Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

If you could cut one welfare payment, what would it be ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

gcgirl wrote: »
    Sorry it came out wrong and I edited it
    I thankfully am not a judgemental bit*h

I didn't mean you!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Abi wrote: »

Has the thought ever occurred to you that perhaps people on OPF worked all their lives but are now trapped in unemployment, purely because - and bare with me on this one, they cant AFFORD to work?

If they can't AFFORD to work surley this would allude to the fact we pay them far too much on SW in the first place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Childcare costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Sorry it came out wrong and I edited it
    I thankfully am not a judgemental bit*h

I didn't mean you!! :D:D
    Lol me head is melted and I seriously don't want to either wear pyjamas out side, or wear hoop ear rings nor drink Dutch gold:)

ntlbell wrote: »

Has the thought ever occurred to you that perhaps people on OPF worked all their lives but are now trapped in unemployment, purely because - and bare with me on this one, they cant AFFORD to work?

If they can't AFFORD to work surley this would allude to the fact we pay them far too much on SW in the first place?
    The high cost of living in this country amounts to the why
    In France they have a low cost of living it relects on wages and sw though high taxes but when it comes to Heath education and affordable childcare it's tops :)

In fact if in France we wouldn't have people making a career out of the SW as it's based on past earnings and is not infinite.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 fun tree is cooked

Definitely not the job seekers allowance ...what would they wear down to the dole office if we cut their money for their Penneys Pyjamas ? Incidentally , I my infinite naivety , I thought to claim Job Seekers you had to be actively seeking work ? what if these guys where collared in the dole office ..." I'm just off to a audition for a part in Sleeping Beauty"

Dudess wrote: »
    Childcare costs.

That doesn't answer anything.

If you can stay at home mind your kids have a roof over their head, send them to school etc etc etc

then simply the SW is too much.

Childcare costs are irrelvant, what do you think mothers were doing before all this baby pamering creche's ?

you adjust to the situation your faced with you dont whine and moan about it. just get on with it.

Surely it doesn't. What it means is, the cost of living vs the average wage does not meet the expenditure of a house hold taking all of the bills into account, and that is without luxuries. jobseekers allowance, disability allowance, these are allowances for normal expenses, which would little little room for luxuries.

If you happen to lose your job as a parent, you're between a rock and a hard place. Don't give me this crap about planning for life, because not everyone wants children earlier in life, and choose the path to go childless. I remember one poster in particular here, whom I will not mention but his wife became unexpectedly pregnant in the last year or so. Now, I've no idea about their circumstances, but I think it may have been a vasectomy fail that he found himself in this predicament, although he took it well, and it was a nice surprise. I remember congratulating them. Thing is, nobody said he or his wife were on benefits, I think he is working himself at least.

Point I'm making out here, nothing is set in stone. Your gripe with people shouldn't be generalized, a lot are hard working people that have fallen foul of the recession and lost their jobs. Regardless of the countries economics, things happen out of intention.

If you refuse to see this, then I've no further dealings with you. Not all OPF's are pyjama wearing, fake ugg boots wearing, pram pushing fraudsters.

Would you like a hand to remove those blinkers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

fedor.2. wrote: »
    I thought there might be something new in this thread..................there isnt

Including your contribution.

In fact if in France we wouldn't have people making a career out of the SW as it's based on past earnings and is not infinite.
    But France don't have barriers like Ireland
    And childcare is readily available

Childcare costs.

That doesn't answer anything.
    It does.

ReanneD wrote: »
    I would abolish one parent family payment for sure and just replace it with jobseekers. Why should any single parent be provided with money just to stay at home and mind their children and have no pressure on them to find work when they should be out looking for a job like every one else has to. IMO its just going to happen anyway now when their kids turn 7 so why should it not be enforced earlier in a childs life.
    Because a couple have 1 person to play child minder whereas someone who is parenting alone does not have that luxury
    Plus I don't believe your a lone parent there are too many "we's" in previous comments you've made

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Just this one

A person would have to be one hell of an arrogant **** to think they're exempt from losing their job or would find one straightaway, or to think they'd never end up a lone parent due to a relationship ending,
    And it seems it's cool for kids to be right-wing now. I may bitch about wannabe socialist middle-class kids but at least they have a semblance of social conscience and empathy, unlike their spoilt brat selfish peers who'll hopefully be unemployed for ages when they leave college.

You see, it's quite easy for NT to slate all, inclusive of those who've paid their contributions all their lives before having to lean on the social welfare for support, from behind a screen.

I'm pretty sure if we'd a break down of his income, expenditure, and lifestyle we'd have plenty to talk about.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Just this one
    Actually think it should be removed from schools altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭bedirect

rent supplement is one that should be cut as landlords keep the rent high on purpose, rent returns on normal un subsidised property has dropped by 50% in a lot of cases. Single men that wont up skill should have their dole cut. there is a lot of dole fraud out there by people crossing in from northern ireland, or signing in 2 places, i think there should a review of cases where identification is an issue, you would need to produce a passport. if you have no pasport then provide a fingerprint. I sympathise with people out of work but something is wrong when you see people making money putting down tarmac,cutting hedges or collecting scrap getting dole also; especially if they can afford a 4 x 4 jeep. Social welfare staff need to be trained in identifying false docouments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

A person would have to be one hell of an arrogant **** to think they're exempt from losing their job or would find one straightaway, or to think they'd never end up a lone parent due to a relationship ending,
    And it seems it's cool for kids to be right-wing now. I may bitch about wannabe socialist middle-class kids but at least they have a semblance of social conscience and empathy, unlike their spoilt brat selfish peers who'll hopefully be unemployed for ages when they leave college.

No one is disputing this, but it is usually the hard working people who get nothing/very little off welfare when they go to claim and are astonished at what others feel entitled to

Also usually the hard working people who fell on hard times, realize what necessities are

It does.

Part-time, aprox 500 per month, per kid, part-time doesn't matter... >.<

He should go in for a name change, "Brewsters millions" seems fitting :pac:

It also isn't paying out 25% of it's GDP to career mothers on SW

micropig wrote: »
    No one is disputing this, but it is usually the hard working people who get nothing/very little off welfare when they go to claim and are astonished at what others feel entitled to
    It seems that way, but it's means tested, and fairly. If you lose your job, or lose some hours, then you're means tested against your income and monthly expenses.
    Also usually the hard working people who fell on hard times, realize what necessities are
    Getting a clearer picture on you now. So those of whom that you deem 'work repellent' you should be paid more, because you've been shafted by the down turn?

Why, because they're further away from the breadline, so the fall is harder? :rolleyes:

Wake up and smell the coffee. When you're out of a job and need assistance, you join the fcuking queue!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

bedirect wrote: »
    Single men that wont up skill should have their dole cut..

And why not them people with vaginas ?

Surely it doesn't. What it means is, the cost of living vs the average wage does not meet the expenditure of a house hold taking all of the bills into account, and that is without luxuries. jobseekers allowance, disability allowance, these are allowances for normal expenses, which would little little room for luxuries.

The cost of living wages and SW go hand in hand.

If you give someone 800e a month RA landalords will charge at least 800e a month blah blah blah.

The point is if you can sit on your arse and comfortably raise a familiy then the SW payment is too high there's nothing else to it.

If you happen to lose your job as a parent, you're between a rock and a hard place. Don't give me this crap about planning for life, because not everyone wants children earlier in life, and choose the path to go childless. I remember one poster in particular here, whom I will not mention but his wife became unexpectedly pregnant in the last year or so. Now, I've no idea about their circumstances, but I think it may have been a vasectomy fail that he found himself in this predicament, although he took it well, and it was a nice surprise. I remember congratulating them. Thing is, nobody said he or his wife were on benefits, I think he is working himself at least.

Point I'm making out here, nothing is set in stone. Your gripe with people shouldn't be generalized, a lot are hard working people that have fallen foul of the recession and lost their jobs. Regardless of the countries economics, things happen out of intention.

If you refuse to see this, then I've no further dealings with you. Not all OPF's are pyjama wearing, fake ugg boots wearing, pram pushing fraudsters.

Would you like a hand to remove those blinkers?

recession my arse, stop reading news papers and listening to joe duffy.

people are DRIVING up to the SW office here in D15 to sign on in ****ing 1/2yr old cars WTF

we have more people working now than in the majority of the pre-boom.

the majority of people are actually more well off now and have more disopsable income than they ever had.

almost the whole lot of the live register today is made of construction workers and people who relied on that industry.

now stop talking tabloid nonsense.

Wake up and smell the coffee. When you're out of a job and need assistance, you join the fcuking queue!

no you get out and get a fecking job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Sindri wrote: »
    Jaysus, some real misconceptions and warped world view's being exhibited on this thread.

You got 1 Thanks to that after 174 other posts. Maybe the rest have the right idea

when did you last buy a coffee in paris?

9e or so the last time i checked, yes sounds low all right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭alphanine

Does anyone here disagree with there being a time limit on JSA? I recommend max 18 months.

The savings on the above should then be used to increase JSB significantly based on your passed contributions and would soften the blow should you have any serious financial obligations. Again with a time limit.

I think serious cuts should be made and its obvious to the government/troika but they would risk social unrest. Offset the savings into investing massively into the younger unemployed where there is a ticking time bomb in relation to mental illness by no fault of their own.

Many of the long term unemployed can handle being on it for years but many others cant. After graduating from college then finding yourself unemployed destroys self esteem and can have very serious effects on the individual and their families.

I agree with cuts so long as the savings have a tangible benefit for society rather than paying the 'bondholders'.

It does.
    #

Can you join the discussion with something constructive.

cheers

micropig wrote: »

But when it comes to looking down on people and making judgements it's crass and frankly stinks of self image/esteem issues, prior to my 3rd I used to leave the house at half 6 in the morning and not get home till 7 in the evening just to work and in the mist of having baby 3 the relationship breaks down and my daughter spends a good amount of time in crumlin and I could not work, had numourous stays including a 4 week stay and thanks to my mum and aunty I would have been screwed with my other 2 kids who missed their mum but the amount of prejudice is unreal, where any one in receipt of SW are pyjama wearing Dutch gold drinkers with hoop earrings this stereotype just grinds my gears, I know couples who have defrauded and were caught but please don't tarnish all of us with the same brush as these people

It also isn't paying out 25% of it's GDP to career mothers on SW
    Exactly because it has childcare AVAILABLE to use
    Have you even Sussed that ?
    It's as plain as the nose on your face

t
    You see, it's quite easy for NT to slate all, inclusive of those who've paid their contributions all their lives before having to lean on the social welfare for support, from behind a screen.

I'm pretty sure if we'd a break down of his income, expenditure, and lifestyle we'd have plenty to talk about.
    ar

I don't see what my income expenditure and lifestyle have anything to do with it. The tax payer doesn't fund my lifestyle I do and when should the tax payer start in the future it will be adjusted accordingly.

no you get out and get a fecking job
    I've worked as an accounts manager for some years, before I left to go to full time college to study science. I came out of it to a disaster of an economy to a country that hadn't jobs to meet the expenditure of my home. I despise not working almost as my contempt for what you've posted about those unable to get work they desperately want.

I'm sorry to disappoint your dreams of my being a pyjama wearing, dole jockey NTL.

Oh, and post reported for personal abuse.

Exactly because it has childcare

christ all mighty.

I feel like i'm talking to junior infants.

it has nothing to do with child care. it doesn't pay career SW claimants. it's not profitable to sit on your arse in france as after a period of time you will not be paid.

nothing to do with child care....

less rubbish or go live in france and see how fantastic it is.

Sorry Lyon and I certainly did not pay for a coffee out and I stayed in my brothers
    Edit also grocerys are far cheaper than here you can't compare having a take out coffee to shopping that like comparing how much you pay for a meal here then actual price it costs

r
    I've worked as an accounts manager for some years, before I left to go to full time college to study science full time. I came out of it to a disaster of an economy to a world country that hadn't jobs to meet the expenditure of my home. I despise not working almost as my contempt for what you've posted about those unable to get work they desperately want.

I'm sorry to disappoint your dreams of my being a pyjama wearing, dole jockey NTL.

Oh, and post reported for personal abuse.
    e
    why reported when i didn't abuse you or anyone else?

I couldn't careless what your circumstances are you said when you fall on hard times you join the queue i assume you meant anyone anyd i said no you get a job and in the same way i meant anyone no "They" that better dont join the queue they get out working

Sorry Lyon and I certainly did not pay for a coffee out and I stayed in my brothers

why are you rabbiting on about the cost of living in france then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

I think judging the cost of living in a country with one time you were ripped off in central Paris beside the Seine isn't a very good example.

why are you rabbiting on about the cost of living in france then?
    Oh bring argumentative now ?
    Just giving you facts

r
    e
    why reported when i didn't abuse you or anyone else?

"why dont YOU..."

Thats a direction to me.
    I couldn't careless what your circumstances are you said when you fall on hard times you join the queue i assume you meant anyone anyd i said no you get a job and in the same way i meant anyone no "They" that better dont join the queue they get out working

dvqyhc.jpg

Whatever. You're just short of shouting "POV's" driving around this thread. The irony being, those posts are not too far unlike something I'd have mistakenly stood on.

I think judging the cost of living in a country with one time you were ripped off in central Paris beside the Seine isn't a very good example.

the same can be said about the cost of living in ireland.

I didn't realise we were rolling out oecd reports.

they would be nice tho.

got some?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Robdude

Cut it all. Seriously.

Robdude wrote: »
    Cut it all. Seriously.

Moddmy? is that you?

*rubs eyes*

/drags teddy bear behind

Exactly because it has childcare

christ all mighty.

I feel like i'm talking to junior infants.

it has nothing to do with child care. it doesn't pay career SW claimants. it's not profitable to sit on your arse in france as after a period of time you will not be paid.

nothing to do with child care....

less rubbish or go live in france and see how fantastic it is.

It is fantastic great education system great health care and childcare

You stoop to insults when your not getting your own way ;(

"why dont YOU..."

Thats a direction to me.

dvqyhc.jpg

Whatever. You're just short of shouting "POV's" driving around this thread. The irony being, those posts are not too far unlike something I'd have mistakenly stood on.

ah ha...this is more like it.

Oh bring argumentative now ?
    Just giving you facts

no it's a question you seem to know a lot about the cost of living in france i was wondering where you aquired all this knowledge and why you're not living there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Ntlbell you really do not have a clue about the cost of living when you have a family or children to support, especially if the parent(s) has been made redundant. Not content with dragging down the other thread you decided to come here to make your incredibly silly opinions heard.

You said you previously posted about offering people jobs on the minimum wage. With your attitude, it's no surprise that nobody replied to you.

It is fantastic great education system great health care and childcare

You stoop to insults when your not getting your own way ;(

Why is an irish degree more sought after than a French one?

Why is there so many French people working and living in Ireland

and why are you not living in France taken advanted of your EU citenship and given you familiy the best education and health system you can instead your here, on boards waffeling about it

smash wrote: »
    Ntlbell you really do not have a clue about the cost of living when you have a family or children to support, especially if the parent(s) has been made redundant. Not content with dragging down the other thread you decided to come here to make your incredibly silly opinions heard.

You said you previously posted about offering people jobs on the minimum wage. With your attitude, it's no surprise that nobody replied to you.

Considering I live in Dublin raise a familiy I think I have a fair idea about it.

Probably was my attitude your right, but when someone offers me a job when i'm whining about how hard my life is i don't care what attitude they have i bite their arm off for that job

i think you have nicely summed up the type on SW

"oh my gawd, the attitude of your man la not working for HIM!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

All this energy is going to waste. It's a crying shame. I think you'd all make great activists.