Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dream Job?

• 12-02-2012 6:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭

Be realistic now.Don't all be saying you want to be a professional footballer when your 35 years old and cant make your local sides starting 11.
    For me its to be a Garda.Don't laugh now let me explain..Ive thought about it and it really can be a decent job.Well paid 44-50k after tax,no fear of being let go so a business can survive etc,can get promoted to higher ranks,perks like easier to get mortgages,power but of cousre with a lot of responsibility and finally respect..well off those who it is worth getting respect from anyway.
    Other than that its play for my beloved Manchester United alongside Wayne Rooney.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Painter or music producer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Dr. Manhattan

I think you have an unrealistic view of life for young Gards and in particular of promotional prospects.

I have my dream job. 's all good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Video Game Designer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Hangman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Systems Architect $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Film director or video games designer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Designing and building cars.... fast ones...!

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

Video Game Designer

Very very very tough industry. Ultra-competitive, poor industrial relations, stunted career progression.

Though if you can get working with the right team, with the right product and the right backing it'll be amazing.

NSNO wrote: »
    Very very very tough industry. Ultra-competitive, poor industrial relations, stunted career progression.

Though if you can get working with the right team, with the right product and the right backing it'll be amazing.

Yup better to specialise in IT. Everybody wants to make games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Minister of Finance in an autocratic, occasionally benevolent rogue state, implementing universal austerity with maniacal shrieking.

It sounds far more sadistic when I say it out loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Big foots diick

Travel critic for trip advisor

later10 wrote: »
    Minister of Finance in an autocratic, occasionally benevolent rogue state, implementing universal austerity with maniacal shrieking.

It sounds far more sadistic when I say it out loud.

Well you might in after Noonan. You have my vote anyway. Noonan just doesn't have the evil laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

Yup better to specialise in IT. Everybody wants to make games.

Nearly everybody starts studying Computer Science wanting to be a Games Developer.

They quickly learn they can earn far more money with far less stress working in other areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Video games journalist & video producer...

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Blow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Owner of second-hand bookshop/cafe/bar in a hot country. I'm going to make it happen some day. Fact.

Nearly everybody starts studying Computer Science wanting to be a Games Developer.

They quickly learn they can earn far more money with far less stress working in other areas.

I stand corrected so!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Sports journalist in America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

Doctor
    Tax consultant/tax inspector with the revenue
    Psychologist/Psychiatrist
    Risk analysist
    Algorithmic trader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Porn star.well id like to try it maybe for a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Porn star.well id like to try it maybe for a year.

Please find list of benefit in kind below :

http://intheknowpeel.ca/stiaids/list.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

can get promoted to higher ranks,perks like easier to get mortgages,power but of cousre with a lot of responsibility and finally respect..

With that attitude, I really really hope you get nowhere near becoming a Guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

You're correct.

I'm a fifteen year veteran of the video game industry. Started in Arcade games back in the 80's. (when we used to get bonus's)

I got out five years ago and have been so happy working in architectural 3d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Hedge fund manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

i wanna write stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

Im far from a person who gets a thrill from having a degree of power so if you dont know me dont judge me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,650 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

A stunt cock in the pornos.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Working as a cheese buyer or a wine buyer or a chocolate buyer for a high end retailer like Harrods!

yum yum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I used to think the Top Gear lads had the ultimate jobs - but no - Mythbusters.
    Blowing shít up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

Airline pilot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The Punisher

Real answer: something similar to what I do already, just more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

P.S I know someone who work in the IT department of a large bank in the UK and he has commented on the amount of people working with him that have degrees in computer game designer. ( and they are not designing computer games :p )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Why? He would fit in perfectly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Ainekav

Arts Officer in a large Arts Org with a decent educational/community remit
    OR
    Project Manager in an collaborative arts organisation.

I've done internships in both types of orgs... absolutely loved it.

I would also love to work in another type of creative org that had a creative role in project or event management.... eg. social enterprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

power but of cousre with a lot of responsibility and finally respect..well off those who it is worth getting respect from anyway.

Respect is earned not automatically deserved. I generally find members of the Garda to be condescending and unpleasant even while off duty.

My dream job could well be investigating Garda corruption, it's one of the few things I wouldn't be doing just for the money :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Im far from a person who gets a thrill from having a degree of power so if you dont know me dont judge me.

I'm not judging you, I'm just pointing out that you mentioned 'power' when giving reasons for wanting to become a Guard. This should never, ever, be a reason - and it is because of this that there are a lot of utter, power-tripping **** in An Garda Siochana presently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Batman

Failing that, being a binman seems pretty sweet. The truck does all the feckin work nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Supercar test driver.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Game keeper at an African safari.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Sperm doner

Sperm doner

Even drunk, that's a kebab I wouldn't eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Architect or marine biologist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭amacca

always wanted to be successful doing something perceived as being dangerous and requiring skill and daring etc...you know one of the swashbuckling elite/untouchables....... women want him, men want to be him and so on and so forth

eg: F1 driver

Fighter Pilot or Test Pilot

Huzzah, bang on, death or glory etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

Property Developer in Ireland between 1994 and 2007.

nice to see you have/had your sights set on getting out just before the soft landing

good show

Ill trade you this laptop for a french villa if your ever in the market for a second hand computer dude

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Dream job would have to be oil boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Writer. I have a series of kids books but too scared to submit anywhere. I have lots of ideas but i'm so scared of failing that I won't start a proper book. As a dream it's happy, as a failed reality where will I be with no dream?

barbiegirl wrote: »
    Writer. I have a series of kids books but too scared to submit anywhere. I have lots of ideas but i'm so scared of failing that I won't start a proper book. As a dream it's happy, as a failed reality where will I be with no dream?

go ahead and do it

take it from me...trying and failing as miserably as its possible to fail (if the worst really does come to pass) is and experience that is still light years ahead of regretting not going for it

and if it does get rejected etc it does not mean its over if you want it bad enough........keep banging away if you do...........the one thing that separates most successful people is the fact they kept coming back for more after failing miserably countless times.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Anything freelance really, with good money in it. I write at the moment so I work whenever the hell I want, make as much money as I want etc.

I think I'll try and pick up a few more skills along the way. Painting pictures for some clams sounds like a right hoot.

barbiegirl wrote: »

Have a look at this http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056546472

Then get cracking. Always better to regret what you did than what you didn't do.