Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Love Ulster march Part II - Easter Sunday

12346»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Explosions in the Sky

KeithAFC wrote: »
    We have heard all that before. The bottom line is if this march goes ahead, it is up to Republicans to behave and not destroy Dublin. I think Sinn Fein would like for this to go ahead as a gesture back to the DUP attending GAA games recently.
    Keith I respect the fact you stand behind something and have faith in it but you are making yourself look stupid with your replies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

smash wrote: »
    Yes it is up to the Republicans, but lets face it, the scumbags will be out in force so it will kick off. And to be honest, I think it's what the Orange Order are looking for.

That's a bit different do you not think?
    Is the Orange Order going to be involved in this parade if it goes ahead?

And I don't think it is too different at all. Many people from the PUL community see the GAA in a bad light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

That's a bit different do you not think?
    He clearly doesn't.

I don't even know why he's on Boards.ie. 90% of his posts are about Ulster.

"Free democratic... free society... entitled..... nothing republicans can do about it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Is the Orange Order going to be involved in this parade if it goes ahead?
    I'm guessing they probably will. They love an aul controversial parade to piss people off!
    And I don't think it is too different at all. Many people from the PUL community see the GAA in a bad light.
    I think it's very different to be honest.

I'm guessing they probably will. They love an aul controversial parade to piss people off!

I think it's very different to be honest.
    We will agree to disagree. :)

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ________
    . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . ,.-‘”. . . . . . . . . .``~.,
    . . . . . . . .. . . . . .,.-”. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .“-.,
    . . . . .. . . . . . ..,/. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ”:,
    . . . . . . . .. .,?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\,
    . . . . . . . . . /. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,}
    . . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`^`.}
    . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:”. . . ./
    . . . . . . .?. . . __. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . :`. . . ./
    . . . . . . . /__.(. . .“~-,_. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`. . . .. ./
    . . . . . . /(_. . ”~,_. . . ..“~,_. . . . . . . . . .,:`. . . . _/
    . . . .. .{.._$;_. . .”=,_. . . .“-,_. . . ,.-~-,}, .~”; /. .. .}
    . . .. . .((. . .*~_. . . .”=-._. . .“;,,./`. . /” . . . ./. .. ../
    . . . .. . .\`~,. . ..“~.,. . . . . . . . . ..`. . .}. . . . . . ../
    . . . . . .(. ..`=-,,. . . .`. . . . . . . . . . . ..(. . . ;_,,-”
    . . . . . ../.`~,. . ..`-.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..\. . /\
    . . . . . . \`~.*-,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..|,./.....\,__
    ,,_. . . . . }.>-._\. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .|. . . . . . ..`=~-,
    . .. `=~-,_\_. . . `\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . .`=~-,,.\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . `:,, . . . . . . . . . . . . . `\. . . . . . ..__
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .`=-,. . . . . . . . . .,%`>--==``
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . _\. . . . . ._,-%. . . ..`\

Daniel S wrote: »
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ________
    . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . ,.-‘”. . . . . . . . . .``~.,
    . . . . . . . .. . . . . .,.-”. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .“-.,
    . . . . .. . . . . . ..,/. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ”:,
    . . . . . . . .. .,?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\,
    . . . . . . . . . /. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,}
    . . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`^`.}
    . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:”. . . ./
    . . . . . . .?. . . __. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . :`. . . ./
    . . . . . . . /__.(. . .“~-,_. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`. . . .. ./
    . . . . . . /(_. . ”~,_. . . ..“~,_. . . . . . . . . .,:`. . . . _/
    . . . .. .{.._$;_. . .”=,_. . . .“-,_. . . ,.-~-,}, .~”; /. .. .}
    . . .. . .((. . .*~_. . . .”=-._. . .“;,,./`. . /” . . . ./. .. ../
    . . . .. . .\`~,. . ..“~.,. . . . . . . . . ..`. . .}. . . . . . ../
    . . . . . .(. ..`=-,,. . . .`. . . . . . . . . . . ..(. . . ;_,,-”
    . . . . . ../.`~,. . ..`-.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..\. . /\
    . . . . . . \`~.*-,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..|,./.....\,__
    ,,_. . . . . }.>-._\. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .|. . . . . . ..`=~-,
    . .. `=~-,_\_. . . `\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . .`=~-,,.\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . `:,, . . . . . . . . . . . . . `\. . . . . . ..__
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .`=-,. . . . . . . . . .,%`>--==``
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . _\. . . . . ._,-%. . . ..`\
    Two different view points. Nothing wrong with that. I don't see why you are spamming the thread.

Fair enough, I have been spamming the thread. :rolleyes:

But it's very simple. They're coming down purely to cause trouble. That's the end of it. They know it will cause trouble but they still want to come.

As far as most people are concerned, they are coming from another country to march in this one for no obvious reason other than getting scumbags out (who call themselves republicans, but I won't even go there) to cause trouble, making themselves look better.

What will be gained by the "Love Ulster" party coming down do Dublin?

EDIT: Secondly, to get the Gardaí on the street it's going to either cost the government financially or else people elsewhere will suffer from a lack of Gardaí on the ground. How can bigotted people come to a bankrupt country, expect protection, cause trouble and then still claim to have the moral high ground.

Daniel S wrote: »
    Fair enough, I have been spamming the thread. :rolleyes:

But it's very simple. They're coming down purely to cause trouble. That's the end of it. They know it will cause trouble but they still want to come.

As far as most people are concerned, they are coming from another country to march in this one for no obvious reason other than getting scumbags out (who call themselves republicans, but I won't even go there) to cause trouble, making themselves look better.

What will be gained by the "Love Ulster" party coming down do Dublin?
    I don't know as I ain't involved in organising it. I do think something could come out of it if it is allowed to pass off peacefully and the political institutions will see it as another historic moment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

The Orange Order march in the Republic on the 12th every year. We have the Fleadh Cheoil coming to Londonderry in 2013, which will be fun for music lovers. Times are changing. A parade in Dublin is going to happen sooner or later. I think most people accept this.

The places in the Republic are hardly no man's land for the Protestant. Walking into Dublin, next to the GPO, on Easter (why that period) is seeking for trouble.

Fleadh Cheoil is not a political or religious group. Orange Order is. It is not the first time another version of the Fleadh Cheoil was held in Derry. Derry City is hardly the bastion of Protestant power either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

I don't know as I ain't involved in organising it. I do think something could come out of it if it is allowed to pass off peacefully and the political institutions will see it as another historic moment.

What will actually be gained from it? No vague stuff. I would understand them wanting to walk into Dawson Street where it all started for the group, but not the GPO during Easter.

Frazzer has history with this before, especially the Dumcree Riots. He was previously known to associate with loyalist paramilitaries.He is known as a bit of a fantasist, and even claimed that the Gardaí knew about the possibilities of a riot in 2006. He also does not seem to pay any attention to what is actually going on at the Smithwick Tribunal. It appears, Myers has been exposed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

why would they march here i dont sing come out you black and tans outside Buckingham palace

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

why would they march here i dont sing come out you black and tans outside Buckingham palace

Or somewhere in Belfast perhaps :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Because they dislike Irish people and would like to upset and annoy them as much as possible, hence the choice of date. We know this and they know that we know this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Because they dislike Irish people and would like to upset and annoy them as much as possible, hence the choice of date. We know this and they know that we know this.

Hmm. Maybe we should confound their expectations and give them a big hug and shower them with garlands?

Pace2008 wrote: »
    We love Edward Carson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

I am in favour of it, just reroute at the top of O'Connell St, down Parnell St, through summer hill and down Portland row

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I'm all for this, I think it's a great idea. But normal policing only. The ensuing and inevitable reaction will, at the very least, show the south's partitionists that it isn't only the 'nordies' that have a problem with being taunted on their own streets.
    I'm all for banishing complacency, so march away folks, be my guest. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I am in favour of it, just reroute at the top of O'Connell St, down Parnell St, through summer hill and down Portland row

Good idea and have no Guards at all.

woodoo wrote: »
    Good idea and have no Guards at all.

at all, at all, at all! :D

Yea... no gaurds, save us money like. :)

RELEASE THE SCUMBAGS!!!
    KILL MY PRETTIES!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭G.muny

The best way to put an end to this would be if everyone from the Republic just avoided the city completly that day and have them arrive to desserted streets. Obviously they are doing it for a reaction.

But......that wont happen and to be honest as bad as it may seem I do hope at least a few of them get a well aimed rock between the eyes. Its ****ing ridiculous that this is allowed. As for Enda Kenny not meeting them he should tell them not to come. If they don't want a United Ireland....why come here? Why expect us to accomdate them? So I think yeah if they want a reaction. Give them just that. When they Queen came that was an attempt at building bridges. What they are doing is looking for trouble.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭My_left_leg

Will Charlie Bird be there?

........ like a bull calf roaring across Lough Allen Bog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭HoggyRS

Christ, time for the wannabe 'RA scrotes to show themselves up again. I just hope that this time Sinn Fein have learned from their massive mistakes last time around. These lads want them out on the street smashing up shops and nicking runners and tracksuits.

If Sinn Fein have any real aspirations for a United Ireland, they should swallow the pill and come out and if not support this, at least not condemn it. Not only would it totally disarm and negate any misguided point that this FAIR mob are trying to make, but it would give them the chance to say to Unionists that their traditions and beliefs would be respected in any potential United Ireland.

But no, we'll have the bould Gery and the hatchet faced Mary Lou out barking like possessed terriers and encouraging all the inner-city scrotes to smash up their own city again.

Sinn Féin shouldn't condemn the FAIR bigots led by the head looney Willie Frazer? Every logical person regardless of ideology should oppose this march.

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭bradyle

I figure Easter Saturday at the time the parade is upposed to be happenning get a priest to say mass on O'Connell street...

Pretty sure Orange Order members aren't allowed attend RCC services so it'll get rid of the worst of them

In fairness in an ideal world yea it'd be great if a love ulster parade could happen in dublin without any violent repraisels, but in said ideal world the Love Ulster organisers wouldn't pick a day and place to have it to purposefully piss off those scumbags that like to call themselves republican so they think they've a right to act like they do. And the parade would be about trying to bring the two parts of our country together not trying to highlight the fact we never will by provoking violence.

Also why isn't it love Northern Ireland...like 3 counties of Ulster are in the republic acknowledge it..sorry just slightly annoys me