Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What to do with dog?

• 30-01-2012 8:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭idunnoshur

So the parents have gone away on holiday for a week leaving me and the brother to mind the house and feed the cattle. Myself and the brother decided amongst the two of us that it would be best if we alternated the days that we fed them.

Today was my day to feed them so as soon as I arrived home from college I proceeded down to the shed, as per usual the dog followed me. As I went about my business in the shed the dog ran off into the straw shed, I thought to myself that's good maybe he'll catch a couple of rats.

About ten minutes into the feeding of the cattle the dog ran over to me with a dead kitten in his mouth, I immediately grabbed the kitten from his mouth but it was already dead. I gave the dog a good kick then went over to the straw shed for a look. What I saw was quite sickening, the dog had killed three other kittens.

The dog is currently on death row so to speak I have him tied up in an empty shed (this should be like prison to him as he's always allowed to run around the place with the other dog). I rang the old man asking him what to do with the dog and he said to and I quote "use you're own discretion".

I was going to shoot him straight away but the brother said to think about it over night. I then got the idea to post it here to see what other people think I should do.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Sorry forgot to add that this isn't his first offence, last year he killed another batch of cats
    ids

What to do with dog? 100 votes

Live and let live
    0% 0 votes
    Shoot the fecker
    77% 77 votes
    Give him one more chance then shoot
    5% 5 votes
    Keep him in solitary confinement until parents come back then decide
    5% 5 votes
    Don't care
    13% 13 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Tl;Dr

Feed him to the cattle.

Edit: I read it.

Feed him to the cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Shoot a few of the cattle....maybe burn the house down too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

Tbh the dog saved you having to find an onion bag and a stone for the kittens

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

There's a great bunch of lads around the corner from me that run a take away Chinese, I'm sure they will take the dog

Breaking news: Dog hates cats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Set it back into the wild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

idunnoshur wrote: »
    So the parents have gone away on holiday for a week leaving me and the brother to mind the house and feed the cattle. Myself and the brother decided amongst the two of us that it would be best if we alternated the days that we fed them.

Today was my day to feed them so as soon as I arrived home from college I proceeded down to the shed, as per usual the dog followed me. As I went about my business in the shed the dog ran off into the straw shed, I thought to myself that's good maybe he'll catch a couple of rats.

About ten minutes into the feeding of the cattle the dog ran over to me with a dead kitten in his mouth, I immediately grabbed the kitten from his mouth but it was already dead. I gave the dog a good kick then went over to the straw shed for a look. What I saw was quite sickening, the dog had killed three other kittens.

The dog is currently on death row so to speak I have him tied up in an empty shed (this should be like prison to him as he's always allowed to run around the place with the other dog). I rang the old man asking him what to do with the dog and he said to and I quote "use you're own discretion".

I was going to shoot him straight away but the brother said to think about it over night. I then got the idea to post it here to see what other people think I should do.

ids
    **** the kittens,**** happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

For heaven's sake, don't shoot the dog for following its instincts.

It shouldn't have access to the kittens, and if it did you have to accept that this will happen.

And there's no point punishing it now; it won't understand why it's being punished.
    You should untie it. It probably doesn't even know killing the kittens was wrong from your point of view, and even if it did feel guilty, it won't associate being left alone with being punished for something that happened earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭idunnoshur

johnr1 wrote: »
    Tbh the dog saved you having to find an onion bag and a stone for the kittens

No I quite enjoy having cats around the place, they help keep the rat population down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Don't hurt him, my dog is really sick right now and you'll regret being mean to him.

It's what dogs do, he is not aware of your irrational concept that kittens are cute and therefore must not be eaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Give him a Bob Martin and till be grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Shoot some more cats and give the poor dag a day off.

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom Girl

This is why people like you shouldn't be allowed to own pets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

for ****s sake, what's wrong with you!? first, do you know that the dog killed the kittens? second, what will killing the dog do!? Nothing only upset your parents presumably.

use your ****ing head will you!

Your dog's gone barking mad. It's best to keep him tied up and give him some paws for thought.

Sorry, those puns were a little ruff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Are you considering killing the dog because of the old saying "now it has a taste for blood, i will kill more things" and so could be dangerous around a farm.
    Will might be fair enough.

Or are you considering it because you think the dog has done something wrong and the cats need to be avenged?

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭jennytightlips

Are you sure it was the dog that killed the kittens?
    Seems a bit of a harsh thing to do to the dog...maybe instead you could donate him to the spca instead of shooting the poor aul fella.
    Granted its sad to hear what happened to the kittens but the mutt dosent have to get shot :(

• Registered Users Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

OP you don't have to kill the dog.

Just get a newspaper, roll it up, and hit yourself over the head with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

In all fairness I don't think you can shoot the dog just for being a dog. He found kittens in the shed and he killed them. It's what dogs do, if they come across a living thing that shouldn't be there it attacks it. Birds, squirrels, weasels, rats, mice why not kittens? Just because they're cute? I also disagree with giving him a kick and it qualifies as abuse. The dog is a dumb animal he doesn't know what he's done, giving him a kick is a pointless barbaric act!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Is it a working dog?

I'd just keep it away from the cats, no point shooting it, if it eats some babies then shoot away, but a few kittens? Its a dog for gods sake, they will attack cats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

This is what u should be doing:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭bobbytables

There is so much wrong in that story OP I don't know where to start.

Don't harm the dog!, in fact consider re-homing it with people that like dogs, will train & look after it. It's terrible it killed the kittens, but there are better options available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

sgb wrote: »
    There's a great bunch of lads around the corner from me that run a take away Chinese, I'm sure they will take the dog
    And the kittens!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Assassin saphir

Can I have him?

I blame video games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

The dog has a taste for blood now, use it as an opportunity to train it to hunt and kill cyclists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭clashburke

:eek::eek:
    its a dogs nature to kill cats!! leave him be...

if he turns to sheep its a diffrent story ...but not for kittens!!

I blame video games.

In what way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

could have been a mink that killed the cats,happened here a few months back,troaths ripped open,never seen a dog to kill a few together,only ever seen em chase to kill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

Its your fault he wasn`t properly supervised, why would you shoot the dog! He`s a dog if you knew there was kittens in there you deserve a good kickin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

Strangle the dog, shoot your brother, then shoot yourself in the leg. Put pawprints on the gun and blame the dog for it all.

Otherwise neuter the fcuking cat so it doesent happen again.

for ****s sake, what's wrong with you!? first, do you know that the dog killed the kittens? second, what will killing the dog do!? Nothing only upset your parents presumably.

use your ****ing head will you!

The old man said to use my own discretion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Do you usually consider killing animals when they disappoint you?

Reminds me of this guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Salt001

I very much doubt that your dog can tell the difference between rats and kittens,you would be quite happy if he had come back with a dead rat in his mouth.
    The dog thought he was doing the right thing,you gave him a kick in the arse and locked him up.
    Let him out again and keep an eye on the barn or whatever for cats and kittens and remove to a place of safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Wont somebody please think of the kittens!

In what way?

You probably have that dog playing those Grand Theft Auto and those Modern Warfare games.

He'll be killing other dogs yet just you wait and see. Whoo boy !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Sorry forgot to add that this isn't his first offence, last year he killed another batch of cats
    ids

Good dog!:)

could have been a mink that killed the cats,happened here a few months back,troaths ripped open,never seen a dog to kill a few together,only ever seen em chase to kill.

They were only a couple of days old so they couldn't have ran away. Another thing they were still bleeding and there was blood all over the floor and the dog, wouldn't a mink suck all the blood out of them?

The old man said to use my own discretion.

as to whether or not you should kill his dog while he was gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Don't worry about it,dogs do those sort of things.Took my father's dogs out for a walk recently and they did the same.It's just nature.
    Even other tomcats will kill kittens.

Dogs will kill stuff as quickly as possible,cats are cruel-they toy with their prey.The kittens were dead in seconds.

I'd forget about it,bet the folks didn't even know there were kittens in the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

clashburke wrote: »
    :eek::eek:
    its a dogs nature to kill cats!! leave him be...

if he turns to sheep its a diffrent story ...but not for kittens!!

What's this predjudice against kittens?

If you prick them, do they not bleed? If you tickle them, do they not laugh? If you poison them, do they not die? And if you wrong them, do they not REVENGE?!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Hey OP, while you're at it you should turn the gun on yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Gareth2011

ids

First off I am an ex member of the SPCA and there is NO NEED TO KICK THE DOG. He is a dog some dogs don't like cats. If you are worried about him attacking kittens that set up shop in your sheds you find the dog a new home. You don't leave him tied up with thoughts of shooting him because of his natural instinct. Contact your local SPCA and hand him in. YOU DO NOT SHOOT THE ANIMAL BECAUSE OF ITS NATURAL INSTINCT. My dogs have killed numours cats that wander into my garden but I don't want to kill them for it. Its the same thing with your dog. The farm is the dogs home and if there is cats around you can't blame him.

as to whether or not you should kill his dog while he was gone?

It's my dog and yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Soup

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Senna wrote: »
    Wont somebody please think of the kittens!

Its a tad too late for that now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

They were only a couple of days old so they couldn't have ran away. Another thing they were still bleeding and there was blood all over the floor and the dog, wouldn't a mink suck all the blood out of them?

You're thinking of vampires.

Was the dog socialised with the kittens until it got used to them and was friendly with them?

If not, why in hell are you surprised and why do think the dog should be punished?
    I'll reiterate that "solitary confinement" is pointless and cruel as the dog doesn't associate it with its "crime."

It's my dog and yes

so why would your father say it's at your discretion, if it's your dog?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Gareth2011

This is why people like you shouldn't be allowed to own pets.

I know of a farmer too and if the dog doesn't do what its told the farmer gives him a hard kick. When I heard that I wanted to thump the head of the farmer.