter his opponent-the fact is you can't hold someone off who does not respect your power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

Bernard always looked gaunt and frail,but he was a classy boxer no chin maybe but he had plenty of heart,he did ok for himself from boxing 2 world rated fights and 4 european title fights ,plus an unbeaten run USA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

Jealous of us Dubs!;)

:eek: You're a dub! . . pity, I liked you. . :pac:

In regards to Dunne, I always 100% support Irish athletes regardless of their field. However when I think of dunne now, its not in terms of like or dislike but disappointment! I had such high hopes for the fight against poonswat(spelling) and it wasnt that he lost but how he lost

:eek: You're a dub! . . pity, I liked you. . :pac:

In regards to Dunne, I always 100% support Irish athletes regardless of their field. However when I think of dunne now, its not in terms of like or dislike but disappointment! I had such high hopes for the fight against poonswat(spelling) and it wasnt that he lost but how he lost

Thanks, us Dubs have thick skins. Understatement!

As for the high hopes, weren't you always watching Dunne biting your nails? I mean, a fighter that has quite a weak chin, is a fighter I would never have confidence in. I knew that if PK was the heavy handed fighter they were making out, then Dunne was gone, and he was gone when the first clean shot landed. Dunne not only had a weak chin, his reaction to shots was very poor. It was like he was after getting hit with a sledgehammer. Is this down to legs, strength, being weak at the weight etc? Poor chin, but something else too.

PK to me was nothing special. Tough, strong and heavy hands. But, had Dunne a chin, and power, Dunne outboxes him all night. Problem is he had neither, and as mentioned, this spells disaster when meeting guys like PK and fighters who are strong and with good power.

See, the bolded underline; nobody can accuse me of not praising Dunne. I am serious with the above assertion.

Oh, and he outboxes Kiko too.

I always thought he came across quite well to be honest. As a boxer having his hands around his waist and the glass jaw weren't a good match though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭minty16

'relatively minor achievements in the sport' ?? What drugs are some people on? When is the last World Champ we had? Also why are people saying he was only interim champ ? Again, clueless. The Cordoba fight was in my opinion the greatest Irish sporting moment in 20 years.

minty16 wrote: »
    'relatively minor achievements in the sport' ?? What drugs are some people on? When is the last World Champ we had? Also why are people saying he was only interim champ ? Again, clueless. The Cordoba fight was in my opinion the greatest Irish sporting moment in 20 years.

When there are so so many tiltes and so so many so called world champs, then I think it's fair to look at this and make a call.

Boxing is littered with men who were "world champs."

Oh, and Katie Taylor is a three time world champ, isn't she? And the REAL world champ too. Not a verison of a version.

When there are so so many tiltes and so so many so called world champs, then I think it's fair to look at this and make a call.

Boxing is littered with men who were "world champs."

Oh, and Katie Taylor is a three time world champ, isn't she? And the REAL world champ too. Not a verison of a version.

Yes Katie Taylor not a version of a version,just like years ago,8 divisions 8 champions,not these so many versions nowadays to suit TV,my opinion of the best irish boxer ever Jimmy McLarnin from Ravarnett between Hillsborough and Lisburn,this past few years the papers tell us of the potential of our boxers yet only Bernard Dunne has delivered,we have many would be champions the question is when will they deliver

barney4001 wrote: »
    Yes Katie Taylor not a version of a version,just like years ago,8 divisions 8 champions,not these so many versions nowadays to suit TV,my opinion of the best irish boxer ever Jimmy McLarnin from Ravarnett between Hillsborough and Lisburn,this past few years the papers tell us of the potential of our boxers yet only Bernard Dunne has delivered,we have many would be champions the question is when will they deliver

Look at Macklin, claims to be Irish, and he did beat the legit champ in Sturm, was robbed I thought. BUT, Macklin to me is only good, yes, world class in today's standards, but not my idea of special.

regardless of the title dunne should be given credit for beating a world class fighter in cordoba and beating him in a thriller of a fight where he showed great heart....

that fight imo is top 3 most exciting fights ever involving a native irish boxer

regardless of the title that was a great achievement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭minty16

But we are Irish, how many world champions have we had since Bernard? How many did we have in the many many years before him? Considering previous Irish achievements in professional boxing, his achievements are huge in every sense of the word. Not to mention that the fight itself was unbelievably entertaining and totally enthralling. Bernard Dunne delivered where so many have failed. If you take away the importance of actually holding the belt then you take away why people become boxers in the first place.

Quite unfair comparing Dunne to Macklin too IMO. I dont give Macklin that fight but what Bernard Dunne gave to the Irish people is something that I dont think Macklin ever could. He fought on RTE where as Macklin isn't even Irish etc etc.

But we are Irish, how many world champions have we had since Bernard? How many did we have in the many many years before him? Considering previous Irish achievements in professional boxing, his achievements are huge in every sense of the word. Not to mention that the fight itself was unbelievably entertaining and totally enthralling. Bernard Dunne delivered where so many have failed. If you take away the importance of actually holding the belt then you take away why people become boxers in the first place.

Quite unfair comparing Dunne to Macklin too IMO. I dont give Macklin that fight but what Bernard Dunne gave to the Irish people is something that I dont think Macklin ever could. He fought on RTE where as Macklin isn't even Irish etc etc.

Nvere compared them, or at least didn't mean to.

Look at Macklin, claims to be Irish, and he did beat the legit champ in Sturm, was robbed I thought. BUT, Macklin to me is only good, yes, world class in today's standards, but not my idea of special.

I cannot see Macklin winning his next fight ,i hope i am wrong though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

I always found Bernard Dunne to be very popular ...........

Never heard a bad word about him ( other than a couple of posters on boards)

A decent bloke as far as I can tell .......

Hope he reads this :)

Bernard surprised a hell of a lot of people in the Cordoba fight he looked dunne and dusted when he went down,all over i thought but he has a big heart and turned the tables round,was a great night for Irish boxing no doubting that

He did. Almost out several times. Showed tenacity to stay in and keep going.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Echoing what a few others are saying, never really found anything wrong with Dunne, more RTE etc who were making out he was the real deal when it was quite obvious he wasn't.
    He still knows a helluvalot more about it than I do, so happy to hear him doing pundit work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 shaneh408

he is sound as a pound

dead on

gud boxer

fast also

shudnt ov retired

what do ye tink?

what age is he?

shaneh408 wrote: »
    what age is he?

I think he's 31 this month, maybe 32?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

He was a world champion boxer, he proved himself as a boxer in that one fight. Irish boxing world champions are as rare as hens teeth. Also, He is a great commentator in boxing for RTE, I hope he continues

sxt wrote: »
    He was a world champion boxer, he proved himself as a boxer in that one fight. Irish boxing world champions are as rare as hens teeth. Also, He is a great commentator in boxing for RTE, I hope he continues

yes i agree Magee is to biased only sees the local man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

Promoters promote, he was great entertainment and a skilful boxer, as a fight fan I enjoyed every show I went to of his, only 2 I missed where his 2 defeats!!

The only two I got to see were his defeats :(

Don't even want to calculate how much those fights cost me per minute.

The night he won the title was an epic night of boxing, and great day for Irish sport in general.

Though I do remember back around then I felt him a bit smug more than confident. Felt really bad for him in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

This is quite a funny old thread, its like being timewarped back 2-3 years ago. I dont even know what stirred the OP to start such a thread in the first place but there you go.

Anyway the underlying sentiment is one of good times and not begrudgery. Its funny though how Bernard Dunne threads always get DRAGGED into a funny old place by "certain" people, even funny at this stage.

Sure he got a lot of press coverage but when you look back he done it the hard way, went away to the US, secured a contract with Sugar Ray Leonard promotions, managed to get Freddie Roache to invest very heavily in him and all but 1 of his fights stateside were covered on national TV. What some people cant accept is that these people seen something in him. When Sugar Ray seen him in his second pro fight he said he would be a world champ, the renowned freddie roach said he would be a world champ so when he decided to come home and give it a go in his homeland it was inevitable that he would have a huge amount of media attention and I would be the first to accept some of this was a tad over the top at times but it was a means to an end and the promoter had a job to do to make it commercially viable....my point is dont hate the player hate the game.

The difference is he backed it up, people who went to the shows had great nights, it was always entertaining. A lot has been said about his strenghts and weaknesses as a boxer, sure he had his strenghts and weaknesses in equal measure (like most boxers) but what you cant question is his bottle & commitment. He was written off completely after Kiko and proved an awful lot of people wrong. It was claimed he was hyped and not the real deal, it was claimed he didnt have the stamina, it was claimed he didnt have the bottle to step foot into a ring again post kiko ffs. People said he didnt even deserve a shot at Cordoba, that Cordoba himself wasnt worthy of holding a title. Not only did he win a world title but in some style and as people have said it was one of THE most exceptional fights involving one of our own and people still look for an angle to discredit him.

Its funny the way One poster cant help himself, it doesnt surprise me that this poster is ALL OVER this thread and everything he says is contridactory to the extreme, backhanded compliments dropped in every now and again so he can give the optics of being fair with his analysis when everyone know what his agenda is. He has tried to discredit him many many times in the past and has been proved wrong on many occassions but just refuses to accept this and cant deal with it. I mean build a bridge and get over it, I can only assume it is bourne from a jealousy for achieving all of the things that he once harboured as a boxer himself.

Now queue the multiple reference to all of the backhanded compliments which he will hide behind, all of the bull_**** posts are there from the years gone by and cant be gotten away from (dont make me troll)..... get over it, you are in a lonely majority of 1 with your agenda to drag this into the gutter and attempt to discredit the career he had and the one you had grand aspirations for!

alan,

You appear quite sensitive, and almost angry when one analyses Bernard's career in any negative light. Why?

The thread is why is he disliked. All of my posts relating to this are genuine and honest.

Career, as a boxer? Am I the only person who didn't rate him highly as a pro?

And, I am ususally "all over" most threads here. So, nobody can accuse me of targeting Bernard in this thread.

His career and wins and opposition didn't excite me, big deal, why don't you "build a bridge," and get over it.

What is backhanded about saying he was a nice boxer, good amateur and had a nice style? This is true, and nearly all here agree. Then because one points to his flaws, chin and power, this first part about style etc is deemed backhanded? You look at someone' pros and cons, and the pros become backhanded compliments because you listed cons?

Your talk of me dragging his career into the gutter. Where in the thread have I done this. Jeez, I wonder if it was Dudey McCloskey being discussed, a fighter myself and yourself don't rate high, would you be so irate?

And, from all the posts in THIS thread, why target mine? Are mine that bad in your eyes?

alan, who is this poster, jayob?

You really are quite sensitive when one analyses Beranrd's career? Why?

The thread is why is he disliked? All of my posts relating to this are genuine and honest.

Career, as a boxer? Am I the only person who didn't rate him highly as a pro?

And, I am ususally "all over" most threads here. So, nobody can accuse me of targeting Bernard in this thread.

His career and wins and opposition didn't excite me, big deal, why don't you "build a bridge," and get over it.

What is backhanded about saying he was a nice boxer, good amateur and had a nice style? This is true, and nearly all here agree. Then because one points to his flaws, shin and power, this first part about style etc is deemed backhanded?

And, where have you been for so long?

Your not the only one, Bernard was enjoyable to watch but he wasn't a great boxer by any means, he showed great heart to win the title but got destroyed by anyone else of world class quality. So he's a good boxer but he wasn't a great one.

Don't think it's unfair to state as much.

Your not the only one, Bernard was enjoyable to watch but he wasn't a great boxer by any means, he showed great heart to win the title but got destroyed by anyone else of world class quality. So he's a good boxer but he wasn't a great one.

Don't think it's unfair to state as much.

I also freely admit that in the past I may have been a wee too harsh when analysing him, but, it was mainly due to Peter's and the hype surrounding it, not Bernard, and had it been Andy Lee or Henry Coyle or Matthew Macklin, I would have been the same. This is nothing personal, but I think alanceltic somehow feels it is.

This "jealousy" tag? I don't get this. There have been thousands of amateur boxers in this country who never achieved what Bernard did, and I bet many of them rate him average/good/very good as a pro. Are the ones who rate him average or good, like me, all jealous?

Like I said, I am not the type of person to get excited just because RTE and the hype machine are at work. When I see the real deal I will say it.

I just didn't see what RTE and Peter's were getting at in all those fights they put on. I did see a great win vs. Cordoba. I said that too.

At least when I critique, it's not just "he's no good, he's crap, he's average," etc; I try to give reasons and explain why as a pro he didn't excite me.

alanceltic wrote: »
    This is quite a funny old thread, its like being timewarped back 2-3 years ago. I dont even know what stirred the OP to start such a thread in the first place but there you go.

Anyway the underlying sentiment is one of good times and not begrudgery. Its funny though how Bernard Dunne threads always get DRAGGED into a funny old place by "certain" people, even funny at this stage.

Sure he got a lot of press coverage but when you look back he done it the hard way, went away to the US, secured a contract with Sugar Ray Leonard promotions, managed to get Freddie Roache to invest very heavily in him and all but 1 of his fights stateside were covered on national TV. What some people cant accept is that these people seen something in him. When Sugar Ray seen him in his second pro fight he said he would be a world champ, the renowned freddie roach said he would be a world champ so when he decided to come home and give it a go in his homeland it was inevitable that he would have a huge amount of media attention and I would be the first to accept some of this was a tad over the top at times but it was a means to an end and the promoter had a job to do to make it commercially viable....my point is dont hate the player hate the game.

The difference is he backed it up, people who went to the shows had great nights, it was always entertaining. A lot has been said about his strenghts and weaknesses as a boxer, sure he had his strenghts and weaknesses in equal measure (like most boxers) but what you cant question is his bottle & commitment. He was written off completely after Kiko and proved an awful lot of people wrong. It was claimed he was hyped and not the real deal, it was claimed he didnt have the stamina, it was claimed he didnt have the bottle to step foot into a ring again post kiko ffs. People said he didnt even deserve a shot at Cordoba, that Cordoba himself wasnt worthy of holding a title. Not only did he win a world title but in some style and as people have said it was one of THE most exceptional fights involving one of our own and people still look for an angle to discredit him.

Its funny the way One poster cant help himself, it doesnt surprise me that this poster is ALL OVER this thread and everything he says is contridactory to the extreme, backhanded compliments dropped in every now and again so he can give the optics of being fair with his analysis when everyone know what his agenda is. He has tried to discredit him many many times in the past and has been proved wrong on many occassions but just refuses to accept this and cant deal with it. I mean build a bridge and get over it, I can only assume it is bourne from a jealousy for achieving all of the things that he once harboured as a boxer himself.

Now queue the multiple reference to all of the backhanded compliments which he will hide behind, all of the bull_**** posts are there from the years gone by and cant be gotten away from (dont make me troll)..... get over it, you are in a lonely majority of 1 with your agenda to drag this into the gutter and attempt to discredit the career he had and the one you had grand aspirations for!

agree

boxing was dead in ireland until dunne came along

i can't hold peters or rte at fault for creating some excitement and backing a great prospect that could one day become champion ....and guess what, he delivered and beat a great champion in cordoba....it wasn't a con, he delivered and became champ.....he also delivered in terms of rejuvenating the sport in ireland and this has helped everyone including the amateurs who benefit from the high performance due to increased investment

i don't get some ppl criticising him non stop.....its obvious bernard was not the best of all time but he still was OUR champ and i think it's great that rte, jimmy magee, peters etc. got behind dunne and supported him

it was one hell of a ride that most enjoed

You writing for "The Sun" these days? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I don't know many who disliked Bernard Dunne, I cheered him on in all his fights and was delighted when he won the World Title but he was simply overrated by many here. Although he won a world title I wouldn't consider him a world level fighter, better than European but not world level. If people disagree fair enough but that's my opinion. It never stopped me from cheering him on though and the night he beat Cordoba was an amazing night for Irish boxing.

You writing for "The Sun" these days? :D

the sun no why u say that:D

i hope Bernard Dunne has a permanent spot on rte boxing ahows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

yep , hes a decent personality as a boxing analyst.
    He comes across very well on the camera .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭lala88

Dodge wrote: »
    And what made Ali famous before he was a world champion, his Olympic gold medal...

Met Dunne once doing a kids charty thing. Nice fella. Only the bitterest of people could dislike him, and their opinion doesn't matter

Ya thats what made him famous alright......