Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dream Job?

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Carverkid

Rescue swimmer. Jumping out of helicopters to save people. Failing that, a fitness model. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

Rock star...well actually I don't even care for the fame part, just getting paid well to play my own music is reward enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭lefthooker

Chief taster in a brewery/distillery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Loopie

Would love to join the Gardai - what can I say, it's something I've wanted since I was waaaaay younger so I'm sitting tight waiting for the great un-freeze when/if ever that comes

Second to that I'd like to have been a writer...

My current job has f**k all to do with either of the above!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

A stunt cock in the pornos.

That means you're the cock that gets the AIDS.

barbiegirl wrote: »
    Writer. I have a series of kids books but too scared to submit anywhere. I have lots of ideas but i'm so scared of failing that I won't start a proper book. As a dream it's happy, as a failed reality where will I be with no dream?

There there, you could always fall back on being a crack hoor.:P

But seriously if you have a series written you'd be made not to. If it needs tidying up that's what editors are for. Go for it if it's what your passionate about.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

barbiegirl wrote: »
    Writer. I have a series of kids books but too scared to submit anywhere. I have lots of ideas but i'm so scared of failing that I won't start a proper book. As a dream it's happy, as a failed reality where will I be with no dream?

Certainly you can do this but its also a good idea to have a regular paying job even a part-time one to tide you over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,504 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

I'd love to be a helicopter pilot but I'm as blind as a bat so never going to happen.

Or else a tax consultant which I could get into in a few years time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Artificial inseminator inan anteater colony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,372 ✭✭✭bladespin

Motorcycle or car journo

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Ted Mosby, Sex Architect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

A Government assassin. Seriously.

Great pay.
    Get to travel.
    Never REALLY have to work and you get to live a good life. Get in, get out quickly. Easy money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

Whitney Houston's crack dealer.

Peetrik wrote: »
    Respect is earned not automatically deserved. I generally find members of the Garda to be condescending and unpleasant even while off duty.

My dream job could well be investigating Garda corruption, it's one of the few things I wouldn't be doing just for the money :)

I have always found Guards to be good to me.
    The Serious Organized Crime Agency, and Criminal Assets Bureau could be a pain at times though.
    I am glad to be retired and a law abiding citizen these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭volvoman480

Test driver at Volvo, then I'd get to drive this baby.....

Makes my little 480 seem hopelessly inadequate....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,348 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Something to do with Information Technology/Computers. Can't decide on one particular job but area yes...IT!

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭treborflynn

cleaner

Volvoman480 are you superliminally advertising for Volvo.

We looked at using Volvo artics for smuggling, but found Scania's to be more reliable.

Sindri wrote: »
    Volvoman480 are you superliminally advertising for Volvo.

Sh1t, am I going to get banned for advertising just before my 200th post????:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Dj for a big club anywhere filled with piss blasting beours

photographer for anywhere big that likes to pay top dollar for things

stand up comedian

sound engineer

Youtuber with 1million+ subscribers or enough to get a decent amount of money from making videos. That would be awesome!

Sh1t, am I going to get banned for advertising just before my 200th post????:pac:

Damn, I really want to buy a Volvo now.:pac:

Tell your Swedish overlords they're paying you well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

A Psychological Profiler, or something within the Crime/Psychology overlap. I'm working towards a Masters in Criminology at the moment, so it's a start.

Sindri wrote: »
    Damn, I really want to buy a Volvo now.:pac:

Tell your Swedish overlords they're paying you well.

They're not paying me at all.. Ba5tards........

WOOHOO.. 200 posts...

Is there an award or prize of some sort????

I must admit to having a kind of performance anxiety about my 200th post. I was worried that it wouldn't be suitably witty for AH or a sufficiently scything response to a criticism elsewhere..

In a way I'm glad to see that I was right to worry...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

lefthooker wrote: »
    Chief taster in a brewery/distillery

I read up on this before and it seems to be a fairly crap job to be honest. Drinking half fermented stuff at various stages of production to ensure consistency of flavour etc. your gonna get fed up with it fairly quick and probably not enjoy a drink in the pub anymore.
    It's like a guy saying he'd like to be a gynaecologist, but when you think about it you only get to see the goods when they're malfunctioning/festering

We looked at using Volvo artics for smuggling, but found Scania's to be more reliable.

Sacrilege.......:mad:

Bloody Scannys are glorified scrap. Horrible yokes with sh1te power, poor seating position and an engine hump that forces your left foot to toe in at an angle and leave you with back pain. Not particularly reliable either to be honest. The guy I drive for had all Scanias (still has some) but moved away from them for Volvos And DAF. Don't particularly rate the DAFs either, good engine in them but the gear change is straight out of the 70's.

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Junior Jacon Jeese Jurger

Megan Foxes gynaecologist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Megan Foxes gynaecologist

That would just be a tease.

Surely being Megan Foxes's human fcuk machine would be preferable? Again Megan? Oh go on then. If I have to.

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

Helicopter pilot. I think it'd be pretty cool to start up a business to fly goods and people around. Maybe three or four pilots, half a dozen helicopters, mechanic or two. Perhaps have a school running. That'd be my dream.

In the meantime, I'm looking at being a ski-instructor in Whistler, Canada this winter, so that's a not-too-shabby time filler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Venture Capitalist or Trader. Both are high risk but the potential to make money is huge. I like risk, safe jobs are boring and consistent in their pay, I prefer not knowing how much I will get paid but knowing the potential is huge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Irish President. Handy number. Get great seats for all the big games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭cena

An nypd officer, fdny officer or working for the new York rangers as equipment manager or the boss of guys that have hated me through the years and looked down on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

I have always found Guards to be good to me.

All my experiences with guards have been negative. The amount of incompetent or just plain stupid members of the guards is unbelieveable. There's some great guards out there but they're definately outnumbered.

photographer for anywhere big that likes to pay top dollar for things

Photography is a dying profession unfortunately-there's little money in it these days for most people.
    stand up comedian
    !

Very, very hard to break into but you can earn massive amounts if you do.
    Kev.OC wrote: »
    In the meantime, I'm looking at being a ski-instructor in Whistler, Canada this winter, so that's a not-too-shabby time filler.

I considered this myself but found the idea of teaching people to ski everyday to be a little boring. Maybe working as one of the ski patrol guys would be more exciting :pac:?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 The Mollusc

Being that guy who says "You can do it!!!" :D

Honestly though, I'd love to work in the NYFD. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Patri

Hmmmm I've a few I'd love to do;

1. Actor (like Robert De Niro) working in the savage gangster movies, not a dumbass in a chick flick! Acting would be an awesome job then, but you can't pick and choose, and the chances of making it from Ireland to Hollywood are slim, so I'll never go for it :(

2. Musician, travelling the world playing gigs for thousands, and even affecting peoples lives that'd be cool :)

3. Publican, in a small pub in a rural village in Ireland or Scotland, england wales or even Spain or somewhere :cool:

4.Doctor, being on the frontline of helping people and sh*t.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 united_lmc

Always dreamed of being a Film director/producer, even have an idea in mind for my first film, if only i had the money or contacts to pursue it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Very, very hard to break into but you can earn massive amounts if you do

I really don't think there's many stand-up comics making 'massive' amounts of money. The likes of Billy Connolly would have made nice money over the years, Bill Hicks, Richard Pryor and people like that. And I'd say people like Michael McIntyre and Tommy Tiernan make a good living out of it.

But I'm not sure why anyone would consider it a dream job. It's a very tough profession to achieve any success in let alone become rich. And a lonely place to be when you're on stage and the audience just aren't getting it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Gave up my 9-5 job to be a music producer. So my dream job would be to be successful in what I'm doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

coco_lola wrote: »
    A Psychological Profiler, or something within the Crime/Psychology overlap. I'm working towards a Masters in Criminology at the moment, so it's a start.

Been watching alot of "Criminal Minds" lately and this one is getting more appealing by the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

My dream job would to be the Irish film censor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Tom Harward

a porn actor, no just joking i know how hard they are working (serious).

film director or astronaut.

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

I considered this myself but found the idea of teaching people to ski everyday to be a little boring. Maybe working as one of the ski patrol guys would be more exciting :pac:?

Perhaps. But you'll have to get qualified up to a certain level to do that. Currently the ski-instructor gig I'm looking at is an internship, so I'd get work out of it for a few months. And it'll give me a qualification to use as a platform to advance in the future if I so choose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭ihsb

I would love to be an event organiser... I do everything I can to get into that line without going back to college but to no avail :( Just lucky I have a job I suppose.