Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your take on life

• 22-02-2012 9:21am
    Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭

Hi, I posted this in After hours but it got locked so I hope this is the right place for it:)

So, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking, about life, the mere vastness of the universe and the possibility of other life/ beings existing within the universe

I’ve looked at so many theories over the years and to be honest I’m still none the wiser as to what in the feck were all doing here, sitting on this pale blue dot, arguing about trivial things and fighting among ourselves over issues that frankly don’t matter at all in the grand scheme of things

I’ve been an atheist for most of my life but the more I think about it, the less sense it makes. People sit here and ridicule others who believe in Christian/Islam gods yet our explanation to life on earth is the big bang theory which states that the entire universe began 13 billion years ago when it exploded forth from a singularity the size of an atom. That doesn’t sit well with me because it lacks any real evidence and has many many holes in the theory

Other beliefs that have went through my head are that we are some strange experiment planted on this hospitable planet by a far far superior race of beings in order to observe us or even harvest us when they get peckish!

At the end of the day I’d class myself as an agnostic person, I don’t know if there is a higher power, I doubt it but I think it would be ignorant to completely discount the possibility

There are obviously loads more theories out there, tell us what you think what in the name of jaysus we are doing here(excuse the punbiggrin.gif)

Your Beliefs 5 votes

I’m of the Christian faith(Any variety)
    0% 0 votes
    I’m of the Muslim faith(Any Variety)
    20% 1 vote
    I am an atheist(We die and rot, zero chance of anything after death)
    0% 0 votes
    I am an agnostic. (We will never know or understand what happens after death
    20% 1 vote
    Other(Please specify!)
    60% 3 votes

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I have a lot of theories that bounce around my head depending on my mood. The more I delve into stuff like this, the less concerned I am about the bigger picture. Im not an astrophysicist, my brain is finding it harder and harder to absorb the more complex theories of physics. :) Likewise with religion, which I feel, like physics, is an attempt to find order in chaos. Its a man made mechanism to find meaning in life, and it is flawed.

So where has that left me? I think the only way to find meaning is to look within yourself. You cannot really ever understand the world (only put labels and theories on it) and you cant understand other people fully, you can only ever attempt to understand yourself. I think that is what we are here to do. To discover our full potential, and to get to the core of what makes us tick. Not what we have, or what we can do, but scraping back all the masks we hide behind and being honest about what our soul looks like. Which sounds all deep and meaningful, but to me is relatively simple. You discover who you are by facing challenges here. By doing the things that are difficult, that scare you. And by looking within to the painful places and not being afraid of that, either.

Is there a god? No idea. But if you do the soul searching I talk about, and get used to being in your own head, and finding that inner peace, there is a source of joy that comes from that which feels like it is external, divine. I cant say what it is, but I know it is a good thing. Anyone who finds that peace probably experiences it in their own unique way, and however they choose to define it is ok.

The last thing I think we are here to do is to love. The word love has been cheapened into an embarrassment by being bandied around too much, and only being understood in a romantic sense. But all the cliches are right. Love is all you need. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Go Tobban wrote: »
    There are obviously loads more theories out there, tell us what you think what in the name of jaysus we are doing here(excuse the punbiggrin.gif)

Why is it that we need to know why we are here?

Is it that knowing gives us some kind of security, something to cling on to in the flux of existnce?
    Or is it the will to be right and exclaim understanding?

Is the ultimate goal to understand what's going on? It would seem to me that it would be very dull indeed if I knew the answer as to why I'm here.

Or if one day we are to understand everything, would thinking come to a halt? Never.

All knowledge is static, but thinking itself is not. Keep thinking.

(A caveat: I am not preaching ignorance or irrationality)

Is this the ultimate joke, that questions (thinking) doesn't really want answers (the answer), because then it has nothing left to think about! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

18AD wrote: »

Is this the ultimate joke, that questions (thinking) doesn't really want answers (the answer), because then it has nothing left to think about! :pac:

All that begins must end, and therefore all that ends must begin again. The circle never stops as it never started in the first place.
    There is only NOW, do it right...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭gillad

Here is my view on EVERYTHING...
    Before the big bang/creation was what scientists call the singularity.This was a huge amount of compressed energy that exploded to form everything in the universe.All thought(BRAINWAVES) is energy so my view is that the singularity was conscious and aware of itself.This consciousness was god /creator or whatever you want to call it but it had no gender.It isnt male or female,It isnt an old man with a beard that lives in heaven....it is pure spirit....IT evolved or decided to evolve or change and that was the moment of creation/the big bang.....Everything was formed out of this explosion so everything has part of this consciousness in it.GOD is everywhere and in everything....Most of the stuff that came from the big bang only has a subconscious and is not aware of itself,but us humans have evolved enough intelligence to be aware of ourselves and some of us are aware of our subconscious too, which is part of our ultimate evolution....The ultimate evolution is not the human form but our consciousness/soul.. we learn all about emotions and positive and negative energies during our human journey and this prepares us for the ultimate evolution which is the return to the father of all consciousness, pure bliss and positive energy/heaven:P:D.

It took us 14 billion years to get to where we are now but i believe there are other conscious spirits which have evolved in other parts of the universe and some are ahead of us on their journey and some are behind us....They will not all be carbon based like our world:eek: but we all came from the same moment in creation so we will all have the same common conscious awareness of ourselves and we will all know of each other in the end when we all return to what we came from , pure positive spiritual energy/bliss:P.

This energy/god does not care about our day to day human life:confused:.we all have freewill and thats why there`s lots of suffering in the world....This energy does care about our spiritual side because that is what we have in common with it and it wants us to connect with it.The only way to connect with this energy is through meditation or prayer.
    If you find your spiritual side you will reconnect with this energy at death and it will be bliss...if you dont connect fully with your spiritual side you wont know where to go at death and you may be reborn to try again(if your lucky)....if you have no spiritual side or beliefs then your energy will just dissipate into the universe at death and thats the end of you for ever.:((which may suit some people)...

The meaning of life:connect with your deepest self to find immortality
    How to connect:Meditate or pray or do both
    best of luck:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

Was and will be does not exist in His kingdom. Time is only perceived here on the material plane where everything relative but it does not exist in the absolute. Let me explain it to you. What you see is already IS the past. Light reflected back from objects take "time" to enter your brain through your eyes. A clear example of this are the stars you looking at during night. The light takes millions of years to reach your eyes even though they do not exist any more as they exploded or born millions of years before. A more common example: nothing can be seen unless light reflects back to you. A passing car's sillouette is already in the past before it even passes you. If you understand this, you understand that past or future co-exist in a single, beautiful NOW right here. Single flashes and reflections of lights nothing more nothing less. And who is the creator of these all? You are my friend. And I am my brother. Right here, right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 safarigirl

yeah i have thought alot about this the last couple of years after losing someone and realising i dont believe in heaven anymore.
    the universe .....where does it end, is there a wall and then nothing behide it, then the nothing behide it must be something! Others worlds? i am sure there are other living beings on another planet somewhere.