Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What do you like and hate most about Ireland?

• 14-02-2012 8:32pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 53 ✭✭

What one thing would you change if you could?

What do you hope never changes?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

The Irish
    and
    The Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭cena

i_am_job wrote: »

To much drinking in the country. I also find many Irish people very rude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Leo Dowling

I would change the language spoken on lunch break from Dutch to English.

I hope the English guy never comes back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Thats OPs give their opinon

The thanks button

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭ICANN

I both love and hate the way everyone knows everyone else and everything about everyone and your business is never private and when you walk into town you meet about 12 people you know and on nights out you'll always see loads of people you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

The soundness of most people.

The price of drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I love the Irish people :D

I hate myself :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

the smart cúnts that post on boards... ya gotta love em :)

on the downside, the country is a kip :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 178 ✭✭Paddy Bateman

Hate Vodafone ! I'd like to go into their shops and blast their display with copious amounts of piss !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Like :

"i was only havin the craic / ahh come on gard" can get you out of legal trouble
    being far too drunk on a night out is not only acceptable, its encouraged
    casual racism is a delightful topic of conversation in pubs and taxis
    tax avoision is fairly handy
    not too hot a country

dislike :

travellers
    foreigners who dont work
    our far too generous social welfare system
    junkies
    drugs being illegal
    high tax rates particularly on cars/fuel
    speed targets too low on motorways
    the joe duffy brigade
    theres no law that enables the police to arrest / club away the shell2sea and other hippy groups
    the rain
    smokes and drink are too expensive
    guns illegal

• Registered Users Posts: 17 deadchap

Like: The landscape - especially the west coast.

Hate: The drink culture, especially how it is ingrained into almost every aspect of Irish life. You don’t notice it when you live there but when you live in another culture for a while as I have done for the past 13 years you get to see how much of a harmful impact alcohol has on a society and in particular everyday live in Ireland. For the record I still like a few drinks now and again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 53 ✭✭i_am_job

Like :

"i was only havin the craic / ahh come on gard" can get you out of legal trouble
    not too hot a country

dislike :

travellers
    foreigners who dont work
    junkies
    drugs being illegal
    the joe duffy brigade
    theres no law that enables the police to arrest / club away the shell2sea and other hippy groups
    the rain
    guns illegal

you the man !!! great answer, I agree with AAALLL of your points !!

everyone else deserves a facepalm, except cartman

............................................________
    ....................................,.-‘”...................``~.,
    .............................,.-”...................................“-.,
    .........................,/...............................................”:,
    .....................,?......................................................\,
    .................../...........................................................,}
    ................./......................................................,:`^`..}
    .............../...................................................,:”........./
    ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../
    ............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../
    .........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`........_/
    ..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.......,.-~-,},.~”;/....}
    ...........((.....*~_.......”=-._......“;,,./`..../”............../
    ...,,,___.\`~,......“~.,....................`.....}............../
    ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-”
    ............/.`~,......`-...............................\....../\
    .............\`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....\,__
    ,,_..........}.>-._\...................................|..............`=~-,
    .....`=~-,_\_......`\,.................................\
    ...................`=~-,,.\,...............................\
    ................................`:,,...........................`\..............__
    .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
    ........................................_\..........._,-%.......`\
    ...................................,<`.._|_,-&``................`\

everyone else deserves a facepalm, except cartman

............................................________
    ....................................,.-‘”...................``~.,
    .............................,.-”...................................“-.,
    .........................,/...............................................”:,
    .....................,?......................................................\,
    .................../...........................................................,}
    ................./......................................................,:`^`..}
    .............../...................................................,:”........./
    ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../
    ............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../
    .........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`........_/
    ..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.......,.-~-,},.~”;/....}
    ...........((.....*~_.......”=-._......“;,,./`..../”............../
    ...,,,___.\`~,......“~.,....................`.....}............../
    ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-”
    ............/.`~,......`-...............................\....../\
    .............\`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....\,__
    ,,_..........}.>-._\...................................|..............`=~-,
    .....`=~-,_\_......`\,.................................\
    ...................`=~-,,.\,...............................\
    ................................`:,,...........................`\..............__
    .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
    ........................................_\..........._,-%.......`\
    ...................................,<`.._|_,-&``................`\

Why we all deserve a faceplam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

cena wrote: »

Because OP is new. It's the boards equivalent of a first communion for the wee ones.

Irish People are one of the friendliest people in the world ?? :eek: fool !!

Were do you get that. I've see none irish people that are much nicer than the Irish.

you said we are rude

I said many irish not all

you said we are rude

Irish people are (in very general terms) superficially friendly. Think about it this way, you could have the night of your life with someone on a night out on the town who you've just met (Ireland's friendly face), the next day it's perfectly normal for them to blank you on the street (the real face of Ireland's friendliness). With that, the level of bitching in this country about people who are supposedly friends with each other is unreal!! At least in other countries you know where you stand with someone. And I say this as an Irish person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Like :
    Natural beauty of the Country
    Our rich cultural history and our scholars and scientists' work internationally recognised
    Irish dancing - nothing hotter than a beautiful girl Irish dancing IMO!
    General friendliness of everyone here.

Dislike :
    Trad Music (OCD central, the same 4 lines of melody over and over again)
    The constant never ending rain.
    People thinking it's so clever to be a lout when they drink. It's possible to drink, have a good time, and not be a prick.
    People's obsession with owning property.
    Everything being taxed.
    Self Employed people being classed in the same league as big issue sellers.
    No proper road network, and the general poor condition of roads here.
    The exhorbitant cost of mobile phone ownership here.

Owen wrote: »
    Like :
    Natural beauty of the Country
    Our rich cultural history and our scholars and scientists' work internationally recognised
    Irish dancing - nothing hotter than a beautiful girl Irish dancing IMO!
    General friendliness of everyone here.

Dislike :
    Trad Music (OCD central, the same 4 lines of melody over and over again)
    The constant never ending rain.
    People thinking it's so clever to be a lout when they drink. It's possible to drink, have a good time, and not be a prick.
    People's obsession with owning property.
    Everything being taxed.
    Self Employed people being classed in the same league as big issue sellers.
    No proper road network, and the general poor condition of roads here.

I would also like to add poor public transport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Hey, at least we talk Dutch in the canteen for the benefit of Dutch colleagues who are over!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I also find many Irish people very rude.

Shuddup you.

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Like :

not too hot a country

dislike :

travellers
    foreigners who dont work
    junkies
    drugs being illegal
    the joe duffy brigade
    the rain
    guns illegal
    Agree with most of that but why do you want guns to be legal? What do you want to do with it? Also some travellers are sound, probably in the minority at this stage but there are still good ones out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

Although Im Irish and have never lived anywhere else, the one thing that impresses me about every single other country I have been to, is the food.
    Here you get no variety, tiny portions and its so expensive.
    Been watching Diners, Drive Ins and Dives in sky, american food..wow..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭alphanine

Like :

not too hot a country

dislike :

travellers
    foreigners who dont work
    junkies
    drugs being illegal
    the joe duffy brigade
    the rain
    guns illegal

Agree fully!

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Agree with most of that but why do you want guns to be legal? What do you want to do with it? Also some travellers are sound, probably in the minority at this stage but there are still good ones out there.

id say less than 1 in 10 are above board. and guns are a great equalizer , it enables even a small woman to stop a mugging etc.. the rates of burglaries and muggings by opertunistic thieves, small time junkies and kids would fall through the floor, the roma lads would all have to stop trying to steal phones out of handbags etc.. for fear of being shot.

BengaLover wrote: »
    Although Im Irish and have never lived anywhere else, the one thing that impresses me about every single other country I have been to, is the food.
    Here you get no variety, tiny portions and its so expensive.
    Been watching Diners, Drive Ins and Dives in sky, american food..wow..

that show is the greatest food program ever known

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I like bacon.

I dislike cabbage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

The Weather.

the fact that everything is so dam expensive. anyone been bowling lately? jesus christ they should be wearing balliers..

RichieC wrote: »
    The Weather.

the fact that everything is so dam expensive. anyone been bowling lately? jesus christ they should be wearing balliers..

Not been bowling in years. How much is it now to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

Mentioned already - The percentage of proper obnoxious, intrusive apes you might encounter on a night out as opposed to the genial, good-natured types you'd rather talk to. People's heads get so addled on booze far too often and it's shameful.

There's an insidious sense of entitlement to a lot of kids these days too. This coupled with the above is feckin tiresome.

It's not something that only happens here obviously but as the thread title is prompting it's something that I hate about Ireland.

Not been bowling in years. How much is it now to go

Last time I went it was with a coupon and it was 7 euro for a single game. afaik it's like 20+ an hour.

not just bowling, though. the cinema, went to see cptn america, 12 euro in, 3 euro for glasses. 6 euro for the scabbiest thing of iced cream I've ever seen, it was like a sample.

Every time a mate puts forwards ideas like paintball I just cringe at the thought of what it costs.

btw iamjob are you being payed to start all these threads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Big Johnson

Like: Poitín

Dislike: RTÉ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Speedy199

The government :) <
    dislike

Like the Irish culture :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I like the sense of community, the people, the craic.

I hate the way the country is run. The Irish people deserve better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Love - Ireland

Hate - your goverment

* I am not local.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I like the sense of community, the people, the craic.

I hate the way the country is run. The Irish people deserve better.

Do we though? The same knobs are voted in each and every time. The same promises are made and broken. We all complain yet do nothing and then repeat the cycle come next election. We learn nothing.

I think we deserve the mess we're in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,528 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Jesus, don;t live in canada then. you get charged for answering the bloody phone, and the rates are about double that in ireland.

Like:
    the craic - its not the same in another country
    proper chippers
    bogs & big brown mountains

Dislike:
    The increase in scumbags the last time I went home
    the politicians, and the fact people still vote for them regardless of what they do
    anyone on either rte or rtv3 - tubridy, brendan o'connor, miriam, brendan courtney, bill cullen, glenda gilson, lorraine keane - vacuous tools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Like: Guinness
    Hate: Weather
    guns illegal

Guns aren't illegal in Ireland, you just need a license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Guill

Like: Ireland
    Hate: Everyone on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Do we though? The same knobs are voted in each and every time. The same promises are made and broken. We all complain yet do nothing and then repeat the cycle come next election. We learn nothing.

I think we deserve the mess we're in.
    Yes we do deserve better because despite all the idiots in Ireland, we're still capable of producing world class people in this country.

You didn't even say one ****ing damn positive thing about Ireland ?? Are you even Irish?

1/4 irish. Why worry if I don't say anything positive about Ireland. Its nice when sunny out but thats only if your in the right spot to see the nature of Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

number10a wrote: »
    Irish people are (in very general terms) superficially friendly. Think about it this way, you could have the night of your life with someone on a night out on the town who you've just met (Ireland's friendly face), the next day it's perfectly normal for them to blank you on the street (the real face of Ireland's friendliness). With that, the level of bitching in this country about people who are supposedly friends with each other is unreal!! At least in other countries you know where you stand with someone. And I say this as an Irish person.

I hear this bandied around a fair bit and I have to disagree. No one in any country I've lived in (I don't live in Ireland right now) or have ever visited goes to the pub to make life-long friends. You go to enjoy yourself for the night. If you meet someone, have the laughs, say goodbye and don't acknowledge them the next day, is not because we're superficialy friendly necessarily, I reckon it's because we were probably baloobas when we met them and are either a) not quite sure it's them or b) we wouldn't have a fecking clue what to say to them standing on Grafton street the following day beyond the laughs in the pub. The Irish are quite shy underneath it all. Don't mistake that for ignorance. And you're not obliged to stay in touch with everyone you meet...there's a poetic beauty in meeting a stranger, sharing a laugh and saying goodbye....and not bloody share Facebook details or whatever.

Anyway, I never get to talk to randomers here in Madrid....not the done thing unless you're getting chatted up. I'd rather have the craic with a stranger and be ignored the following day (because in all honesty, that suits me too...I hate awkward silences...like everyone) then to not have the chance to.

Like: The sense of humour most of all.

Dislike: The destruction of our beautiful island by shady property developers.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Like:
    Our culture
    The Irish sense of humour
    The fact that our little country has produced so many great musicians and artists
    James Joyce and Oscar Wilde

Dislike:
    The vast majority of our politicians
    The amount of scumbags and boy racers
    The justice system
    The D4 accent and how everything is being Americanized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

People is what I love here most. Genuine, nice, smart, generous Irish people.
    And what I do hate most? The apathy of the middle class. If they are not directly affected in their semi-detached house, two cars, 2,4 kids, mortgage paid, they won't do a ****. And even when something affects them, they still won't do anything. They will still blindly believe local TD, who needs their vote once a lifetime, but won't do anything for them. They still won't go into the streets to say "enough", and keep on laughing at people who have the moral grounds and believe to do something that is not only for pure personal benefit, like occupying a street or parking a cement-mixer to point out at the worst.