Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread (15/02/2012 to 01/05/2012)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭surferdudz

my friend wrote: »
    I am waiting for the revelation about the trip to the miraculous Gerry Ryan Bench

and dont forget Padre Pio's glove...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

I'm giving this til 2pm and then the radio's going off....

did she get married in the end??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

telekon wrote: »
    Have you hacked my computer?

Dont be complaining, I left your stash of "adult art movies" alone.. (though I did take a copy)..

The show was actually better last week with Damo in the chair. That's how bad it is. :(

"The Government have decided that it's too expensive"...

No Joe, the Government have decided that you, Tubridy and thousands of other public servants are NOT too expensive..

Dont be complaining, I left your stash of "adult art movies" alone.. (though I did take a copy)..

Erm, they were already there when I got it... :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

harsh truths on Ippy
    A total of 676 melanoma patients were enrolled. Drugs were given to patients in a ratio of approximately 3:1:1. That is, about three times as many were given ipilimumab plus gp100 as either ippy alone or gp100 alone:
    Number of Enrolled Subjects Ippy
    Plus Gp100
    Ippy
    Alone
    Gp100
    Alone
    403 137 136 By the end of 55 months, all the patients had died. Neither ippy nor gp100 saved any lives. At the end of two years, the results didn't look much better. At 12 months, 63% of all the patients had died. At the end of two years, 86% of the patients were dead.

Nearly all the patients had adverse events during the study: 98.4% of the ippy + gp100, 96.9% of the ippy alone, and 97% of the gp100 alone. No discussion of how these events affected quality of life was included in the study, though they included vomiting, abdominal pain, decreased appetite, fatigue, headache, cough, difficulty breathing, anemia, pruritis, rash, vitiligo, diarrhea, colitis, and other disorders that obviously diminish comfort and pleasure in life.
    Here are the number of patients from each group who were still alive at 4, 8, 12, and 24 months:
    Number (Percent) of Patients Alive Number
    of Months
    Ippy
    Plus Gp100
    Ippy
    Alone
    Gp100
    Alone
    4 297 (73.70%) 106 (77.37%) 93 (68.38%) 8 223 (55.33%) 79 (57.66%) 58 (42.65%) 12 163 (40.45%) 56 (41.18%) 32 (23.35%) 24 54 (13.40%) 24 (17.65%) 16 (11.68%) A serious anomaly shows up in this table. Notice that the combination of ippy and gp100 seems to indicate a poorer result than ippy alone? One must wonder if, perhaps, gp100 causes more deaths than placebo. These results might indicate that to be the case. If so, then this entire trial is nothing but a hoax.
    The authors claim that the median length of survival was 10.1 months in patients who received ippy alone, 10.0 months in those who received ippy + gp100, and 6.4 months in patients receiving gp100 alone. That sounds impressive—if you don't look at the study as a whole.
    There are several glaring flaws in this trial, and the most obvious is the lack of a placebo. It's quite interesting that modern medical pseudoscience insists that a placebo be included in any non-pharmaceutical trial, but seems to have no problem when one isn't used in a trial of a Big Pharma product. In this case, the situation is even worse, since ippy is being compared with an unapproved drug, one that has no track record.
    On looking at the actual results in terms of percentages of patients alive over the first two years, the results become downright suspicious. By combining the drug being tested with the control (gp100), a serious anomally becomes apparent:
    When ippy is combined with gp100, the number of dead patients increases over ippy alone.
    That would indicate that the trial compared ippy against a drug that decreases lifespan.
    And that would explain why ippy wasn't trialed against a placebo.
    A placebo would do better than a drug that kills more patients than it helps—and it looks like gp100 may do just that, at least in this sort of patient. So, the only benefit this trial seems to show is that ippy helps counteract the ill effects of another drug.
    It's [slightly] possible that the action of ippy is depressed when in combination with gp100. But it flies in the face of logic to believe the researchers chose to compare ippy with gp100—instead of the so-called "gold standard" of a placebo—without having some idea of what the results would be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

telekon wrote: »
    Erm, they were already there when I got it... :o

Ah yes the old "The porn was just resting on my computer/I was looking after it for a friend" story.

syklops wrote: »
    Ah yes the old "The porn was just resting on my computer/I was looking after it for a friend" story.

Yes, my wife is actually THAT stupid. :D

anyone still there?/

surferdudz wrote: »
    anyone still there?/

2011-12-joe-duffy-and-daughter-ellen-duffy.jpg

his number 1 fan is.....

2.01pm. I'm outta here. My new strategy from now on is to give it 15 minutes as you can generally tell the way Joe will take the show. And I'm in no form for more misery porn today. Try and enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

Me gone too, can't stomach this crap.

Next up, John from Coolock...

John: 'hello Joe'

Joe: 'John, what's wrong John?'

John: 'I want to smoke 60 a day but on the scratch I can only afford 40'

• Registered Users Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭furiousox

Big sign on Joe's desk....

DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES SAY
    "HOW DOES IT MAKE YOU FEEL...?"

CPL 593H

Pavlova is not recommended for a clapped out Liver

fair dues , yer wan sounds really up beat and motivated...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭sudzs

Just tuned in.... what's it all about today??

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Rosiestar

the 'Dublin' show......

Joe: 'go ahead Benny'

Benny' : 'joe, I called Pfizer in Cork, I said, here lads yee are makin the Viagra here in me backyard could ye throw me a couple of shovel loads?'

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

Just in.......more misery porn......I'm out! his nipple clamps must be burning.

And another Unfunny Friday to come, hope Lyons Tea are happy to be sponsoring this shlte. :(

90247327.jpg

Just hope Moncrieff is in good humour.

"Anything we can do"..

Well Joe, you could take a reasonable wage from the state, and stop milking the place dry.. how about that, ye greedy boll1x...

Its NOT a cure

duFFy is an idiot

do some research you dick

*Ippy was not trialled V a placebo, just other 'failed' treatments, it was always going to shine.... its at best a 'short time buyer'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

2 pages of comments in 40 minutes.

says it all really.

and Fianna Fail still polling over 20%

you all get what you deserve

joe is an idiot for not correcting these women

the drug approval is not decided on an individual basis

to allow them to refer to a family member of a TD is ridiculous

thats not how its calculated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

my friend wrote: »
    joe is an idiot for not correcting these women

the drug approval is not decided on an individual basis

to allow them to refer to a family member of a TD is ridiculous

thats not how its calculated

The gombeen/clientelist politics that sunk the country. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭sudzs

I wonder if the Padre Pio brigade are ringing in frantically with the offer of his magic gloves?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

sudzs wrote: »
    I wonder if the Padre Pio brigade are ringing in frantically with the offer of his magic gloves?!
    Did he have a magic hat at all I wonder?