Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Valentine's day

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,421 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Sindri wrote: »
    I enjoy blowjobs.
    kfallon wrote: »
    Yeah somebody* won't be getting a BJ next Tuesday :P

*besides me :(

Sindri, meet kfallon.
    kfallon, meet Sindri.

That's my matchmaking done for today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 90 ✭✭windingo

It is over rated, I don't see the need it is just all about how much money people spend and if you really love somebody they will know. You don't have to spend all that money just show you care everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

i try and do something/go somewhere different for valentines each year im single, this will be my first year of being single since 07 on valentines tbh, ha never believe someone when they tell you youll never be single on valentines again :pac:,
    last year i was just newly single but had a bit of an FWB thing going on with the said ex bf ;), always good as twas a guaranteed bit of fun that night!

to take the sting off this year il be heading for a bit of a girlie day with my mate, then a speed dating night with free drinks and a Body Shop goodie bag at the end, should be fun, if i dont get home till the next day then that will be even better too ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Go ask me hole :pac:

If two people are happy to do things there own way fair play to them.

I have a lovely name taught up for you here but unfortunately the mods wont like it :)

Me no understand?

Why so mmmmmmmmeeeeaaaaaaaannnnnnn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

windingo wrote: »
    It is over rated, I don't see the need it is just all about how much money people spend and if you really love somebody they will know. You don't have to spend all that money just show you care everyday.

It doesn't have to be about money at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

To the person who called resentful, I'm not resentful at all. I just happen to think people who need VD to feel loved must have serious emotional problems.

Resentful? No. I'm just secure in my relationship in that I don't that kinda validation with Tack

To the person who called resentful, I'm not resentful at all. I just happen to think people who need VD to feel loved must have serious emotional problems.

Resentful? No. I'm just secure in my relationship in that I don't that kinda validation with Tack
    It's a pathetic holiday celebrated by insecure clingy losers
    seems pretty resentful to me. If it's not your bag, fine. No need to insult people who do celebrate it, though.

Personally, I don't know anyone who need Valentines Day to feel loved. It's one day set aside in the year to send a card (if you wish) or buy a bunch of flowers (if you wish) or have a romantic night out (if you wish) or have a romantic night in (if you wish). Nobody's forced to do it, but the sentiment behind it is kinda nice, I think. Certainly not deserving of such vitriol!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

If your OH Didnt get you a card and present would you break up with him/be a drama queen about it?

No -- Good.
    Yes -- May need to reassess mental health.

If your OH Didnt get you a card and present would you break up with him/be a drama queen about it?

No -- Good.
    Yes -- May need to reassess mental health.

Yeah, that's a pretty stupid thing to break up over alright.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    i have a gun
    get in the van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    i have a gun
    get in the van

Made me so wet

Call a plumber we got a leak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Ah, the oul, "I don't care about Valentines Day" line.

I wouldn't fall for that one if I were you!

Nah she honestly doesn't want a thing done for it. I have asked her loads of times to make sure that she's not gonna start making sly comments and that if i don't do a thing for the day. It's the anniversary of her mothers death on Feb 14th so that probably takes precedence over a day marketed by card and gift companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

its the worst day of the year.... when you're single :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Last year I went into town to sort out my taxes. After a torturous hour or so, I decided to go for lunch because I wasn't arsed making food. Saw a really cheap restaurant, went in, had a great meal, nice coffee etc.

But all the while there were loads of couples sitting around and I'm thinking, "WTF, is International Couples' Day or something?"

Afterwards I remember it was St V's day. Scarlet or wha.

I'm going to go into a restaurant by myself every year now. Celebrate my affair with food.

Mmm.

Food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I don't mind it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I have always liked it - I like getting / sending cards with silly $hit written in them. I'm not into the present buying / receiving though, I dunno why, the pressure of that takes the fun out of it. I always make sure whoever I'm seeing knows that. If he's very flush I love getting flowers because well, I love getting flowers but I'd never expect them because they're beyond over-priced thatday.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Viral Vector

I just happen to think people who need VD to feel loved must have serious emotional problems.

Yeah Venereal Disease isn't a good way to express yourself emotionally in a relationship!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Im sure if I did have someone I'd dislike it more because it would mean I would feel that Id have to go out of my way to buy some stupid thing or show extra affection for some lame consumerism plagued day.

I dont really hate the day, it usually just passes by without me noticing anything, every year. Kinda like Easter, My Birthday, Halloween, and those other holidays that arent Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

fryup wrote: »

ah no, its the worst day of the year when your heartbroken :( as is most days tbh, but just being single on val day isnt so bad at all imho, theres always something non couply going on and you can always just get really hammered or really laid ;) , whichever takes your fancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,348 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Just another day. I kind of forget. The date goes over my head as I never celebrate it.

So basically it is way over hyped. Better to celebrate something more meaningful like birthdays and christmas or do something special like that some other day or occasion. Valentines day is overrated and over board, far too commercialised to be honest and a money making racket for nothing when you can celebrate it for free! Too much pressure on gifts, flowers, cards and going out for it and celebrating it. There's more to life than that. Being sentimental is more important than some trashy or soppy gift.

Its the thought that counts, who you are with and what you say and do is more important than trying to celebrate a commercialised day like any other!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

fryup wrote: »

Not if you're a dude. Being a single man in the week or so period approaching Valentines Day is like being a kid in a candy shop... a sexy candy shop. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Are there any city centre flower shops that will deliver a bouquet?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Jaysus, I hate Valentines day...

Fecking pointless! I fail to see why I need to make on day of the year special, if you only make an effort one day of the year for your relationship whats the point in being in one?

There will be no cards, flowers, over priced dinners or heart shaped rubbish coming into this household! Hate all the bullsh1t nonsense!

Marry me.... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    Are there any city centre flower shops that will deliver a bouquet?

I'm sure there are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

Way over hyped. I would ignore it completely except that my husband likes all that soppy shit so I am forced to celebrate it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

What does HardLuckWoman ever get? :(:(:(

nothing but hard luck?

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭treborflynn

i love drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

It's lovely at the start of a relationship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I dont mind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

I don't mind if anybody really means it and needs only a reminder (that would be already shameful enough), but it got overcommercialised now, and that is awful.

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭Evie90

I don't like it but I think it's because I'm single and working in a flower shop so I get to go deliver flowers to loved up girls and write sickeningly soppy love notes on the cards all day... no I'm not bitter at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

I'm sure there are.

Enormous help.

Anybody else know the address of a city centre flower shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Halo Kitty

My Valentine Card arrived yesterday...Himself is in Shanghai at moment so he sent it early just incase it arrived late...like i think the one i sent him will....Oh have not opened it...but it does put a smile on my face seeing it up on the fridge.... better than the brown envelopes that i usually have to open....

Bah, this is just another Hallmark holiday cooked up to sell cards...

Can I have the envelope?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 billybilly

Anyone who says Valentine's day is a meaningless, commercialized holiday would best be prepared to say the same thing about Christmas, in order to save themselves from looking like a gigantic hypocrite. Contrary to popular belief, Jesus was born in the summer-time. December 25 was originally a pagan holiday where people would copulate like crazy and kill each other as it was the darkest day of the year. The Catholic church changed Jesus's official birth date to December 25 as a way of eclipsing this barbaric pagan holiday.

Perhaps you'll say Christmas brings families closer together, but Valentine's day brings romantic partners closer together and we certainly have a problem with how close the opposing genders are in this country, as we do with how close families are as well. So both are a good thing in my view.

Hello everyone, my name's Billy. I look forward to conversing with you all about various issues in the not too distant future.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Big Steve wrote: »
    Marry me.... :pac:

:):):)

Oh you old romantic you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

One of our children was born on Valentines day .....

We him called Pancake , after my favourite day of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 billybilly

RachaelVO wrote: »
    :):):)

Oh you old romantic you

Notice how you put it: "old" romantic. This was very accurate of you. Romance can only survive in the presence of good, old-fashioned gender roles; a sweet but naive feminine woman comes together with a strong-willed but somewhat cold masculine male, it was the perfect combination for romance. Nowadays, we have a culture of casual sex. Why? because the only thing left for the sexes to desire in each other is their physical bodies, which have been deprived of their proper identities as clearly distinguished MAN and WOMAN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

roses are red
    violets are blue
    fack off valentines day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I'm just glad I'm not the only woman who doesn't like Valentines day.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

kfallon wrote: »
    Even when I was in any kind of relationship I hated all the VD crap and rarely did anythng for it.

You should go to an STD clinic ASAP !

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Costingtons Manager: Okay, people, we need to cook up a new holiday for the summer. Something with gifts, cards, assorted gougeables.
    Costingtons Woman: How about something religious? We had great penetration last spring with Christmas Two.
    Costingtons Man: Oh, I know. Spendover, like Passover, less talk, more presents.
    [Everyone starts talking at once]
    Costingtons Manager: No, no, no! No, it's gotta be warm and fuzzy. Some like, um, "Love Day", but not so lame.

[cut to the Simpsons home several days later]
    Marge Simpson: Happy Love Day, everyone!
    Lisa Simpson: Come on, Mom, The stores just invented this holiday to make money.
    Homer Simpson: Lisa, don't you ruin another Love Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Shouldn't there also be an established day for singletons? Why just highlight those already together. Or, from my perspective at least, give us something to really celebrate

LH Pathe wrote: »
    Shouldn't there also be an established day for singletons? Why just highlight those already together. Or, from my perspective at least, give us something to really celebrate

what do you suggest be the norm for this Singles Day? fruit? condoms? swingers parties?

a lesson in how to keep your 'ands off would suffice. A token day for the strongwilled, maybe some sort of pride march. An affirmation of completeness in single state and only weak collusion on pairs

a lesson in how to keep your 'ands off would suffice. A token day for the strongwilled, maybe some sort of pride march

ah yes I see the angle now. but a pride march would presumably be mixed gender, and so some getting together might occur here, ya know, in the not so strong willed

Then they would have to hang their heads in shame and thus leave the pride march.

it would probably need policing then. or would the other strong willed singletons be strong enough to stand up to them and boot them out?

Then the weak minority would be ejected by the strong majority.

Even if the weak were majority they would still be ejected by a strong minority