Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda cleared of drink-driving after botched arrest

• 03-02-2012 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭

Indo Story

This is ridiculous. He even admitted it at the scene!

This is after reading about another drink-driving CLOWN yesterday, an on-duty detective Garda who lied about drink driving while on duty and refused to give samples at the time - link to IT story.

Where is our justice system? My rabble is rousing!
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

He didn't have road tax either! FFS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

yeah its poxy but i'm not fuming tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Welcome to Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭Attabear

Welcome to Ireland.

Thanks, now point me in the direction of these ludicrously generous social welfare entitlements I keep hearing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Attabear wrote: »
    Thanks, now point me in the direction of these ludicrously generous social welfare entitlements I keep hearing about.

Only if you're Polish or making your communion I'm afraid.

Perhaps you could try qualifying as a teacher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

typical one rule for us and one rule for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭talla10

He wasen't cleared of drink driving he was never arrested for it. Under S4 of the Road Traffic Act 2010 a sample of blood,urine or breath must be taken from a suspect within 3 hours of driving. By the time the guards spoke to him it was later than 3 hours.

The arrest also wasen't botched they followed the legislation. The laws are there for a reason so maybe read the full story before starting a thread about it?

*Not AGS

talla10 wrote: »
    He wasen't cleared of drink driving he was never arrested for it. Under S4 of the Road Traffic Act 2010 a sample of blood,urine or breath must be taken from a suspect within 3 hours of driving. By the time the guards spoke to him it was later than 3 hours.

The arrest also wasen't botched they followed the legislation. The laws are there for a reason so maybe read the full story before starting a thread about it?

*Not AGS

if thats true lets put this thread to bed then zzz...zz.....z....z.zz.... :rolleyes:

Seachmall wrote: »
    Only if you're Polish or making your communion I'm afraid.

Perhaps you could try qualifying as a teacher.

I am a polish teacher making my communion.....in Donegal!

I will have the monies now please!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭talla10

davet82 wrote: »
    if thats true lets put this thread to bed then zzz...zz.....z....z.zz.... :rolleyes:

Well it is true but Garda bashing is too fun for some to let a thing like the truth get in the way....:rolleyes:

*Not AGS

Careful, he's a cop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Attabear wrote: »
    I am a polish teacher making my communion.....in Donegal!

I will have the monies now please!

Not before I report you to the Independent you won't!!

acutally keep this thread goin its gettin fun :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

davet82 wrote: »
    yeah its poxy but i'm not fuming tbh

And not suprised:)

"Garda gets off with crime"

No news to report here
    Carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,526 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Check out his twitter, seems to be gloating about it, scum.

https://mobile.twitter.com/#!/emlynmulligan/status/165398376513413120

Well I'm a Polish Garda Teacher and the communion is coming up? Any monies?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

micropig wrote: »
    Well I'm a Polish Garda Teacher and the communion is coming up? Any monies?:p

when are you back in the country to sign on next? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

No news to report here
    Carry on

Reading some of your posts lately Micropig........they be hatin' a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Cut the guy some slack will yiz? I bet he's getting an awful rippin' from all the other public servants down at the GAA club.

when are you back in the country to sign on next? ;)

I only fly over and back twice a week:(
    cursai wrote: »
    Reading some of your posts lately Micropig........they be hatin' a lot.

Hatin' the fact I'm not a guard

Any hush money going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

talla10 wrote:

*Not AGS

So not only did the Garda (who is meant to uphold the law), break the law, but the Garda who was meant to enforce the law at the time of the crime failed to do so correctly. The very same as the IT story, also regards drink driving.

Thanks for clearing that one up for me. :rolleyes:

I only fly over and back twice a week:(

Hatin' the fact I'm not a guard

Any hush money going?

Blue murder is what they get away with. And nobody else gets away with anything......ever. Scandalous.

Spot the guard!! :p

Spot the secondary school student!!:p

Yes In school at the moment, my lazy teacher is sitting and the top of the class thinking I'm sitting here with my book & copy for the last 40 minutes:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

*Not AGS

I can't see in the story where it says that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

No news to report here
    Carry on

same old, same old.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I already posted up a thread on this yesterday evening. It's disgusting to see the other gardai circle the wagons to defend this bad egg.

Yes In school at the moment, my lazy teacher is sitting and the top of the class thinking I'm sitting here with my book & copy for the last 40 minutes:p

Your going places...:)i can tell.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I already posted up a thread on this yesterday evening. It's disgusting to see the other gardai circle the wagons to defend this bad egg.

Whos defending him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

typical one rule for us and one rule for them.

That rule is not limited to AGS.
    Both members should be ashamed of their actions but everyone makes mistakes.

Once again the level of debate has been reduced to attacking the poster and not the post

JupiterKid wrote: »

I have not seen this thread yet.
    Nothing wrong with defending a colleague, would you defend a friend?
    I'm sure in private he has had a rough time from his mates.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

hondasam wrote: »

I would defend a friend who needed defending...a friend who had committed a crime is a stickier wicket though, you are drawing a line of whether you consider the person innocent of guilty and it's a big call with a lot of repercussions.

That rule is not limited to AGS.
    Both members should be ashamed of their actions but everyone makes mistakes.

Drink driving is not a mistake, it's a death sentence for some, he's paid handsomely to know better.

I would defend a friend who needed defending...a friend who had committed a crime is a stickier wicket though, you are drawing a line of whether you consider the person innocent of guilty and it's a big call with a lot of repercussions.

Hundreds of people get off with Drink Driving every year. Its harder to prosecute than Murder.
    Any time a Garda gets off with the same thing......ITS CORRUPTION.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Ah God love him I'd say his mates tore him apart alright.

A 5 year driving ban and a 5000 euro fine would sober him up fairly lively.

I'm talking about defending him on here not in court, I would not lie in court for anyone.
    He was wrong, that is obvious but his colleagues will defend him.

cruiser178 wrote: »
    Drink driving is not a mistake, it's a death sentence for some, he's paid handsomely to know better.

What age was he? you any idea how long he is a guard, what he is paid?
    lastlaugh wrote: »
    Ah God love him I'd say his mates tore him apart alright.

A 5 year driving ban and a 5000 euro fine would sober him up fairly lively.

You never did anything wrong? I'm sure he has learned from his mistake.

ffs stupid posts are stupid.

So you don't know if he is paid handsomely or not? Yes your post was stupid.

Jeez. The standard of logic of some posters on this thread is weak. Going back to my Sky plus recording of the best of The Republic of Telly.

You never did anything wrong? I'm sure he has learned from his mistake.

Just one question important question though

Was he wearing his pyjamas or a new communion dress at the time?
    :D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    He didn't have road tax either! FFS!

No such thing
    Its called MOTOR tax.

Its got nothing to do with the roads, all taxes are paid into one pool.

Just one question important question though

Was he wearing his pyjamas or a new communion dress at the time?
    :D:D:D:D:D

I am not sure but inside info tells me he was wearing a Captain America outfit:p

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

Hundreds of people get off with Drink Driving every year. Its harder to prosecute than Murder.
    Any time a Garda gets off with the same thing......ITS CORRUPTION.

Good, you are agreeing that he got away with drink driving.... thats what the op was saying...nothing to see here, move along.

[QUOTE=hondasam;76887489]I am not sure but inside info tells me he was wearing a Captain America outfit:p[/QUOTE]

We'll have to open a case to confirm this -
    It's important we're sure on this before we continue

How many guards can be put on this investigation straight away?

It'll take 17 minimum

AEDIC wrote: »
    Good, you are agreeing that he got away with drink driving.... thats what the op was saying...nothing to see here, move along.

Nobody was arguing that.:confused:

So you don't know if he is paid handsomely or not? Yes your post was stupid.
    Its common knowledge what a garda's wages are, whether he's starting off or a gard for the last 20 years, but thats not the point. The point is he is paid to uphold the law, he is also paid to understand fully the consequences of drink driving and how peoples lives can be torn apart by people who drink and drive. Does that have to be explained to you like your a 5 year old?