Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life Festival 2012

• 01-02-2012 3:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭

Just booked my ticket for Life 2012. Brilliant festival last year. Missed out on the early-bird tickets but if you book before March 1 you will still get a discounted price.
    No line-up details but tbh for me it's all about the crowd. Having said that John Digweed played last year and brought the house down. A real old school set (I thought anyway although others disagreed) which brought me back a few years. Love this festival. Bring it on!!
    Anyone else going?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,598 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Looking forward to this myself, hopefully I can get advanced volunteering this year for this, seeing that I worked the weekend last year, great craic it was.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 17 irishbambi

Im going, cant wait. Unbelievable festival- most pleasant/ peaceful one I've ever been to. However, slightly worried that as oxygen is cancelled this year, the crowd you usually find there, will filter into all the smaller festivals :(

Expect the line up to be brilliant, Vitalic was epic last year.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

really? everyone i've heard from said that last year was knacker-central compared to previous years.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

really? everyone i've heard from said that last year was knacker-central compared to previous years.

I was there last year and I thought the crowd were really pleasant. Didn't see any trouble but heard lots of stories. There was apparently a big fight outside the Techno tent on Saturday night and some lad lost it on the campsite on Sunday night.

Booking acts like Vitalic, Dr. Lektroluv and Digweed doesn't help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 tallaght hotspur

Looking forward to this myself, hopefully I can get advanced volunteering this year for this, seeing that I worked the weekend last year, great craic it was.

have you heard anything about volenteering this year. and how many shifts did you have to do? and how long were they? thanks

It was three 6 hour shifts, you should email Paul Halpin through Facebook he is the Life Volunteers Co-ordinator, you can also apply online through the Life website once they announce, it could be a month yet before there is any details about line up etc. http://life-festival.com/lifefestival2012/#!/?page_id=285

Well last year was my first year going. There were a few dodgey charecters, but no hassel from them, from what i saw anyway.

But I suppose every festival has its trolls. Just hope there isint a huge increase this year.

It was three 6 hour shifts, you should email Paul Halpin through Facebook he is the Life Volunteers Co-ordinator, you can also apply online through the Life website once they announce, it could be a month yet before there is any details about line up etc. http://life-festival.com/lifefestival2012/#!/?page_id=285

ah sweet, thanks.

could you send me a link to paul halpin on face book. thanks

This is the Life Volunteers Facebook link in which he posts regularly http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=77001202
    And this is Pauls own Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/halpinpaul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 DLz

Well lads, I asked the life crowd for a clue to the line-up today on their FB page and this was the reply:

"As soon as it;s ready, But think more on the lines of the previous Life festivals than the last ones (hint)"

I too would be a little concerned that all the smaller festivals will be infested with knackers because there's no Oxegen. Went to Knockanstockan last year and a group of about 15 of them cause some serious ****. Heard Life was rough last year as well. That's what you get with a line-up like last year.

This is the Life Volunteers Facebook link in which he posts regularly http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=77001202
    And this is Pauls own Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/halpinpaul

thanks so much mate

First of the line up announced only three acts but still something: Ace Ventura, Kryptic Minds, Planetary Assault Systems. I got an email today from the festival.

I was at knockanstockan last year too, and was camped right beside that particular group. They recked the buzz completely, but they recked the buzz so much they got kicked out the 2nd day:D Hopefully life festival will do the same if theres proper trolls wandering around causing trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 BoogieCo

Expect to see Seth Troxler there 100%

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭tigershould

went two years ago when villalabos was djing in the afternoon overlooking the lake - great setting.

the vibe was one of the best i'd seen at a festival in ireland.

unfortnately didnt make last year.

if seth troxler is there then im there 100% !

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

jZw7w.jpg

not a huge amount for me there, although there is more to be announced apparently.
    Blawan
    Iration Steppas
    Martyn
    Synkro
    Distance
    Kryptic Minds
    Loxy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 DLz

I'd love to know your thoughts on whether the knackers will be attracted by the line-up this year?

Madu added to the line up for the reggae stage, you gotta check them out, a seriously good band.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Jamie Jones headlining, 1st Irish set!

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭dj_

DLz wrote: »
    I'd love to know your thoughts on whether the knackers will be attracted by the line-up this year?

I have no idea what type of music they like but with no Oxygen this year I fear there may be quite a few. I hope they choose EP but unfortunately I expect to see a few at Life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

I doubt if they'll be attracted by this line-up but I'd say EP are in for a shock this year as it's the next biggest name in the festival calendar so they'll probably gravitate towards that. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭dceire

Attention all boardsies:
    Life Festival is currently seeking dedicated and enthusiastic volunteers for Life 2012. We require help with event management, web design, marketing, IT, Sound & Lighting, PR and Administration. Life 2012 provides ample opportunity to put your skills to use, or learn new ones. For anyone seeking a greater challenge we have a limited number of intern positions available. To apply go online to life-festival.com or email voluneers@life-festival.com

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭neutronyx

ENJOY LIFE :)

ben-marcel.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

What night is P.A.S on?
    flying in late to dublin on fri night so will only be able to make Sat & Sun
    So don't tell me its Fri cause i'm a Slater junkie:pac:

PeteEd wrote: »
    What night is P.A.S on?
    flying in late to dublin on fri night so will only be able to make Sat & Sun
    So don't tell me its Fri cause i'm a Slater junkie:pac:

Bad news dude Resident Advisor say its on the Friday P.A.S is playing. http://www.residentadvisor.net/dj/planetaryassaultsystems/dates

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

Bad news dude Resident Advisor say its on the Friday P.A.S is playing. http://www.residentadvisor.net/dj/planetaryassaultsystems/dates

Theres still hope yet http://planetaryassaultsystems.tumblr.com/ says Saturday.
    Fingers crossed

Oooooooh! I canna fcuking wait, going down there next Tuesday to do pre-festival work. Roll on Life Festival.

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭Tinwhistle*

The Hideout in Kilcullen are auctioning 2 tickets fo the Life Festival. Proceeds go to Barretstown:)

See their page:

http://www.facebook.com/#!/hideout.kilcullen

• Registered Users Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭Linoge

Heading this tomorrow straight after work for Friday and Sat. Bringing the campervan and with this weather it should be amazing!

Being 100% honest, I have never even heard of any of the DJs on the line up. I'm into Dirty Dutch, Electro House and Trance and there doesnt seem to be any DJs playing for these genres. Or am I wrong? Could anyone tell me will any DJs be playing anything like that or is it all just Techno, House and Psytrance?