Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Experiences with agressive sellers?

• 01-02-2012 1:07am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭

An incident occoured today with my dads neighbour where she was agressively abused by a man selling suites of furniture.

This woman is in her 60s and was taking care of her 5 year old granson at the time. She had just come back from shopping and as she was unloading the car a man came up offering her a new suite of furniture to which she declined. She had an armful of bags and a 5 year old in her hand and just said she wasnt interested.

2 minutes later he knocked on her door saying "I figured you were interested but were busy so i came back" - and she told him she was not interested again and he left.

About ten minutes after this she was in her back lawn and he popped his head over the gate and said "I see you are a haggler- Look i cant do it lower than 850 and your robbing me here" She got very pissed off at this stage and told him to get lost

He proceeded to them pick up a large stone and fling it at her yelling "You cheeky cow" She ran inside and locked the door and called the police. He and his van were gone by the time the police arrived.

Agressive sellers seem to be on the up in general- but theres no excuse for this!!!:eek:

anyone else had exp with agressive sellers???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Wait.............. so, throwing a stone at her DIDN'T convince her to buy?

Times have changed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I wouldnt have entertained him the second time...and if he threw a stone at me or any of my family...then its game on.....deadman

If she'd have bought a sofa off him the first time she'd have had a sofa to hide behind the second time he came knocking.

It's her own fault tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Stuck Cone

An incident occoured today with my dads neighbour where she was agressively abused by a man selling suites of furniture.

This woman is in her 60s and was taking care of her 5 year old granson at the time. She had just come back from shopping and as she was unloading the car a man came up offering her a new suite of furniture to which she declined. She had an armful of bags and a 5 year old in her hand and just said she wasnt interested.

2 minutes later he knocked on her door saying "I figured you were interested but were busy so i came back" - and she told him she was not interested again and he left.

About ten minutes after this she was in her back lawn and he popped his head over the gate and said "I see you are a haggler- Look i cant do it lower than 850 and your robbing me here" She got very pissed off at this stage and told him to get lost

He proceeded to them pick up a large stone and fling it at her yelling "You cheeky cow" She ran inside and locked the door and called the police. He and his van were gone by the time the police arrived.

Agressive sellers seem to be on the up in general- but theres no excuse for this!!!:eek:

Sigh, gypsy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭idunnoshur

Probably a member of the travelling community, what was he driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Stuck Cone

idunnoshur wrote: »
    Probably a knacker, what was he driving?

His sister

idunnoshur wrote: »
    Probably a knacker, what was he driving?

I presume he was wheeling around on an Office Chair!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

creamers used to knock on our door all the time looking for 'the blond one'. i just repeated no and eventually they got the message

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

creamers used to knock on our door all the time looking for 'the blond one'. i just repeated no and eventually they got the message

:confused:???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

Crackers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

Creamers > cream crackers > knackers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

The door to door salesmen tend to be the more pushy fuckers of the lot.
    Generally one step short of sticking their foot in the door. Bloody hate them.

Then theres the knackers! ...
    Then theres the "ah will ya donate some money for the poor XXXX"

bigneacy wrote: »

I'd disagree with that.

No way are Creamers more than Cream Crackers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

i find answering the door naked and asking them to come in and give me an indept explaination of what their selling always helps, if not, ill just start speaking all the forgein tounge i can...

if that doesn't work ill just be overly nice to the point their doing everything possible to get away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Im sure he was having a good look around at the same time :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

^

Yep, I remember knocking around to my neighbour who was talking to a door sales man. He must have been there 5 mins, I was talking to my mate by the door way while his ma was dealing with this pushy bast*ard. It seemed more banter when I got there until he became more pushy while on a high off this banter. Eventually he was in the hall way, his mam becoming more impatient, arms crossed and becoming more disinterested and he was still all smiles and promises. He over shot and his charm was wearing thin so I just stopped my mate, turned to your man and told him to just shat' ap', get out of the hall, get out and dont think about knocking at my (next) door.
    I'm still not sure dont how anyone felt by that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

beerbaron wrote: »
    Crackers

I had an dodgy looking salesman call around trying to sell me a suite of furniture.

....Sure couldn't ye invite all the neighbours in for tea and they'd they'd be mad jealous when they see the new saayetes...

was the sales line for that one one

He called the next week trying to sell me CCTV:D

I bought neither

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

bigneacy wrote: »

Aristotle > Jug & Bottle > Bottle & Glass > Ass

As in, "I'll kick you in the Aris".

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Wasn't door to door selling made illegal a while back ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Once when I was a slalesman for sky, I got an old lady who said she didnt really want sky now her husband died.
    I proceeded to tell her sure it will help with the healing process and stop her being bored. My manager loved it, I had to drink a litre of vodka to cleanse my horrible soul.
    Being a salesman changes you :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

This happened in the UK, I presume (reference to police) ? The likes of this wouldn't happen in Ireland. We're far too polite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I simply don't answer the door. unless I know who it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

"Here missus, would ya buy us a caaaaarpet atall atall?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Feisar

Pdfile wrote: »
    i find answering the door naked and asking them to come in and give me an indept explaination of what their selling always helps, if not, ill just start speaking all the forgein tounge i can...

if that doesn't work ill just be overly nice to the point their doing everything possible to get away.

I did answer the door with no shirt once and one of these in my hand and Rage Against the Machine blaring in the background - I was chopping stuff for dinner.

Pair of gents collecting for charity were fairly taken aback!

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Nobody told Eircom!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I was at one of these fly by night discount auctions on Mary St back in the 80's An aggressive Cockney sales guy threw an frying pan at my arm for backing down on a deal when I sussed it was a scam and overheard me warning others of it.

I got the Gardai on the case and had your man arrested with plenty of witnesses on assault charges. The fcuker never turned up in court but cops said they had a warrant after his arrest on other charges. He probably skipped the country. I never set foot in one of these auctions ever since.

BostonB wrote: »
    I simply don't answer the door. unless I know who it is.

i do that too- unless im expecting someone i do not answer the door. people think its weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

"Is the boss man around"
    The one line that tells you you don't want to buy anything :rolleyes:

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    "Is the boss man around"
    The one line that tells you you don't want to buy anything :rolleyes:
    thats sexism tis :D

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭johnny_cash

I was dying of a hangover one morning and a knacker nearly broke down the door he rapped it so hard :mad: I answer the door and the fcuking clown asks if i want to buy pillows or bed clothes :eek: I told the fcuker in no uncertain terms to fcuk off.He left the yard very quick and it's the only way to deal with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 The Vigilant Citizen

Oh god how I wish this was true! Cheap black suited airtricity salesman who knocks on my door once every 2 to 3 weeks would be no more

and they always come to estates in swarms and they all stand on a corner when they finish a row of houses

cult tbh!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

He should have asked for the boss man. Rookie mistake.