Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Would you keep a gun??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

k.p.h wrote: »
    Girlfriends father has few guns, one in the kitchen one under the bed etc. He apparently got a fox at the old chickens through a bedroom window one night.

Occasionally after a night on the lash and staying at their house I might tear to the jacks that's outside across the yard, ye should see me scamper.:pac:

Are they the waltons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

EGAR wrote: »
    FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

i'd keep guns but more for sport and the art/craft of them as they are quite the grand contraption for self protection and more often the case; offence...

Gotta get me some Styer/FAL's from the local barracks, we all know they need the cash...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Domo230 wrote: »
    Wikipedia disagrees

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gun

:P

Damn Wikipedia, undone me again!

Thank god Irish legislation doesn't take it's wording from Wikipedia!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I would have the following in my house

1. S&W model 1911
    2. M1014 Combat Shotgun
    3. if i cold id hold some sort of assault riffle

My house My right to protect it.
    The only thing is I can't so I keep a hurl bye my bed and a full length mag lite in my car...
    I know gun =s violence I agree they are dangerous but I still believe that people have the right to protect them selves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Snowie wrote: »

1. S&W model 1911
    2. M1014 Combat Shotgun

The only thing is I can't so I keep a hurl bye my bed and a full length mag lite in my car...
    I know gun =s violence I agree they are dangerous but I still believe that people have the right to protect them selves...

have you any idea how much maintance can involved with guns ?? a decent basic assault rifle ( no acog scopes or otther cod bull**** ) with a revolver ( it doesn't jam, simple as ) is all one needs... If anything, a small under powered ( .22 say ) pistol is ideal foor home protection.... it wil meme and most likely not kill, low recoil means a well trained shot can or cannot be leathal.... you decide proving you're going to hit them in the head not the belly, or vicce versa... )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Snowie wrote: »

1. S&W model 1911
    2. M1014 Combat Shotgun

Like I said my friend, airsoft. I have a 1911PD and Scar c02 amongst others, the kick from them is great, and they've no problem breaking glass. Settle for less!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

and what do you do with those, dress up as 80s hair metallers and run around shooting each other in the ass?

so many guns, is this the true legacy of cod?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Stuck Cone

Anti-gypsy devices i call them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

1. Who can own a gun/what reasons must one give to apply for a license?
    2. Which handguns are legal in Ireland (I read a couple of years ago that there were 1500 glocks legally held in the country - was surprised at that).
    3. Who can own a handgun?

In relation to point 1., if I have a few chickens out the back yard to supply me with eggs every morning, can I say that I need a gun to shoot foxes/other threats?

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭RubyRoss

Stuck Cone wrote: »
    Anti-gypsy devices i call them

Eeesch, you deserve calling on it.

If only we kept our guns as anti-idiot devices?

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭RubyRoss

kraggy wrote: »
    2. Which handguns are legal in Ireland (I read a couple of years ago that there were 1500 glocks legally held in the country - was surprised at that).

In relation to point 1., if I have a few chickens out the back yard to supply me with eggs every morning, can I say that I need a gun to shoot foxes/other threats?

You need to state why you want a shotgun (for game not people) and typically give references from people who testify that you are not crazy and that you may shoot on their land. I.E. the Kerry farmer gets a gun, the Finglas man does not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,520 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Always liked old guns, unfortunately the legislation is arse gravy of the highest order. Easier to licence most modern hunting rifles than something a century older.

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭travelledpengy

I'd love a sniper rifle.. I watch too many documentaries :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Feisar

Ghandee wrote: »
    Guns are only dangerous when their in the wrong hands imo.

Live on a housing estate in Dublin (any large town or city)? Don't see the need to be keeping a gun tbh, recipe for disaste.

But on a farm/countryside etc, vermin to deal with, our even for sporting activities (yes I know, highly debatable) where circumstances might dictate that you actually need a gun, so long a its stored safely, and used responsibly, there shouldn't really be a problem.

But like everything else in life, one tit can always fcuk things up for the responsible members of society.

Why are sporting activities "highly debatable" while you may not agree with hunting it is a legal activity so hardly highly debatable. Plus there are target ranges/clubs around the country. One doesn't need to live in the back end of nowhere to use a gun.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Feisar

Pdfile wrote: »
    have you any idea how much maintance can involved with guns ?? a decent basic assault rifle ( no acog scopes or otther cod bull**** ) with a revolver ( it doesn't jam, simple as ) is all one needs... If anything, a small under powered ( .22 say ) pistol is ideal foor home protection.... it wil meme and most likely not kill, low recoil means a well trained shot can or cannot be leathal.... you decide proving you're going to hit them in the head not the belly, or vicce versa... )

I don't own a handgun nor am I an expert but I kept a handgun for self defense I'd want a bore I could damn near crawl down!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

I wouldnt hurt an animal with it, but I would see a benefit to it for when my home and farm is at threat by Frog.....s....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Ghandee wrote: »
    Guns are only dangerous when their in the wrong hands imo.

Live on a housing estate in Dublin (any large town or city)? Don't see the need to be keeping a gun tbh, recipe for disaste.

But like everything else in life, one tit can always fcuk things up for the responsible members of society.

Exactly - look at all the people being stabbed, the answer is not to ban sensible people from owning knives. That being said i don't have a gun and don't plan to anytime in the near future. I'm 37 and i only shot one for the first time about 6 months ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Pdfile wrote: »
    Like I said my friend, airsoft. I have a 1911PD and Scar c02 amongst others, the kick from them is great, and they've no problem breaking glass. Settle for less!

you guys say a lot :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

kraggy wrote: »
    If you are a farmer you can own a shotgun or a rifle for pest control. If you are not a farmer you must provide sufficient reason to own a gun such as being a member of a sporting gun club and show you have sufficient land on which to use it (either member of a shooting range or a letter from someone who will allow you to shoot on their land, or your own land of course).
    I don't think there's a restriction on the size of the handgun.
    Anyone that the local superintendent deems responsible enough to own one and can show valid reasons for owning one (sporting reasons typically).
    Yes, but only a shotgun or rifle I'd imagine.

OT, I applied for a license when I was 17. Never got it, my mother was pretty happy about that. Now I honestly don't think I'd trust myself with one, I'm a bit of a moron.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Exactly - look at all the people being stabbed, the answer is not to ban sensible people from owning knives. That being said i don't have a gun and don't plan to anytime in the near future. I'm 37 and i only shot one for the first time about 6 months ago!

Stabbings are usually very personal crimes. It takes a lot more effort and violent intent to stab someone than it does to point and squeeze your finger. You're not going to be able to walk into a built up area and stab 10 people at once unless you're some sort of demented ninja. How many times in the last 10 years has someone walked into a built up area and just started shooting randomly in the US? Countless. When was the last time that happened here? It might have happened in the UK once or twice, but they're notable cases because they are so rare, Dunblayne, Hungerford. Half the ones in the US don't even register anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Yep, One shotgun and two rifles. Shooting is a great hobby, everybody should know how to use a gun. The hysteria by some people around guns is unreal, basically a lack of education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Odysseus wrote: »
    Yep, One shotgun and two rifles. Shooting is a great hobby, everybody should know how to use a gun. The hysteria by some people around guns is unreal, basically a lack of education.

Guns are fearful and dangerous weapons, designed to kill from a distance.

What am I missing???

44leto wrote: »

What am I missing???

The fact that a gun is only a weapon if you use it as one, mine are sporting kit. There is a big difference between sporting guns and those used by law enforcement etc.

Owning a gun does not mean you will use it against another person, so I think you are missing a lot. Shooting is a very significant sport in Ireland despite the fact we have some of the toughest laws on ownership, and the lack of understanding by the general public. I just have to walk 500 meters to get to the start of some fields that mark the start of my hunting ground from my house.

I have had people gaspe and point that man has a gun, as I leave my house this is with it in a case and unloaded of course. I'm a dub myself, but generally those who get hysterical are from urban areas.

Guns are very safe, one you obey basic rules, just like driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Does pest control extend to people who steal your home heating oil :D

What am I missing???

That not all guns are designed to kill people.

They're all capable of killing people, sure. But so are kitchen knives. And cars. And hammers. And tire-irons. And so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

If I wanted to use a gun I would joined the army. I would not have one in the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Would you keep a gun??

I'd probably being doing a 20 year stretch in Mountjoy for shooting the girlfriend or at the kids on the road that woke the baby... so i think best off not having a gun me thinks

Odysseus wrote: »
    The fact that a gun is only a weapon if you use it as one, mine are sporting kit. There is a big difference between sporting guns and those used by law enforcement etc.

Owning a gun does not mean you will use it against another person, so I think you are missing a lot. Shooting is a very significant sport in Ireland despite the fact we have some of the toughest laws on ownership, and the lack of understanding by the general public. I just have to walk 500 meters to get to the start of some fields that mark the start of my hunting ground from my house.

I have had people gaspe and point that man has a gun, as I leave my house this is with it in a case and unloaded of course. I'm a dub myself, but generally those who get hysterical are from urban areas.

Guns are very safe, one you obey basic rules, just like driving.

Well you are using it as a weapon, to kill your prey and yes guns are safe till they are loaded, which of course doesn't take much effort. What happened in Tipperary the other day when a man opened fire on some Garda and Dundalk a few months ago when a man was murdered. In both these cases it was with legally held firearms, so no I don't agree, guns IMO are to dangerous and an impulsive weapon to be held by the citizenry.

So if a minority sport like shooting and hunting in this country suffers, so be it, I would rather that then have any kind of gun culture here.

Take up stamp collecting instead.

Seachmall wrote: »
    That not all guns are designed to kill people.

They're all capable of killing people, sure. But so are kitchen knives. And cars. And hammers. And tire-irons. And so on.

The old argument, OK, so if you are for gun ownership, why not machine gun ownership, or even cannon ownership, there are degrees of danger from weapons.

My car is the most dangerous thing I own, but that has other uses as well, a gun has 1 primary use, to kill.

In both these cases it was with legally held firearms
    In both instances the legality of the weapon shouldn't be the issue, much like the legality of cars shouldn't be an issue when someone intentionally runs someone down.

Those type of arguments tend to be made by people who have their mind made up and refused to allow any counter-arguments penetrate their opinions.

In the long run those people are the most dangerous of all.
    why not machine gun ownership, or even cannon ownership
    You answered your own question,
    there are degrees of danger from weapons

Also, my uncle legally owns a cannon. He has yet to turn to piracy or storming castles.
    a gun has 1 primary use, to kill.
    No, a gun has several primary uses depending on it's design and the owner's intent.

The most common being pest control and sporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I'd love to own a Garand but sadly as I'm not a land owner or friendly with any farmers I'll never have the chance.

In both instances the legality of the weapon shouldn't be the issue, much like the legality of cars shouldn't be an issue when someone intentionally runs someone down.

Those type of arguments tend to be made by people who have their mind made up and refused to allow any counter-arguments penetrate their opinions.

In the long run those people are the most dangerous of all.

You answered your own question,

No, a gun has several primary uses.

The most common being pest control and sporting.

I am listening, pest control, is a valid reason for owning a gun, but according to the OP 215,000 households own a gun, I very much doubt all those guns are for shooting foxes. As for sporting, I do not think that is a valid reason for owning a gun. No more then I think you could own a dangerous dog, because you like dogs.

As for sporting, I do not think that is a valid reason for owning a gun. No more then I think you could own a dangerous dog, because you like dogs.

What exactly is a dangerous dog? A particular breed or a specific dog that has shown itself to be dangerous?

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

What exactly is a dangerous dog? A particular breed or a specific dog that has shown itself to be dangerous?

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1986/en/act/pub/0032/index.html

As defined by section 22

AEDIC wrote: »

So a specific dog.

I agree with that.

It's just that the generalizations that all dogs of specific breeds will attack, or are more likely to attack, are simply ignoring the more direct issue.

I'm sure there's a metaphor in there somewhere...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Batsy

I would keep a gun in my home to defend myself and my property from burglars or any other scumbag who shouldn't be in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Bonesy. wrote: »
    I didn't even know they were legal in Ireland. No don't really see the point.

only rifles and shotguns are legal in ireland but you must have a license for them.

handguns / sub machine / machine guns are only permitted for use by the army and Specially trained Cops

only rifles and shotguns are legal in ireland but you must have a license for them.

handguns [...] are only permitted for use by the army and Specially trained Cops

Handguns can be owned by private citizens.

"
    Rules relating to certain breeds of dog

The Control of Dogs Regulations 1998 place controls on 10 breeds of dogs namely the American Pit Bull Terrier; English Bull Terrier; Staffordshire Bull Terrier; Bull Mastiff; Doberman Pinscher; German Shepherd (Alsatian); Rhodesian Ridgeback; Rottweiler; Japanese Akita; Japanese Tosa and to every dog of the type commonly known as a Ban Dog (or Bandog).
    The controls, which must be observed when the dog is in a public place, require that these dogs, or strains and crosses thereof, must be kept on a strong short lead [only up to 2 metres long] by a person over 16 years of age who is capable of controlling them. The dog/s must be securely muzzled too. Furthermore, the Control of Dogs Act 1986 gives specific powers to the courts to order that a dog, which the court considers dangerous, must be kept under proper control or be destroyed."

According to the law, but yes there is a degree of danger from any dog but again there are degrees of danger.

But that is off topic, I know it is impossible to live in a society with no guns, there will always be illegal ones and there will always be a need for some legally held ones, but I want the situation where these a few and far between and IMO sporting is still not a valid reason for owning a gun.

At this stage I am just going to agree to differ.

Well you are using it as a weapon, to kill your prey and yes guns are safe till they are loaded, which of course doesn't take much effort. What happened in Tipperary the other day when a man opened fire on some Garda and Dundalk a few months ago when a man was murdered. In both these cases it was with legally held firearms, so no I don't agree, guns IMO are to dangerous and an impulsive weapon to be held by the citizenry.

So if a minority sport like shooting and hunting in this country suffers, so be it, I would rather that then have any kind of gun culture here.

Take up stamp collecting instead.

Maybe it's too dangerous for you, and you do not possess the ability to use a gun in a safe manner. So because the odd person go off the wall with a legally held firearm, not weapon, you think everybody else should suffer. In other words just because people like you are incapable of owning a sporting firearm, you think your generalisation should apply to everyone.

Thanfully, people like yourself have no real power in relation to this topic, so mine are safe. You more than likely don't even understand why I'm looking at getting another firearm. They are tools and hence are job specific, it would be illegal for me to shoot a deer with my rilfes, if I want to engage in that sport, I need a different gun.

Have you even fired a gun? Basic hysteria, have a look at the amount of legally owned firearms, we are not that much of a minority. Try controlling the illegal guns, that is where the real problem is.

At this stage I am just going to agree to differ.

Seconded.

Probably the most brief and civil discussion I've had on such a controversial topic on boards in a long time.

Batsy wrote: »
    I would keep a gun in my home to defend myself and my property from burglars or any other scumbag who shouldn't be in there.

You cannot possess a firearm for self-defense, as a private citizen I only possess my firearms for sporting reasons. Owning a gun for self denfense=watching too many movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭homerhop

As for sporting, I do not think that is a valid reason for owning a gun

Ireland has some of the top ranking sportsmen/women in target shooting as well as clay shooting in the world. Every year Irish participants bring home gold silver and bronze medals both at European and International standard yet the media do not cover these people in the same way they do runners boxers etc. The level or training that goes into getting to this level is the same as that of any other "sport".To the uneducated its just a case of pointing the gun and shooting. for those that are involved it goes far beyond that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I would love to own a gun, but I probably never will. I like the idea of going to the shooting range on a weekly basis.

token101 wrote: »
    Stabbings are usually very personal crimes. It takes a lot more effort and violent intent to stab someone than it does to point and squeeze your finger. You're not going to be able to walk into a built up area and stab 10 people at once unless you're some sort of demented ninja. How many times in the last 10 years has someone walked into a built up area and just started shooting randomly in the US? Countless. When was the last time that happened here? It might have happened in the UK once or twice, but they're notable cases because they are so rare, Dunblayne, Hungerford. Half the ones in the US don't even register anymore.

True, but you're forgetting one pertinent fact.
    Yanks be crazy!
    Their whole society is predicated on fear of people coming to get them and take away their "freedom" So they arm themsleves to the teeth and lock themselves away to protect this "freedom". There are more guns per capita in Canada and they very rarely go on killing sprees with them. The problem is the person pulling the trigger, not the trigger they pull. There will of course be a proportional rise in people being shot coupled with easier access to guns, but in the USA it seems way out of proportion to anywhere else.

"
    Rules relating to certain breeds of dog

The Control of Dogs Regulations 1998 place controls on 10 breeds of dogs namely the American Pit Bull Terrier; English Bull Terrier; Staffordshire Bull Terrier; Bull Mastiff; Doberman Pinscher; German Shepherd (Alsatian); Rhodesian Ridgeback; Rottweiler; Japanese Akita; Japanese Tosa and to every dog of the type commonly known as a Ban Dog (or Bandog).

Bit off topic but I find this list a bit extreme. Of the dogs listed, over the years i've had a dobberman, a couple of german shepherds, a rottweiller and a rhodesian ridgeback - they have all been pussy cats, particularly the ridgeback and the rottweiller. A lot of what makes them dangerous is down to how they are kept.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

True, but you're forgetting one pertinent fact.
    Yanks be crazy!
    Their whole society is predicated on fear of people coming to get them and take away their "freedom" So they arm themsleves to the teeth and lock themselves away to protect this "freedom". There are more guns per capita in Canada and they very rarely go on killing sprees with them. The problem is the person pulling the trigger, not the trigger they pull. There will of course be a proportional rise in people being shot coupled with easier access to guns, but in the USA it seems way out of proportion to anywhere else.

Wouldn't that alone be enough to limit access where possible?