Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are you happy in your job?

• 12-02-2012 1:32am
    Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭

Do you like / love what you do for a living or just do it because you have to earn? After two years of countless efforts, I finally have got my dream job and i've never been happier.

How many of you have interest in and love your job? What happened that you might have gave up efforts to do what you really always wanted to be doing? If you are doing what you love, what is it? and how difficult did you work to get it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Oh yeah. I'm a happy camper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I spent last weekend moving rubbish and boxes full of human body parts. I spent most weekends moving dying or dead people.

Yeah, a really uplifting job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I didn't get paid for January due to a fudge up with paperwork. Yeah I hate my job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I get 188 a week to do whatever the feck I want, so yeah, I love it :D

what's that sound, a can opening...? :pac:
    subscriber wrote: »
    Do you like / love what you do for a living or just do it because you have to earn? After two years of countless efforts, I finally have got my dream job and i've never been happier.

:) that's really nice to hear
    brummytom wrote: »
    I spent last weekend moving rubbish and boxes full of human body parts. I spent most weekends moving dying or dead people.

Jebus, what do you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

You're a hitman's apprentice aren't you?

Schism wrote: »
    You're a hitman's apprentice aren't you?
    Oi!

I'm no apprentice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

No. I wanted to fly planes or be an astronaut. Suffice to say i failed miserably. All i can do now is try make sure my kids do something they love. I'll start by not letting them have the DS they want. At 5 years of age....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Oi!

I'm no apprentice.

Sorry sir, spare me please, I have a family.... kill them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

hell no, despise it, been off the past two weeks and spent most of it jobhunting, have something thats looking good so if i get that then so long crappy job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Yep, I love it. If money wasn't important, I would do what I do for free.

I'm not crazy about all aspects of the work, but I find most of it fascinating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,650 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I dont have a job and cant get a job so thread not relevant.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭subscriber

krudler wrote: »
    hell no, despise it, been off the past two weeks and spent most of it jobhunting, have something thats looking good so if i get that then so long crappy job

I spent six years working in retail and despised every moment of it. I often taught of just quitting and using 'the fear' to go out and get what I wanted. I didn't quit but came close so many times. The dedication it takes to really go after what you want is monumental but soo worth it!

Domo230 wrote: »
    I start Monday.

I'll let ya know

Best of luck!

if u hate ur job, you know what to do........ blast them with piss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

How many of you have interest in and love your job? What happened that you might have gave up efforts to do what you really always wanted to be doing? If you are doing what you love, what is it? and how difficult did you work to get it??

I was out of work for a long time. I'm now working and love my job. I had to do 3 interviews and a weeks training I never want to be unemployed again!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I am, ya. Not my ideal job but it has me living comfortably.

I'd be stupid to turn it down in favour of limbo while hoping for the promise of something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

six and a half years of dunnes stores, so, fcuk no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

No,it's ****.

But Dublin Fire Brigade just scraped the recruitment panel that I was a part of last week,so I may aswell get used to working a job I hate for the forseable future til they recruit again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

getting to boss around folks who wouldn't employ me when times was good now i pay them to do **** i Could do, but my times better invested in employing more of tthem and laughing at them complaining that they now Actually have to work...

Front teir of my life with little stress and strife. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭wardy2

im f**ken miserable in work

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Law is boring and soul destroying and the money is not what it was, I'm about to set off home and take over my Dad's practice. I don't want to do it but I'll do it all the same as my over bearing mother desires it after all.

I wonder what my GF will make of living in Roscrea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

later10 wrote: »
    Yep, I love it. If money wasn't important, I would do what I do for free.

I'm not crazy about all aspects of the work, but I find most of it fascinating.

Obvious porn star.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Law is boring and soul destroying and the money is not what it was, I'm about to set off home and take over my Dad's practice. I don't want to do it but I'll do it all the same as my over bearing mother desires it after all.

I wonder what my GF will make of living in Roscrea.

Sounds like you got a novel on your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I just got a job after being unemployed for 7 months, and I'm bored out of my skull after a week. It was sold to me as admin with a little telemarketing, it turns out to be 7.5 hours of telemarketing a day, with 30 minutes admin.

Still, it's more money than on the dole, provided they pay me. Apparently I'll be lucky if they do.

I've just been told that, on average, I walk around 19 miles a day at work! As someone who thinks exercise is the work of the devil, I've now decided I hate my job, on principal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yes, but then i get paid to watch sport.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I happy with my work, now my job is different. In the last two years we have had to take on more and more paperwork to prove the taxpayer is getting value. Sadly this means I often had to refuse to see somebody because I have paperwork to do.

However, I am happy working the people often called scum here because they have a drug problem or are engaged in criminality. When you facilitate somebody in addressing their problems, and it works; well I'm happy because it's what I spent years training to do.

Like most jobs, the work itself is good, it's the various politics that get to people. A bit more cash and less paperwork that draws me away from my primary role and things would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I've been in my job for 34 years.:eek::) It was all I ever wanted to do, and when I got it I couldn't believe it. I'm still as enthusiastic about it as I was then, but there have been, of corse, deep lows and fantastic highs, but I wouldn't change it. I know I am blessed to have been given the opportunity.
    Thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Pdfile wrote: »
    getting to boss around folks who wouldn't employ me when times was good now i pay them to do **** i Could do, but my times better invested in employing more of tthem and laughing at them complaining that they now Actually have to work...

Front teir of my life with little stress and strife. :)

I've heard of sleep walking, but dream typing! That's a new one :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭speeding

Taking xrays on a daily basis is a boring boring job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

I've just been told that, on average, I walk around 19 miles a day at work! As someone who thinks exercise is the work of the devil, I've now decided I hate my job, on principal.

Hold on...you have a job? But aren't you that little 13 year old English lad who's trying to lose his virginity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

My job's alright. Beats being unemployed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

I am unemployed now and happier than I ever was at work.
    I have my liberty, and that's worth more to me at 35 than money.
    I worked from 15 to 33 dealing. 18 hard years of taking massive risks importing, selling, and supplying drugs. I retired from that life and have no desire to go back to it. Its not the life glamorised in films and books. It made me money, more than I will ever earn again; but seeing those close to you end up in jail or the grave you get tired of the lifestyle, and the occupational hazards.
    It brought me to over 20 countries, and I suppose dealing was the best job I have had; but all good things come to an end.
    The thing is, when you have had the good times and the money; its hard to go back to being a normal person working 40 hours a week in a 9am to 5pm type of job. My only regret is that I didn't retire from my old way of life sooner.
    I used to graft away, thinking a wife, kids, mortgage, security was the purpose of life. Making provisions and contingency plans for if I ended up in jail or the grave; but although it came very close to that in my working life, neither happened.
    When all is said and done, liberty and health are the only two things that matter in life. I think too much emphasis is put on work and materialism.
    The Celtic Tiger boom years have done a lot of damage and eroded Irish cultures traditional values of family, socialising, and saving up for things.
    There are many unhappy workers now just working to service a negative equity mortgage.
    I am glad I am not one of them, and have my freedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

It pays the bills, but yeah, I despise it.

Hold on...you have a job? But aren't you that little 13 year old English lad who's trying to lose his virginity?

Hey!

I'm not 13

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Yeah I like my job. Can be frustrating sometimes but what isn't. Hours can be long, weekend work sometimes too. But company treats us well, some nice perks and the lads I work with are good craic. Waiting to see if all of last years hard work has earned me a payrise.. fingers crossed, I could do with one, but then again who wouldn't say no to a few more quid?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I am unemployed now and happier than I ever was at work.
    I have my liberty, and that's worth more to me at 35 than money.
    I worked from 15 to 33 dealing. 18 hard years of taking massive risks importing, selling, and supplying drugs. I retired from that life and have no desire to go back to it. Its not the life glamorised in films and books. It made me money, more than I will ever earn again; but seeing those close to you end up in jail or the grave you get tired of the lifestyle, and the occupational hazards.
    It brought me to over 20 countries, and I suppose dealing was the best job I have had; but all good things come to an end.
    The thing is, when you have had the good times and the money; its hard to go back to being a normal person working 40 hours a week in a 9am to 5pm type of job. My only regret is that I didn't retire from my old way of life sooner.
    I used to graft away, thinking a wife, kids, mortgage, security was the purpose of life. Making provisions and contingency plans for if I ended up in jail or the grave; but although it came very close to that in my working life, neither happened.
    When all is said and done, liberty and health are the only two things that matter in life. I think too much emphasis is put on work and materialism.
    The Celtic Tiger boom years have done a lot of damage and eroded Irish cultures traditional values of family, socialising, and saving up for things.
    There are many unhappy workers now just working to service a negative equity mortgage.
    I am glad I am not one of them, and have my freedom.

yeah drug dealers are the real victims of the recession alright, poor lambs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I fecking despise spending four boring hours a day on public transport commuting between classes and the money is abysmal but once I'm in class, I do enjoy it. Sociable job with nice students that keeps me sane and in touch with reality and I feel very lucky to be working.

Still get the Sunday blues pretty bad though but I'd probably have them regardless of what I was doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Love it. Pay isn't major but there's so much other great stuff - hours, people, the work itself, it relates to what I studied. The pay could be a lot worse also.

I know I'm lucky. I've been in awful jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It can be boring at times but any job is after time. And on matter what the job, I would not work if I had enough money not to.

But I like it fine. My managers and workmates are sound. It challenges my mind to an extent and nobody treats me badly It's pays enough to cover my bills and also be able to have a holiday, save and treat myself.

It would be churlish in the extreme to have any more than the usual vague existential gripes with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I fecking despise spending four boring hours a day on public transport commuting between classes and the money is abysmal but once I'm in class, I do enjoy it. Sociable job with nice students that keeps me sane and in touch with reality and I feel very lucky to be working.

Still get the Sunday blues pretty bad though but I'd probably have them regardless of what I was doing.

Sunday blues?
    You haven't met the right man yet.
    When you do, you will yearn for Sundays. Trust me.

Sunday blues?
    You haven't met the right man yet.
    When you do, you will yearn for Sundays. Trust me.

I have indeed met the right man. Just said goodbye to him an hour ago (planning classes). Doesn't matter...the idea of the four hour commute kills me every week.

Edit: the blues kick in when we goodbye, in fairness, so I get your point.

• Site Banned Posts: 148 ✭✭franciebellew

I love my job. Can't wait to start again whenever I feel like it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

I have indeed met the right man. Just said goodbye to him an hour ago (planning classes). Doesn't matter...the idea of the four hour commute kills me every week.

Edit: the blues kick in when we goodbye, in fairness, so I get your point.

If you have a job why not move home???

What do you mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

What do you mean?

Well you say you hate the commute so much I just suggested that you could move closer to work.

sorry

Well you say you hate the commute so much I just suggested that you could move closer to work.

sorry

Don't apologise. No, I live in Madrid and the companies I teach in are not in the centre. They've set themselves up outside the city, so I have to commute out there. Have to go where the work is and it takes about an hour to go from A to B on the Metro. Nah, it's not too bad. The idea of it (on Sundays) is worse than the reality and I get to read, listen to music, check out tasty men and study Spanish on my travels, so it isn't too bad. It would be better if I had better views out the windows.

Overall though, I am happy with my job :) but you know yourself, you have off days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Big foots diick

I like what i do but not where i do it.its been hard the last few years there but ive made my mind up and now im leaving in april.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Eve, I wonder what the Spanish for The Glenroe Feeling is... :pac:

Dudess wrote: »
    Eve, I wonder what the Spanish for The Glenroe Feeling is... :pac:

Hee hee......domingo...no es bueno.

Edit: El Sentido del Glenrrrrrr(roll those r's good n proper!)oe!