Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The State of O'Connell St

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Lars1916 wrote: »
    (A police custody in Germany always has medical staff round the corner)

As do the police stations here.

And usually the junkies say three things:

I want a doctor,i want a solicitor and i want to make a complaint.

The cops have no choice but to hnour all these demands..the doctor gives them drugs,the solicitor tells them to say nothing and the complaint must be dealt with by somebody higher than the arresting officer.

The system is a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Lars1916 wrote: »
    It could maybe start with something they do in Germany. Rather than sending somebody, who is under the influence of drugs into the nearest A&E, send them to police custody. They impose a harm to themselves and others. Maybe that will teach them the right lesson.

(A police custody in Germany always has medical staff round the corner)

It wont teach them any lessons as they have little regard for the law. Most addicts who can't finance their habit will end up well acquainted with their local garda station after a few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

cson wrote: »
    I know my issue with O'Connell St when I started the thread is the absolute abandonement of any sense of City planning with the Corporation. Its a street of Fast Food and Convenience Stores and whilst I understand that you need some of these, the fact that the majority of the street is composed of them is very sad indeed. There exists the potential for a wonderful main thoroughfare. But from what I can see it's doomed due to [a] aforementioned lack of planning the toleration of the behaviour of unsavoury types (the only place I've seen similar in terms of a major City thoroughfare is Wenclaslas Square in Prague, no where else entertains the general gob****ery and scumbag behaviour that I see frequently in O'Connell St) and [c] the fact that its pretty much the major transit hub of the City.

Try the main thoroughfares in Barcelona. They more than give Dublin a run for their money. I have to say, I've walked down and around O'Connell St. loads of times, at all times of day and night, and although I've seen a lot of shítty behaviour I've never noticed open dealing.

The National council for the blind is on the Withworth rd I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Rhand

Degsy wrote: »
    I think thats more to do with the level of overpricing in the hospitality sector..a meal and a few drinks in the touristy areas can cost an arm and a leg.

Dont get me started on the price of drink in Temple Bar:mad:

Just came back from Amsterdam, on average 8€ for a pint of piss they call Heineken in the more touristy areas.
    Temple Bar is not thát bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Rhand wrote: »
    Just came back from Amsterdam, on average 8€ for a pint of piss they call Heineken in the more touristy areas.

Yeah but you cant legally smoke a spliff in a pub here.:D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,761 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Rhand wrote: »

You were rightly ripped off. I visit Amsterdam about twice a year and if you avoid the Red Light district you can get the near equivalent of a pint of Heineken for about €4.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,688 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Ah here... you're moaning about drugs, druggies and dealers on the streets and then you want them in the pubs? You can't have it every way! :D

And... most of you won't believe this, but I walked from East Wall to Grafton street the other day via O'Connell st. and... nothing happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Ah here... you're moaning about drugs, druggies and dealers on the streets and then you want them in the pubs? You can't have it every way! :D

And... most of you won't believe this, but I walked from East Wall to Grafton street the other day via O'Connell st. and... nothing happened.

Were you escorted by a couple of bodyguards? ;)

Seriously, there's a slight difference between smoking some spliff in a supervised area (afaik, the throw people out of a pub in the Netherlands, who even take a syringe out of their pocket) and a busy main road, full of tourists and children.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    You were rightly ripped off. I visit Amsterdam about twice a year and if you avoid the Red Light district you can get the near equivalent of a pint of Heineken for about €4.

Same in Dublin if you avoid Temple Bar, and even in Temple Bar you don't get ripped off like in A'"dam.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

You can't smoke spliffs in pubs in Holland either. Only in coffee shops which cannot sell alcohol, and you can't smoke normal tobacco either.

Pretty soon only dutch nationals and foreignors with a social security number will be allowed smoke in them too.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

ebixa82 wrote: »
    You can't smoke spliffs in pubs in Holland either. Only in coffee shops which cannot sell alcohol, and you can't smoke normal tobacco either.

Pretty soon only dutch nationals and foreignors with a social security number will be allowed smoke in them too.

I predict that not ending well.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

ebixa82 wrote: »

Is that actually happening? Because I'm sure that that has been spoken about for years now and never seems to happen. I'm not sure it's in line with EU law either.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,202 ✭✭✭maximoose

Beefy78 wrote: »
    Is that actually happening? Because I'm sure that that has been spoken about for years now and never seems to happen. I'm not sure it's in line with EU law either.

It is happening in border cities, with plans to introduce it in Amsterdam next year IIRC. However, there is a lot of opposition to it and I can see them overturning it for the capital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Email sent around to businesses today, long but worth reading for an update on what's being done:

The report:
    http://www.dublincitybid.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/193910_Dublin-City-Bid_final-2.pdf
    Dublin City Business Improvement District
    Thursday 21st June 2012

RE: Recommendations to address anti-social behaviour in Dublin City

As you may be aware, during the past two years tackling anti-social behaviour has become one of a main focuses of Dublin City BID. The solutions to this serious problem in Dublin city centre are complex and require a multi-disciplinary approach. Simple sound bites and finger pointing will not yield the desired results. In June 2011 the Strategic Response Group (SRG) was set up as a partnership approach to address public substance misuse and perceived anti-social behaviour in Dublin city centre. Dublin City BID has been a key driver representing the businesses of the city centre on this group. Today (21/06/2012) the SRG published the most comprehensive and innovative multi-agency report and set of recommendations to date, on this topic and was formally launched by the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Andrew Montague.

The report 'A Better City for All' acknowledges that for historical reasons there is a clustering of drug treatment and homelessness services in or adjacent to the inner city. While these services play a major role in the provision of effective treatment to problematic drug users, the report recommends that there should be greater access to prompt provision of treatment options nationally and that people should be treated and accommodated in the most appropriate setting for their circumstances and provided with support services as close to their home as possible.

The findings and recommendations of this report are available to view on Dublin City BID website: http://www.dublincitybid.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/193910_Dublin-City-Bid_final-2.pdf

Speaking at the launch of the report Dublin City BID CEO Richard Guiney called for the support of Government to help implement the recommendations in the report: "The issue of substance misuse and related perceptions of anti-social behaviour is a major issue for Dublin city businesses. For 36% of the population it is the thing that they dislike most about the city and for many it is a reason why they can't enjoy and feel comfortable in our capital city. We now need this process to maintain its momentum, and BID to remain a key driver of it. We need to turn these recommendations into actions, to improve the situation on the ground for businesses, delivery agencies and of course all those who live, work and spend time in Dublin City Centre.

The agencies represented on the group include Ana Liffey Drug Project; An Garda Síochána; the City Clinic (HSE); Drug Treatment Centre Board; Dublin City Business Improvement District; Dublin City Council; Dublin Simon Community; Merchants Quay Ireland; the North Inner City Drugs Task Force; the South Inner City Drugs Task Force; Union for Improved Services, Communication and Education (UISCE).

The report takes a holistic approach to address the issues of the city centre. The group have set out their recommendations in the short, media and long term and under the headings of treatment, rehabilitation, homelessness, policing responses, planning and urban design, legislation and regulation and implementation.

Key recommendations of the report include:

There should be greater access to and prompt provision of treatment options nationally. People should be treated and provided with support services as close to their home as possible. The treatment provided should be of the level of complexity required to meet their needs. This should ensure that people are only using services that are essential and appropriate to meet their needs and that are local to their place of residence. This should involve a relocation of service provision for some people from the city centre area where possible.

Gardaí need to be given powers to deal with street dealing of prescription drugs so as to initiate prosecutions. The SRG supports the current proposals by Roisin ShortallTD, Minister of State with special responsibility for the National Drugs Strategy, to update the Misuse of Drugs legislation in relation to Benzodiazepines. Provisions should also be made for the scheduling of Z-Hypnotics (Zimmovane).
    Emergency accommodation should only ever be used in an 'emergency'. This is often not the case, due to a lack of suitable long-term housing options people often spend long periods in emergency accommodation. Private B&B's are a form of emergency provision which are often not fit for purpose and are without regulatory provision.

To discourage street-drinking, to reduce harm and to offer safer alternatives, accommodation models should be provided where people who wish to consume alcohol can do so in their accommodation under regulated conditions.
    Enhanced public lighting is required to increase public perceptions of safety in particular locations & in general street planning to predict potential use of public spaces.

There is a need to strengthen the links between existing Local Drug Task Forces, particularly in the City Centre area (North Inner City, South Inner City). There is a need to explore a cross North Inner City Local Drugs Task Force and South Inner City Local Drugs Force Partnership Group with a specific focus on implementing the recommendations within this report at a local level.

There is a need to make community-based residential crisis stabilisation/ detoxification unit(s) available. These should target people with problematic poly-substance use (including alcohol) and multiple needs i.e. public injectors, people with mental health issues and people who are homeless.

The issue of substance-related anti-social behaviour is primarily a public health issue and any sustainable long-term solution can only be delivered in that context. As a consequence, the recommendations contained within this report are aimed at investigating ways to deliver people's treatment or accommodation needs in a way that can assure greater public support.

Speaking at the launch the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Andrew Montague said: "There is a serious problem with the sale and swapping of prescription drugs in Dublin city centre. We need to empower the Gardaí to prosecute in cases where offenders are found to be trading prescription drugs, and introduce a national protocol on the prescription of benzodiazepines as a matter of urgency to address problematic issues like repeat prescriptions. Drug users should receive care locally and Methadone treatment must be made promptly available, where the user lives."

Commenting on the report, the Chair of the Strategic Response Group Johnny Connolly said: "This is the first time that all stakeholders including treatment centres, the business community, the Gardaí, Dublin City Council, the drug users forum UISCE and the local task forces have come together to deliver a comprehensive set of recommendations and tangible actions to address this problem. Public commentary on this issue can often lead to an over-simplification of what is a very complex problem. The recommendations in this report are based on research and on the collective approach of professionals who have been working at the coalface of the drugs crisis in Dublin for decades."

Dr. Des Crowley, City Clinic Amiens Street added: "The aims of the HSE drug treatment services are to attract and maintain drug users in services. The retention of services users in treatment is an essential element to addressing health and social care needs associated with drug misuse. Service users are treated through a continuum of care from harm reduction through to drug free residential recognising that opioid dependence is a chronic relapsing condition. Services are best provided as close to a service user's home and in a setting appropriate to their needs involving the service user in their care plan and supporting them to achieve their agreed goals."

The SRG was formed through the work of the Local Business Policing Forum Set up by Former Assistant Garda Commissioner, Michael Feehan and chaired by Former Lord Mayor, Councillor Gerry Breen.

The SRG brings together stakeholders from the services, healthcare, voluntary and business sectors and comprises:

Johnny Connolly - Health Research Board (SRG Chair)
    Colm Browne - South Inner City Drugs Task Force
    Chief Superintendent Pat Leahy, Superintendent Sean Ward & Inspector Jo O'Leary - An Garda Siochana
    Dr. Des Crowley - City Clinic Amiens Street
    Charile Lowe, John McPartlan, Simon Brock- Dublin City Council
    Mark Kennedy - Merchants Quay Ireland
    Mel MacGiobúin - North Inner City Drug Task Force
    Niamh Randall - Dublin Simon Community
    Richard Guiney & Gerard Farrell - Dublin City BID
    Tony Duffin - Ana Liffey Drug Project
    Ruaidhri McAuliffe - UISCE
    Sheila Heffernan & Seamas Noone - Drug Treatment Centre Board (Trinity Court)

Kathryn Ryan

Membership & Communications Manager
    Dublin City Business Improvement District

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

This should ensure that people are only using services that are essential and appropriate to meet their needs and that are local to their place of residence. This should involve a relocation of service provision for some people from the city centre area where possible.

ah yes..keep junkie clinics in council estates, where we can ignore the problem, awesome approach.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

Bambi wrote: »
    ah yes..keep junkie clinics in council estates, where we can ignore the problem, awesome approach.

The problem is being ignored anyway. I'd imagine the relocation of those services to various areas is hoping to stop the massive dealing and associated anti-social behaviour that goes on as a result of almost EVERY junkie coming into the one area for their treatment.

I'd be more concerned with the suggestion that the Gardai start prosecuting those found to be selling prescription drugs as 1) why isn't this being done anyway if it's illegal and b) are there really the resources/space to actually implement it?

As a resident of the area, I welcome any suggestions to improve it and prevent the antisocial behaviour that goes on. I just hope it's not a load of hot air.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

stinkle wrote: »
    The problem is being ignored anyway. I'd imagine the relocation of those services to various areas is hoping to stop the massive dealing and associated anti-social behaviour that goes on as a result of almost EVERY junkie coming into the one area for their treatment.

I'd be more concerned with the suggestion that the Gardai start prosecuting those found to be selling prescription drugs as 1) why isn't this being done anyway if it's illegal and b) are there really the resources/space to actually implement it?

As a resident of the area, I welcome any suggestions to improve it and prevent the antisocial behaviour that goes on. I just hope it's not a load of hot air.

Answer to that is a resounding no,there's not enough resouces/space to deal with current illegal activities,never mind to deal with hundreds of people being found in posession of benzos without a valid script.If this law is passed then it will be ignored by AGS like the ones they ignore right now.Street drinking,open drug dealing etc.

Reports like this have been coming out for decades and the majority of they're suggestions are never implemented,given the state of the country's finances today I doubt that any of these will be either.

The current govt can't even decide where to build a badly needed childrens hospital and a badly needed prison,so I seriously doubt they are capable of solving a problem as complex as this.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Most of those attending city clinics live in that area with the exception of Trinity Court in Pearse St.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

Odysseus wrote: »
    Most of those attending city clinics live in that area with the exception of Trinity Court in Pearse St.

there's still a ridiculous amount of troublemakers travelling into town every day from further afield, you only have to hop on the luas or a bus to notice that. If it isn't for clinics then it must have something to do with getting/selling benzos and the like. If the volume who absolutely need to be in the city could be reduced at all then it's a good thing IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

" An estimated 1,500 heroin users roam the inner city every week after receiving their dose of methadone in one of six clinics.

Gardai on patrol admitted that they are forced to wear stab-proof vests because of the dangers posed to them by out-of-control junkies and alcoholics. "

http://www.herald.ie/news/oconnell-street-is-too-violent-for-me-to-walk-down-alone-senator-3151865.html

Maybe the government will listen to one of their own and do something about O'Connell street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

O'Connell Street is bad, but the saying he wont walk down it on his own is B****cks, typical Herald rubbish. I walk down it very regularly and although its unpleasant, I don't really ever feel unsafe.

mmcn90 wrote: »
    O'Connell Street is bad, but the saying he wont walk down it on his own is B****cks, typical Herald rubbish. I walk down it very regularly and although its unpleasant, I don't really ever feel unsafe.

Last time I was in O'Connell street I was attacked about 30 seconds after stepping off the bus at 1 pm. This was about 2 months ago. I got off the bus with my wife, started to walk and felt something hit my back. I looked behind me and there was this teenager in a tracksuit trying to kick me, He hit my coat instead.

I was about to hit him a punch when I noticed he was about half my size and age. He then took a swing for another passer by, I noticed that he was in the company of several adult junkie women, who were dealing drugs right there at the spike. I just walked on quickly with my wife.

Last time I was in O'Connell street I was attacked about 30 seconds after stepping off the bus at 1 pm

A child half your size tried to kick you and missed.

" An estimated 1,500 heroin users roam the inner city every week after receiving their dose of methadone in one of six clinics.

Gardai on patrol admitted that they are forced to wear stab-proof vests because of the dangers posed to them by out-of-control junkies and alcoholics. "

http://www.herald.ie/news/oconnell-street-is-too-violent-for-me-to-walk-down-alone-senator-3151865.html

Maybe the government will listen to one of their own and do something about O'Connell street.

What a wuss.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

To say you feel so unsafe you wont walk down O'Connell street is ridiculous. I walked the length of Marlborough street twice a day 5 days a week for 6 years in a row, nothing ever happened to me and not once did I feel threatened.

I'm not a big guy, when you actually walk by these zombies instead of doing your best to avoid them you'll realise there a bunch of people who can barely stand because they're so out of their heads. One tried to take a swing at my friend before, he fell over in the process and only hurt himself. That's the limit for how "threatened" I've felt.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    A child half your size tried to kick you and missed.

Dont be a smart arse. He was old enough to do damage and a good 5 foot 5, I just happen to be bigger than most people. If it was a smaller man? a woman? an elderly person? You think this is normal? He wasnt attacking just me, he was attacking lots of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,045 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

that senator is a p**sy in fairness....probably doing more harm than good with that crap...

Dont be a smart arse.

Easy tiger, I just think there's a touch of drama to your post about being "attacked".

Dont be a smart arse. He was old enough to do damage and a good 5 foot 5, I just happen to be bigger than most people. If it was a smaller man? a woman? an elderly person? You think this is normal? He wasnt attacking just me, he was attacking lots of people.

Ah the joys of being bigger than most people, hit someone back and you're a bully, do nothing and you're a pussy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

All uniformed Gardai wear stab vests when on patrol don't they?it's not just exclusive to those who patrol O'Connell Street.

The only uniformed Garda that I've seen not wearing one was up in my Dad's tiny hometown in Donegal.More Herald sensationalism!

That senator is going a bit overboard too,I know O'Connell Street aint pretty and the addicts are a major pain in the arse to local businesses,but I walk up and down the street every morning and evening and never felt unsafe.I've walked there on nights out at 1/2am and it's no different to any other street at night.You'll be fine if you keep your wits about you,like in any other major city.