Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love Ulster march Part II - Easter Sunday

• 07-02-2012 2:30pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭

I predict a riot;)

Dublin is bracing itself for another loyalist invasion. Hundreds of Love Ulster demonstrators plan to hold a controversial parade on southern soil.

Fierce rioting followed their last attempt to march as more than 1,000 republican protestors took to the streets.

The city centre was brought to a standstill as republican youth fought running battles with gardai who were attacked with rocks, bottles and fireworks.

Businesses were smashed and cars set on fire in an orgy of violence which cost €10million.

The Love Ulster organisers' latest plans will raise republican fury even further. They want to parade past the GPO at Easter, a hallowed date in the nationalist calendar.

Loyalists bands will be invited to take part and some of the marchers will wear Orange sashes. The organisers have already notified gardai of their intentions.

Willie Frazer, head of IRA victims' group FAIR, said the rally was to highlight the Irish state's "collusion" with the IRA during the Troubles.

FAIR has compiled "a damning catalogue of evidence" showing the Southern authorities either actively colluding with the Provos or turning a blind eye to their activities, Frazer claimed.

"We've repeatedly asked for a meeting with Enda Kenny to discuss this matter. The Taoiseach hasn't even graced us with a reply.

"He won't meet us so we're bringing our case to him on the streets of Dublin," the IRA victims' campaigner said.

He accused the Irish government of hypocrisy for supporting an independent public inquiry into solicitor Pat Finucane's murder while "ignoring collusion in its own back yard".

Evidence at the Smithwick tribunal that rogue gardai helped the IRA was "only the tip of the iceberg", Frazer said.

He agreed that holding the march on Easter Saturday would be seen as deliberately provocative but said it was a desperate move because nobody listened to Protestant victims.

"The only way to get an audience in this country is to kill people or do something controversial – and we're not prepared to kill people. Staying quiet and being good boys and girls doesn't work," he added.

Love Ulster's last attempt to parade in February 2006 had to be abandoned as the rioting erupted and loyalist demonstrators were bussed to the Border with a gardai escort for protection.

Frazer said IRA victims couldn't be held responsible if there was serious violence again.

"We're not setting out to cause trouble. If republicans react violently to our democratic right to march, that's their business," he added.

Frazer said FAIR's dossier on alleged Irish state collusion with the IRA showed that the IRA was given 400 weapons from an army barracks in Dublin in 1970.

He said it also included evidence that the Southern state funded the Provos at the start of the troubles and set up training camps for them.

He claimed the Republic had been "a safe haven for terrorists" throughout the conflict and failed to provide proper Border security.

Frazer said in 1975 when the IRA shot dead his father Robert, a UDR man, a British army helicopter followed the killers to the Border but then had to stop because it lacked permission to enter Irish airspace. "How despicable is that," he added.

The Love Ulster march is supported by South Armagh pastor Barrie Halliday. "The Queen went to Dublin in person to deliver an apology for the perceived wrong of hundreds of years of British rule.

"We want an apology from the Irish state for the injustice inflicted on us," he said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Does this mean Irish Republicans should parade down the mall on remembrance sunday ?

That is taking 'troll' to a whole new level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

You have a link to the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

I love Ulster riots!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Moron vs moron. The sequel.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

great - another excuse to laugh at pictures of scumbags in liverpool jersey's telling the english to f'uck off out of ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

"The city centre was brought to a standstill as republican youth fought running battles with gardai who were attacked with rocks, bottles and fireworks."

Does anyone remember the photos of one of those degenerate 'rioters' pissing into a bottle and throwing it?

All sorts of phelgm-bags came out last time.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

These peopleare taking the piss. What are they hoping to achieve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,712 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Hopefully they won't leave workmens' tools and giant slabs of loose concrete lying around this time.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Willie can have his march after he returns all his ill gotten money that he owes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

Morlar wrote: »
    Does this mean Irish Republicans should parade down the mall on remembrance sunday ?

That is taking 'troll' to a whole new level.

You can try, but I doubt you would get past the bayonet of the first guardsman you come across ;)

I agree though, the only reason such an event is going ahead is to once again draw out those Irish nationalists who were involved in the rioting last time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

wonderful, thats just what we need....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

ah sure down in thomond park we'll have our own love ulster parade the same day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

The lie is in the name.

It's not a 'love Ulster' parade.

It's a 'trolling the Island' parade.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

So we can welcome the Queen, but not a bunch of Irishmen from up the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Christ, time for the wannabe 'RA scrotes to show themselves up again. I just hope that this time Sinn Fein have learned from their massive mistakes last time around. These lads want them out on the street smashing up shops and nicking runners and tracksuits.

If Sinn Fein have any real aspirations for a United Ireland, they should swallow the pill and come out and if not support this, at least not condemn it. Not only would it totally disarm and negate any misguided point that this FAIR mob are trying to make, but it would give them the chance to say to Unionists that their traditions and beliefs would be respected in any potential United Ireland.

But no, we'll have the bould Gery and the hatchet faced Mary Lou out barking like possessed terriers and encouraging all the inner-city scrotes to smash up their own city again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

The city centre was brought to a standstill as republican youths fυcking scumbags fought running battles with gardai who were attacked with rocks, bottles and fireworks.
    FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Leo Dowling

Finally a chance to use my golf clubs which have gathered so much dust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

FG to introduce 'Riot Tax' All rioters will have to register and pay €50. Unless you're from the country in which case, it'll be €5.

Finally a chance to use my golf clubs which have gathered so much dust.

Do the world a favour, and smash yourself over the head with them. Might knock some sense into you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

As some said above, this is just trolling on a rather epic level.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭Conbhar

In all fairness what sort of twisted joy would these guys get from marching past the GPO on easter sunday. The mind boggles really :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Hopefully the bus is involved in a horrible accident before it even crosses the border. If you think these muppets want anything more than to stoke the fires of hatred you're fooling yourselves. They'll be hoping for the usual suspects to turn up to escalate things on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Surely this won't happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Frazer said in 1975 when the IRA shot dead his father Robert, a UDR man, a British army helicopter followed the killers to the Border but then had to stop because it lacked permission to enter Irish airspace. "How despicable is that," he added.

Fancy that - the Irish Government wouldn't allow armed forces from another country engage in active service in Ireland. Shame on it. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Willie Frazer is a bigot. You'd want to hear the tripe he comes out with. Even after the report on Bloody Sunday came out, he defended the soldiers. He doesn't love Ulster, and this parade has no other intentions other than to cause conflict. It's not a community building effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

How many bands will be taking part? Might see if I can go to this if it happens. I think it could be a great day out. Hopefully it is peaceful this time.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    How many bands will be taking part? Might see if I can go to this if it happens. I think it could be a great day out. Hopefully it is peaceful this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Try this on Easter Sunday and you won't make it out alive.

Is my prediction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Charlie Bird must be shítting himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

TV3 are already adjusting their Monday night schedule for 2019.

Try this on Easter Sunday and you won't make it out alive.
    Why? The Queen visited and it passed off peacefully.

The queens visit wasnt organised by a group consisting of bigots and rapists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

The Queen didn't set out to deliberately pi$$ people off.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I predict a riot;)

Dublin is bracing itself for another loyalist invasion...

http://www.nuzhound.com/articles/breen/arts2012/feb5_Love-Ulster_plan_another_Dublin_protest_Easter___SBreen_Sunday-World.php

Sunday World.
    Meh!

Do you think Irish Republicans should expect to March to Londons Cenotaph on Remembrance Sunday unmolested ?

Like for Like.

That is leaving aside for a moment the fact that the Orange Order are anti-Catholic, sectarian bigots.

Possibly even covered under 'incitement to Hatred' legislation in the Republic.

Do you think Irish Republicans should expect to March to Londons Cenotaph on Remembrance Sunday unmolested ?

Like for Like.

That is leaving aside for a moment the fact that the Orange Order are anti-Catholic, sectarian bigots.

Possibly even covered under 'incitement to Hatred' legislation in the Republic.
    The Orange Order march in the Republic on the 12th every year. We have the Fleadh Cheoil coming to Londonderry in 2013, which will be fun for music lovers. Times are changing. A parade in Dublin is going to happen sooner or later. I think most people accept this.

Answer the question keith.

A parade in Dublin is going to happen sooner or later. I think most people accept this.

But why? Why does there have to be a parade in Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

As has been said, Frazer is a dispicable man, a failed political entity who couldnt even get elected despite numerous attempts. A known associate of Billy Wright, he even had the gall to apply for a weapon for "personal protection". Thankfully it was refused. This is a man who refused for rubble from a police station to be used to level out a GAA field. A really horrible person.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

kfallon wrote: »

To remind us all the orange as a colour tends to look pretty terrible when worn with the average complexion of someone from the North.

It doesn't matter what I think Irish Republicans should be allowed to do in the grand scheme of things. I do think Irish Republicans should be allowed to march in a free and democratic society. If they wanted to march down the Shankill, they should be allowed to do so.

It doesn't matter what I think Irish Republicans should be allowed to do. I think Irish Republicans should be allowed to march in a free and democratic society. If they wanted to march down the Shankill, they should be allowed to do so.

What you think does matter when you express your opinion.

It's a simple question :

It doesn't matter what I think Irish Republicans should be allowed to do in the grand scheme of things. I do think Irish Republicans should be allowed to march in a free and democratic society. If they wanted to march down the Shankill, they should be allowed to do so.

And march to the cenotaph on rememberance sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,280 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Any chance the Irish Defence Forces could be used to surround these idiots along with the scumbags that'll be out to protest against them and leave them kill each other?

A few dead bigots, a few dead scumbags equals a win for society imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

Cause its Easter Sunday

I have no problem with Unionists marching through Dublin

but doing so on Easter Sunday is just idiotic provocation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

kfallon wrote: »

and why does it have to be on easter sunday? couls it not be on a cold wet tuesday night at the end of the month

i would love to hear what frazer has to say about the catholic victims in the north

What you think does matter when you express your opinion.

It's a simple question :

It's like having Vincent Brown on Boards....but without the shabby hair and crazy eyes :P

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Sleepy wrote: »
    Any chance the Irish Defence Forces could be used to surround these idiots along with the scumbags that'll be out to protest against them and leave them kill each other?

A few dead bigots, a few dead scumbags equals a win for society imho.

Plus we can set up a complex system of cameras and microphones and boom, Ireland finally has a decent original reality TV show.