Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Watch the Throne tour?

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

The fact that I haven't heard a single negative comment about the whole thing shows how good it was.

I think the sound from the mics could have been better for a large parts of the show. Otherwise, agree with your review (and am definitely envious of you being right at the front). As someone else said a few posts ago, it was serious value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

"flawless victory", he well should have then said "fatality".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Anybody know who the black lad on the decks was? I know there was a white lad playin bass and keyboard but who was the other fella? I was told they'd been seen with J Cole over here but i doubt it was him..

I know this doesn't answer your question but the white guy was Mike Dean, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

That was mike dean? He's done some serious production, i still wonder who the other lad was.

I was in the seats so I couldn't see him clearly but I know Mike Dean is on the tour with them and at one stage Jay-Z motioned towards him and said "Mike Dean" so I presume it was him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Didn't know Mike was a producer.

01377045300.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

No voice left. I definitely hope they make a DVD or documentary for this because it was epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Hands down the best gig I've ever been too. WEnt on the friday night. The 2 lads seemed to have such a good time performing too and that just added to the energy in the place. I've never been as wrecked after a show, I didn't stopo moving once

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Mickolution

MoyVilla9 wrote: »
    I know this doesn't answer your question but the white guy was Mike Dean, I think.

Didn't know that was him. Nice one. Read somewhere yesterday that he's confirmed Watch The Throne 2 is happening. Think it was on Twitter, so not sure how accurate it was.

he's confirmed Watch The Throne 2 is happening.

I'm there if there's a tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

right were do i start with how good that was?

chilled to the side perfect view of the stage, then boom these to cubes appeared, i was shocked as i cudnt see them were i was standing so was just unreal!!!

i was quite drunk but wow, no trouble were i was everyone on good banter,

they seem to just have fun up there enjoy them selfs,

better performace from kanye since phenoix park MUCK he did in 07, refused to see him after that but he won me back, bring on WTT 2!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,984 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

eyah i heard about a WTT2 album a while ago too, hopefully they bring a tour along with it, i cant imagine any other concert being able to match up to Friday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭baddebt

Friday night was an Epic ...............even da Misses enjoyed it ,
    the O2 rocked for over 2hours non-stop .................NUFF SAID REALLY

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭croker1

Right at the end of the show on Saturday after like the 3rd Niggas in Paris, there was a pause where Jay and Kanye stood and looked out at the crowd, then everyone started singing ole ole, followed by 2 Irish flags being thrown up to the lads, followed by Niggas in Paris being dropped once more!

That topped off what was already the most unbelievable night for me!
    I dont want to go to another gig again because it will never match that one!

I only really have on negative thing to say about the show.

I was standing right at the front of the stage with my mate and there was a huge lad from belfast behind us, must have been about 6 foot 4, and some junkie looking culchy who was absolutely buckled came along and tried to make him move because he was too tall. Now this lad from belfast had been standing there for an hour and he came all the way down here for the gig so he said no and the lad started pushing him so he shouldered him away and out of nowhere the culchy lad started trying to take bites out of your man, he latched onto his shoulder and me and another lad had to push him off and tell him to get the fúck out of here. Wasnt exactly what i wanted to see at the start of the night, and im sure it's not what people who had came from all over the country to see this gig wanted to see. But after about half an hour it was all forgotten about when the lads came on stage and absolutely rocked the place, i only really thought of it again there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

what ??? jaysus . . . .i would of got him with a few sly elbows haha that ridiculous i hate that sh*T

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭galwayhooker

Best concert I have ever seen in O2!such an atmosphere and everybody dancing.
    Loved the idea of cubes as stages - so funny when Kanye was on about love and asking if you came with loved one to show.2 guys turned to each other and messingly started to hug and kiss each other - plenty others must have been messing as well cos Kanye was bent over laughing :) Great show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Might have been already said but Great comment from kanye on his twitter , can't copy and paste on phone but he tweeted friday during the concert he was under the stage while jay z was rapping thanking all his fans wishing him a happy bday ! Mentions Dublin too!

Love that, shame that *****ng fool threw a coin the next night.

Might have been already said but Great comment from kanye on his twitter , can't copy and paste on phone but he tweeted friday during the concert he was under the stage while jay z was rapping thanking all his fans wishing him a happy bday ! Mentions Dublin too!

Love that, shame that *****ng fool threw a coin the next night.

Kanye West ‏@kanyewest
    "THANKS TO ALL MY FANS. I AM TWEETING UNDER THE STAGE WHILE JAY IS RAPPING IN DUBLIN ON MY BIRTHDAY. YOU GUYS MAKE ALL MY DREAMS POSSIBLE."

Nice one!

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭scoopmine

Just thinking back on it was at the Saturday show. Greatest show I have ever seen. A pleasure to see two greats together. Two different styles Kanye sweating buckets while Jay Z could sell swagger and cool!

I uploaded an audio recording of the full Watch the Throne show to Hulkshare if people want to download it:

1-Intro http://hu.lk/f28aihtwg2g6
    2-HAM http://hu.lk/t4b86uy6hcfz
    3-Who Gon Stop Me http://hu.lk/unhuwq4rsv9d
    4-Interlude http://hu.lk/lvcvp5tzera8
    5-Otis http://hu.lk/gdkzfbgg1t06
    6-Welcome To The Jungle http://hu.lk/ldiqdmr6247h
    7-Gotta Have It http://hu.lk/n7v1ygcf40fs
    8-Where I'm From http://hu.lk/g6yzjuxwedg7
    9-Jigga What, Jigga Who http://hu.lk/h0lastx75xjw
    10-Can't Tell Me Nothing http://hu.lk/ud9fk5kbocya
    11-Flashing Lights http://hu.lk/7fd1qycp5wxf
    12-Jesus Walks http://hu.lk/5cdtko38wh7z
    13-Diamonds From Sierra Leone(Remix) http://hu.lk/sl80z912fdkm
    14-Public Service Announcement http://hu.lk/6819ncu433or
    15-U Don't Know http://hu.lk/td02nnnzefjq
    16-Run This Town http://hu.lk/qpp0614fd8kd
    17-Monster http://hu.lk/91ir06ealegv
    18-Power http://hu.lk/o2jek73mcruu
    19-Made In America http://hu.lk/kh1euaovlqoh
    20-New Day http://hu.lk/3471xln2wc2z
    21-Hard Knock Life(Ghetto Anthem) http://hu.lk/3a5ytxjf1eey
    22-Izzo(H.O.V.A.) http://hu.lk/l4afvtllfsjt
    23-Empire State Of Mind http://hu.lk/yt1j5pn6nnmb
    24-Runaway http://hu.lk/7ev5dyaf93ut
    25-Heartless http://hu.lk/cqqat039pwcj
    26-Stronger http://hu.lk/68r348jbg567
    27-On To The Next One http://hu.lk/8zonc0w8i2d3
    28-Dirt Off Your Shoulder http://hu.lk/dg9t31dxeq9m
    29-I Just Wanna Love U (Give It 2 Me) http://hu.lk/om9d0ak1mp53
    30-That's My Bitch http://hu.lk/uon6eyo3471l
    31-Good Life http://hu.lk/hzrlkjh4r2ve
    32-Touch The Sky http://hu.lk/0o8isriijged
    33-All Of The Lights(False Start) http://hu.lk/a7jfr9zospkd
    34-All Of The Lights http://hu.lk/nocbtakt4enj
    35-Big Pimpin' http://hu.lk/mpqz43v1o1i6
    36-Gold Digger http://hu.lk/15oqqrl3i86r
    37-99 Problems http://hu.lk/42bshesmc8ei
    38-No Church In The Wild http://hu.lk/m66qte5lw562
    39-Lift Off http://hu.lk/7dt90wx8pyhs
    40-Niggas In Paris http://hu.lk/5k9m5v6y5660
    41-Niggas In Paris (Encore) http://hu.lk/4a71fart154x
    42-Niggas In Paris (2nd Encore) http://hu.lk/uqld7je9osdc

If I could thank you 10 times I would. The sound quality is unreal. Which night is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

Wow that quality is amazing.

That's fúckin excellent! getting chills listening to it all again..

You even got "Touch the Sky" in perfect quality. I couldn't hear a single thing really from where I was.

same here man, all i could hear was bass :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I am seriously so fcuking jelly of you all. I've been hearing nothing but great things about the show. I was super excited about seeing Frank Ocean in LA, but now I'm wishing Jay and Kanye would come back here so I can see them. This is never going to happen again, is it? I've missed my chance! :(

It's likely that there will be a Watch the Throne 2 album. If that comes out then I think it's very likely that they'll go on tour again. It'd be a chance for the two of them to cement their status as all-time greats in the whole music industry. They've already achieved that in the hip hop industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭blue-army

If I could thank you 10 times I would. The sound quality is unreal. Which night is it?

that's definitely saturday night's show.

what did you record it with man?

@jigga, look into boot legging this. Im sure theres plenty who would of payed for a live recording of the concert, you could have a little earner on your hands.

Sound quailtys class, playlist made already on itunes. feel gulity taking this for free, im going to be listining to this for years now thank you very much.:)

blue-army wrote: »
    that's definitely saturday night's show.

How do you know?

Apparently he didnt sing the chorus for stronger on the first night, that's just what i was told.

I dunno. I just had a look at my recording of Stronger there. The quality is horrific compared to Jigga's recordings but I think Kanye did the chorus. He was up on the cube anyway and I was screaming my lungs out and filming at the same time so I can't be too sure.

How do you know?
    I was at the Friday show.
    He stopped 'All of the Lights' and restarted so that everyone would scream "MJ gone... our nigga dead!" louder! :cool:

I was at the Friday show.
    He stopped 'All of the Lights' and restarted so that everyone would scream "MJ gone... our nigga dead!" louder! :cool:

He did that at the saturday show too, only big difference between the 2 shows is that kanye stopped it after some absolute spud threw a coin onto the stage.

Nooo... he stopped it Saturday asking for more lights. Listen to the recordings ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,984 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

yeah this is from Friday night and the chorus seems completely different to the recording

Jigga wrote: »
    I uploaded an audio recording of the full Watch the Throne show to Hulkshare if people want to download it:

1-Intro http://hu.lk/f28aihtwg2g6
    2-HAM http://hu.lk/t4b86uy6hcfz
    3-Who Gon Stop Me http://hu.lk/unhuwq4rsv9d
    4-Interlude http://hu.lk/lvcvp5tzera8
    5-Otis http://hu.lk/gdkzfbgg1t06
    6-Welcome To The Jungle http://hu.lk/ldiqdmr6247h
    7-Gotta Have It http://hu.lk/n7v1ygcf40fs
    8-Where I'm From http://hu.lk/g6yzjuxwedg7
    9-Jigga What, Jigga Who http://hu.lk/h0lastx75xjw
    10-Can't Tell Me Nothing http://hu.lk/ud9fk5kbocya
    11-Flashing Lights http://hu.lk/7fd1qycp5wxf
    12-Jesus Walks http://hu.lk/5cdtko38wh7z
    13-Diamonds From Sierra Leone(Remix) http://hu.lk/sl80z912fdkm
    14-Public Service Announcement http://hu.lk/6819ncu433or
    15-U Don't Know http://hu.lk/td02nnnzefjq
    16-Run This Town http://hu.lk/qpp0614fd8kd
    17-Monster http://hu.lk/91ir06ealegv
    18-Power http://hu.lk/o2jek73mcruu
    19-Made In America http://hu.lk/kh1euaovlqoh
    20-New Day http://hu.lk/3471xln2wc2z
    21-Hard Knock Life(Ghetto Anthem) http://hu.lk/3a5ytxjf1eey
    22-Izzo(H.O.V.A.) http://hu.lk/l4afvtllfsjt
    23-Empire State Of Mind http://hu.lk/yt1j5pn6nnmb
    24-Runaway http://hu.lk/7ev5dyaf93ut
    25-Heartless http://hu.lk/cqqat039pwcj
    26-Stronger http://hu.lk/68r348jbg567
    27-On To The Next One http://hu.lk/8zonc0w8i2d3
    28-Dirt Off Your Shoulder http://hu.lk/dg9t31dxeq9m
    29-I Just Wanna Love U (Give It 2 Me) http://hu.lk/om9d0ak1mp53
    30-That's My Bitch http://hu.lk/uon6eyo3471l
    31-Good Life http://hu.lk/hzrlkjh4r2ve
    32-Touch The Sky http://hu.lk/0o8isriijged
    33-All Of The Lights(False Start) http://hu.lk/a7jfr9zospkd
    34-All Of The Lights http://hu.lk/nocbtakt4enj
    35-Big Pimpin' http://hu.lk/mpqz43v1o1i6
    36-Gold Digger http://hu.lk/15oqqrl3i86r
    37-99 Problems http://hu.lk/42bshesmc8ei
    38-No Church In The Wild http://hu.lk/m66qte5lw562
    39-Lift Off http://hu.lk/7dt90wx8pyhs
    40-Niggas In Paris http://hu.lk/5k9m5v6y5660
    41-Niggas In Paris (Encore) http://hu.lk/4a71fart154x
    42-Niggas In Paris (2nd Encore) http://hu.lk/uqld7je9osdc
    Ah ****e... I thought this was the Dublin show... it's Greensboro NY show from October. :(

Still class though!

Nooo... he stopped it Saturday asking for more lights. Listen to the recordings ;)

no he stopped it on the saturday telling us to scream "my nigga dead" louder because it was the only chance most of us would get to shout that. They do the same pre-song banter at all their gigs.

Doesn't matter anyway because it's not from either of the dublin dates.

Sorry for confusion lads, I did not record this and it is not the Irish shows. I am just sharing so download it if you want. Glad ye enjoy it

• Registered Users Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

Still mad I didn't go...Saw Jay by himself when he was over and he was amazing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Anyone catch Jay at the Hackney Weekend on BBC 3 tonight? Kanye made an appearance too for a mini WTT set. Brought back some great memories of tonight two weeks ago :)

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Anyone catch Jay at the Hackney Weekend on BBC 3 tonight? Kanye made an appearance too for a mini WTT set. Brought back some great memories of tonight two weeks ago :)

Didn't manage to catch it but it's flooding my twitter timeline !

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

kwestfan08 wrote: »

Managed to see this last night, looked great. But the sound was awful and the mic problems disrupted the flow. It also highlighted how bad m.i.a. is live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,442 ✭✭✭weemcd

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Managed to see this last night, looked great. But the sound was awful and the mic problems disrupted the flow. It also highlighted how bad m.i.a. is live.

This.

I was enjoying the video until she came on, I like the odd M.I.A joint but she is DIRE

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Managed to see this last night, looked great. But the sound was awful and the mic problems disrupted the flow.

The fact that it was held outdoors didn't help matters. Any hip hop act that I've heard on tv or video at an outdoor festival has been pretty bad.

The mic thing was a joke. Really messed with the flow of NIP. I did get goosebumps when they played it for the first time. Glad I saw it in the o2. It didn't really work in the open air environment.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭croker1

I didn't think the mic was too bad for jay and kanye. But M.I.A, what the fcuk? Were they just an absolute disgrace or was it because of the mic?

Still think the o2 show was better :D