Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is your area of expertise/profession useful in a post apocalyptic world?

• 09-02-2012 7:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭

One of the points raised in World War Z was the role reversal experienced by society. Previous high earning professions like directors, corporate executives, accountants etc were next to useless whereas plumbers, electricians, farmers etc were valuable sought-after skills.

How useful/applicable are your current skills?

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭evilmonkee

Officially, computer programming is my qualification... I have previously worked as an IT tech, so pulling apart, repairing or building technology as well as programming.. so em, give me that and yes.

Unofficially, I can breed and train hunting dogs (I don't do this, but I can),
    I'm a decent shot with a rifle (although I don't have one).
    Cook from scratch (with / without a cooker/oven),
    grow own fruit and veg (working on being less dependent on supplies from garden centers ie. DIY ways of monitoring soil, amendments, fertilizer etc.)
    Usual basic DIY skills - wiring lightsockets, plug sockets, building shed's, safely felling trees, repairing piping etc.

I think that a lot of people who are interested in outdoors/survivalism/DIY will have a large percentage of skills applicable which are not their primary profession.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,031 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Just call me a GOATS.
    Generalist Of All Trades Survival.:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭colonel-yum-yum

Programmer here too. So I'm pretty screwed. Just going to have to try and get by on my looks...
    OH CRAP I'M REALLY SCREWED!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,719 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

IT type as well but I've have some legal skilz - so no problems injunctioning the zombie hordes.:o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

I've no skills, advantages or useful attributes either I'm afraid...

Nothing ta see here...

Have ye no homes to go to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭baords dyslexic

Interesting how many computer related professionals we have here.

Me 20 years odd as professional gardener, forester, tree surgeon and the last 15 as a network engineer (MCxx times more than I can remember).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Looks like we could end up in a post apocolyptic world where we all still have internet, power and gadgets but feck all to eat

Everyone will be too busy writing C to milk the cows

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Peetrik wrote: »
    One of the points raised in World War Z was the role reversal experienced by society. Previous high earning professions like directors, corporate executives, accountants etc were next to useless whereas plumbers, electricians, farmers etc were valuable sought-after skills.

Actually, just to play devils advocate for a minute and one small example; during WW2 many of the outstanding resistance fighters and officers in the various services either came from a white collar background or went into business and/or the professions after the war. You have to remember that these people are highly intelligent, self motivated and leaders in their "community" in many cases. History has countless examples of how these people adapted, overcame and were highly successful in their new roles during times of crisis.

I wouldn't be so quick to write them off (convenient as that may be to a tv/film scriptwriter for example!).

• Registered Users Posts: 563 ✭✭✭bonniebede

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Just call me a GOATS.
    Generalist Of All Trades Survival.:D

I'd never have the nerve to call you an old goat.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Doubt ill be sellin too many motors after tshtf so my profession is probably usless to me but i dont judge myself on what i do for a living but more on what i can do

Skills: Childcare and basic nursing skills.
    Team leading and community building, negotiating and trading.
    Learning to garden, forage for wild food, fish and trap.
    Literacy and teaching skills...libraries are important!
    Sufficient cop-on to prep
    Developing self-defense and community defense skills.
    Handy with a screwdriver. (this should be understood in relation to the next item on the list not the last one.:))
    Sewing and general crafty skills.
    Developing food storage and canning skills.

Hmm. definitely a work in progress...but every day a bit further along.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭robdsherlock

skills on paper: NONE, not even leaving cert.
    BUT....
    i can pretty much do anything i put my hands to thankfully .
    my main skill would be mechanic work, have rebuilt engines,service cars,all that crack but that may or may not help in a post apocolyptic world, might be handy for making mechanical bits and bobs.
    have tried my hand at gardening, wasn't too succesfull but was still able to feed myself from it( still have seeds actually:D)
    family is builders of all kinds so i am pretty knowledgeable in that area and have experience in building houses from block laying to plumbing and electric work.
    have done all kinds of welding.fas courses.
    i cant think of anything else at the moment but either way im good at stuff with my hands;)

• Registered Users Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

My day job is as a geek. The programmer / computer knowledge bit would be more or less useless of course, but I have built up a fairly wide range of understanding on how a lot of technologies work over the years. Couple that with the "engineering mindset" (which I think is by a stretch the most important thing I learned in college) and you're fairly useful in a lot of ways.

One thing I noticed in that show The Colony was that when you couple a decent engineer with a handyman you can achieve more or less anything. That came through in that National Geographic documentary about preppers that Rew linked too. The best prepped group of people on it were the two families where one of them was ex-military and the other guy was an engineer. The ex-military guy had made a point of deliberately hooking up with the engineer. I thought they made a formidable team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭batm!ke

Unless we'll need some very eye-catching signage and graphic design to help build a new world then I'm no help I'm afraid. :eek:

batm!ke wrote: »
    Unless we'll need some very eye-catching signage and graphic design to help build a new world then I'm no help I'm afraid. :eek:

You could always print out a few signs before the power goes....

DANGER MINEFIELD

DANGER TOXIC CHEMICAL - CLASS 2d RESPERATORS MUST BE WARN AT ALL TIMES

PLAGUE CONTAMINATION - DO NOT ENTER

.... and other such bullsh1t to keep unwanted people away, but get the spelling right ;)

batm!ke wrote: »

Perhaps you can reverse engineer your skill and become a camoflage specialist?

Actually, just to play devils advocate for a minute and one small example; during WW2 many of the outstanding resistance fighters and officers in the various services either came from a white collar background or went into business and/or the professions after the war. You have to remember that these people are highly intelligent, self motivated and leaders in their "community" in many cases. History has countless examples of how these people adapted, overcame and were highly successful in their new roles during times of crisis.

Very true..However dont get resistance confused with gureilla fighter.
    Resistance can take on many forms to occupation,from mild,say blocking the local Kommandants toilet on a daily basis.:) To blowing up a factory where you work.
    Doubtless getting caught as either a gureilla fighter or a resistance,or willfully engaging in acts of sabotage.Got you a last ciggerette and a firing squad at dawn.
    So yes were we in a "Red Dawn " situation... [Technically said we are in the 1st stages of one here in Ireland!:eek:] You computor geeks would be invalueable resistance fighters..Think of how much damage a full blown cyber war could do to an enemies comms,and computor systems or if vital files or data banks were erased like the Garda PULSE computor of who holds firearms in Ireland?:D
    Same as back then these admin folks made sure five in ten pistols left the FN arms plant in occupied Belguim in a potentially dangerous condition or wouldnt fire at all.
    However if we are talking a "survival situation needing gureilla style fighters" not everone would be cut out for that either.Anyone can be a resistance fighter,not all can be a gureilla fighter.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Grizzly 45 wrote: »

However if we are talking a "survival situation needing gureilla style fighters" not everone would be cut out for that either.Anyone can be a resistance fighter,not all can be a gureilla fighter.

No, my point was; don't think just because someone is white collar professional or not the outdoors type, doesn't mean they should be written off post-SHTF as the OP stated.

I'm thinking about people like Pierre Schunck, Erik Hazelhoff Roelfzema, Bram van der Stok, Max Manus and Gunnar Sønsteby.

Ah ok got you...Although Van der Stork,Roelfzema,and especially Sønsteby. Had previous military training,Van der Stork and Roelfzema being RAF pilots in ww2..
    Sønsteby would be your classic ideal of a gureilla type resistance fighter,and Schunck more the resistance chacter IE a civvie doing what he could to help the underground movement.
    Seems like though they all had sucessful busisness lives after their wartime exploits.Still and all a well intresting bunch of people.:)

On the point of skills ,is there any courses in Ireland that are up to intl accredited for paramedic or first responder??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Tabnabs wrote: »
    just because someone is white collar professional or not the outdoors type, doesn't mean they should be written off post-SHTF as the OP stated.

Sorry my bad here as I wasn't clear, I didn't mean to imply that the person would be useless or should be written off, simply that someone who worked for 'Irish psychics live' for example might not find their profession of obvious benefit or survival relevant.

I understand that a person never really knows what they are capable of until they are put to the test... but that said I'm sure anyone who posts here or that is into survivalism is wary of how complacency or a safe environment might take the edge of your survivalist instincts :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

hmm...lets see..back ground in construction..and trapped\snared and fished with the old man from wahyyy back...walk .hike..grow..sow..all round naturey type...self taught re..fire builds..storing food..preserving...and yea id be pretty self sufficent and more so CONFIDENT in self pres....and am teaching daughter the same....(missus dosent approve..and knows nothing about food/meds stored in attic)

Peetrik wrote: »
    Sorry my bad here as I wasn't clear, I didn't mean to imply that the person would be useless or should be written off, simply that someone who worked for 'Irish psychics live' for example might not find their profession of obvious benefit or survival relevant.

Dunno fortune tellers have survived through the ages,and have been able to influence many a superstitious monarch or ruler to do silly things by consulting a chickens innards!!:)

Maudi wrote: »
    hmm...lets see..back ground in construction..and trapped\snared and fished with the old man from wahyyy back...walk .hike..grow..sow..all round naturey type...self taught re..fire builds..storing food..preserving...and yea id be pretty self sufficent and more so CONFIDENT in self pres....and am teaching daughter the same....(missus dosent approve..and knows nothing about food/meds stored in attic)

Good for you, for teaching skills. If one is planning for a possible multi-generational societal upheaval, it is possible that it won't come in your lifetime, but someone somewhere down the line will be glad that those skills were passed on. That being said there are many reasons why teaching all that stuff is good for you and your child... bonding, developing a healthy active lifestyle, teaching self reliant thinking, problem solving etc etc. Much more real learning than trying to solve artificial problems in a classroom setting.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

I am currently in IT as a solution architect. A large part of my role is crisis management and business continuity consulting so I guess that has some value during a crisis. The worst aspect of my job is knowing many Irish companies do not have plans for even minor incidents that would quickly make the business ineffective and have follow on effects for the supply chain.

Before IT I was in The British Army for 15 years as a Military engineer. I was trained as combat engineer (explosives, bridge building, basic building, fresh water supply) initially but then specialised in mechanical engineering for construction plant, water supply, generators). Spent 8 years in bomb disposal with a lot of that time spent in Bosnia and Kosovo advising on minefield/bobby trap clearance and monitoring minefields.

Unfortunately a lot of my military skills are perishable, mechanically I can fix most machinery built before 1998 but engines and hydraulic systems have moved on to a new level where you replace parts and circuit boards rather than “repair” them.

krissovo wrote: »
    I am currently in IT as a solution architect. A large part of my role is crisis management and business continuity consulting so I guess that has some value during a crisis. The worst aspect of my job is knowing many Irish companies do not have plans for even minor incidents that would quickly make the business ineffective and have follow on effects for the supply chain.

Before IT I was in The British Army for 15 years as a Military engineer. I was trained as combat engineer (explosives, bridge building, basic building, fresh water supply) initially but then specialised in mechanical engineering for construction plant, water supply, generators). Spent 8 years in bomb disposal with a lot of that time spent in Bosnia and Kosovo advising on minefield/bobby trap clearance and monitoring minefields.

Unfortunately a lot of my military skills are perishable, mechanically I can fix most machinery built before 1998 but engines and hydraulic systems have moved on to a new level where you replace parts and circuit boards rather than “repair” them.
    I vote we all move in with Krissovo :D

krissovo wrote: »

Thats not a job its an exercise in futility ;)

You should try advising them in counter industrial espionage measures,threat assesments to personel and basic security procedures when their CEOs,fammlies and minions travel abroad to the more lawless parts of the world.And basic checks for electronic surveillance.
    Might as well try draining the Shannon with a leaky bucket!:(

I vote we all move in with Krissovo :D

Didn't realise this thread had turned into post-apocalypse job interview.:D

bonniebede wrote: »
    Didn't realise this thread had turned into post-apocalypse job interview.:D

Would be great to see the responses to the standard "Where do you see yourself in 5 years?" question!

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭waterfordham

IT, specifically networking and security. With a healthy dose of radio communications thrown in. I know where your coming from re Irish company Disaster preparedness, its a terrible state of affairs really.

Working on getting myself EFR trained later in the year, which is always useful.

+1 for moving in with Krissovo