Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v. Wales - Your Team

Is he out because his child is ill or because he missed out on training?

I don't think speculation should be allowed on thread.

But I would repeat what JustinDee said this week, and said that perhaps people should consider reasons why someone who's just become a father might have to miss something.

Hope all is okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Otacon wrote: »
    If McFadden is in, would it be preferable for him to go to 12 and D'Arcy to 13?

I'd definitely prefer that.

Don't think Kearney is right for the bench spot if McFadden goes into the team. We'd have 4 players with international caps as wingers on the pitch and then a new face on the bench, and only 2 centres.

Paddy Wallace or O'Malley should be the likely contenders for the bench imo.
    Has to be someone that covers full back in an emergency seeing as Earls is gone. Kearney just about does that. I'm surprised its not Hurley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I don't think speculation should be allowed on thread.

agreed. Can we please leave out the speculation on the reasons for him not being in the squad. As a new Dad it could be be for many different reasons. So let him enjoy his time with his family without us commenting on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Players private life's are private. No further speculation please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Thanos

Would have thought EOM would have been a better choice for the bench.
    Think we have enough wing cover and having an actual center there would have been a better option......... oh well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Thanos wrote: »
    Would have thought EOM would have been a better choice for the bench.
    Think we have enough wing cover and having an actual center there would have been a better option......... oh well.

O Malley's too limited for 22, he can only cover 13.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭ed7890

I think D Kearney is a good call, he looks solid all round. I thought he was the best back we had in the wolfhounds game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Kayless

What position is D Kearney covering? Will this news distract the team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Kayless wrote: »

Hopefully it will bring them together. Have the upmost faith in both Kearney and McFadden to do the job too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Hope all is okay with Earls and family.

Delighted for Kearney. Has always impressed me. Same too for McFadden.

There'll be a big motivational effect on the team hopefully.

For Keith!

Worried about McFadden but hopefully the team will be too good overall. I really don't think we should be losing this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭BionicRasher

Maybe they are looking at Bowe as center cover and D Kearney is then ideal wing cover in case anything else goes belly up

Hope all is ok with baby Ella-Maye and its just that Keith is knackered from being up late at night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭boynesider

Tbh I would prefer to see Bowe in the centre with either McFadden or Kearney on the wing. McFadden has never looked great at 13 for Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Good to see Kidney promoting youth in Kearney instead of calling on someone like Wallace.

Trimble could cope with moving in to the center if we were stuck also but I am worried about big Roberts running over our 2 centers - mind you slight imnprovement now as I see Earls as a weaker tackle than Mcfadden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

tui0hcg wrote: »
    Trimble could cope with moving in to the center if we were stuck also but I am worried about big Roberts running over our 2 centers - mind you slight imnprovement now as I see Earls as a weaker tackle than Mcfadden

Darcy may be gettin on a bit but he's still incredibly powerful. As long as he keeps good positioning Roberts wont be running over him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Ugh. Don't like the look of D'Arcy McFadden much. They're effective at grinding out close wins but we're not going to be playing much rugby.

McFadden was moved away from 13 originally because of his weak defense. O'Malley replaced him on Leinster teams at 13 and McFadden shifted around.

Because of being moved away, McFadden became far more versatile and this got him into the Irish 6 Nations squad last year and onto the team as a winger.

Now because of his added familiarity with the squad he is the better option at 13 at international level this weekend, even if he is a weaker technical defender than OMalley (and Earls, in my opinion).

It's funny how these things work out.

MungBean wrote: »
    Darcy may be gettin on a bit but he's still incredibly powerful. As long as he keeps good positioning Roberts wont be running over him.

Ouch!
    http://www.daylife.com/photo/0aC10huc32a4R?__site=daylife&q=Gordon+D%27Arcy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

I'd say if Darcy has to go off we will see

10 O'Gara
    12 Sexton
    13 McFadden

if McFadden has to come off
    10 O'Gara
    12 Sexton
    13 Darcy

or
    10 Sexon
    12 Darcy
    13 Bowe Trimble
    11/14 Kearney

Kearney direct cover for wing and full back with no other changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭shaungil

IIRC Darcy has let us down on a number of occasions in one on one tackles. Him and MCF do not fill me with confidence but Wales seem a little disjointed in their preparation Priestland has been nothing special with Scarlets from what I've seen recently (a mid season second season syndrome)

We need to be hammering them up front , absolutely murdering that pack and giving them no chance to get go forward ball in scrum lineout and breakown areas. This battle needs to be won upfront and we shoud be able to do that. Welsh need to be put bnack in their box after beating us twice in a row so we can get the psychological advantage we had on them before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

Also hope all is well with Earls etc.

The forced change, though, has reignited my excitement for Sunday.

Would have preferred to have seen O'Malley in at 13.

COME ON IRELAND!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭vinny chase

The Irish Times article on Earls' absence states that Trimble will be offering centre cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Kayless wrote: »

I'd say wing and FB. If either centre gets injured I'd imagine we'd see Bowe move in-field (probably to 13 & Ferg to 12 if Darce is injured) with Kearney going to 14.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

McFadden was moved away from 13 originally because of his weak defense. O'Malley replaced him on Leinster teams at 13 and McFadden shifted around.

Because of being moved away, McFadden became far more versatile and this got him into the Irish 6 Nations squad last year and onto the team as a winger.

Now because of his added familiarity with the squad he is the better option at 13 at international level this weekend, even if he is a weaker technical defender than OMalley (and Earls, in my opinion).

I'm not sure about that first bit; my recollection of the situation is that with O'Driscoll and Fitzgerald both out, it was a better fit to have O'Malley at centre and McFadden on the wing rather than McFadden at centre and D Kearney on the wing (I presume we're talking about November/December 2010).

Also, I think that Joe Schmidt seems to trust McFadden more as a defensive 13, hence his selection for the away HC matches this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Hope everything is okay for Earls.

McFadden coming in doesn't really improve or weaken the team, as I've said I'd prefer O'Malley in but that wasn't very likely. Well done to Dave Kearney though, hope he plays well if he comes on. Very promising player.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

McFadden moved away from OC because when himself and O'Malley were playing he was much the better fit at 12. I don't think it was due to defensive worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

shaungil wrote: »
    IIRC Darcy has let us down on a number of occasions in one on one tackles. Him and MCF do not fill me with confidence but Wales seem a little disjointed in their preparation Priestland has been nothing special with Scarlets from what I've seen recently (a mid season second season syndrome)

I don't think you do recall correctly. He missed that tackle last year against Rougerie which resulted in their try, but he hasn't missed any other one on one tackles recently.

So to sum up:

Earls can't defend
    D'Arcy can't defend
    McFadden can't defend
    O'Malley can't defend

Are we all being a little too critical I wonder? In fairness to these lads, I suppose they're all being compared to BOD in terms of tackling, turnovers etc but they're never going to measure up and perhaps we all need to readjust our expectations.

With Davies and Roberts in the centre, there is going to be one game plan; run hard and straight and flatten the other guy. Makes no odds who's there for Ireland, that's how they'll play.

So if McFadden gets knocked over by Roberts, as I fully expect to happen at least once during the game, maybe we can all hold off on rushing to the keyboards and proclaiming that the Wales game plan was to 'target' McFadden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

So to sum up:

Earls can't defend
    D'Arcy can't defend
    McFadden can't defend
    O'Malley can't defend

Are we all being a little too critical I wonder? In fairness to these lads, I suppose they're all being compared to BOD in terms of tackling, turnovers etc but they're never going to measure up and perhaps we all need to readjust our expectations.

With Davies and Roberts in the centre, there is going to be one game plan; run hard and straight and flatten the other guy. Makes no odds who's there for Ireland, that's how they'll play.

So if McFadden gets knocked over by Roberts, as I fully expect to happen at least once during the game, maybe we can all hold off on rushing to the keyboards and proclaiming that the Wales game plan was to 'target' McFadden.

But.. but.. if their centres are looking to flatten the other guys [presumably their opposite numbers], then won't they actually be targetting McFadden [and D'Arcy]?

Can someone please wake Thomond2006 up.

This simply will not do...
    lovejoy.jpg

I'm not sure about that first bit; my recollection of the situation is that with O'Driscoll and Fitzgerald both out, it was a better fit to have O'Malley at centre and McFadden on the wing rather than McFadden at centre and D Kearney on the wing (I presume we're talking about November/December 2010).

Also, I think that Joe Schmidt seems to trust McFadden more as a defensive 13, hence his selection for the away HC matches this season.
    No the switch was made well before the ASM match. They played 12 and 13 a number of times together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Can someone please wake Thomond2006 up.

This simply will not do...
    lovejoy.jpg

My children, thy preview shall be posted this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

the backline will get shuffled now more than once during the game, i.e. switching up lines with Trimble and Bowe in, McFadden out, etc. etc. then again shuffling along with subs.

I'm thinking D Kearney on for McFadden and Trimble taking 13, as we've no other centre cover on the bench. Which would lead me to suggest the unsuggestable, that P Wallace should be bench not Kearney, as he at least could allow more flexibility.

<runs away to burn own hands for typing such taboos>

edit: same argument for EOM or any johnny-cum-13-lately instead of D Kearney. we need less 11 / 14s masquerading on the bench losing earls (who we know is quality if out of position).

Otacon wrote: »
    But.. but.. if their centres are looking to flatten the other guys [presumably their opposite numbers], then won't they actually be targetting McFadden [and D'Arcy]?

See, your smiley face has me all confused, I don't know if you're taking the p*ss out of me or not.

My point is that the Welsh lads are going to target the Irish centres, regardless of who they are. If we had Ma'a Nonu and Sonny Bill Williams standing at 12 and 13, Davies and Roberts would still put the head down and charge in. So they're not sitting there thinking, "right lads, we'll single out McFadden (or whoever) for treatment"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

See, your smiley face has me all confused, I don't know if you're taking the p*ss out of me or not.

My point is that the Welsh lads are going to target the Irish centres, regardless of who they are. If we had Ma'a Nonu and Sonny Bill Williams standing at 12 and 13, Davies and Roberts would still put the head down and charge in. So they're not sitting there thinking, "right lads, we'll single out McFadden (or whoever) for treatment"

Taking the piss really.

Honestly though, I don't think it matters who we picked at 13, Wales would surely have looked at putting more pressure there. Anyway, roll on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

So to sum up:

Earls can't defend
    D'Arcy can't defend
    McFadden can't defend
    O'Malley can't defend

totallegend can't defend :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

tui0hcg wrote: »

Darcy in general is not a weak tackler and Roberts wont just run over him. He occasionally gets himself in a bad position though and gets brushed off. I dont think that pic is proof that Roberts is gonna steam roll him every time he comes down Darcy's channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

SOB 12
    POC 13

SORTED!

So to sum up:

Earls can't defend
    D'Arcy can't defend
    McFadden can't defend
    O'Malley can't defend

totallegend can't defend :mad:
    That comment is indefensible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

I'm not at all concerned about our centres defense. they're both fine tacklers and DArcy will get plenty of support from the backrow and McFadden has two extremely good defensive wingers to support him.

I'll be more interested to see if McFadden takes over BOD's role as the 'shooter' . BOD is briilaint at it but its easy to get wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Darcy is passed it and hasn't played well for Ireland in years . An absolute journey man at this stage.

Regarding McFadden . He is a grand player. Nothing flashy nothing brilliant. He will have to do but he has a weakness in defence and vision.

David Kearney is a strange one. We just have to hope he doesn't get on the pitch.

People can't blame kidney for being conservative now that's for sure

NickDrake wrote: »
    Darcy is passed it and hasn't played well for Ireland in years . An absolute journey man at this stage.

Regarding McFadden . He is a grand player. Nothing flashy nothing brilliant. He will have to do but he has a weakness in defence and vision.

David Kearney is a strange one. We just have to hope he doesn't get on the pitch.

I doubt he'll let us down if he does tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I doubt he'll let us down if he does tbh.

Well we have seen so much of him at Heineken cup level.

Well, who would you have in his place?

Luke Fitz is injured, Earls is unavailable, O'Malley only cover 13, Wallace only covers 12, Zebo is very inexperienced too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

The guy has been great for Leinster this season and was easily the best back in the WHs game last week. He covers full back and wing. The only other player who can cover full back in the squad now is Hurley and Kearney certainly looked better last week. Who else would you have there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭nathan99

Just saying what i heard, But mc fadden is playing thirteen and earls wont be playing at all because some thing to do with his baby in hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Leinster7

The nonsense on here about EOM and McFadden not being able to defend is just ridiculous. Just watch Leinster this season when they have played and knocked back attackers with their tackling. Earls at 13 was a wrong choice since he has played badly for the majority of the season with Munster and has never had a good game for Ireland at 13. Then to learn that he is about to be Dad the week of training seems even more stupid man management by Kidney. EOM played very well for the Wolfhounds vs Saxons, even creating a try and D.Kearney played brilliantly and yet D.Kearney who plays wing and 15 gets promoted rather then bringing in EOM and keeping McFadden as cover for 12 and wing. McFadden clearly plays his best rugby at 12 and can cover the wing fine. EOM is the best choice at 13 and has been since BOD got injured.

Seriously what is wrong with this manager. Its so frustrating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

leinster7 banned. you were warned previously about continuing your diatribes against kidney and earls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

nathan99 wrote: »
    Just saying what i heard, But mc fadden is playing thirteen and earls wont be playing at all because some thing to do with his baby in hospital.

where did you get this insider knowledge?