Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seville Marathon

• 19-02-2012 11:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭

Jill Hodgins won the Seville Marathon today in a time of 2.46.58 ( a new p.b. )

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

Too lazy to create a new thread.

Just registered for this online today.

Entry cost till the end of september is €30:eek:.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

ger664 wrote: »
    Too lazy to create a new thread.

Just registered for this online today.

Entry cost till the end of september is €30:eek:.

Brian ankers ran it last year ger he said it was decent

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Are flights to Seville easily got during winter Months Ger?

belcarra wrote: »
    Are flights to Seville easily got during winter Months Ger?

There currently are no direct flights

Do a change in Madrid DUB-MADRID-SEV (Long Transfer times and more expensive then below)
    DUB-FARO 3 Hour coach to Sevillie
    DUB-Malaga 2 Hour Train to seville

I got Aer Lingus Flights to Malaga for €130.00 return. Ryanair where cheaper at the time but it would mean getting up extremely early to get to malaga, through security etc for an 11AM flight departure

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭ankers99

Ran it in Feb, highly recommended, €15 if u register earlier in the year, best goody I ever received, proper running shorts and singlet both with printed Seville marathon logo. Ryanair don't fly until April or may, Malaga then a train is best. Pancake flat and t shirt weather. Olympic Stadium finish and well supported. Plenty of grub at finish including alco free cruzcampo on tap. The city centre is amazing, I'd advise if possible to do the marathon early in the trip then a few days afterwards as the grub/bars are top class. If u want any more info on things to do jus say, I spend a bit of time here now and again with work.

Oh and aside from running, gaucho's for steak, San Marco for Italian (very reasonably priced) and pre book the Turkish baths the day after the marathon( amazing experience of pure relaxation you won't regret) also rent a bike, it's a great way to get around the barrio, I found the rental that comes out to the hotel rather than the city rental scheme a lot cheaper and no big deposit required. Or if ur feeling adventurous, head south to Granada for skiing, slopes are as good as u would get in Austria

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

ankers99 wrote: »
    Oh and aside from running, gaucho's for steak, San Marco for Italian (very reasonably priced) and pre book the Turkish baths the day after the marathon( amazing experience of pure relaxation you won't regret) also rent a bike, it's a great way to get around the barrio, I found the rental that comes out to the hotel rather than the city rental scheme a lot cheaper and no big deposit required. Or if ur feeling adventurous, head south to Granada for skiing, slopes are as good as u would get in Austria

all in the name of keeping the skies safe:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

Just bumping this thread, anyone here thinking of doing the Seville Marathon? From reading the reviews and previous posts it seems an excellent route and well run event.

Sold out I believe for 2014, limited to 7000 and usually sells out by Oct.

Just checked the online booking site I used and can confirm that registration is closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

Just checked the online booking site I used and can confirm that registration is closed.

Yeah unfortunately I've missed the boat on this one. I said to myself at the back end of last summer I would enter but obviously left it far too late. Going to try my luck with Paris think there still taking entries.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I am running this marathon. A little over 7 weeks now. Can't wait! :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Less than two weeks now.....

Anyone who wants to track our progress or lack of on Sunday
    This page appears to provide coverage and tracking of the race on Sunday:

http://www.maratondesevilla.es/directo-maraton/#

yaboya1 bib number is: 3450
    ger664 bib number is: 3689

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Very, very best of luck, looking forward to following your progress.
    Tbl, can you post your bib number here also?

Go get 'em cowboys:):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Good luck! Looks like a decent event. Looking forward to the race reports. Looks like one to pencil in for next year......

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Very best of luck on Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Best of luck to the lads doing this at the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Marthastew wrote: »
    Very, very best of luck, looking forward to following your progress.
    Tbl, can you post your bib number here also?

Go get 'em cowboys:):):)

Hi MS,

My number is 1056.

I hoping to toe the line, but due to some unforeseen events, I mightn't make it to Seville for the second year in a row!

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Good luck folks, I'll track ye on Sunday. Hope you can make it TBL.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Itziger wrote: »
    Good luck folks, I'll track ye on Sunday. Hope you can make it TBL.

Seems like the tracking is only 10k and Finish. Halfway wouldn't have killed them!

Live video stream there. The leading woman on her own after 30 minutes. Long run home!!

http://directo.corriendovoy.com

Madre de Dios, as they say, I have NEVER seen such gaps between runners. There's a motorbike camera going from one to the next and I swear some of the gaps are 500 metres or so. More on one or two occasions.

These lads (white) look like they're around 2.30 - 2.45 runners.

Yaboya through 10k. On target 43 minutes. I take it back, there is 5k tracking. Next up 15k mark for him. Will check others now. Keep it going fellas. Looks like a beautiful morning there - standard.

46.40 for Ger664 at 10k. Don't know his target. Delighted to see The Bitter Lemon made it in the end! 44.40 at 10.

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Glad Yaboya didn't go off too fast, bet he was tempted!

No 15k time yet for TBL. Hopefully just a tracking malfunction. I see Yaboya had slowed a tiny bit, might be just a tougher few km or something.

1.32.47 at Halfway for Yaboya. Spot on for the 3.05 if he can keep that up.

The three lads through Halfway. Homeward bound now!