Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assassins Creed 3

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Real tempted to get this but only played the first one,would it be a bad idea just jumping straight into this one?

I'd recommend playing II and Brotherhood, and Youtubing the final 20 mins or so of Revelations on Youtube if you like Altair and Ezio as characters.

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭Stooped

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    I'd recommend playing II and Brotherhood, and Youtubing the final 20 mins or so of Revelations on Youtube if you like Altair and Ezio as characters.

I am going to have to disagree with that. I remember Alex Hutchinson talking about that new people can adjust easily to AC III since it is a new beginning after all. And anyway, I started off by playing Revelations and I understood it. Just go look up the plot summary on wikipedia or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,829 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Ya but ac 2 and brotherhood are too good to pass up, way better than ac 1. Id recommend ac2 for cheap and lash into it until ac 3 comes out

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Ya but ac 2 and brotherhood are too good to pass up, way better than ac 1. Id recommend ac2 for cheap and lash into it until ac 3 comes out

+1, I thought AS1 was quite boring and repetitive. But AS2 was an absolute dream of a game. Thinking about ordering AS Brotherhood as well as revelations because they can be bought so cheap online now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Ya I didn't even finish ac1 I got so bored of it

• Registered Users Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Stooped wrote: »
    And anyway, I started off by playing Revelations and I understood it. Just go look up the plot summary on wikipedia or something.

You understood it? As in, you understood what the Apple was, who Ezio is and why he's on this journey to recover the Apple? Who Desmond is? The Animus? Altair? the Templars role in the narrative? the role of the Assassins? etc etc...

As for reading the plot summary on wiki? Does that not fly in the face of what makes games so much better than films or books as a medium of entertainment? The interactivity of the narrative? Especially a game that has such an excellent story and characters that is worth investing your time in to play.

As for the recommendations of AC2, I cannot agree more. It is by far the more complete of the games in the storyline.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

ACII is probably the most vital, plotwise, but to be honest, Brotherhood is easily the best gameplay experience IMHO.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,650 ✭✭✭✭Penn

ACII is probably the most vital, plotwise, but to be honest, Brotherhood is easily the best gameplay experience IMHO.

To be honest, I disagree. The inclusion of the crossbow made Brotherhood too easy because it was silent and could kill most guards in one shot. While Brotherhood had more variety and moves, the crossbow and the chain kills just made the whole game that bit easier. ACII was more of a challenge, and even though it lacked some of Brotherhood's variety, it was still varied enough not to feel overly repetitive.

Yeah, the crossbow made things a bit easy but building your assassins in Brohood and then whistling them to call them into action was brilliant. I remember taking down all the towers in Brohood but only did 1 in Revelations. Dunno how Revelations got it so wrong. I'm just hoping Ubi go back to what made AC2/Brotherhood so good. Really looking forward to AC 3.

Also, I spent more time in MP than I thought I would and was a great addition to the series, just a shame about the MP trophies.

Yeah, the crossbow made things a bit easy but building your assassins in Brohood and then whistling them to call them into action was brilliant. I remember taking down all the towers in Brohood but only did 1 in Revelations. Dunno how Revelations got it so wrong. I'm just hoping Ubi go back to what made AC2/Brotherhood so good. Really looking forward to AC 3.

Also, I spent more time in MP than I thought I would and was a great addition to the series, just a shame about the MP trophies.

Yeah, I platinum'd ACII and got all but one of the main Brotherhood trophies because of that one where the only real way of getting was by getting a few people together and help each other get it (something about 15 different kill bonuses in one match). It just never seemed like one you could get on your own because you can't account for other people playing to win and messing you up when you nearly have it.

Never really got into the MP for Revelations though. I think it was the new game modes. Just never interested me enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,568 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

AC2 is the only game I have platinumed, and the only one I ever felt I wanted to.

I really enjoyed Brotherhood too, got hours and hours of gameplay out of it. Revelations was a bit 'meh' imo, I found it harder to get into that I did the other two.

Still very much looking forward to AC3 though as the standard formula of jumping from rooftop to rooftop has at least been diluted with some other sequences to avoid repetition.

Sh*t just got real. In the pic below, the MMA event one turns out to have a file name 7a850ebe3e63c7865ec4eeac1506c051.jpg and it's hash value is 'Look Elsewhere'. Sure enough there is a hidden image (a man inbetween the 2 screens). Zooming in reveals a QR code. Scanning the code brings you to a website asking you to log in. Using the password 'desmond', you are brought to the 'Declaration of Independence' and asked to decipher it. The bottom line has R-G-B in it. Changing to the Blue channel shows a huge string of numbers. Entering this deciphers the declaration and you are shown the 'Story of Desmond' trailer that we have already seen. People who solved it put it on youtube, hence Ubi said it was 'leaked'.

Fair play Ubi, thats f*cking class!

Wish I found this myself but only stumbled across it on the link below.

http://2d-code.co.uk/assassins-creed-3-qr-code/

teaser-image.jpg

teaser-image-zoom.jpg

Argh!

Was going to take next Wednesday off work for this but can't now. However, that also means that since I pre-ordered it, I wouldn't be able to pick it up until Friday evening, by which point it could be out of stock.

I've called Gamestop to see if they can move my pre-order to another Gamestop where I might be able to collect it from. Waiting on a call back.

Why does everything bad in the world always happen to me?

Did you get some special edition Penn? If not, you should cancel and order with Gamesnash, cheaper and deliver to wherever you will be.

On a side note, I was gonna dress as Ezio for Halloween this year but the costume looks like a lot of work and you would need a hidden blade to complete it so I didn't bother. I just saw this on Gamestop website for 38 euro. Will surely get it cheaper next year off ebay or amazon. Next years costume sorted!

AssassinsCreed_Gauntlet.png

Did you get some special edition Penn? If not, you should cancel and order with Gamesnash, cheaper and deliver to wherever you will be.

Yeah, was getting the Freedom Edition Gamestop had (figurine of Connor). They say they can't move my pre-order digitally, I have to go in and do it (which wouldn't be until Saturday).

Just talked to someone in the other Gamestop (the one where I'd be able to pick it up from Wednesday evening) and he said they can't book pre-orders over the phone as you have to put a deposit on it, but given how I had it pre-ordered in the other store (and having explained my situation), he said he'd put a fiver on it for me and I pay him back this Saturday.

Faith in Gamestop: Renewed.

Just read some new info about the Assassins Creed film
    Ubisoft has 'fast tracked' the Assassin's Creed movie, as a new deal has been announced. Michael Fassbender (Prometheus, X-Men: First Class) is set to star and co-produce it.

Unlike many other video game adaptations, Ubisoft has retained creative control on this.

I like how Ubi has creative control so some VIP dope doesn't go adding millions of explosions and other nonsense. So ye think it will be about Altair, Ezio, Connor or a new assassin. Fassbender to play one or will he be Desmond?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Was just reading about AC3 On wiki

" It will be open for the player to take part in hunting activities, and approximately one third of the story will take place in the Frontier.[17] The entire Eastern seaboard will also be explorable via Connor captaining a ship"

The world map must be huge :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Only gripe is them spelling his name with two n's:P

I think I need to preorder this :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I think I need to preorder this :eek:

Yes, yes you do. Just over a week away for us. Hopefully the fact I preordered with Ubi directly, I might get it the Monday. There can be no true despair without hope :pac:

Fingers and toes crossed anyways :p

The Gaming Liberty are giving away the Freedom Edition for XBOX

http://www.thegamingliberty.com/2012/10/win-assassins-creed-iii-freedom-edition-for-the-xbox-360/

There is a 35 minute vid by the devs showing how they made the game, very interesting watch

Also, just read that PS3 is getting an exclusive extra 60 minute mission on all editions, nice one!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,707 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Assassin's Creed film has to beat this first:

• Registered Users Posts: 17 AlanC275.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zs0GPz2O-KY

Cant wait!!!

We wont get the flag or buckle though :(

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭Drum.lad

AlanC275. wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zs0GPz2O-KY

Cant wait!!!

We wont get the flag or buckle though :(

Least we get a steel-book case :)

• Registered Users Posts: 17 AlanC275.

Drum.lad wrote: »
    Least we get a steel-book case :)

And the statue most important! Gamestop are doing a mid-night release to!

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭Drum.lad

AlanC275. wrote: »
    And the statue most important! Gamestop are doing a mid-night release to!

Oh yes that statue will go well with my ezio. Never gone to a midnight opening before but i might give it a go.

Game Informer: "10 Cool Things You Didn't Know About Assassin's Creed III"
    No story spoilers but I will hide the below in case people don't want to know about the new feature and gameplay additions. Really sounds class.
    1. The Homestead: Remember the renovation minigame from ACII and on? Pay money to renovate buildings, earn income from said buildings, then use that income to renovate more buildings, and the cycle goes on... well, take that concept and blow it up into a full-fledged game area complete with missions, characters,and exploration. A fine example: early in the game, Connor saves a damsel in distress from poachers in the woods, after taking her home and disposing of said poachers, she agrees to take up shelter in the area and takes up hunting, eventually her hunting skills produce pelts and furs and meats that she can trade with the local folks. She eventually obtains her own shack on the residence and gains artisan skills which you can use to craft things.

Just like previous games, your endeavors gain you mementos that sit on your shelves in your home base.

2. The Underground: The fast travel system has gained a much more complex and interactive upgrade. Where as before it was all about spending money to travel by horse or renovate a tunnel, now it's based entirely around gameplay. Throughout the game you will find entrances to the historic Masonic tunnels that run beneath New York and Boston. Once in the tunnels, lantern in hand, you will find puzzles left behind by the ancient Masons, these puzzles range from lockpicking challenges to light and shadow puzzles (Echochrome II anyone?). Solving the puzzle unlocks an exit to a different part of the city, and from that point on that location becomes unlocked fro fast travel.

3. Pirates, Ships and Treasure!: Sure, we all knew about the naval battles in ACIII, but what we didn't know was how much of the story actually takes place on the high seas. There's realism at play here, you can control the ship's speed with the tap of a button, butt he faster you're going, the less maneuverability you have. Wind direction (which is displayed on your mini-map) plays a role in affecting the speed and movement of your ship as well. There's also the ability to fire cannons, command your crew to "hit the deck" and ect.

There are three major roles that the naval sections play in the game. One is privateer missions, which consist of ship-to-ship battles where your goal is to take control of the waters back from the templars, similar to Den Defense from Revelations.

The second role is an important story mission involving Nicholas Biddle, a well-known naval officer of the time.

And the third is treasure hunting. You find hidden chests with special trinkets that you trade with a guy named Pegleg back at your Homestead, for which he gives you a letter revealing the location of one of six torn pieces of a map when, put together reveal the location of the secret treasure left behind by infamous pirate Captain Kidd. This is assumed to be the replacement to the Romulus Lairs or Assassin's Tombs of former games.

4. Synchronization: Getting full synch in missions is gone about differently this time around. Rather than give you a 50% or 100% based on an optional objective, the game awards you synch points for how close to full synch you are. And many of the missions have multiple optional objectives, such as "perform three ledge assassinations OR do not be detected during infiltration". You can do one or the other, however doing both will award you more synch points. You can check the DNA section in the start menu to see your synch points and to replay any mission with hopes of getting a higher score. The more points you unlock the more bonuses you unlock, such as concept art and additional outfits for Connor.

5. Almanacs: Benjamin Franklin has lost the pages of "Poor Richard's Almanac" and it's up to you to find them. The pages can be stuck in doorways, under barrels, ect. Getting near them triggers an event where the page gets caught in the wind and you must chase it down. This is just one of many low priority sidequests.

6. Clubs: Performing certain actions gains the attention of certain individuals, who eventually invite you to join their clubs, there are clubs for Hunting, Fighting, Thievery and there's even an Explorer's Club run by Daniel Boone. These clubs send you off to complete certain tasks such as hunting certain types of animals or debunking myths about sea monsters and UFOs.

7. Board Games: When you get tired of all the running, climbing, jumping, hunting, fishing, exploring, fighting, killing, stealing and falling to your death, why not try you hand at a board game? We've got Nine Mans Morris, Fanorona, and um... well there's Checkers, you know that one right?

8. The New Brotherhood This time your Brotherhood of assassins isn't just a random string of saving citizens in peril, each assassin recruit has a unique backstory, personality and set of skills. Also, assassin recruits are used for much more than just assassinating now. Along with your weapon wheel you now have an assassin wheel as well. Assassins can be used to distract guards, steal, be your personal bodyguards, ect. In a way, they replace the mercenaries, thieves, and courtesans of previous games.

9. Forts: the Borgia towers return in the form or Templar forts. In order to completely take control over a fort you have to do 3 things: kill the fort captain, blow up the stockpile of ammunition, and then lower the flag. Taking control of forts lowers templar influence in the area and lowers taxes on trade convoys. what are those you ask? Well...

10. The Economy of the New World: Making money now requires more involvement from the player. Instead of buying buildings and gaining income from them Connor gains money through a trade system. Remember Cool Feature 1? Well, trade begins at Homestead where Connor's workers produce goods for his stockpile, which can be acquired at a reduced rate. Then you can get to work on crafting and trading. Crafting is akin to Skyrim, a list of mundane ingredients such as a wolf pelt or oak lumber to make something else such as a fur coat or a bench. Certain artisans are required for you to make certain types of things however. For example, without Lance the carpenter you cannot make a barrel.

Once the item has been crafted, it's time to trade. Your convoys can move across land or sea, but they will be at risk if you have not cleared the area of opposition. If you do, however, choose to send a convoy along a dangerous route and they are attacked, you can choose to send your assassins to save them or travel there yourself and do so.

To add to this, your convoys aren't the only ones on the road. Every once in awhile you may find a group of redcoats and militia fighting over a convoy one of them is escorting. Once the battle is over you can swoop in, kill the surviving team and claim the spoils for yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Finally got around to pre-ordering this. That statue is gonna go so nicely beside my Max Payne one. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭blaa85

AC Bundle about to be discounted on steam. Full price at the moment.