Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog Dirt Problem

• 07-02-2012 12:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 46

Anyone else fed up with the amount of dog dirt around. Can't go for a walk without telling the children "watch out for the poo" every couple of minutes. Anyone know if there is anything that can be done. Problem is really bad in Littlepace. Please dog owners clean up after your dogs

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭hunglikeaflee

With you on this.

I live in Little Pace and any evening you go for a walk at the football pitches you see people walking dogs off leads and not picking up poo.

One evening a couple told how disgusting all the dog poo was while their dog was let to run free. I pointed this out to them and they told me their dog only dose it at home. What a load of crap. (Sorry for the pun)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

I pick up up after my dog ALL the time.

But judging by the amount of poop on the streets there is a lot of people who don't. Dirty things :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭slavedave

I walk our dog every day in the park adjacent to the N3 (and let him off the lead). I was only contemplating the lack of occasions over the last year where I have fallen victim to a stealth turd in the long grass (and I run all over the place trying to train / restrain our mutt). I have been very fortunate to have avoided any mishaps... until yesterday morning when I slipped /skidded in a liquid landmine on the concrete pathway. Not a happy bunny! We take out bags with us on walks to deal with our doggie's delightful drop-offs so I am doubly dumbfounded by owners who turn a blind eye. Unfortunately, there are no depository bins here unlike in the Hazelbury greenspace, which I think goes some way to encouraging dog owners to take responsibility. Bottom line is that some owners will never clear up after their pets ablutions unfortunately and there is no way that we are going to see any fines imposed on them irrespective of the signage around the estates to indicate otherwise.
    Having got 4 kids myself (who all use bikes, scooters etc) and a wife who child minds (with a buggy) I have to say I HATE the state of the pavements and paths along the main Pace Road. Let's just say I am regularly called into hose and brush duty :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

It is an finable offence, maybe it needs the public to report it more to help get the message home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭rolion

I've stopped going in the greens here due to smell and poo around !
    After a rain,the air is so infected with the poo and pee smell that almost makes me sick !
    I love dogs but i've end up hating evey dog/dog owner after my junior entered in the car with poo on his shoes ! Took me weeks to take off that smell off my nose !! WTF do they feed those poor animals !???

Now next good one is my lovely neighbour got a dog for his kids,i guess ! Every morning,7'50 they put the poor animal outside for a good barking and mad crying !! No need for the fcuking alarm no more ! Then,at 8'50 the dog goes back in the house ! And that's mon to sun ! Killer...
    I want to say to my neighbour:just got a nice pet scary ultrasound device ...every day that will be powered,i feel sorry for the puppy but you be prepared to pay for the consequences !!!
    Enough is enough...

slavedave wrote: »
    I walk our dog every day in the park adjacent to the N3 (and let him off the lead).

Letting a dog off the lead is illegal and I would ask you not do it please. There are numerous people that have a genuine fear of dogs me included and it is thoughtless people like you that keep people like me from enjoying our open spaces.

Have some consideration for others.

(Sorry OP I don’t want to hi-jack this thread I know it started about poo not leads.)

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

My dog wears a nappy when out in public - and when it's full I just feck it over a hedge.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I always use a poo bag to clean up after my dog, as do most people in Helsinki, where I spend about half the time. However, there is a minority of dirty people who don't clean up.
    2011_03_21_4d871eafe571f.jpg

Sadly. those most likely to suffer from that are their own pets -which are much more likely to catch diseases from poo in the environment than are people.

Mind you, some people are pigs anyway, and appealing to their sense of decency is a waste of time. Tough fines and effective enforcement are the answer.

peeing+on+the+street+finland.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Letting a dog off the lead is illegal and I would ask you not do it please.

hahahahahaha:D

No it isn't, I bring my dog out all the time off the lead, that way she gets proper excercise, she's a boxer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Letting a dog off the lead is illegal and I would ask you not do it please.

No it's not, this idea seems to permeate all over boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Seems like dog dirt is a problem all over. Even in the phoenix park its the same on the paths and closed roads. All the roads to the local school its the same. That said I do see some owners cleaning up as they go fair play. But in general I think its a big problem.

Well maybe there should be parks specially for dogs so.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭JCabot

I live in a little town where a serial crapper operates, many an evening I would step out of my office door to put my foot in a load left in center of the pavement. Only months after I moved did I finally indentified the culpriit with his jack russel. It doesn't bother me much anymore and hes well connected in the council offices so not sure what I can do about.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Frere_Jaques

We also walk our dog around both Hazelbury & the park down at Littlepace and always pick up after him. What confuses me is the sight of bagfuls of the stuff discarded beside the park entrances... why pick it up and then dump it rather than dropping it into the bin?!

There are some really good dog owners (and dogs!) around the area but unfortunately it seems to be a prevalent issue across many places and not just our area, some people just don't care.

Nothing wrong with letting the dog off lead, common sense rules obviously.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    No it's not, this idea seems to permeate all over boards.

If it is not, I apologize. The reason I said it was, is that Last Sunday while out in that park a Garda told a couple with a collie to put the dog on a lead as it was illegal to have a dog in a public area off a lead.

It still dose not get away from the fact that it is not fare on people that have a fear of dogs. Why should I have to suffer?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,032 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

rsole1 wrote: »
    My dog wears a nappy when out in public - and when it's full I just feck it over a hedge.

It's best not to admit in public to breaking the law. I'ts almost as dumb as breaking the law in the first place.

Boards.ie does not condone illegal activities including the dumping of litter in hedges. Any further remarks like that will land you in the doggy do.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

If it is not, I apologize. The reason I said it was, is that Last Sunday while out in that park a Garda told a couple with a collie to put the dog on a lead as it was illegal to have a dog in a public area off a lead.

It still dose not get away from the fact that it is not fare on people that have a fear of dogs. Why should I have to suffer?

I think the law is that you must have control of your dog (if you have a dog on a led you most certainly have control of them).

Many people would have control of their dog even when not on the lead.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 nomesc

I know there are some dog owners that clean up. I know some people that take sandwich bags and others that take nappy bags and carry it home. I do think more litter bins or poo disposal bins are needed.

As far as I am aware it is illegal to have a dog off a lead in a public place and that is according to dog owners that I know.But in saying that I have seen dogs let out to roam the street some mornings.

I just think it's terrible we can't let our children run around freely. My husband has even thrown shoes out over it. :mad:

nomesc wrote: »
    My husband has even thrown shoes out over it. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭keanooo

It's not natural for dogs to be restrained on a lead all the time. They need to be let free to socialise.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,032 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

On lead/off lead is not the issue here. Leave it be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

darokane wrote: »
    Well maybe there should be parks specially for dogs so.

Or one for humans afraid of dogs.

There are such areas, one in Marlay Park and more recently one in being rolled out on a pilot basis in the Millennium Park.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Or one for humans afraid of dogs.

There are such areas, one in Marlay Park and more recently one in being rolled out on a pilot basis in the Millennium Park.

Agreed, There should be no go areas for dogs also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

Why can't you let your children run around freely?

zef wrote: »
    Why can't you let your children run around freely?
    Because there is so much dog dirt around. Constantly have to watch where they walk. Only dog dirt free place is the back garden as front gardens are open plan and there are dogs that are let roam. As another person said the football pitch in littlepace is covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭rolion

nomesc wrote: »
    Because there is so much dog dirt around. Constantly have to watch where they walk. Only dog dirt free place is the back garden as front gardens are open plan and there are dogs that are let roam. As another person said the football pitch in littlepace is covered.

Just try to go to that football pitch after a good rain,to test your smelling performance !!!
    Is mad,is absolutely disrespect and careless,all the dog owners to other people ! My kids want a dog,this is a reason to stay away from owning a dog...

rolion wrote: »
    Just try to go to that football pitch after a good rain,to test your smelling performance !!!
    Is mad,is absolutely disrespect and careless,all the dog owners to other people ! My kids want a dog,this is a reason to stay away from owning a dog...

You're going to deny your kids the joy of owning a dog because you're afraid of a little dog poop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭yoda2001

I have noticed a new dog phenomenon. In the park where I live I come across a lot of little plastic bags with the dog do in them. People pick up the stuff but then just dump the bag as they walk along, leaving offending plastic as well.

To those of you out walking with your dogs, casually stopping as the dog has a sniff of the grass: he is poking his nose in the excrement of the dogs that have passed previously. Think of that as he licks your face. Or licks your kids face.

Nightmare. Someone's dog decided to use our garden. Seriously pee'd off now. Other half was on to fingal before that and they said they would increase wardens but all I can see is an increase in the dirt not wardend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

Have a neighbour who comes out any time of the day or night with his large dogs and lets them run & crap all over the estate.
    It bugs me on 3 counts, 1) waking us up/ or can't sleep due to his shouting and roaring after midnight. At night time he is pretty well on & has loud convos with himself/ the dogs / on his phone.
    2) Dog sh*t everywhere.
    3) His large dogs have chased my cat (who is 'disabled' & and sat in the garden for an hour or 2 each day minding his own business , he is neutered & dosen't ramble , before the anti-cat brigade pipe up.He stays in now after the last incident. Are Ala's / German Sheperds's allowed run free like that ? Just wondering, thinking of calling the dog warden for the above reasons, never mind the barking...
    If it was any other neighbour I would approach for a quiet word, but this guy is locked out of his head every night and i'm afraid of him!