Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Watch the Throne tour?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 22 WIMBOT

For anyone who's still waiting on tickets to arrive just call them up & they will tell you to collect me from the box office..

Anyone want to take a stab at the time they'll be on stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Yeah I'll take a stab at Kanye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

It's Kanye's 35th birthday tomorrow. I'm considering sneaking in a sign with me wishing him a good one. Might be enough to get me on stage with them :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

It's Kanye's 35th birthday tomorrow. I'm considering sneaking in a sign with me wishing him a good one. Might be enough to get me on stage with them :P.

"You need to hop off Kanye dick wit yo groupie ass."

Would be the YouTube/WorldStarHipHop reply to that comment. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Mickolution

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Just a question on the stage. Will they use the two cubes like everywhere else or just the normal stage. Never been to the 02 so dunno about size of it etc.

They probably will, but I've no idea where they'd go. If they're not at the very front of the arena, the balcony won't be able to see.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    "You need to hop off Kanye dick wit yo groupie ass."

Would be the YouTube/WorldStarHipHop reply to that comment. :pac:

Haha I can tell you I'm far from a Kanye stan :P.

I'm getting really psyched for tomorrow night now. Bus up from Kilkenny at 3. Get a bite to eat and then get a few pints into me. On to the concert. After that I'll go back and try to find the naggin that I've secretly hidden in some flowerbed and it's straight to Coppers.

Don't judge me on the Coppers. It's been 8 months since I was out in Dublin. I'm only up for one night so I have to go to the one place that I'm certain I will not fail :pac:.

Haha I can tell you I'm far from a Kanye stan :P.

I'm getting really psyched for tomorrow night now. Bus up from Kilkenny at 3. Get a bite to eat and then get a few pints into me. On to the concert. After that I'll go back and try to find the naggin that I've secretly hidden in some flowerbed and it's straight to Coppers.

Don't judge me on the Coppers. It's been 8 months since I was out in Dublin. I'm only up for one night so I have to go to the one place that I'm certain I will not fail :pac:.

Not a bad call on Coppers really, will be less annoying than the clubs like Palace claiming to have the "OMG Totes Official Watch The Throne Afterparty!".

I've got Footy at 3, watching Euro 2012 at 5 with cans then into the o2 for the concert and off to a pub after, have to be up for Paintball followed by more cans and Euro 2012 at 9am tomorrow so can't have a mad one.

I'm going on saturday night, if you find a mid build, 5'11, 17 year old looking lad wandering around town with a black lad, you've found me.

Not a bad call on Coppers really, will be less annoying than the clubs like Palace claiming to have the "OMG Totes Official Watch The Throne Afterparty!".

I've got Footy at 3, watching Euro 2012 at 5 with cans then into the o2 for the concert and off to a pub after, have to be up for Paintball followed by more cans and Euro 2012 at 9am tomorrow so can't have a mad one.

I know lads going on the Saturday. I'm heading out with them tomorrow night. They're heading to the Palace on Saturday. Thankfully they're on for Coppers tomorrow night.

Gonna try and find a pub with the match on when I get to Dublin. Probably go the one right beside the Luas line at Busaras. Tis the handiest. Last time I was at a concert I went there before and had a hape of drinks. Nearly missed the concert cause of it. Another 3 drinks and I was gone I'd say.

The Paintball will be made all the better by going on the tear. You'll be shooting lads you never thought even existed before :P.
    P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    I'm going on saturday night, if you find a mid build, 5'11, 17 year old looking lad wandering around town with a black lad, you've found me.

Are you the black lad? :pac:

:pac: i wish, then i could justify my taste in music. Nah it's my friend nathan, he's white at heart, has an irish accent and all. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

how can anyone justify coppers , especially after a gig like kanye and jay :D:):pac: coppers would be worse than the palace with the "totes" and all that haha

Well at that stage of the night I hope to be in a hoop. The music will go in one ear and out the other. I've a good feeling that I'll meet my future wife there tomorrow :P.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Well at that stage of the night I hope to be in a hoop. The music will go in one ear and out the other. I've a good feeling that I'll meet my future wife there tomorrow :P.

I'm not one to normally give relationship advice, particularly on the hip hop forum. But a lad your age, height and build (:D), you should really be looking for your future ex girlfriend :p

To everyone going to the gigs, have a great time.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'm not one to normally give relationship advice, particularly on the hip hop forum. But a lad your age, height and build (:D), you should really be looking for your future ex girlfriend :p

That's probably good advice. I've already had one divorce, I don't want another. I don't want someone else taking all the money that I've made by duping people into buying Beats.

No more marriages for Jimmy :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

Everyone excited? This must be how all them young ones feel when they go see One Direction :pac:

Jigga wrote: »
    Everyone excited? This must be how all them young ones feel when they go see One Direction :pac:

Expect that we don't want to have their babies. Well I don't anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,984 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Expect that we don't want to have their babies. Well I don't anyway.

Especially with names like Blue Ivy, but yeah i cant wait for tonight :D

That was the sickest thing I've ever seen. Absolutely unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,984 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Never even imagined it could be that good, such an amazing atmosphere and the set was done brilliantly, worth every cent...even the 40 quid for a t-shirt:p

So happy I was there.

They should have done N*ggas in Paris more though. ;)

On a serious note, Jay doing Dirt Off Your Shoulder was maybe the coolest thing I've ever been a part of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Never even imagined it could be that good, such an amazing atmosphere and the set was done brilliantly, worth every cent...even the 40 quid for a t-shirt:p
    So happy I was there.

They should have done N*ggas in Paris more though. ;)

On a serious note, Jay doing Dirt Off Your Shoulder was maybe the coolest thing I've ever been a part of.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭horsebox09

Lucky b@stards! wish I could have gone

Glad you all enjoyed it though :)

Makes me all the more pumped for tomorrow night!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

Bring on tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Rud

ROLL ON SATURDAY NIGHT!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Unbelievable show, everything about it was just brilliant, I can't think of a single low point. I missed Jay the last couple of times he was here, finally saw him tonight for the first time and it was well worth the wait. Amazing night.

I have to go to my friends going away party tomorrow night, if it weren't for that I'd buy a ticket and go to see them again tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

If ever I was to buy a concert on blu ray that would be it.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭madmandaniel

un-****ing-believable. life changing moment for me.... i never saw either of them live before even though theyre 2 of my idols and **** was so crazy oh my god the emotion that they put into the performance was mindblowing. the fact it was Kanye's birthday made it even better they really seemed to enjoy it themselves and the crowd fed off that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,442 ✭✭✭weemcd

Ah lads, just getting ready to go down the road for tonight. 9 of us, it is gonna be a siege.

what tracks where your favourites lads?

weemcd wrote: »
    Ah lads, just getting ready to go down the road for tonight. 9 of us, it is gonna be a siege.

what tracks where your favourites lads?

Diamonds From Sierra Leone, Public Service Announcement, Niggas In Paris, HAM, Dirt Off Your Shoulder, Runaway.....I'm just naming random songs tbh, the whole set list is incredible.

that was a brilliant gig, my favorite of anything iv seen!!! couldnt believe it!!

it was just everything about the stage and performance, i was fcukin delighted when he did his verse from mercy, said he was doin it cause it was his bday ,he didnt do it in pars or anything

when i first saw niggas in paris being played 11 times i was like fcuk that but when your in the moment you dont give a fcuk, they did it like 5 times!!

i bought a tshirt , i think it was worth it!! also the concert might be on dvd cause the cameras all around the o2 and the cameras at the stage,havent seen that many at a concert in the o2 before.

ill remember that for as long as i live, it was so unreal to see kanye finaaly in person!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

The best concert Iv ever been at and likely to ever be at unless that 2pac hologram tour kicks of.

Worth every penny, looking back at my videos atm just priceless stuff. Went in with 90% battery on the iPhone came out with 0 , just about recorded the whole concert :P.

Also I have to say for the lads who bought seating tickets , they really got their money's worth with both performing on the rising platforms.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    I have to go to my friends going away party tomorrow night, if it weren't for that I'd buy a ticket and go to see them again tomorrow night.

So weird, I'm literally in the exact same boat. Going away party. The idea that Yeezy and Hov will be there AGAIN and people will be enjoying it as much as I did makes me really jealous. Although we can say we celebrated Kanye's 35th Birthday with him, that was actually a really cool moment. But yeah, I would LOVE to go again tonight.

For those going tonight, don't get too drunk so you won't remember it, because it's a show you will remember for the rest of your life. You can't comprehend how huge these guys are until they are there in front of you. Honestly, when Jigga did 'Big Pimpin' I was in awe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Just home now from the show. Amazing amazing gig. Believe the hype, everything about the gig was fantastic, the stage, the performances, the crowd. Jay and Ye seemed to be really enjoying themselves and I think people fed off that.

Seems to me like a gig that people will remember for years, like I can image boring my grandkids about the time I saw Jay-Z and Kanye sharing a stage like I'm sure some do already about seeing The Beatles or The Stones :).

To pick a favourite song or moment would do a disservice to the rest I feel. If you can at all get a ticket for tonight because I guarantee you won't regret it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Frank T.J. Mackey

What time did they get on stage at lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

About 8.30 if I'm not mistaken. Seemed to take ages for people to come in

What time did they get on stage at lads?

8:45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭alie

How much they charging for shirts? Sorry just saw its 40.

Which one of ye threw the coin?!

Words cant describe how perfect that night was. If i died tonight I'd die a happy man.

lemme guess som efcukin knacker dicided to throw a coin!!!! tossers

A V A wrote: »
    lemme guess som efcukin knacker dicided to throw a coin!!!! tossers

Correct. Kanye stopped the show because of it, but he was dead right.

MoyVilla9 wrote: »
    Correct. Kanye stopped the show because of it, but he was dead right.
    And he stopped it in the middle of Good life which is a fairly good song.

Is it just me or did touch the sky sound nothing like touch the sky? Just pure bass to me! I'm still about 60% deaf. i was about 6 foot from the stage, and now i can say i saw 2 of the biggest men in hip hop live. My mission is to see as many hip hop acts live before i die now, last night was just too amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Why would you pay something like 80 quid or whatever it was for a ticket to come in and act the tramp ?

I hope he was caught, that ain't on at all. When things like that happen it can make the whole crowd look bad and cause some tension.

Anyone got the video of Kanye stopping the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

He was seriously pissed off. He said something like - "I was having a perfect show before this, flawless victory". I thought it was a bit much to stop the song and start again, with exactly the same lead-in banter repeated too. Throwing the coin is obviously an idiotic thing to do, but it unfortunately seems to be a feature of live shows these days. The restart suggests to me that they are intending to release a dvd of the shows (and/or that Kanye is wound pretty tightly).

The energy in the place at the start of the show was something that I'm not sure I will ever experience again.

impr0v wrote: »
    The restart suggests to me that they are intending to release a dvd of the shows (and/or that Kanye is wound pretty tightly).

He's known to do that, i've seen numerous videos of him stopping and starting because something wasnt right, he's a perfectionist, and what he displayed last night was perfection.

My ears and body have finally recovered to write a somewhat proper review of the whole thing. It was the greatest concert that I'm ever going to see. The Beatles could return from the dead and it probably wouldn't match it.

So many highlights. One of the best was hearing "Stronger" live. I remember the first time I heard that 5 years ago. Played it 20 times in a row. It was porn for my ears.

"Jigga what, Jigga who" was another highlight. They whole thing was very rehearsed and the changes between songs didn't leave much time for crowd interaction but getting the crowd to sing the chorus was great. The same with "Hard Knock Life".

Hearing "99 Problems" and "Dirt Off Your Shoulder" was unbelievable. Hearing "Big Pimping" performed live was magical, especially that hook. Was half expecting Bun B to waltz out and perform his verse.

The fact that I haven't heard a single negative comment about the whole thing shows how good it was. I can't believe the effort they put into it. Jay Z is worth half a billion yet he still comes out and gives it everything that he has.

The whole experience from the American flag for Otis, to the lyrics on the screen, to the visuals of the crowd and the fire, was just out of this world.

I managed to nudge my way right to the very front. If the lads had bent down I'd have been able to shake hands with them. Twas worth the effort getting to the front. Being so close to two of the biggest icons in the world today was incredible.

I'll be telling my children and my grand-children about this in years to come.

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Is it just me or did touch the sky sound nothing like touch the sky? Just pure bass to me! I'm still about 60% deaf. i was about 6 foot from the stage, and now i can say i saw 2 of the biggest men in hip hop live. My mission is to see as many hip hop acts live before i die now, last night was just too amazing.

It took me 2 minutes to figure out what song they were doing when "Touch the Sky" was played. Maybe it was cause I was so close but the sound was very poor for that song.
    Anyone got the video of Kanye stopping the show?

He didn't get too worked up from the looks of it but it was bad form. Lots of things were thrown on stage on Friday. A bar was chucked on, a bandana, a few t shirts. No Irish flags though unfortunately.

Anybody know who the black lad on the decks was? I know there was a white lad playin bass and keyboard but who was the other fella? I was told they'd been seen with J Cole over here but i doubt it was him..