Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Using meal vouchers on a date

• 31-01-2012 5:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭

I've just had a bit of a spar with a friend of mine regarding a date I am going on tonight (date #3). As it happens, a meal voucher that I have expires today so I invited said person to join me if they would like to (making it clear that it is a voucher involved) or we can do dinner another time. I've been told by my friend that I am being too "thrifty" for a dinner date.

So, what's the consensus? Is a 'cheap date' a turnoff (and is the above scenario such an example) or is using a meal voucher ok these days given that everyone does it (even if it is a dinner date)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,796 ✭✭✭sweetie

i see no harm but I wouldnt bank on any action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I see no problem with it, seeing as you mentioned it already to your date. Might not get the ride though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Use the money you'll save and get yourself some tissues and lube. You'll need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭crazyderk

I think if your upfront and go oh hey voucher expiring wanna come and then drinks afterwards would be cool.
    but if you invite her out and say nothing then pull out a voucher that might look a bit to stingy.

It may affect the ride but you should still get the shift!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

bring rohypnol and you'll get that ride :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

You gonna use the plastic bag you bought in Mace today to carry home the shopping as a rubber later on too? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Nothing wrong with it I think. They wouldn't be giving out vouchers if they're not to be used, whether they were paid for or not it doesn't make a difference.

You might just get the finger in, but no royid though... depending on the girl, of course... or bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,475 ✭✭✭RedXIV

nahhh if you used it as an excuse to have the date like "I have this voucher for a dinner thats going to expire, want to come with and get a nice meal out?" is grand and may give interesting dinner conversation (this is when you find out if she's a gold digger or a coupon whore, pray for latter)

If you haven't told her.....might be better off keeping it to yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

I'd say use it. Only a complete bitch would care if you were being thrifty.

If she likes you, she likes you. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

if you've already said it and she seems ok, then whatever. personally I would find it a tad off putting. I'm a whole different story though, so don't listen to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

If by meal voucher you meant the back of a crumpled Dunnes receipt for 'Buy one Big Mac get one Free' , then yeah, maybe, but otherwise I really don't see a problem with it at all, can't imagine any decent individual would either. It's still a nice meal and a potential good time like any other, can't see why anyone would care how it comes about.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

if you've already said it and she seems ok, then whatever. personally I would find it a tad off putting. I'm a whole different story though, so don't listen to me

You're a gold digging bitch? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭diamondp

if you have already told your date then there shouldnt be a problem. dont half the bill whatever you do and you should still be in with a chance ;) so der's more money saved on the tissues and lube you wont be needing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

telekon wrote: »
    You're a gold digging bitch? :confused:

Not in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Nothing wrong with it at all. Pretending to be rich is worse... just as long as it's an actual restaurant you take her to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

Are people honestly suggesting you won't 'get the ride' from a girl because you used a voucher?!!?

I'm a girl and to be honest I couldn't care less if you used a voucher or not. It certainly wouldn't be something that would influence my decision to sleep with someone or not. As someone else said only a complete bitch would care. Its not about being stingy either, its just about not letting something go to waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

That'd be a big no no for me. At best I'd find it amusing if my date did that, at worst I'd think him a cheapskate and would worry this is the way it's always going to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭EddyC15

Use the voucher away but maybe splash out a little on drinks afterwards or something.
    I see no problem in using it when you've told your date already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

It depends on the individual facts...

Would you prefer McDonalds without vouchers or Roly's with 50% off?

It smacks of common sense that you should save money where you can and spend it wisely.

Vouchers don't mean cheap - it could be a 100 euro meal has been reduced to 50. Steak is still steak... I'd take that over full price Abrakadraba.

Or do you mean would someone be more impressed by full price Roly's vs. half price Roly's? It'd be the same in my opinion as getting an early bird/sunday lunch menu. Spend money where necessary, don't spend it where it isn't.

Or is the OP expecting AH style "witty" answers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Nothing wrong with vouchers on a date, use it as a talking point and tell her you will have more moneys for tasty cocktails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭livinsane

Voucher=money with different pictures on it. Use it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

If I was asked out to dinner by a guy and at the end he pulled out a voucher to pay for it I'd be impressed by his sensible attitude to money.

Why would I want him to pay €70 on a dinner that he could have paid €35 for? That would be stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

A free dinner is a free dinner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

No issue at at using it- as another poster said No point in pretending to be rich

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭wile1000

Thirdfox wrote: »
    Or is the OP expecting AH style "witty" answers?

Heheh... no, a genuine question. Was starting to get cold on the idea earlier this afternoon, but reponses here have put faith in it being ok...

He likes his food and we did a fancy restaurant last week, so probably could've ditched me on Date #1 anyway if he didn't like me (yep, I'm a bloke also, but this more appropriate on AH that the queer threads I guess!). If I said it was a Japanese Restaurant on Parnell St (which it is), should I conjure up an excuse to go somewhere else?? I say that only because same friend suggested Parnell St adds to the "thriftiness"... :eek:

p.s. Cocktails for afters are planned too. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

If she has a problem with it, she's not worth banging anyway.

Unless she's really hot, in which case bang and leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Not exactly classy but if you do manage to get the leg over (rohypnol doesn't count), then she's a definite keeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

wile1000 wrote: »
    Heheh... no, a genuine question. Was starting to get cold on the idea earlier this afternoon, but reponses here have put faith in it being ok...

He likes his food and we did a fancy restaurant last week, so probably could've ditched me on Date #1 anyway if he didn't like me (yep, I'm a bloke also, but this more appropriate on AH that the queer threads I guess!). If I said it was a Japanese Restaurant on Parnell St (which it is), should I conjure up an excuse to go somewhere else?? I say that only because same friend suggested Parnell St adds to the "thriftiness"... :eek:

I went to a restaurant on Panell St on a date once, it was fairly impromptu. We had arranged to go to Smithfield on Ice and after she laughed at me fumbling around for an hour I asked did she want to grab a bite to eat.

So of with us to one of the oriental places on Parnell st that I really like. i never thought of it in terms of being cheap or whatever and she was delighted with the razor clams so happy days all round.

First they came for the socialists...

I went to a restaurant on Parnell St on a date once, it was fairly impromptu. We had arranged to go to Smithfield on Ice and after she laughed at me fumbling around for an hour I asked did she want to grab a bite to eat.

So of with us to one of the oriental places on Parnell st that I really like. i never thought of it in terms of being cheap or whatever and she was delighted with the razor clams so happy days all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

If I said it was a Japanese Restaurant on Parnell St (which it is), should I conjure up an excuse to go somewhere else?? I say that only because same friend suggested Parnell St adds to the "thriftiness"... :eek:

I'm going there for dinner tonight. I'll be on the lookout for a couple on a second date, especially if there is an awkward pause around bill paying time.:pac:

Seriously though. That place is fantastic, does the best Japanese food in Ireland. The handrolls are especially delicious. And I have a voucher too.

iguana wrote: »
    I'm going there for dinner tonight. I'll be on the lookout for a couple on a second date, especially if there is an awkward pause around bill paying time.:pac:

Seriously though. That place is fantastic, does the best Japanese food in Ireland. The handrolls are especially delicious. And I have a voucher too.

Can you PM me the restaurants name please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

your using the voucher for the food , but shell be expecting expensive drinks to make up for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Mickey Dazzler

To avoid any embarrassment just stand up at the end of the meal, pull out your cock, stare straight into her eyes and growl through gritted teeth "you're gonna get it in the ass tonight"

This way she will probably be too detracted thinking about where the exits are located to notice that you are a cheap douche.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

What is with this attitude that you have to spend money to get the ride!? I must have been out sick the day they taught that in stuck up money grabber lady school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

To avoid any embarrassment just stand up at the end of the meal, pull out your cock, stare straight into her eyes and growl through gritted teeth "you're gonna get it in the ass tonight"

This way she will probably be too detracted thinking about where the exits are located to notice that you are a cheap douche.

Did you not notice that his date is a he not a she?. It was mentioned on op's second post on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Mitsuba on Parnell street?

It's delicious and highly recommended - I've taken my gf there before and the food is relatively authentic (at least it seemed to taste the same as in tokyo).

You guys should love it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭buswankers

I've just had a bit of a spar with a friend of mine regarding a date I am going on tonight (date #3). As it happens, a meal voucher that I have expires today so I invited said person to join me if they would like to (making it clear that it is a voucher involved) or we can do dinner another time. I've been told by my friend that I am being too "thrifty" for a dinner date.

So, what's the consensus? Is a 'cheap date' a turnoff (and is the above scenario such an example) or is using a meal voucher ok these days given that everyone does it (even if it is a dinner date)?

Not at all. Particularly when you actually mentioned the whole "voucher" thing when asking them out in the first place AND ye have cocktails planned for afterwards! Cant see why anyone would have a problem with it - all people are different tho I guess!

& no wouldnt be bothered about the whole Parnell St thing either - maybe I'm too easily pleased :D

Enjoy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Woah, I wouldn't have even thought twice about using a voucher. I can't see anything wrong with it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Foodstamps eh?

Proles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Thirdfox wrote: »
    Mitsuba on Parnell street?

It's delicious and highly recommended - I've taken my gf there before and the food is relatively authentic (at least it seemed to taste the same as in tokyo).

You guys should love it :)

Should make it about 8 but I'll have to leave before 10:D