Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Right-wingers are less intelligent than left wingers', says study

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

The thing is, the state doesn't need to issue currency, people can still trade off anything and banks can still issue their own private notes as a representation of real value. In terms of tax, this is a necessity for the state to survive, but do we really need a state or a central government? If we were to maintain tax (which I don't believe in) it should be imparted in a completely unbiased manner in a way that wouldn't effect market equilibrium.

China is a little different, in my opinion. Their system wouldn't work in most western countries. It's to do with Chinese culture, I think, and the deeply embedding philosophy of Confucianism in their way of thinking.

But there are dysfunctional states in this world of which their currency is of no or little value or trust, such as Somalia or the Sudan and they use Dollars or the Euro. Without a central government a state would descend into chaos as with the examples I have given.

We do need a central currency and we do need taxes and central control.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭PHIDIAS

You can't be the most intelligent guy yourself if you think there are only one brand of right-wingers. There are libertarians, solely fiscal conservatives, constitutionalists, family values types (the worst type IMO), and so on.

Im sorry did i miss the breakdown its a broad sweeping study that i personally tend to agree with. But i sure hope you feel more intelligent by telling someone they are less intelligent..:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Batsy

RichieC wrote: »
    Lol at batsy. Canadians are actually quite conservative. Their government currently is too. You really should stop reading tabloids. Its rotting your brains.

Hmm.. Might have stumbled on causation here :pac:

How left-wing Canada elects a right-wing government

05 October 2008

We Canadians are having an election too, on October 14, a few weeks before our southern neighbours in the U.S.A. By the standards of most countries in the world, Canada's political climate is a social democratic one, particularly on social and moral issues. (By the somewhat skewed perspective of modern American politics, therefore, we probably all seem like we're Shining Path guerrillas.) In the last election in 2006, about 36% of the population voted for the Conservatives, the centre-right party that currently forms a minority government in Parliament.

What it means is that even when we elected a conservative (for us) government, 64% of Canadians still voted for parties more left-wing than that, from the centre-left Liberals to the democratic socialist New Democratic Party (NDP). Even the Bloc Québecois, whose primary platform is Québec independence (or sovereignty, in Canadian politispeak) are left-leaning in their other policies, while the environment-angled Green Party—a more significant force in 2008 than two years ago—is conservationist, rather than conservative.

http://www.penmachine.com/2008/10/how-left-wing-canada-elects-right-wing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

44leto wrote: »
    But there are dysfunctional states in this world of which their currency is of no or little value or trust, such as Somalia or the Sudan and they use Dollars or the Euro. Without a central government a state would descend into chaos as with the examples I have given.

Not really. Somalia is a bad example, seen as it is a state that descended into Civil War, not because of "statelessness" but rather because of a preexisting state. There's also a hell of a lot of bitter cultural division in Somalia. I wouldn't blame anarchy for their problems, to be honest.

Statelessness isn't chaotic, in fact there are some well rounded theories suggesting that statism actually breathes chaos. Human societies naturally form order. It's not up to a central authority to form order. If that was the case, we'd be still living in the stone ages.

Most currencies in the world today are fiat currencies, they're not based on real value. In a world were fiat currencies didn't exist, most currencies would have more or less the same value. In hindsight, states create inequality in the values of different currencies.

In a society where money didn't exist, "money" and "currency" would still form naturally through varying degrees of liquidity. Historically, that's the way currency developed. Take a primitive example: Let's say a baker bakes a loaf of bread, and puts it on display in his shop. Then let's say a shoemaker walks into the baker's shop and wants the loaf of bread but he doesn't have anything to trade with at that moment in time. The shoemaker then offers the baker a contract, saying that he will give the baker a new pair of shoes later in exchange for that loaf of bread. That signed contract is money. Money is basically a piece of paper stating that I owe you something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

We DO NOT need taxes - taxes destroy an economy. The government take money earned from the productive private sector and transfer it to the wealthy upper classes via the welfare state. Your taxes subsidise farmers to sit on their arse and not sell their produce at the market rate so Corporations can buy all that shit up and throw it into McDonalds burgers.

Furthermore, giving your money to government means that you're not spending your cash on products in demand - sending the wrong signal down the chain to the suppliers - this is not capitalism. The income tax is the polar opposite to capitalism. But what about the other charges and pensions etc? A scam scheme - pay all your life for retirement and when you croak, your family doesn't see a cent of it. Why not be allowed to keep the fruits of your labour and plan for your own retirement? What about state services? lol...the government regulation don't even allow Irish citizens to form and create entrepreneurial alternatives to state services, protecting the public sector workers and their over bloated wages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

We DO NOT need taxes - taxes destroy an economy. The government take money earned from the productive private sector and transfer it to the wealthy upper classes via the welfare state. Your taxes subsidise farmers to sit on their arse and not sell their produce at the market rate so Corporations can buy all that shit up and throw it into McDonalds burgers.

Furthermore, giving your money to government means that you're not spending your cash on products in demand - sending the wrong signal down the chain to the suppliers - this is not capitalism. The income tax is the polar opposite to capitalism.

Not in demand like roads, law and order, education and security. A good government create conditions of which I can do business.

No, a good government step aside and let the people do business and earn a wage. The conditions exist for good business up until the government get involved with massive regulations harming you and protecting their buddies creating monopolies.

Roads can be privatised as well as law and order. Don't trust the Gardai to keep you safe? No problem, hire a private security firm that treat you as a customer and not some lesser individual as a public servant would. Don't even get me started on education - for all the money thats pumped into the department, world stats in results are slipping. A free market in education would drive prices down and results UP. A bureaucrat does NOT know what is best for your children, only you as a parent do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I am unsure as to what this refers to, politics, sport or going out on the pull?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Furthermore, giving your money to government means that you're not spending your cash on products in demand - sending the wrong signal down the chain to the suppliers - this is not capitalism. The income tax is the polar opposite to capitalism. But what about the other charges and pensions etc? A scam scheme - pay all your life for retirement and when you croak, your family doesn't see a cent of it. Why not be allowed to keep the fruits of your labour and plan for your own retirement? What about state services? lol...the government regulation don't even allow Irish citizens to form and create entrepreneurial alternatives to state services, protecting the public sector workers and their over bloated wages.
    No, a good government step aside and let the people do business and earn a wage. The conditions exist for good business up until the government get involved with massive regulations harming you and protecting their buddies creating monopolies.

Roads can be privatised as well as law and order. Don't trust the Gardai to keep you safe? No problem, hire a private security firm that treat you as a customer and not some lesser individual as a public servant would. Don't even get me started on education - for all the money thats pumped into the department, world stats in results are slipping. A free market in education would drive prices down and results UP. A bureaucrat does NOT know what is best for your children, only you as a parent do.

Every time I read comments like this, I have to wonder: have you ever actually been to a country where very little income tax is collected? Do you actually understand what a 'public good' is? Why would private security guards preserve public safety (hint: they don't). Why do you think you would be able to do business and earn a wage (or even get to work) when there was no broader public responsibility for keeping roads safe and well-maintained? People grumble about government in wealthy countries - well go look at countries with low tax takes and essentially privatized services (like the ones in Central America, for example) - they are very unproductive and completely chaotic.

I can understand being frustrated with how the government works, but these kinds of anti-government screeds that assume that everything can be privatized are so disconnected from reality as to be farcical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Of course it's a big generalisation, but if you look at some prominent right-wingers, like Sarah Palin, Newt Gingrich, the knuckle-dragging chimp, Dick Scrotorum or even our own Lucinda Cretin, then the study that found right-wingers are less intelligent than left-wingers falls into the category of what they call "nollatutkimus" (zero research) in Finland. Other classic examples include a study that found apartments with windows facing onto busy streets suffered more noise problems than those overlooking quiet courtyards, wealthy, healthy people were generally more contented in life than poor, sick ones, and so on ...:):):)

Whatever about the other creeps but Newt Gingrich is actually meant to be a very intelligent man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Batsy wrote: »
    Left-wingers are as prejudiced as right-wingers, but they are prejudiced against different things.

Left-wingers are mainly prejudiced against white people, straight people, men and Christians.

yes, this 1000000 times over and its still true.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Whatever about the other creeps but Newt Gingrich is actually meant to be a very intelligent man.

Maybe in an academic sense, but you have to wonder about the smarts of a guy who criticises a former President for having an extra-martial affair, while being no stranger to that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

Maybe in an academic sense, but you have to wonder about the smarts of a guy who criticises a former President for having an extra-martial affair, while being no stranger to that kind of thing.

He does seem to have a lot of WTF moments alright. It'd make you wonder if he does it on purpose sometimes.

Every time I read comments like this, I have to wonder: have you ever actually been to a country where very little income tax is collected? Do you actually understand what a 'public good' is? Why would private security guards preserve public safety (hint: they don't). Why do you think you would be able to do business and earn a wage (or even get to work) when there was no broader public responsibility for keeping roads safe and well-maintained? People grumble about government in wealthy countries - well go look at countries with low tax takes and essentially privatized services (like the ones in Central America, for example) - they are very unproductive and completely chaotic.

I can understand being frustrated with how the government works, but these kinds of anti-government screeds that assume that everything can be privatized are so disconnected from reality as to be farcical.

Perhaps you should mention to what view point you're coming from before stating an opinion as to what is needed - we all know you're a big government, public service, authoritarian hack. More of the same, establishment status quo rosie - you'll never change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Perhaps you should mention to what view point you're coming from before stating an opinion as to what is needed - we all know you're a big government, public service, authoritarian hack. More of the same, establishment status quo rosie - you'll never change.

Yeah, yeah, I'll change my user name to Leviathan next week. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Usual Libertarian strop tbh. Only extreme Libertarians suggest using private security firms as police and other such stuff.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Is the OP right about right wingers been dumber then left wingers, because it is not in evidence in this thread.

Isn't that what happens, the class struggle as marx put it, I would class myself on the right but I am still in a union:rolleyes:

Indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Right wits are prone to exaggeration, don't forget :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Aww widdums, the make believe oppression you toil under must be so terrible for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,711 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Left-wingers are as prejudiced as right-wingers, but they are prejudiced against different things.

Left-wingers are mainly prejudiced against white people, straight people, men and Christians.

I'd have assumed this is trolling, but then you are the man who told us that the Daily Mail is a reputable and excellent journalistic operation.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

K-9 wrote: »
    Usual Libertarian strop tbh. Only extreme Libertarians suggest using private security firms as police and other such stuff.

Anarcho-capitalists you mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

I don't think that libertarian anarchists in general would advocate the use of a police force, of any kind - public or private.

Crime is subjective in the eyes of society.

Really so you have not benefitted from the capitalist system you live "under". So I sit here in my big armchair watching my big" fukcing colour tele", on a computer with 25 megs broadband in a centrally heated house with 4 bedrooms. Now my car of which cost me some of my savings needs some diesel, those cutns in the oil business are charging me 1.60 a litre, can you believe that.
    These total profit driven ***** why can’t they give me this for free. I am not going to go into my greedy capitalist company to whom those bastards expect me to turn in on time and do work for them, and produce something marketable for a not enough payment.

Boards advise me, should I be a socialist, would my life require a less work loaded lifestyle, is all my hard work in vain is communism easier.

Will I ever be satisfied.

I would imagine your father was satisfied, earning a wage, which entitled him to feed and clothe you, your mother, and your siblings, whilst also entitling you to an education. An aspiration, and achievement, of most mixed-economies in the OECD between the fifties and the seventies.

But, of course, you're right. Twin totalitarianism (much closer to capitalism) with communism, and by association with socialism.

I await your argument. I wonder will there be one of these :rolleyes: in it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

oh no, the socialists have the daily mail behind them... quickly to the banks and exchange our money for gold before they take it and give it to the poor

*sigh*

*It can't be my turn again already*

\ okay, I'll bite

"What, in the name of Jaysus, are you talking about now?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Logic fail - plenty of "left-wingers" (i.e. people who use their brains) are white and straight and male. That line is so bad it's embarrassing. I guess there are no powerful white hetero men in the world...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

I like cake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Relevance = None.

Cant we just hate everyone equally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

Am I the only one that thought this was a soccer discussion, I only came in to see how someone who is left footed can be deemed more intelligent than a right footed person!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Dudess wrote: »
    "left-wingers" (i.e. people who use their brains)
    That line is so bad it's embarrassing.

Aye.

Logic fail - plenty of "left-wingers" (i.e. people who use their brains) are white and straight and male. That line is so bad it's embarrassing. I guess there are no powerful white hetero men in the world...

Yeah Dick Cheney

I like cake

I've no doubt you do, y'fascist right-wing bastard!

Currant-bread wasn't good enough for you.

Oh No!:mad:

Y'had to go and break your mother's heart!

After all the sacrifices, she made, to ensure...:pac:

Well, most Right wing minded people tend to be quite religious so that should answer a lot of questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Yeah, but white male straight left wingers are just afraid to be what they were born to be, and are driven by the bleeding hearters to denounce themselves in an effort to be seen as forward thinking and inclusive. White, straight males are little more than the whipping boy of the vagicentric feminazi equal rights brigade etc etc etc

I'm not.

*searches desperately for Life of Brian video clip*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Yeah, but white male straight left wingers are just afraid to be what they were born to be

I think I see your problem. Those of us who are actually forward thinking and inclusive believe we are all born equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Needs more vagicentricisms!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Peetrik wrote: »
    I think I see your problem. Those of us who are actually forward thinking and inclusive believe we are all born equal.

No you're not.

See the whole vagicentric feminazi point.

It completely nullifies any form of well thought out argument tbh.

And if that doesn't then I guess it's just people being pseudo-intellectuals.

There are bound to be a few AH conventions i am missing but basically whatever you believe is wrong!!!:D

No you're not.

See the whole vagicentric feminazi point.

It completely nullifies any form of well thought out argument tbh.

And if that doesn't then I guess it's just people being pseudo-intellectuals.

There are bound to be a few AH conventions i am missing but basically whatever you believe is wrong!!!biggrin.gif

Oh ok thanks for explaining that to me

Its terrible to think that this type of arguement actually works on some people

Needs more vagicentricisms!

I'd say that'd be a huge score in scrabble

But, would you be right?

Yes

What makes you think people are born equal?

Seachmall wrote: »
    What makes you think people are born equal?

Obvious troll is obvious

In an ethical and moral sense, sure they are.

In every other definable characteristic, they're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 BennyBlanc0

My first post (and not very helpful): I heard recently that 75% of serial killers are republicans. Its one of those stats you just have to believe. Seems cross eyes and smaller brains has no effect on your ability to hunt and kill humans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

c_man wrote: »
    "left-wingers" (i.e. people who use their brains)
    That line is so bad it's embarrassing.

Aye.
    I'll elaborate on that so: when "left-winger" is used as a derogatory label here, it refers to people who put thought into things rather than merely going with the knee jerking and putting stock into laughable soundbites like the "middle-class, white, hetero, christian, western males are actually an oppressed group". Even if a person put a tiny bit of thought into that claim they would conclude that that group is the most privileged one when it comes to most areas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Yeah, but white male straight left wingers are just afraid to be what they were born to be

What does being born equal and not equal mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the very fact that anyone has ever paid any heed to Guevara, Marx, Lenin or any other political parasites proves that the left are not using their brains correctly

The die hard left is always against the white straight male, luckily almost anyone in power or with an opinion that is listened to is a right leaning white straight male. So while the prejudice does exist, it has no impact, because its one held by the 'plebs' of society.