Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Broadband connected but no internet access!

Options
  • 15-02-2012 1:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭

Wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction. I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to broadband.

I recently got Vodafone at Home landline and wireless broadband installed. I use a PC, laptop and smartphone to access the internet. The connection for the PC and smartphone works perfectly. The laptop on the other hand indicates that the wireless network is connected, but when I try to access the internet via firefox or IE7 I get errors.

I called Vodafone tech support but they were only able to establish that the network is OK, (ping test etc) and the problem is with the settings on my laptop.

I tried - temporarily - disabling the firewall, this didn't work. I uninstalled other software I use online such as ExpatShield. The laptop itself is about 8 years old and connects using a removable PCI card.

It's a real pain as the whole point of wireless is being able to use it anywhere in the house, and I'm still chained to my PC! (but at least I have something!)

Any ideas appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭FSL

If you run ipconfig from a command prompt window what is the output?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,291 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

What encryption is the router set to, and what encryption does the card support?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭Aglomerado