Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

'Psychotic boyfriend kicked, punched and threw my baby around like he was a toy'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

For the record I AM A WOMAN!!!!

A woman who'd beat someone up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

A woman who'd beat someone up?

Yup! All 5ft 2.5 inches of me...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

As liberal as I am I sincerely hope some one makes this asshole his bitch and humiliates him every night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Where did I say that?

You didnt i asked

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Connors?
    Traveller??

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

He abused the child for three weeks, and she couldn't do anything about it? FFS.

gcgirl wrote: »
    As liberal as I am I sincerely hope some one makes this asshole his bitch and humiliates him every night

Ass rape I presume? Is that what liberals are into these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Angrybollix I would say you would argue with your shadow.

drdeadlift wrote: »
    You didnt i asked

He got a prison term. Perhaps inadequate but thats the shortfall of the criminal justice system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

It didnt and you have to ask yourself why?

True but in any case where children are involved they should throw the book at them

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

Jesus stop trolling.

I'd like to see the ****er hanged, or the electric chair.

DrumSteve wrote: »
    True but in any case where children are involved they should throw the book at them

But doesn't that extend to crimes other than the likes of this one.

As an example rape and serious sexual assault should carry life imprisonment.

When did you ever see anyone get life for a crime like that?

Cian92 wrote: »
    Jesus stop trolling.

I'd like to see the ****er hanged, or the electric chair.

Just expressing an opinion. Is that OK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

A few yrs back I had to help look after some one who was so severely beating as a baby he was brain damaged, blind, could not communicate his feelings, he was completely wheelchair bound and had to have 24 hour care,he was the same age as me too and I don't know how anybody could do that to a baby, I looked after him well before I had my own babies and it was a real eye opener to think there are people out there with no conscience

Edit angrybollox when you have seen the end result of what happens when a baby is severally beating it does affect you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Judge should be fired from their job for that sentence, it's shockingly poor. 20 years minimum for that.
    The child was taken to A&E with injuries including two broken forearms, a dislocated right elbow, a significant brain bleed, a bite mark to his right cheek, a burn mark from an iron to his calf and multiple bruising across his body, a court heard yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

We'll see how long this coward lasts in prison.

* Two broken forearms;
    * Dislocated right elbow;
    * Significant brain bleed;
    * Bite to the right cheek;
    * A burn mark from an iron to the leg;
    * Multiple bruising.

To a baby for Christ's sake. I fear he'll never be rehabilitated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

But doesn't that extend to crimes other than the likes of this one.

As an example rape and serious sexual assault should carry life imprisonment.

When did you ever see anyone get life for a crime like that?

Been a while but I can think of any cases off hand... then again it is early.

Lot of torture porn fetishists on here recently though. Hanging, electric chair... jesus. They are not a deterrent or a punishment. Never seen a dead man have to live with his crimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

dlofnep wrote: »
    Judge should be fired from their job for that sentence, it's shockingly poor. 20 years minimum for that.

The judge can only give the maximum sentence presribed by law. Pleading guilty reduces the sentence further. Not the judge's fault.

If it's any consolation, this guy will have a terrible time in prison.

dlofnep wrote: »

How can a judge be fired for working within the constraints of the criminal justice system?

Surely its the law thats the problem? If the judge has been found to do something wrong fair enough but otherwise his dismissal would be unjustified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭pah

I was nearly in tears reading this it's horrifying.

Three years? What a fukking joke.

Anyone on here that says you cant meet violence with violence has their head in the sand. If and when the courts were to hand out a proper sentence, perhaps the want to hurt this man would be decreased.

Im so thankful that i was born into a happy family and that my kids have been given the same, others are not so lucky. The mother in this case is a dispicable cu.nt to say the least, obviously a stupid tennage tramp who knew no better and probably put her own fear ahead of the safety of her child.

Just for those of you who haven't read the article and are probably commenting anyway, im sure there are plenty of you.
    The child was taken to A&E with injuries including two broken forearms, a dislocated right elbow, a significant brain bleed, a bite mark to his right cheek, a burn mark from an iron to his calf and multiple bruising across his body

Innocent, defenceless, harmless, i am so ****ing angry reading this :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

I really hope he gets whats coming to him in Jail...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

A child is brutally beaten and the usual sorts take it as a chance for political point scoring.

Stay classy!

gcgirl wrote: »
    A few yrs back I had to help look after some one who was so severely beating as a baby he was brain damaged, blind, could not communicate his feelings, he was completely wheelchair bound and had to have 24 hour care,he was the same age as me too and I don't know how anybody could do that to a baby, I looked after him well before I had my own babies and it was a real eye opener to think there are people out there with no conscience

Edit angrybollox when you have seen the end result of what happens when a baby is severally beating it does affect you

I never suggested otherwise.

This is what a 10 month old baby looks like juliet-10-months-crawling.jpg

for all you people that suggest the culprit should be dealt with by the "law"

He'll probably be out in two

cu.nt, ill be keeping an eye out for him.

pah wrote: »

We know what a ten month old baby looks like

I'm sorry are you boards.ie?

Why not just answer for yourself.

pah wrote: »

Chuck Norris here. He doesnt sleep. He waits

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 110 ✭✭the_djoker

Sickening, when I think of my own little fella 2 months old ... just makes me sick ... what sc*m.

he should be sterilised, he can have his own kids in 3 years time .

sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Confab wrote: »
    The judge can only give the maximum sentence presribed by law. Pleading guilty reduces the sentence further. Not the judge's fault.

Could he have been tried for each assault/injury as a separate crime and sentenced to the maximum sentence for each to run consecutively?

iguana wrote: »
    Could he have been tried for each assault/injury as a separate crime and sentenced to the maximum sentence for each to run consecutively?

Wouldn't that mean having to investigate them separately?

iguana wrote: »

Only if it could be proved that each assault occured at a certaint date/time specific to each injury.

Unfortunately judges rarely hand out consecutive sentences. It would be a bit harsh on the poor accused i suppose :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

"Larry Connors abused my child for a three-week period and there was nothing I could do about it."

Yes there was you thick bitch, you could have rang the gardai and had the toe-rag arrested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Thats a thing that bugs the **** out of me in this country

The concurrent sentencing that goes on, do the judges have to run sentences concurrently? can they not give sentences consecutively?

This piece of **** deserves a serious beating tbh, to be able to do that to such a small innocent being is not humane. It is sub human, and should be treated as such.

but the liberals here prob think he can be rehabilitated.

I would like to see evidence that he cannot be rehabilitated. Your opinion isn't evidence.

'Psychosis' is a medical term which means 'disconnected from reality'. Psychotic people can experience delusions, paranoia, hallucinations and various other crazy things. There is no way for us to know if he was actually suffering from psychosis, but the description of his behaviour seems to indicate that he was, in which case his rational mind may have had no control over his actions. His poor education and background would contribute to his inability to control psychotic episodes.

In any case, the purpose of locking someone away is to protect others from them, so I would agree with this until he is determined not to be a risk to anyone and he should be forever prohibited from going anywhere near the child or the mother. Punishment is a poor model on which to base a judicial system.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

What a sad human being. No other words for it. And to think he will be back out in such a short time is just sickening. Maybe when he comes out a group of people should kick, punch and throw him around like the ugly scumbag toy he is. This country protects the criminals tbh. The system would want to change to match the times. These crimes are getting more and more frequent and no wonder people are doing it with the sentences they get.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Quote:
    "Larry Connors abused my child for a three-week period and there was nothing I could do about it."
    Yes there was you thick bitch, you could have rang the gardai and had the toe-rag arrested.

At what point in this three weeks were the poor baby's arms broken and elbow dislocated? Jesus Christ the more I think about it... Going to stop posting here now

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

The word "psychotic" in the heading should be a clue. A person like him needs 1) to be kept away from children and 2) to receive effective treatment. A psychosis is an illness, and essentially anyone can develop it. There but for --- and all that.:rolleyes:

Although some of the posters here are undoubtedly getting off imagining the torture they would like to inflict on him, and would love to give scumbags who are in prison for other reasons, probably good ones, the pleasure of beating him up, that will not undo what he has done. Nor does it matter whether he spends two or ten years in prison if he just emerges even more brutalised and probably dangerous than he already is.:)

The same posters who are outdoing the Daily Hatemail in their thirst for hanging, flogging and other cruel and unusual punishments would probably be no less vocal if anyone suggested better and more proactive and outreaching social services to try and prevent cruelty like this rather than cry to the moon for vengeance when it happens.:cool:

Some of the posters here are at least as sick in their minds as he has been in practice, and one only has to wonder how they would behave if the circumstances were conducive to losing it.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    The word "psychotic" in the heading should be a clue. A person like him needs 1) to be kept away from children and 2) to receive effective treatment. A psychosis is an illness, and essentially anyone can develop it. There but for --- and all that.:rolleyes:

Although some of the posters here are undoubtedly getting off imagining the torture they would like to inflict on him, and would love to give scumbags who are in prison for other reasons, probably good ones, the pleasure of beating him up, that will not undo what he has done. Nor does it matter whether he spends two or ten years in prison if he just emerges even more brutalised and probably dangerous than he already is.:)

The same posters who are outdoing the Daily Hatemail in their thirst for hanging, flogging and other cruel and unusual punishments would probably be no less vocal if anyone suggested better and more proactive and outreaching social services to try and prevent cruelty like this rather than cry to the moon for vengeance when it happens.:cool:

Some of the posters here are at least as sick in their minds as he has been in practice, and one only has to wonder how they would behave if the circumstances were conducive to losing it.:eek:

How would one "outreach" to people like these?

Do you actually have to teach them not to break up an innocent babies body

Ellis Dee wrote: »

I would feel a lot better if i heard he got 2 broken arms and a dislocated elbow in prison as opposed to counselling and rehabilitation. Thats just my opinion.

Also the only mention of him being psychotic is by the then girlfriend, so unless she is qualified as a psychologist, that means fuk all to me and does not show in any way that this man was suffering from any type of mental ilness or disorder. He was not found guilty but insane or with diminished responsibility so that argument is a waste of time. He is a thug, pure and simple.

Shame on this judge, admission of guilt should not change the punishment to this degree
    The judge said that if Connors had not pleaded guilty, he would have been sentenced to near the maximum seven years in jail for the offence

He's not admitting to a speeding charge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

From this thread it's clear that liberals are to blame for child abuse. Kill all liberals and that'd oughta fix the problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

He should be banned for life from keeping any living thing that moves including goldfish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

'Psychotic' is generally seen as the catch all phrase for senseless violence and is completely inaccurate. I know people with genuine psychoses and they're not violent. The media just uses the word for effect.

In this case the correct word is 'psychopathic'.

• Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

If i ever seen that cont i'd box his fu*king face in. Scumbag!!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I dont understand this reduced sentence for pleading guilty thing, what does that make you less guilty? knowing you'll get a reduced sentence purely for admitting guilt is just working the system, get 3 years, probably be out in 2 years or less for keeping his head down in jail, providing he doesnt get murdered by an inmate, I hear convicts love child abusers in jail.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

krudler wrote: »
    I dont understand this reduced sentence for pleading guilty thing, what does that make you less guilty? knowing you'll get a reduced sentence purely for admitting guilt is just working the system, get 3 years, probably be out in 2 years or less for keeping his head down in jail, providing he doesnt get murdered by an inmate, I hear convicts love child abusers in jail.

I could be wrong, but I think it has to do with the fact that if someone pleads guilty, the the victim/witnesses don't have to testify in court, saving them the trauma.. I could be way off the mark though. Not condoning it btw.. just saying I think that's one of the reasons why..

The Human race has never really left the cave has it? Whatever way you look at it.

krudler wrote: »

The law really is an ass sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The Human race has never really left the cave has it? Whatever way you look at it.

when spineless 20 year old scumbags are beating babies half to death? nope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

This is Ireland people. we live here. How can this happen. I tell you why because we live in a country of liberals, we have no justice here. we release criminals. The guards here should have been able to beat this man close to death. And he should never have walked free. he should have no kneecaps to be able to walk. we have a rotten country here. rotten to the core.

I don't like the liberal/conservative tags but if people were to label me they would certainly not label me a liberal (a browse through my previous posts might show this). However if your views are the opposite of liberal (conservative?) then I'm a liberal.

I agree his sentance seems very short. If he was/is mentally ill then he should be going to a secure hospital/institution until he's no longer a threat to himself or others and be transfered, if necessary to complete the remainder of any sentance in prison.

What he did was beyond vile, disgusting and awful. But saying that "he should have no kneecaps to be able to walk" makes me think I wouldn't like to leave a child in your care either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Confab wrote: »
    'Psychotic' is generally seen as the catch all phrase for senseless violence and is completely inaccurate. I know people with genuine psychoses and they're not violent. The media just uses the word for effect.

In this case the correct word is 'psychopathic'.

Well, if he is a Psychopath then I understand it is not cureable so he is likely to re-offend.

IMHO, people like that should be put out of their misery before they are able to inflict more pain and suffering onto other people.

As for the "mother".... imagine hearing your own child crying and knowing it is being beaten, ffs I would break down the door with an axe if I had to.