Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting a car towed on Private property?! HELP!

• 11-02-2012 1:24am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭

Guys, I live in town and there is a car park behind my building. Its an outdoor carpark with an electric gate. There is a car parked literally right behind me, blocking my exit. Its been there for about 3 or 4 hours. There is no wiggle room at all. I've called the Prop. Mgmt and they passed me onto NCPS but all they will do is clamp the car, which is no good, I need it moved! I've stood out by it for about 50 mins, beeping my horn, waiting the driver to come back!

I need to be on the road in the morning for 10am! Does anyone know who I can call to get this car moved?! There is a sign up about illegal parking but all it threatens is clamping. Pulling my hair out now, worrying I wont be able to get going in the morning!

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭baaba maal

Not being smart but did you call the gardai (your local gardai obviously) to ask their advice? If you mentioned that it would be potential problem in case of a fire or other emergency they might be able to give some pointers.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

baaba maal wrote: »
    Not being smart but did you call the gardai (your local gardai obviously) to ask their advice? If you mentioned that it would be potential problem in case of a fire or other emergency they might be able to give some pointers.....

I thought about that but figured that because its on private property they;d tell me to eff off. So I came to boards looking for advice...

Then I rang the Gardai anyway... started off with the traffic Corps, (no answer) then called my local station, who took the reg off me to see if they have a contact for the owner, and they said they would call me back... no joy yet.

My experience of the guards is you have to keep annoying them with things like this until it is easier for them to do the right thing than to ignore you- keep at them until they contact the owner. If the car is abandoned (how old is it btw?), the council won't touch it while it is on private property- all of this is leading you to two choices- call a towtruck who should be able to bring it to the new EU version of the scrapyard- the Authorised Treatment Facility. You would be charged for the towing but not the disposal- what I'm not sure about is the legality of the ATF accepting a car without the paperwork (cars have to be certified as being scrapped and a form sent to Shannon). Alternatively, you could break a small window in the car, assuming the car will steer in neutral- push the car onto a public road and ring the council.....
    Yuo have my sympathies, and a pox on the gobsheen who left the car there

Big kudos to my local Garda Station!
    They got the owner but no contact number, so they called round to his house, but got no answer, they called me and asked me to meet them in the car park to see if they could help.
    But the car was well and truly jammed in, and locked (he thought of popping the handbrake and rolling it away!) One garda got into the building through an open back door and went up to the guys apartment! He REFUSED to move the car! 2nd Garda went in and out her came all full of bluster! Then he started shouting at me and asking me for my home address which I wouldn't provide, and he got very angry, then the Garda went all "protective" and stood in front of me and told the guy to calm down. Guy was SUPER pissed! Because we woke him up WTF! Anyhoo garda calmed him down, got him to move, I moved my car, lest he block me again. Then Gardaí escorted me back to my flat. *APPLAUSE*

Granted, there are probably more serious crimes happening in Dublin tonight than a simple parking violation, but dang if this wasn't a speedy and well executed response!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Skinfull wrote: »
    Big kudos to my local Garda Station!
    They got the owner but no contact number, so they called round to his house, but got no answer, they called me and asked me to meet them in the car park to see if they could help.
    But the car was well and truly jammed in, and locked (he thought of popping the handbrake and rolling it away!) One garda got into the building through an open back door and went up to the guys apartment! He REFUSED to move the car! 2nd Garda went in and out her came all full of bluster! Then he started shouting at me and asking me for my home address which I wouldn't provide, and he got very angry, then the Garda went all "protective" and stood in front of me and told the guy to calm down. Guy was SUPER pissed! Because we woke him up WTF! Anyhoo garda calmed him down, got him to move, I moved my car, lest he block me again. Then Gardaí escorted me back to my flat. *APPLAUSE*

Granted, there are probably more serious crimes happening in Dublin tonight than a simple parking violation, but dang if this wasn't a speedy and well executed response!

Had a car block my drive recently. Called the guards who then phoned the owner.
    He came out of the neighbors very apologetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

What are the chances in a few weeks your car gets keyd or you get a spate of flat tyres ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Jaysus, what a horrible person.
    bbam wrote: »
    What are the chances in a few weeks your car gets keyd or you get a spate of flat tyres ??

When the cops have witnessed his prior actions and know his address?

And more to the point, when you know what his own car looks like....

Brilliant. Glad it got sorted (and my humble apologies to an Garda Siochana- that was a good response by them):)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

thats great, something similar happened to me in my work car park, someone parked across the electronic gates and guards said they could do nothing as did the clampers.

about 7 of us were in for about 1.5 hours, when the skanger strolled out of holles street hospital she said she had only been there for 10 minutes and abused us from a height.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

irishbird wrote: »
    thats great, something similar happened to me in my work car park, someone parked across the electronic gates and guards said they could do nothing as did the clampers.

about 7 of us were in for about 1.5 hours, when the skanger strolled out of holles street hospital she said she had only been there for 10 minutes and abused us from a height.
    How many people does it take to move/push/lift a car that doesn't want to be moved? (i'm guessing closer to 20 than 7, but just a thought for next time)

bbam wrote: »

Yeah, I thought about this, but the Gardai "noted" his reg in their book o' doom, and witnessed his rage and know his address so I don't think he'd chance it. Besides, I'd like to think he was just blustery and angry for being woken up and would not actually resort to keying my car.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,349 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

If he was that abusive why did the Guards not threaten to arrest him for breach of the peace?