Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do Your Friends know???

• 30-01-2012 12:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

Do your friends know you're a member of boards.ie (do they know your username etc)

Curious....

mine dont.....

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭HandsomeDivil

No thank God :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Yes, and they think its as odd as fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭Dante

Yes, couldn't care less tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Yes.

Do they care? Probably not.:P

Yup. A few do.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,735 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

What is a friend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Don't think so, doubt they know what forums I'm subscribed to or under what usernames

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

God no! I keep a window of hardcore bestiality porn open when surfing on here so I can quickly Alt-tab out of boards.ie to something more easily explainable if someone walks into the room.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭timewilltell

Nah, then I'd have nowhere to bitch about them.

Band of cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

Manach wrote: »
    What is a friend?

a fella that "thanks" your post :)

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭Fourteen

Don't think so. I've never mentioned it.

It's not that I don't want to, it's more like there's nothing to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭skinny90

No,although I know one of my friends is on it as his user name is the same for Facebook,skype,YouTube,xbl etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

yes and couldnt give a fiddlers fart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Dear God no... I think I would die of embarrassment :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

how may pats are there in wicklow? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

No and I will try my best to keep it that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I'd mention boards in conversation, but nobody has ever asked me what my username is. I deeply suspect they wouldn't give a fcuk, to be honest. Boards isn't part of everyones day-to-day lives, and it would be silly to assume so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I don't think people really care. I might mention sometimes that I was on here, nothing major.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Some do, some don't. I know one stalks my posts regularly and another always makes fun of my post count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Yep. Most dont care enought to know my user name.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

yeah some of my friends do, family too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

One guy knew my username but a few slaps off my tyre iron made sure he forgot. You have to protect your identity, I'll only use boards on my own in a darkened room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Manach wrote: »
    What is a friend?

The friend. That one you should at least retain? No matter how distant. That one who deserves the title because no matter how far you tell him to **** off when in the emo throes, like a old faithful dog he will return and not "sieze the opportunity" so to speak

Told him I post few places online anymore but here some time back but he's not bothered, probs busy scuba-ing or maintaining some distant ship's engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Of course ye know

What about this:

Have any of you worked out that a member on here is someone you know by reading their posts?

I haven't :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Fourteen wrote: »
    What about this:

Have any of you worked out that a member on here is someone you know by reading their posts?

I'd be fairly rumbled that way :/ seriously doubt any old acquaintances are over here though, more fleeting FB types. I spy with my little eye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

No, my secret shame, like w@nking at the back of mass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

I don't have friends.:(:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Yeah some of them do. A few of my friends are members.

I'm quite open about boards. There are other forums online that I am a member of that I wouldn't want anyone to know about, so boards is grand!

It's funny talking about boards to boardsie friends and other friends not having a clue what we are on about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

strobe wrote: »
    God no! I keep a window of hardcore bestiality porn open when surfing on here so I can quickly Alt-tab out of boards.ie to something more easily explainable if someone walks into the room.

Hhahahahha, so funny, i proper lol'd

What about this:

Yep, I've found 3 people based on their posts and user names. Only 1 knows I found them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Only one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

What about this:

An ex of an ex is on boards. Never met her in my life but I know it's her from pictures. She seems lovely. (hi!)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

No most of them haven't even heard of Boards :confused:. I got one friend to sign up when we were having a few drinks one night but he got himself perma banned within half an hour as well as getting me into trouble.

Aoifey! wrote: »
    Yep, I've found 3 people based on their posts and user names. Only 1 knows I found them.

Haha, really? Did any of the stuff they posted seem weird compared to what they're like in person?

Just a bit different, but that's probably because of the way people phrase things when they're typing as opposed to talking. One did tell a story that I was there when it happened but changed it to make himself look better :P

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

What about this:

Yep, have figured out a small few. One of whom is actually a very good friend of mine who posts on boards pretty regularly, but I have never told him that I know. He mentions boards a bit but seriously doubt if he realises anyone knows his username. It was funny, I figured it out when I was googling something we had been having a conversation about, and a post he had written on that topic came up in the search so I knew then who he was!

Don't think any of my friends know I post here, although wouldn't really bother me much if they did, not like I say anything too secretive here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Yep, think im a nerd/internet geek!

They just dont get it!

No most of them haven't even heard of Boards :confused:. I got one friend to sign up when we were having a few drinks one night but he got himself perma banned within half an hour as well as getting me into trouble.

What did he do?:D

EdenHazard wrote: »
    Hhahahahha, so funny, i proper lol'd

You strike me as a refined chap Eden with high class tastes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I'm... something I was going to say..

yeah..

the thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Aye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

They do but they don't give a ****e :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Most people I mention Boards to have never heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

more and more of my conversations lately start with 'i was reading on boards about some fcker that did....' so my friends just need to get that rollseyes smiley to work in real life to tell me to shut the fck up about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Guill

0O7 wrote: »
    Do your friends know you're a member of boards.ie (do they know your username etc)

Curious....

mine dont.....

You say it like it is a dirty secret........

(of course they don't know, I'm ashamed to be here)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭OhYesItIs

Yes, I recommend boards very often. What's to hide?

Ok I guess trolls and keyboard warriors and arm chair know it alls may not want to reveal themselves.

0O7 wrote: »

Curious....

mine dont.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Cheeky_gal wrote: »

Why? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭OhYesItIs

My only hesitancy in recommending boards is when I just know you can easily get pummelled by an angry mob for expressing a valid honest opinion, very often delivered with good intentions.

You come across all sorts on boards.

Millicent wrote: »
    Cheeky_gal wrote: »

Why? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

None of my friends know I am on boards. Then again I have no friends...........