Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

ADVICE??

• 13-02-2012 12:13am
    Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭

I know this isn't a dating site but that's not why I'm here, I'm a fairly average lad, 21, all that craic, but my personality seems to be lacking. I just dont talk a whole lot, man of few words I am called. It affects me with a lot of things, And I"ve been told I have one of them faces that, even when your face is just relaxed it looks like your annoyed. I find it hard to talk to women too and that's the main reason Im putting this up, how can I improve this situation and even meet someone?

Any help is much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

...talk more. It doesn't sound like a problem at all. Try being a bit happier with yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

This is going to end well..

• Registered Users Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Post in personal issues or you're going to have the piss taken out of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Rohypnol , gaffer tape and a van are your friends.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Talk to women. Forget they're women. Most of all forget your own ego and self concern about how you come across and talk more to people. Get involved. Repeat for practice and for life.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Become richer. 60% of the time it works all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

You should get a goatee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

I know this isn't a dating site but that's not why I'm here, I'm a fairly average lad, 21, all that craic, but my personality seems to be lacking. I just dont talk a whole lot, man of few words I am called. It affects me with a lot of things, And I"ve been told I have one of them faces that, even when your face is just relaxed it looks like your annoyed. I find it hard to talk to women too and that's the main reason Im putting this up, how can I improve this situation and even meet someone?

Get off the internet first of all, you meet all sorts of creeps here - you'll never get a woman under 30 and not covered in a pizza topping on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Wait, what:confused:

Wibbs wrote: »
    Talk to women. Forget they're women. Most of all forget your own ego and self concern about how you come across and talk more to people. Get involved. Repeat for practice and for life.

Great advice, I tend to see them as mere screeches in the back of my eardrum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Viagra!! Stop living in denial. It doesn't make you any less of a man*.

*Yes it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Just talk and not care, about five years ago I worked with this guy who was mental (more than a few screws loose) and foxy and tubby but he had no shame whenever I was out with him, went up to every girl, didn't give a shit, tried it on with anyone, pulled every single night, really opened my eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

John Doe1 wrote: »
    well you could force yourself on a woman?

god im bad at this:o

You got that right.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Instead of saying 'hello' in a bar just gently slap you penis against their leg, they love this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'm probably the same as the OP, don't talk a lot and probably look pissed off 99% of the time, only difference is I don't give a toss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

John Doe1 wrote: »
    well you could force yourself on a woman?

That is great advice, I'm sure the woman he forces himself on will be grateful.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭treborflynn

joshrogan wrote: »
    Post in personal issues or you're going to have the piss taken out of you.

you might be right there, sure we'll leave it where is for now and see what happens. Sure we'll get a laugh if nothin else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I knew a guy or two like you. Take an attitude of repentence all the time.. As if you have something to be sorry about (even when you dont).. Or go the evil route.. Reel em in with offers to pay for lots of nice things on a regular basis but grind them down and make them believe their nothing without you?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I dont know you and for all I know you could be quasimodo but most people are actually quite nice and polite if you approach them.
    Stop fretting about it, whats the worst could happen they say no, plenty more fish (rude) in the sea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

OP I just put what you've said into a Text to Speech program. It's made me laugh hard and I don't know why!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Dr. Manhattan

Get off the internet first of all, you meet all sorts of creeps here - you'll never get a woman under 30 and not covered in a pizza topping on the internet.

You say that like it's a bad thing. Dinner and a ride, what more do you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I'm covered in pizza topping????? Why the hell didn't anyone tell me?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Imagine everyone naked when you're talking to them

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Start drinking more and take loads of drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

I think troy mcclure did a cover of this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

You should book yourself a holiday over to Thailand, you'll find that these traits are looked upon more favourably over there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 178 ✭✭Paddy Bateman

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Start drinking more and take loads of drugs.
    And commence piss blasting everyone you meet.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

darokane wrote: »
    Imagine everyone naked when you're talking to them

That could be awkward with a really hot girl, I'd get an erection, start to grin like a fool, turn red and sweat. And dry-humping her isn't going to make things better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

I'm over 30???? Why the hell didn't anyone tell me?!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Been there OP! I could tell you to change our life and personality and become a social/conversational dynamo but that tends not to happen. Quiet people tend to remain quiet people - loud people remain loud. Of course, take any oppurtunity to put yourself out there more but be yourself.

You seem to be saying that you're not great on the first impressions - so you gotta play to your strengths by allowing people (women) to grow to like you........wear them down if you will ;)

So join a team, club or society. There youdon't have to make one big first impression just turn up and have the craic.

Quiet men tend to marry ridiculously chatty women - fact (source: me)

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭Yo! MTV SUCKS

give ecstasy a bash,did wonders for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Dr. Manhattan

coco_lola wrote: »

Jaysis OP, you're only at it a few minutes and you have a 3some. Go you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Take up a sport/join a club that you enjoy that also has women at it. Avoid pubs or 'dating sites/scenarios', they are a horrible place to meet anyone, full of posers and lunatics 'acting normal'.

Oh almost forgot to 'AH' up my answer a little. For quality control, use some common sense when picking a club, think 'competitive triathlon club' instead of 'curves'.... if you know what I mean

coco_lola wrote: »

OP, I hope you life your MILFEs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Become a priest. We need a real life Fr.Stone...

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭treborflynn

Peetrik wrote: »
    Take up a sport/join a club that you enjoy that also has women at it. Avoid pubs or 'dating sites/scenarios', they are a horrible place to meet anyone, full of posers and lunatics 'acting normal'.

Oh almost forgot to 'AH' up my answer a little. For quality control, use some common sense when picking a club, think 'competitive triathlon club' instead of 'curves'.... if you know what I mean
    Been there OP! I could tell you to change our life and personality and become a social/conversational dynamo but that tends not to happen. Quiet people tend to remain quiet people - loud people remain loud. Of course, take any oppurtunity to put yourself out there more but be yourself.

You seem to be saying that you're not great on the first impressions - so you gotta play to your strengths by allowing people (women) to grow to like you........wear them down if you will ;)

So join a team, club or society. There youdon't have to make one big first impression just turn up and have the craic.

Quiet men tend to marry ridiculously chatty women - fact (source: me)

Thanks lads and lassies, gonna look into this club joinin thing, see whats out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Don't feel so bad, Stephen Hawking has the exact same problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Wibbs wrote: »

My trick is to bring a cardboard mask of some lads face, like one of the lads from the Irish rugby team or something, and ask the girl in question would she mind putting it on her, and they usually are very understanding and oblige and then I pretend that the cardboard mask they are wearing is actually real, so if it's one of the rugby lads faces I pretend it is actually them. Then, if me and the mask hit it off, we will usually go back to mine and do the deed, mask intact of course, because otherwise it would be just plain weird ya know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭housetypeb

I just dont talk a whole lot, man of few words I am called. ?

You don't say much-and when you do,you don't say much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Forget about women, they're too complicated, gay is where its happening...

Good luck op :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

TheZohan wrote: »
    Don't feel so bad, Stephen Hawking has the exact same problem.

Wait - wasn't Stephen Hawking married twice? And at least once ever before he was an international, squillionaire science playboy.

Stephen's not doing too bad at all....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

OP - Just hire a hooker,
    women aren't worth the hastle

and Irish women are the biggest b!tches in the world so best off with a hooker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

You'll save a few quid tomorrow so every cloud....... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Don't be fussy. As long as the girls here still drink like fish, you should be ok.
    Apparently we are all as ugly as fcuk here anyway, the competition won't be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Wait - wasn't Stephen Hawking married twice? And at least once ever before he was an international, squillionaire science playboy.

Stephen's not doing too bad at all....

He certainly is not. The point I was making is that they have some similar traits:
    I just dont talk a whole lot, man of few words I am called. It affects me with a lot of things, And I"ve been told I have one of them faces that, even when your face is just relaxed it looks like your annoyed. I find it hard to talk to women too

The bold Stephen kinda looks annoyed all the time too...and he's not much of a talker(those speeches he gives are prepared a long time in advance, in reality it takes a long time to put them together).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Poor Stephen is allegedly being beaten up by his wife. I imagine he can be quite arrogant though so maybe he's asking for it, you just don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Stop being shy.

Life's too short to be a wall flower.

What are you interested in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Poor Stephen is allegedly being beaten up by his wife. I imagine he can be quite arrogant though so maybe he's asking for it, you just don't know.

"He has the mind of a god, the body of a child and the soul of a rat"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Just keep doing squats until your quads could smash her coccyx into a fine paste. Women love that ****.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Funglegunk wrote: »
    Just keep doing squats until your quads could smash her coccyx into a fine paste. Women love that ****.

(independent of you actual post)
    Wow, you really Do like Bladerunner!