Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Food, Glorious Food

1235»

• Registered Users Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

Lads can anyone recommend a good Thai restaurant, preferably in central or east London? Dublin has some great Thai restaurants but I've been routinely disappointed in London!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Dublin has some great Thai restaurants...
    It does? Any Thai restaurant I've been to in Dublin serves over-priced, mediocre food.

Have you tried the Churchill Arms in Notting Hill? Very reasonably priced Thai food and a very interesting pub too.

http://churchillarmskensington.co.uk

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I went to Dirty Burger there in Kentish Town on Saturday, people have been raving about it for yonks. While it was certainly delicious I have to honestly say I prefer Meat Liquor and Five Guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

djpbarry wrote: »
    It does? Any Thai restaurant I've been to in Dublin serves over-priced, mediocre food.

Have you tried the Churchill Arms in Notting Hill? Very reasonably priced Thai food and a very interesting pub too.

http://churchillarmskensington.co.uk

I think I can echo the comments on Thai food in Diblin (with poss exception of Baan Thai). The Churchill Arms is not only all you've said but is also (counter intuitively) one of west London's best Irish pubs.

Thanks for the recommendation.

I think Dublin has some great Thai restaurants: Saba, Baan Thai, Diep (Le Shaker & Noodle Bar) would be my top three (four)!

To be honest, apart from Baan Thai, my preference in Dublin would be to order from Kanum. The Churchill Arms is a pub which serves good Thai food but i snot a restaurant like the others. In the past, the best place to go in London would have been Nahm which was the London outpost of David Thompson's Bangkok original - he would be regarded as probably the best chef cooking Thai food in the world. Although pricy, probably little more so than Saba or Diep Le Shaker for an incomparably better experience.

Thai Square provide decent Thai food - especially int he Trafalgar Square branch. Busaba Eathai is a different (lower) price bracket and is similar to Wagamamma in style (same creator). On the chain front, Patara is also more than acceptable. Otherwise, you need to look more locally, often from W2 westwards towards Shep Bush etc.

I was in Saba about a year ago and I honestly didn't see what all the fuss was about. I think I paid about €18 for a Massaman curry and it really wasn't anything special. You'll get a much better one at The Churchill Arms for about half that price. Sure, the presentation's not as good, but what's style without substance?

This isn't something specific to Thai food mind you. I think, generally speaking, food is very often mediocre and far too expensive in Dublin. It's actually the number one complaint I hear from people visiting from London. That said, on my last few visits, I have noticed that this is slowly changing and good value is becoming easier to find.

And of course, that's not to say there isn't plenty of over-priced mediocrity in London too! In fact, I'd say I've had far more bad meals in London than I have in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Lads can anyone recommend a good Thai restaurant, preferably in central or east London? Dublin has some great Thai restaurants but I've been routinely disappointed in London!

Have had lunch at Mangosteen on Ganton Street a few times and has always been good.

Thai Square is usually pretty solid. I know it's chain but been to a few of them and they're pretty consistent.

As a whole I find Thai restaurants are not as good in the UK as some of those in Ireland. I just don't think Thai food is as popular over here.

I've found Thai Square a bit hit and miss to be honest. Sometimes great, sometimes crap!

As a whole I find Thai restaurants are not as good in the UK as some of those in Ireland. I just don't think Thai food is as popular over here.
    Thai food was massively popular here 10 - 15 years ago. Whereas now we have the "gastropub" trend, back then it was cheap Thai in pubs, so maybe people still associate it with pub grub. But when Thai cuisine crossed the pond, it was in the form of relatively high end places for some reason, like Saba and Siam Thai, although they were ostensibly serving the same stuff.

There are some outstanding Thai places based in pub over here where you can get all the classic dishes for £10 or a little over. Contrast that to back home (and especially Dublin) when you get the same stuff for twice the price. Thai in Ireland is like a con-job as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

FTA69 wrote: »
    There are some outstanding Thai places based in pub over here where you can get all the classic dishes for £10 or a little over. Contrast that to back home (and especially Dublin) when you get the same stuff for twice the price. Thai in Ireland is like a con-job as far as I'm concerned.

I would be inclined to agree. In Waterford we have Sabai which is excellent but you do pay a premium for it. I suppose they do corner the market somewhat too so they can get away with it.

Used to work near Heathrow and there was a dingy old pub that did Thai food, main courses for £5. It wasn't fantastic but for that price it was excellent.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

A new Hawksmoor has just opened in Knightsbridge. I was lucky enough to go to a preview night, and it certainly lives up to the hype.

Also, anyone who books in July and August get a round of Champagne to celebrate.

http://thehawksmoor.com/

Yurt yurt yurt!

The Sikhs (grand bunch of lads) are lashing out free curry all day long to hungry visitors regardless of creed. This is definitely on my visit list anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

A new Hawksmoor has just opened in Knightsbridge. I was lucky enough to go to a preview night, and it certainly lives up to the hype.

Also, anyone who books in July and August get a round of Champagne to celebrate.

Cheers it's been on my to do list

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭tibor

Been to the Air St one a few times, nice, but it's not as good as MASH around the corner on Brewer St.

Gaucho on Swallow St is next on my steak hit-list.

tibor wrote: »
    Been to the Air St one a few times, nice, but it's as good as MASH around the corner on Brewer St.

I used to love Gaucho in Swallow Street but now find it's a bit meh.

I've been to the original Hawksmoor lots of time and to the version in the city.

Le cafe du Marche and Le Rendezvous in Smithfield also do very nice steak.

STK in the Me Hotel at Aldwych is very much like a modern NY steakhouse (think BLT Prime not Keens).

Goodman is a reasonable approximation of a Ruth's Chris or Morton's type place. Dark wood and a bit too corporate for my tastes.

Many of the true SOuth American places (Constancia on Tower Bridge Road), Santa MAria del Buen Ayre etc are great.

Went to the Churchill Arms for lunch yesterday. Fantastic pub and great food at a very reasonable price. Thanks for the recommendation!

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

tibor wrote: »
    Been to the Air St one a few times, nice, but it's not as good as MASH around the corner on Brewer St.

Really? I didn't like Mash at all. It seems like you're in an eating hall on a boat. The steak wasn't that great either.

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭83ste

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Heatmachine1

Thairice opposite Maida Vale tube entrance is a fantastic thai restaurant.
    Authentic and very reasonably priced,nice to lounge there on a Saturday lunchtime.

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Heatmachine1

Also the Thai street food at Cambden market is excellent and well priced.

Anybody know any good BYOB places?

I'll kick it off with...

Mangel, Stoke Newington
    Turkish place, dirt cheap and delicious. The off licence across the road has a decent selection as well.
    http://www.mangal1.com/contact.htm

Adiva, the City
    Turkish/Lebanese. Went here for the first time last night and will defo be back. They even have belly dancers!
    http://www.adivarestaurant.com/contact.html

Meraz Café, Brick Lane
    Obviously loads of BYOB places on Brick Lane but thiis is my favourite. Apparently it's Bangladeshi/Pakistani fusion.
    http://merazcafe.co.uk/

Tayyabs, Whitechapel
    Mentioned on this thread already, very popular Indian place!
    http://www.tayyabs.co.uk/

Lahore Kebab House, Whitechapel
    As above!
    http://www.lahore-kebabhouse.com/

Amaranth, Earlsfield
    Delicious Thai food. I'm not actually 100% sure this place is still BYOB but it's worth checking out one way or the other!
    https://plus.google.com/114260098827941035139/about?gl=uk&hl=en

That's all I can think of. Be very interested to find out a few more!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

The majority of the Vietnamese restaurants on Kingsland would be BYOB. That's always my first stop and there's plenty off-licences nearby.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭exiledelbows

In NW London:

Fez mangal on Ladbroke Grove is BYOB. Highly recommended Turkish Grill

http://www.fezmangal.com/index.html

Shish Mangal (which i think is related) on Chamberlayne Road in Kensal Rise.

http://www.shishmangal.com/

Aside from the BYOB stuff:

I went to a gaff there called Hala on Green Lanes for Turkish food. Unbelievable tack. Best lamb ribs I ever had in my life.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Anyone thinking of trying Kitty Fishers in Shepherds Market when it opens next month. chefs are Young British Foodies Awards Chef of the year Tomos Parry and Ex Pitt Cue Co sous chef Chris Leach

http://www.kittyfishers.com/

Currently on soft launch but open from early next month I believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Anyone thinking of trying Kitty Fishers in Shepherds Market when it opens next month. chefs are Young British Foodies Awards Chef of the year Tomos Parry and Ex Pitt Cue Co sous chef Chris Leach

http://www.kittyfishers.com/

Currently on soft launch but open from early next month I believe.