Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complete noob looking for help :)

Options
  • 21-02-2012 3:13am
    Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭

I've been reading through alot of old posts and stickys so I'm gradually learning how to care for fish properly :) So here goes with my (possibly millions) of questions! Please bear with me...

I'm more then likely getting an aquarium in the next day or so (someone I know is getting rid of one and I jumped at the opportunity of taking it on). It's a 60l tank with a Black moor goldfish, a common goldfish, 2 Fantail goldfish and 5 small minnows. It's about 30 minutes drive away from me so my first question is what would be the best way to transport the fish and aquarium?

I've been reading alot about cycling a tank before adding fish... what would be the best thing to do with a tank like this? I presume I'd have to leave some of the water behind during travelling, do I just top it up with treated de-chlorinated water once I get it home? The tank itself comes with a pump, so I presume I'll have to get a filter installed and sorted? How should I go about this? (is there brands you would recommend or avoid?)

I'm just worried about killing off all the fish once they get here and upsetting the ph, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate balance? I can't do a proper cycle with the fish in the aquarium so what would be my best course of action?

Aghhh! I know I'm over thinking and over complicating this but fingers crossed someone will be able to put my mind at ease :) I really appreciate ANY help!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭are you serious