Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Escort XR3I conv -Vintage?

• 22-02-2012 10:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13

Strange one on dumb dealer today a guy in Wexford selling a few classic cars,
    One of them is a vintage XR3I conv , with a wexford reg 4755 MI,
    Couple of strange things about it , The XR3I version wasnt available until 1983 and the conv version later on in the year , also when you check the reg on cartell 4755MI its a 1.1 ford escort.
    Looks like another one of these pre -production one off rare test vehicles again .
    Or did Ford make 1.1 xr3i specials ahead of the rest of the world just for the rural Irish market .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

4755MI would be an '82 issue i reckon.
    Before we all start throwing mud, maybe theres a legitamite explanation. Though the fact the Convertible didnt appear till 1983 sort of makes things interesting..?

Have you a link to this car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

that could well be an 83 reg, we have a Tractor with an MI reg, I'll check her in the mornin when I can see me way round the Haggard without tripping over something and getting killed, but AFAIR its 3XXX MI and she was early 83, butl ike I said I'll confirm that

would seem more likely that the lad is trying to attach the XR3i moniker fraudulentlyto the car than anything else

wiki wrote:
    A convertible version, courtesy of coachbuilder Karmann appeared the same year, significant as it was the first drop-top car produced by Ford Europe since the Corsair of the 1960s. The Escort Cabriolet was initially available in both XR3i and Ghia specification, but the Ghia variant was dropped after a couple of years

even if it was a Ghia it would still be 1.3 wouldnt it???

also I cant seem to find the item in question, can you post a link or a scren cap

To be fair, you should have posted a link with your original post OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Blue850

Full-10142896.jpeg

A MK4:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 13 scanorak

Beat me to it , great job done on this baby all the same , lot of work updating the whole front of the car , he must of put a lot of time in making an 82 car look years newer.
    I wonder if he has all the original bits taken off for sale ?

Hmm..thats more like it...pretty obvious now that something is up...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

Reluctant to join in, but I know XR3i cabs backwards. Even looks like one of my old ones. End of line edition champagne over metalic black. Half leather 90 spec etc.

rekon that guy in Wexford would be better off selling vintage strawberries than so called vintage cars ,
    Especially when that one looks like a right lemon.
    Are these guys just getting greedy or are they do they just not give a dam ?
    Would the Gardai or the Revenue have any interest in that carry on?

Sorry officer, that plate was just resting on my car....:D

It has a few details that make me think it is my old car. The wheels are from a standard XR3i. That car came with a BBS style wheel. I changed them to the standard wheels. Also the clear front and side repeaters.

I suspect it is 90-D-41588

1: I should point out that could all be circumstantial evidence.

2: Cabriolet Bodyshells first started production on 15/09/83 to 15/12/85

It has a few details that make me think it is my old car..
    Jeebus..The irony of this is not lost on me...:P

Nor I. MI is 1983 issue though.

Mr lemon seller claims it to be 48 euros road tax? . so in his mind its 1982 or older.
    Maybe these guys should form there own clasic car club , that xr3i would look good parked up beside that 1977 TR7 conv,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

if we can spot these, how come you never here of the Gards or Customs doing so?

PS ad is gone...

corktina wrote: »
    if we can spot these, how come you never here of the Gards or Customs doing so?

PS ad is gone...

Probably because most customs guys and guards wouldn't have a clue of the old regs.

Obviously but that doesnt explain why they don't TRAIN them to spot fraudulent cars.

Ah here, theres Trainin someone to spot the nuances between a 82 1.1 escort and an 83 1.6 but anyone with eyes in their head could see that that was a 90's escort

I understand from the previous thread of this sort that the Forum does not condone Witchunts, however this is not so much a case of pointin at the warty chick and screaming BURN HER but more akin to wonderin if this Sudden downpour of Toads might be related to the Crazy aulwan down the road who sacrifices Children

how would one NCT such a car I wonder?

good point, would the MI reg make the car NCT Exempt??

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Tzar Chasm wrote: »
    would the MI reg make the car NCT Exempt??

Anything 1980 onwards isn't.