Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Father Ted

• Registered Users Posts: 8,406 ✭✭✭Riddle101

xzanti wrote: »
    Father Hank Tree.
    Father Hiroshima Twinkie.
    Father Stig Bubblecard.
    Father Johnny Helzapoppin.
    Father Luke Duke.
    Father Billy Furley.
    Father Chewy Louie.
    Father John Hoop.
    Father Harry Cakelinem.
    Father Rabulah Conundrum.
    Father Pee-wee Stairmaster.
    Father Tri-Peglips.
    FATHER JEMIMAH RACTOOL.
    Father Jerry Twig.
    Father Spodo Komodo.
    Father Canabramalamer.
    Father Todd Unctious.

I wonder did she improvise that or was that actually part of the script? I would imagine she'd have had a hard time doing that scene if she had to remember them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Nerd fact! One of the priest's names she says is Father Neil Hannon, previous front man of the Divine Comedy, and writer of the Father Ted theme tune 'Songs of Love'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Kevin Sharkey, the black priest getting asked about the church in Africa

"Shure how would I know, I'm from Donegal" in his finest Donegal accent

The man is from Killybegs
    Poor Ted just assumed he was African

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

"What's goin' on?"

"I think Ted has a plan"

"No, I mean in general"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Is there anything to be said for saying another mass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Kevin Sharkey, the black priest getting asked about the church in Africa

"Shure how would I know, I'm from Donegal" in his finest Donegal accent

The man is from Killybegs
    Poor Ted just assumed he was African

It was sister monica that says to him about the african church:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭rhonin

Did you know Father Coogan at all, Ted?
    Hmm... Oh, yes. Father Tom Coogan. Wasn't he in Africa?
    He was, with Father Shortall and that load.
    Then he was back in Wicklow.
    I think Windy Shepherd Henderson was his priest there.
    Windy Shepherd Henderson that was in Tralee?
    No, a different Windy Shepherd Henderson.
    - There's four of them. - At least.
    One of them was with Father Daley in Chicago.
    Wasn't he the first man on the scene when Malcom X was assassinated?
    No, that was Father Burke.
    Father Daley had the lump on his head in the shape of Connaught.
    Like Father Caroline - he lost the use of his ears in an accident.
    - He's deaf? - No, just lost the use of his ears.
    He used to be able to wiggle them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,406 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Is there anything to be said for saying another mass?

Oh god how I love saying mass!

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

IM A HAPPY CAMPER!!

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭dougal-maguire

Father Ted hes not a very nice man is he?
    Dougal: god Ted ive never met anyone like him.who would he be like? hitler or one of those mad fellas.
    Father Ted: oh worse than hitler. you wouldnt find hitler playing jungle music at 3 o clock in the morning.

"lets put the brick on the accelerator!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sociallyjaded

robbie7730 wrote: »
    Now Dougal, these Bishops are very important. I’ll stay around you all the time just in case, so you don’t say anything to them that you’re not supposed to say.
    Like what you said to Bishop Lindsay, when .he asked me where I was when Kennedy was shot. You overreacted slightly there.He wasn’t accusing me of anything.

Now jack for the bishops visit i need you remember these phrases.
    1) yes
    2) that would be an ecumenical matter

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

The thing about Fitzgibbon was, he looked like a cup, great big ears!

"Whos that, is that Terry Fields coming back from the disco"
    "No Noel we are just going get some fresh air"
    "Oh dont forget to bring us back some"
    "Haha............................fecking eejit"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Dougal's doing a funeral? :eek:

Love that scene ,

Makes you wonder about the Blackrock Incident

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

"WHAT THE FUP ARE YOU DOIN HERE? THATS MY FUPPIN SPOT, GET THE FUB OFF!!"

TED-"but theres loads off room, can you not go over there?"

"NO FUBBIN WAY!!"

"F..U..B..O..F..F!"

"YEAH FUB OFF, I COME HERE EVERY SUNDAY YOU BAXTER!!

TED- "But its Saturday?"

"GRASSHOLE, THATS IT HHHHEEEEEYYYYYYY, HEEEEEEYYYYYYYY!!

Out comes your man with the wistle out of the little shed, classic!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

skipz wrote: »
    "WHAT THE FUP ARE YOU DOIN HERE? THATS MY FUPPIN SPOT, GET THE FUB OFF!!"

TED-"but theres loads off room, can you not go over there?"

"NO FUBBIN WAY!!"

"F..U..B..O..F..F!"

"Hit him, Frank. I'll hit him for you."
    "She fuppin' would too. And so would I you you fuppin' backstard."

• Registered Users Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

"lets put the brick on the accelerator!"
    "TED! You forgot your brick!" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭buyer95

" Bump "

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

TED: They're probably asleep. I'll just knock very gently on the door.
    DOUGAL: Oh right yeah, so's you won't wake them up.
    TED: Em no, I'll have to wake them so they can let us in.
    DOUGAL: Well, then shouldn't you just knock loudly?
    TED: Right. Good point, Dougal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

K-9 wrote: »
    I love the "down with this type of thing" but more for the start and the Central American priest visiting.

Bit of a Romeo and constant references to sex and presenting them with "these humble, simple presents". Then he drives of in a Porsche! The voiceover interpreting him is class, very clever.

The whistle test is very good, probably the most even episode, just comedy gold throughout.
    That's mad, Ted. The Whistle test is one of only a few that I think just do not work at all - the Christmas one with the priests lost in the lingerie department and the one on the plane are not great either.

Apart from that, my favourites are the Football match episode and its sequel, 'Kicking Bishop Brennan up the Arse" - anything with Bishop Brennan, really.

Yeah - the voice over on the Mexican Priest is brilliant, especially when it gives an English translation of his laugh: "Ha Ha Ha (Ha Ha Ha)"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Fr. Buzz Cagney: Heres a brochure of our parish, its a little dated. We've had a new pool installed since and those girls serving drinks would be in there twenties now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 pissblast

That episode with the Chinese in it and Ted is accused of been racist.

he invites them over to the house and is looking out the window waving at them only there is a piece of dirt on the window and it makes ted look like he has a Hitler Tash and is doin Hitler salutes to them

LOLZ

• Registered Users Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

pissblast wrote: »
    That episode with the Chinese in it and Ted is accused of been racist.

he invites them over to the house and is looking out the window waving at them only there is a piece of dirt on the window and it makes ted look like he has a Hitler Tash and is doin Hitler salutes to them

LOLZ

Afaik, this episode is on RTE2 tomorrow night at 10:35 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,763 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I don't care, as long as I get to have a go at the Greeks! FEkkin Greeks!

Edit: hmmm! 666th post! Arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 pissblast

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Afaik, this episode is on RTE2 tomorrow night at 10:35 :D

sweet ill be tuning in.........AGAIN :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

"Get the fecking Crunchies outta the car"
    Feeona wrote: »
    Loved John and Mary!

Mary-You've a face like a pair of tits.
    John-At least that's one pair between us....ah hello father.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭mysteries1984

Favourite moment in this episode. Always makes me reach for the smokes.

http://images.cheezburger.com/completestore/2011/2/20/6f156d35-7939-4248-8f70-cdbe73e40f0c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

pissblast wrote: »
    sweet ill be tuning in.........AGAIN :)

At least, that information came up on the UPC TV guide ;)

Anyway, I have the whole lot on DVD, I can get up in the middle of the night and watch it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

Nevermind_ wrote: »
    one of my fav hidden jokes in fr ted is in the episode "a song for europe" if you look very carefully at the names of the songs written on the board with the scores behind the presenter, one of the songs is called "ye dirty english bastards" by the hairy bowsies
    Considering the show was only made because a uk broadcaster channel 4 took a chance on it, i thought it was quite funny

Best thing about that was that they used to be a real band. Joe Rooney ( Fr. Damo ) was in it.

My favourite lines would be from the Song for Europe episode:

"I'm looking forward to your entry"

or

Dougal: What time is it Ted?
    Ted: Six
    Dougal: And when is the competition on?
    Ted: May

But by far my favourite character is the Milkman Pat Mustard. The fact the same actor played Burgess in the Snapper was a masterstroke.

Ted: .... because you haven't been taking precautions in the bedroom !
    Pat: You wouldn't be advising the use of artificial contraceptives now would you Father ?!
    Ted: Well, no, .... eh, yes, eh, no ............. JUST FECK OFF!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

we're all going to heaven lads wahaaaaaaaaaay!