Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Why do people cheat instead of just breaking up, if they are not married ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

Why break up, sure he'll need someone to make his dinner etc...

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Damn. Bitches be generalising.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

It's the way evolution went. If there had been a survival-related advantage in men being monogamous, a cock would look like a Yale key and only work in one slot.:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Senna wrote: »
    Worse are the woman (or men) who will forgive their partner and lie to themselves that it wont happen again. If someone has so little respect for you that they will cheat, why would you want to stay together?
    Sometimes an affair is a sign of problems in a relationship that can be fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Senna wrote: »
    Cake and eat it.

Worse are the woman (or men) who will forgive their partner and lie to themselves that it wont happen again. If someone has so little respect for you that they will cheat, why would you want to stay together?
    I can't understand the women who not only forgive their partner, but blame the other woman. It's not her fault that your boyfriend's a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

"Your friend"..................right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Because they're horny. Its that deep.
    This is the main reason men cheat, all the confusion arises because some men are more horny than others.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Its more so fellas that cheat than women in my opinion. Mainly because most lads are douches and are playing the alpha male card as in "get off with as many as they can while they can and **** the consequences"

I worked in a nightclub on weekends a few years ago and more fellas I had to watch getting off with women when they were already taken, this would be while the girlfriend is in the same building (idiots).

I payed attention to that a lot as id have been one of the 5 or 6 people in the place that was sober. Had to watch all the rows happen between couples while collecting glasses, serving in the bar, or taking jackets in the cloakroom or on the walk home there'd be a row outside a chip shop involving a girl assaulting a fella with a kebab which I seen on more than one occasion and it was over cheating every time. Very rarely seen a girl cheat.

Ladies try not to go out with "muscle bound half man half brylcreem rugby type lads" (as I like to call them) as 9/10 (Going by what i've seen) they will be **** and will either treat ye like **** in general or will cheat on you or both or even knock you up and then jump ship worst case scenario which I also have seen from what happened some friends of mine. I say this as a guy now. Hope this was of help if not ye'll get a laugh out of it.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Its more so fellas that cheat than women in my opinion. Mainly because most lads are douches and are playing the alpha male card as in "get off with as many as they can while they can and **** the consequences"

I worked in a nightclub on weekends a few years ago and more fellas I had to watch getting off with women when they were already taken, this would be while the girlfriend is in the same building (idiots).

I payed attention to that a lot as id have been one of the 5 or 6 people in the place that was sober. Had to watch all the rows happen between couples while collecting glasses, serving in the bar, or taking jackets in the cloakroom or on the walk home there'd be a row outside a chip shop involving a girl assaulting a fella with a kebab which I seen on more than one occasion and it was over cheating every time. Very rarely seen a girl cheat.

Ladies try not to go out with "muscle bound half man half brylcreem rugby type lads" (as I like to call them) as 9/10 (Going by what i've seen) they will be **** and will either treat ye like **** in general or will cheat on you or both or even knock you up and then jump ship worst case scenario. I say this as a guy now. Hope this was of help if not ye'll get a laugh out of it.

Cheers

Nope, what we'l get a laugh out of is jeering at you as the sad little loser who couldn't score and is jealous of the "muscle bound half man half brylcreem, rugby type lads" who could and did.
    This may or may not be the case, but that's the impression I get.
    If I'm wrong, My apologies.

Do you think all women are sweet fragile things which need protecting from these "****" you describe.
    Confidence is half of attractiveness in my opinion.
    More attractive people have more options. SOME more attractive PEOPLE are assholes, same as SOME unattractive people are. The attractive assholes cheat more because they can.
    It ain't rocket science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Gareth2011

For this thing that guys cheat cheat there must be something wrong with me. My wife lives 5 hours drive away from me. I live here alone with our dogs and wouldn't have any problem cheating on her if I wanted. But I couldn't do it, id feel fierce guilty and I love her very much :o but just saying I have an ideal situtation for it thats all.

johnr1 wrote: »
    Nope, what we'l get a laugh out of is jeering at you as the sad little loser who couldn't score and is jealous of the "muscle bound half man half brylcreem, rugby type lads" who could and did.

Do you think all women are sweet fragile things which need protecting from these "****" you describe.
    More attractive people have more options. SOME more attractive PEOPLE are assholes, same as SOME unattractive people are. The attractive assholes cheat more because they can.
    It ain't rocket science.

No. I'm not jealous at all, I like being me, the intelligent, non arsehole me. I'm confident and clever enough to "score" as you put thank you very much.

They do need to be warned to save everybody else the aggravation of saying "I told you so" What I mean is why cheat when the person has it good as it is.

Jeer all you want, its what primitive pricks like you do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

He wasn't cheating on your 'friend' with another woman, he was cheating on the other woman with your 'friend' :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

It ain't rocket science.

No. I'm not jealous at all, I like being me, the intelligent, non arsehole me. I'm confident and clever enough to "score" as you put thank you very much.

They do need to be warned to save everybody else the aggravation of saying "I told you so" What I mean is why cheat when the person has it good as it is.

I would guess you are weak at pulling women judging by how emotional you seem to get over relationships that are none of your business. Just a guess though, could be wrong.

I have my good moments when it comes to pulling I haven't in a while I will admit im in the middle of a dry spell. Your wrong I just hate seeing people being let down by general "arseholery" Like if they have it good why ruin it. If they want to end the relationship, just end it without upsetting the person the wrong way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭osheen

My girlfriend was pissed when she found out about my shag buddy from work . Not as upset as my wife though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Why do people cheat - because they can. Because in the short term it's an ego boost because it demonstrates that you are still someone who is physically attractive to other human beings. We like to feel good about ourselves, after all.

But, and probably more importantly, the concept of monogamy is one that we take as something that we all ought to be able to do effortlessly, that you being in love has monogamy as a natural by-product. That if you love someone then you can't be attracted to someone else, which is madness.

Very few people sit down and discuss the concept of being monogamous with the other person. Maybe it's not for everyone, who's to say that you can't have a good relationship without monogamy? And it's not really the cheating that people cite when they get upset about these things, it's the lack of honesty.

That's not to say "don't be monogamous" - if you want to be and your partner wants to be then go for it but maybe it'd be a plan to discuss that instead of assuming that's what either of you want. We are traditionally not very good at being monogamous, you only have the most cursory of looks at the couples around you to figure that out.

:D:D:D. Why a PRIMITIVE prick ? - considering you've been here about 5 minutes and know absolutely nothing about me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

efb wrote: »
    and are lesbians really gonna say- why are women bitches...

In my mind they do.

Hot lesbo: Women are cúnts.. I'm going back to the cock!!

Panda: Get your knickers off its a bust!!

/need to stop watching porn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

It is absolutely unacceptable the way some people behave in a relationship - cheating and then lying on top of it all - exploiting and deceiving their partner. Some even going as far as swearing blind that no exploitation has occured and problems arising from such an unhealthy relationship is the fault of the partner and all in her/his head.

It is bad form to lure someone into a relationship and into your life without being honest. If you are prone to having multiple partners you would be poly. For the love of god be open and honest and find someone you are compatible with who is open to poly. Don't for the love of god enter into a relationship without giving this vital piece of information because it is a lack of respect and it eventually leads to demeaning the other individual.

:D:D:D. Why a PRIMITIVE prick ? - considering you've been here about 5 minutes and know absolutely nothing about me.

I said primitive prick as primitive pricks write degrading comments like what you replied to me. I was pissed off as I read your pre edited comment which was without the new sentence "This may or may not be the case, but that's the impression I get.
    If I'm wrong, My apologies"

You know nothing about me either so what's with the degrading comment? You started this! All I left was my opinion on the situation and I got the piss taken out of me straight away for for it. It might not be to your liking but someone else may be enlightened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Why do guys cheat instead of just breaking up, if they are not married ??

because they dont think they will be caught :)

Ladies try not to go out with "muscle bound half man half brylcreem rugby type lads"

why you hate brylcreem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭aurin07

Not all guys are dicks.

Some of us are assholes :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,660 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

In my mind they do.

Hot lesbo: Women are cúnts.. I'm going back to the cock!!

Panda: Get your knickers off its a bust!!

/need to stop watching porn

why you hate brylcreem?
    They use too much of it, and don't rub it in properly, and its too sticky and white. Looks like someone wanked off in their hair. Also turns hair into straw and it can look nasty. Tried it once years ago and I binned it and I know people that use it too and it does the same thing to them and they don't notice it, and STILL USE IT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

The lure of an easy piece of extra curricular fanny is too strong sometimes.

I said primitive prick as primitive pricks write degrading comments like what you replied to me. I was pissed off as I read your pre edited comment without which you added it read "This may or may not be the case, but that's the impression I get.
    If I'm wrong, My apologies"

You know nothing about me either so what's with the degrading comment? You started this! All I left was my opinion on the situation and I got the piss taken out of me straight away for for it. It might not be to your liking but someone else may be enlightened.

Don't be so cross, it's bad for you. This is after-hours, everybody takes the piss here, thats what it's for.

Truthfully, I was half trolling you, and half serious. There are a lot of guys who go around feeling sorry for themselves over their lack of success with women who blame the cheaters, - (whom I actually despise myself), the more attractive guys, the more confident guys, - in short everybody else for their own failings.
    They project this "I'm a nice guy", I don't cheat, Why don't you women flock to meeee?" type image which is utter bullsh1t, (many would cheat if they only had someone to cheat on) and only leads to them being friendzoned rapidly. They befriend women in the hope that it will get them laid, (it won't -ever) and eventually hate everybody including themselves when this strategy fails.

FFS, don't be that guy.

I'm not supporting cheaters, it's a matter of record here that I think cheaters are the absolute scum of the earth, but they aren't something you can "save" women from. Just be your own man, and don't be one of them.

Because new pussy is mesmerising and new cock in your girlfriends pussy is troubling to many men.

Don't be so cross, it's bad for you. This is after-hours, everybody takes the piss here, thats what it's for.

Truthfully, I was half trolling you, and half serious. There are a lot of guys who go around feeling sorry for themselves over their lack of success with women who blame the cheaters, - (whom I actually despise myself), the more attractive guys, the more confident guys, - in short everybody else for their own failings.
    They project this "I'm a nice guy", I don't cheat, Why don't you women flock to meeee?" type image which is utter bullsh1t, (many would cheat if they only had someone to cheat on) and only leads to them being friendzoned rapidly. They befriend women in the hope that it will get them laid, (it won't -ever) and eventually hate everybody including themselves when this strategy fails.

FFS, don't be that guy.

I'm not supporting cheaters, it's a matter of record here that I think cheaters are the absolute scum of the earth, but they aren't something you can "save" women from. Just be your own man, and don't be one of them.

Haha...that's me all over...I totally get friendzoned....Sorry to get pissy with you man. I know its After Hours...I have read some of the stuff on here...some serious, some hilarious, I'm on the learning curve of Boards.Ie still. I joined here like 3 days ago after meaning to join here for ages but didn't get around to it. Think ill take the friendly advise now.

Being honest though I couldn't cheat I wouldn't have the heart, if I genuinely wasn't happy with who I was with i'd end it and move on, rather than cheat and have a fling with someone else and then fall back on the girlfriend who is being honest/faithful. The guilty conscience would be too much and then id have to end it and face the backlash.

Domo230 wrote: »
    Men and women cheat at roughly an equal ratio so both sexes are just as capable. The reasons why they do it are different though.

Men do it because it allows us to impregnate several women, thus further spreading our genes and allowing the kids a greater genetic diversity. Women hate when their man cheats because it means less time and resources spent on the raising of her kids.

Women cheat because a man of high fitness is not likely to be the type best to raise kids and is likely to eventually leave her for another woman. So they bunk down with a weaker provider male and cheat on him with the high fitness male. Thus the provider male raises kids that are not his own. So for men, preventing infidelity is literally a case of genetic life or death.

To sum up

http://www.smbc-comics.com/index.php?db=comics&id=1955#comic

These are some of the reasons we are tempted to cheat alright, but you've totally left free will and self control out of it.

I'm certainly not a pre programmed animal, I can decide whether it's likely I'll be caught or not, think about the consequences of being caught, I could even - shock, horror ! think about whether it's really what I want to do or not.

While I'd be doing all that thinking though, the chance to cheat would prolly be gone.

I just don't do it tbh, it's horrible on the other side of it and Im just not enough of a cunt.

Men and women cheat at roughly an equal ratio so both sexes are just as capable. The reasons why they do it are different though.

Men do it because it allows us to impregnate several women, thus further spreading our genes and allowing the kids a greater genetic diversity. Women hate when their man cheats because it means less time and resources spent on the raising of her kids.

Women cheat because a man of high fitness is not likely to be the type best to raise kids and is likely to eventually leave her for another woman. So they bunk down with a weaker provider male and cheat on him with the high fitness male. Thus the provider male raises kids that are not his own. So for men, preventing infidelity is literally a case of genetic life or death.

To sum up

http://www.smbc-comics.com/index.php?db=comics&id=1955#comic

And maybe the reason a lot of women want to hear "l love you" is that translates as I will stick around and put in time and effort looking after the kids, which may be mine or could be the sexy tripod's down the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Maybe your Mate is a Mong.
    Maybe she hangs around with people who like to berate all men in general for the actions of one and use AH as a soapbox
    Maybe The other girl is nicer/ better looking / has a lovely fanny.
    I know the OP is wrong to single out guys but... wow, such anger.

Dudess wrote: »
    Maybe your Mate is a Mong.
    Maybe she hangs around with people who like to berate all men in general for the actions of one and use AH as a soapbox
    Maybe The other girl is nicer/ better looking / has a lovely fanny.
    I know the OP is wrong to single out guys but... wow, such anger.

In all fairness, the other girl could have a lovely fanny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Robdude

I have a TV. I like it, and it works; but I think I might want a better one. I haven't looked at TVs in a long time though, so I don't know what is available or what I can afford.

What makes more sense....

1.) Go to the store and check out other TVs, see the prices, what I can afford and how I like them?

2.) Throw my TV into the trash now, and hope that I can replace it.

And maybe the reason a lot of women want to hear "l love you" is that translates as I will stick around and put in time and effort looking after the kids, which may be mine or could be the sexy tripod's down the road.

It's also why they believe cuddling evolved as it shows you will stick around (think it was linked to oxycontin, the love hormone or something, can't remember the details) .

Makes sense so he becomes attached to her emotionally so finds it hurtful to leave. A good mechanism from evolution. But his genes still makes him want to sleep around so only solution without feeling distressed, horny for women etc is to not break up and cheat on the side.

He wants to make his woman orgasm as it makes it more likely the baby will be his and she finds him sexually attractive and isn't a cuckolded beta male. She fakes her orgasm so he thinks he's the alpha stud to keep him off te scent of the real alpha stud she's banging on the side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Same reason women do it. People are cunts and dicks. :p

Or some people anyway.

**edit**

when I made this post it said why do 'guys' cheat and not people. Its now been changed. For the better. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I hate the word guys. It's so American.

They cheat because they want something different, but also want the comfort of things remaining the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Tweet0004

He told her they had broken up, turns out her friends girlfriend knew her.

thanks Zcorpian, just not used to the whole cheating thing.

Okay thanks everyone, got my answers. By the way i know girls cheat just as much as men do. Maybe more sometimes, and by the way, i do not think all men are like this, as none of my close male friends cheat. But not sure how to close this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Hollypop

I think people cheat because they can. They probably wouldn't do it if they thought they'd be found out.
    I'm in sales and I see it a lot with colleagues when we are travelling for work. People think because they are away from home. In a different country etc they won't be found out.
    I think 90% of people would think of cheating if Angelino or Brad tried it on with them.
    This is my opinion. Not saying I'm right or wrong :)

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Tweet0004 wrote: »
    Just spent this evening with a friend, who discovered her BF, has a long term girlfriend in another county by facebook. Why !!. She is upset, so why would a guy do this and get another girl involved by lying. Heard all the bull sh*t about men been programmed to spread their seed etc... my parents and friends parents and brothers etc... do not behave like this. She was genuinely very deeply hurt. NO EXCUSE. If you are not happy with partner, then leave, do not lie and drag someone else into your mess !!:mad::mad::eek: little boys !!:P:P

Maybe she's a headwrecker he's just sick of her sh!t?

Cos it's not like women cheat or anything.....ever......right?

EDIT: Feck, why did I reply and bump this....FOR THE LOVE OF GOD WHYYY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

People always want what they cant/shouldn't have, there's always that thrill people get out of cheating, its not for me but I understand how it might seem easier to just have an affair rather than split up with someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Boulevardier

I think that in cases where an unmarried partner cheats, the other partner should be able to sue for mental and emotional distress.

I think that cheating is an intensely hurtful, wounding activity and should not be allowed go without legal remedy as it is at present.

This would only apply in cases where the cheating partner was pretending to be faithful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

I think that in cases where an unmarried partner cheats, the other partner should be able to sue for mental and emotional distress.

I think that cheating is an intensely hurtful, wounding activity and should not be allowed go without legal remedy as it is at present.

This would only apply in cases where the cheating partner was pretending to be faithful.

Bit harsh. A few slaps from a big brother or a belt of a handbag would be enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Tweet0004 wrote: »
    little boys !!:P:P

women cheat just as much as men do.

my ex cheated on me with my so called best friend.. then she cheated on her next boyfriend (father of her first child) and got knocked up by the guy (father of her second kid)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

women cheat just as much as men do.

my ex cheated on me with my so called best friend.. then she cheated on her next boyfriend (father of her first child) and got knocked up by the guy (father of her second kid)

Lucky escape there chap in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I don't think there's ever an answer, they're assholes, it's an asshole thing to do, nothing more complicated than that.