Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pole On the Dole In a Hole Plays the Troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

gcgirl wrote: »
    Tax : if your not married they tax you individually
    SW: they treat unmarried couples as one unit

Think they eventually change this last year, it was crazy unfair thou.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

so even when i explain my points and give examples you are still not happy?

is the system perfect? No, far from it. There are numerous loopholes and tricks you can do to get away with things like this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I once worked in a certain media organ, who's employees were regularly told to mention the nationalities of criminals, just to make the story "sexy". "Sexy" meaning to stir up hateful **** storms against newcomers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Nodin wrote: »
    Shows up the Indo rather more, tbh.

Who gives a **** whether it shows up the newspaper or not? The 'Indo' doesn't cost the state €20 billion a year FFS.

old hippy wrote: »
    I once worked in a certain media organ, who's whose employees were regularly told to mention the nationalities of criminals, just to make the story "sexy". "Sexy" meaning to stir up hateful **** storms against newcomers.

Wasn't the Daily Mail was it? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

token101 wrote: »
    Who gives a **** whether it shows up the newspaper or not?FFS.

Aye, who gives a fuck about the truth when we can have a lynch mob against a largely anonymous, powerless group. Sure what would ye be doing with all that redirected anger and energy anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭nicebutdim

gcgirl wrote: »
    I hate the independent more than anything now, even more than the daily fail, fückwits

and TV3 is their tv equivalent.........It's like having our own indigenous Daily Mail on TV

TV3.... where EVERYTHING is SENSATIONAL !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

old hippy wrote: »
    I once worked in a certain media organ, who's employees were regularly told to mention the nationalities of criminals, just to make the story "sexy". "Sexy" meaning to stir up hateful **** storms against newcomers.

for the last time, who cares if their polish who cares if they exagreated or changed her words.

the FACT is the SW are paying too much regardless of the article.

trying to say a paper tells fibs, f*ck me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Wasn't the Daily Mail was it? :p

Jeez, I do have some principles :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 utopek

the problem here is that in the original article she doesn't have a boyfriend.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

danniemcq wrote: »

is the system perfect? No, far from it. There are numerous loopholes and tricks you can do to get away with things like this.

What you are suggesting is fraud.
    You should really ring SW and verify that it is OK for you to stay 7 nights a week in your girlfriends house.

They will not see it as visiting only longer:rolleyes:

You have been misinformed by citzens advice

ntlbell wrote: »
    for the last time, who cares if their polish who cares if they exagreated or changed her words.

t.

Good man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Want a pitchfork? 50 a pop....feel them prongs.....quality stuff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

the FACT is the SW are paying too much regardless of the article.

trying to say a paper tells fibs, f*ck me.

The article is what the thread was about, and the article is mostly a load of bollix.

Aye, who gives a fuck about the truth when we can have a lynch mob against a largely anonymous, powerless group. Sure what would ye be doing with all that redirected anger and energy anyway.

Well if it's a lynch mob chasing an anonymous group, they're not going to be getting far are they? Do you actually believe that the Times is any different? They have a largely liberal agenda, could it be that maybe you just don't see that because you agree with it? Every media organisation puts some spin on everything. But sure as long as we have the liberal media with Vincent and Fintan, we'll be fine won't we? Sure what do economics matter? :rolleyes:

The article is what the thread was about, and the article is mostly a load of bollix.

The figures used in the article are fine.

all could be done on SW so the fact it's polish or her words were changed is really irrelvant to what the article is trying to say

Well if it's a lynch mob chasing an anonymous group, they're not going to be getting far are they? Do you actually believe that the Times is any different? They have a largely liberal agenda, could it be that maybe you just don't see that because you agree with it? Every media organisation puts some spin on everything. But sure as long as we have the liberal media with Vincent and Fintan, we'll be fine won't we? Sure what do economics matte:confused? :rolleyes:

Can we stay in our PJ's?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

utopek wrote: »
    the problem here is that in the original article she doesn't have a boyfriend.....

Who cares!! It's "sexy" to hear that polish are milking poor Paddys, and that all crisis is probably their fault... Now we know who's guilty!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 utopek

then you would waste your time, because all you've just mention was not in the original article.
    in the original article she is single and she is NOT learning sign language. Also it's not facing the ocean, but it's 5 mins away....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Izabo

The people on the dole are not a real problem, the system is a problem. They do not take our money, the goverment does.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/423395_352973858065856_161024600594117_1270683_1600435311_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

cordni wrote: »
    I second... that's an opinion deary not a fact, learn the difference

Well, I'm happy to go along with ntlbell and agree that the comment is fact. Your belittling of the poster by using the term "deary" doesnt change the FACT that €188 is just too much to pay someone with no dependents

zom wrote: »
    Who cares!! It's "sexy" to hear that polish are milking poor Paddys, and that all crisis is probably their fault... Now we know who's guilty!!

That's your own inference from the article. Doesn't matter if she's Irish, Polish, Chinese, or a different species FFS, we are spending too much money on SW as a country. And cuts have to happen and €180 a week is too much for many, not all but many. €20 billion is a ludricous figure for a population of 4 million or so. All this lynch mob rubbish won't change the figures. We are f***ing bust. Broke as a joke.

We are spending too much money for bankers and politicians. Much more then on SW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

micropig wrote: »
    What you are suggesting is fraud.
    You should really ring SW and verify that it is OK for you to stay 7 nights a week in your girlfriends house.

They will not see it as visiting only longer:rolleyes:

You have been misinformed by citzens advice

Not in that situation anymore, twigged these when i was unemployed and after my dole and my gfs had already been cut.

thankfully now i'm working and she is studying and all is above board as like i said if you can pay you should

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

johnr1 wrote: »
    Boo fcuking hoo !

D'ont have children if you can't support them. -Oh, actually that's ok, the rest of us who work will.

Why should we pay for a car for you? Use public transport.

I have worked in this country for the last 19 years, paid hundreds of thousands of tax, employed up to 50 people at a time. I can't claim anything, that's reserved for bloodsuckers like Magda.

Why didn't you save your money up like a sensible person?

Well if it's a lynch mob chasing an anonymous group, they're not going to be getting far are they?

O it all explodes sooner later. Few years time from now you get threads from people talking about the hostility to x, y, z.....while I doubt you'd get mob violence, certainly theres a risk of individual incidents rising.

And of course, while people are ranting and raving about the - at the very least highly distorted - picture painted, that's them distracted.
    Do you actually believe that the Times is any different? They have a largely liberal agenda, could it be that maybe you just don't see that because you agree with it? Every media organisation puts some spin on everything. But sure as long as we have the liberal media with Vincent and Fintan, we'll be fine won't we? Sure what do economics matter? :rolleyes:

....it's not the Times that have published an extremely dubious article that has a few frothing at the mouth here.

Does not occur to you that the important thing is the truth, rather than who is "liberal" or otherwise?

Not in that situation anymore, twigged these when i was unemployed and after my dole and my gfs had already been cut.

thankfully now i'm working and she is studying and all is above board as like i said if you can pay you should

Some vulnerable people in here might actually believe you can do this,

Don't want anyone getting themselves in trouble by being misinformed now would we?

The figures used in the article are fine.

all could be done on SW so the fact it's polish or her words were changed is really irrelvant to what the article is trying to say

...it's ok to have a spasm over the possible rather than actual? O excellent.

Izabo wrote: »
    We are spending too much money for bankers and politicians. Much more then on SW.

why do people feel the need to talk about bankers everything a discussuion comes up on SW

yes we're bailing out speculators and blah blah

so f*cking what. what has it got to do with SW claimaints getting too much poxy money!!!

why do people feel the need to talk about bankers everything a discussuion comes up on SW

so f*cking what. what has it got to do with SW claimaints getting too much poxy money!!!

Because we can't take personal responsibility for our actions and need someone to blame?

because they're to blame for getting the countrys' finances so messed up:mad:

Because we've already blamed everyone else:confused:

I like jeopardy but I don't like these answers

Why? Because SW problem is just a Mickey Mouse problem. Cant u see it? How much money went into the banks? I prefer to give my money to real people then corporation. The are no money and goverment still support bad banks... So the problem of SW payment is bown up to cover a real bank problem.

We all know about the element that are spongers and wasters, and they probably should be targeted.

But what about people who have contributed over the years, and find themselves in a tough patch and jobless. Should they not be entitled to as much as we can give them, and something back from what they have contributed.

The lady in this article doesn't seem to be living in the lap of luxury by any means. She is fortunate to be in a beautiful part of the country where the cost of living may be a bit lower, and help her maintain some sort of decent lifestyle though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Why? Because SW problem is just a Mickey Mouse problem. Cant u see it? How much money went into the banks? I prefer to give my money to real people then corporation. The are no money and goverment still support bad banks... So the problem of SW payment is bown up to cover a real bank problem.

the money went into the banks so that people would continue to lend us money we need to continue paying social welfare.

tbh wrote: »
    the money went into the banks so that people would continue to lend us money we need to continue paying social welfare.

.....which is being paid out to so many because of an economic collapse triggered largely by - yes - the banks.

They let as borrow too much, now we have to pay. But I didnt borrow, so why do I have to? That how it works: do not spend money which you didnt earn yet ;)

O it all explodes sooner later. Few years time from now you get threads from people talking about the hostility to x, y, z.....while I doubt you'd get mob violence, certainly theres a risk of individual incidents rising..
    ...it's ok to have a spasm over the possible rather than actual? O excellent.

You see the contradiction here?
    ....it's not the Times that have published an extremely dubious article that has a few frothing at the mouth here.

Does not occur to you that the important thing is the truth, rather than who is "liberal" or otherwise?

Yeah the Times, the bastion of decency who acted with pure class recently with a certain PR company didn't they? Couldn't be accused of defending their interests at all. I'm not defending the Indo, but if you think the Times is any less scummy you're deluding yourself.

People will take their own inference from any media source. I chose to see this as showing the SW system up as a sham. You could have put 1000's of other people from anywhere in 'Magda's' place and the outrage would be the same from 90% of people.

The truth is we're overspending on SW and this type of **** has to stop ASAP. If you can't see that then you're living in fantasy land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Most of the bailout money has actually gone into social welfare and public service wages then the banks.

Are you f***ing serious? What planet are you on? We are liable for approx €37 billion to the banks overall. We spent €20.8 billion last year on SW. That's up 1.5% on 2010 and it's hardly going to fall this year with queues lengthening. It has to come down or we'll be in a second bailout and then the SW will look like a f***ing Mickey Mouse problem.

You see the contradiction here? .

Not really. It's an unfortunate fact that false stories like these contribute to xenophobia, hostility and violence.
    Yeah the Times, the bastion of decency who acted with pure class recently with a certain PR company didn't they?.

Odd, I thought they acted despicably, meself.

People will take their own inference from any media source. I chose to see this as showing the SW system up as a sham.?.
    (my bold)

....which is sad, really.
    You could have put 1000's of other people from anywhere in 'Magda's' place and the outrage would be the same from 90% of people. ..

Nope, if she'd been described as "African" it would far, far worse. Primarily because there's a vast number of false stories about that group floating about that nobody bothered countering before they became common currency.

We all know about the element that are spongers and wasters, and they probably should be targeted.

But what about people who have contributed over the years, and find themselves in a tough patch and jobless. Should they not be entitled to as much as we can give them, and something back from what they have contributed.

Yes they should be entitled to an amount we can afford to give them to get by with the basics until they find themselves in a better position. Right now we cannot afford to give them 180+ pw etc as we're bankrupt.
    The lady in this article doesn't seem to be living in the lap of luxury by any means. She is fortunate to be in a beautiful part of the country where the cost of living may be a bit lower, and help her maintain some sort of decent lifestyle though.

It sounds pretty damn close to luxury had I not my own responsibilities I might be joining her on the beach!!!!!

Nope, if she'd been described as "African" it would far, far worse. Primarily because there's a vast number of false stories about that group floating about that nobody bothered countering before they became common currency.

Well I'll tell you something as far as "African" go.

Not one of them can bloody drive!!

.....which is being paid out to so many because of an economic collapse triggered largely by - yes - the banks.

by the greed of the irish public, the lack of regualtion and a half asleep goverment.

it wasn't just the banks everyone in the country jumped on the bandwagon at some point or other.

No bank ever knocked on my door offering to lend me money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

I heard a bit of 4FM on the way back in the car and they're still bleating on about this despite the full article being read in context.

Fair play to Newstalk, at least they went into more depth over lunch on it.

No bank ever knocked on my door offering to lend me money

You never received anything from a bank saying you were entitled to a pre-approved loan? Because I sure as fuck did from BOI. One was for 50k. I never took one, because I'm from an older generation, but others would know no better.

Not that I recall.

I insulted a bank clerk once tho.

It sounds pretty damn close to luxury had I not my own responsibilities I might be joining her on the beach!!!!!

She is in about the best situation she can be. She enjoys the outdoors, photography and whatever massage stuff she does. She has access to all of those easily at no cost. She lives in a place where prices would be quite low.

She seems content enough.

It doesn't translate for most places. Some poor fúcker trying to pay a mortgage in Dublin, while having to pay through the roof for everything, for instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

Fecking woman, giving donegal the total wrong image. Half of donegal on the dole??

Feck off. I work hard enough for the pittance I earn and don't get any dole.

Not really. It's an unfortunate fact that false stories like these contribute to xenophobia, hostility and violence..

It's not false though. She's on €188 a week living in Donegal. I lived comfortably in Cork City on that for a while, which has an undoubtedly higher living cost than Donegal. It's more than enough to live a relatively comfortable life as a single person with no dependents. You could do it for €150 or even less in reality in most places outside Dublin. Got nothing to do with the fact that she's Polish. She could from anywhere. Economics are the same regardless. It's too much money and the state can't afford it.
    Odd, I thought they acted despicably, meself.

I'm glad we agree on something.
    (my bold)

....which is sad, really.

No it's called seeing reality. Delusion isn't going to get us anywhere.
    Nope, if she'd been described as "African" it would far, far worse. Primarily because there's a vast number of false stories about that group floating about that nobody bothered countering before they became common currency

:rolleyes: Such as? You're defending what's indefensible, someone claiming they're delighted to be on welfare and happy to remain so because rates are so inflated they can live a comfortable life, by playing the race card. It's pathetic.

She is in about the best situation she can be. She enjoys the outdoors, photography and whatever massage stuff she does. She has access to all of those easily at no cost. She lives in a place where prices would be quite low.

It doesn't translate for most places. Some poor fúcker trying to pay a mortgage in Dublin, while having to pay through the roof for everything, for instance.

Well as the SW isn't suppose to be used for financing a mortgage or debt in general not sure how relevant it is.

But I'd take her place any day of the week.

Isn't that all the more reason we should improve the system?