Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(easy) Gluten Free Birthday Cake

Options
  • 07-02-2012 4:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭

It's my mom and dad's joint 60th birthday next weekend and somehow I've agreed to make a cake. My mom's ceoliac so it has to be gluten free.
    Now for the difficult part, I'm an awful baker! It really has to be an idiot proof recipe.

Any suggestions welcome please!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/clementine-cake-2559
    I make this all the time, It's sooo easy, and has no flour in it.
    the only thing I would suggest is: the recipe calls for using the entire fruit, (skin, pith and all) I did this the first time, and it came out too sour.
    I changed it to zesting the clementines. then boiling these PEELED clementines (skins discarded) for only about 15 mins, then blitz them, an throw in the zest.

It's not really a birthday cake, more of a tasty tea cake, but im sure you could ice it. (there's no fat in it either, so it's a great recipe altogether)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

emzolita wrote: »
    http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/clementine-cake-2559
    I make this all the time, It's sooo easy, and has no flour in it.
    the only thing I would suggest is: the recipe calls for using the entire fruit, (skin, pith and all) I did this the first time, and it came out too sour.
    I changed it to zesting the clementines. then boiling these PEELED clementines (skins discarded) for only about 15 mins, then blitz them, an throw in the zest.