Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Challenge the Greenway

• 23-02-2012 11:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if many of you will be doing this cycle. It's on March 18th.
    Well we’ve teamed up with the Cystic Fibrosis West team to help them raise the much needed funds required to build a
    very specialised day care unit at Mayo General Hospital, specifically for CF sufferers.
    To do this we’ve set ourselves a Challenge to complete the 26 mile world famous Great Western Greenway - a
    picturesque walk/cycle trail which traverses Ireland’s idyllic Atlantic coast between Westport and Achill Island -
    When? March 18th 2012. Want to really make a difference? Think you can take the challenge?....

Challenge The Greenway - Website
    Challenge The Greenway - Facebook

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Nah, not a cyclist. It's for a good cause though.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Best of luck with this. Great scenery, especially on the Newport Mulranny leg.

Suggest you contact the following

Mayo News Mill St Westport
    Westport Tourism Office Mill St Wesstport
    Anna Connor Walks Officer Mayo Co Council Westport *MOD NOTE: No phone numbers*

• Registered Users Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭irishgeo

martyoo wrote: »

Just wondering if many of you will be doing this cycle. It's on March 18th.

Challenge The Greenway - Website
    Challenge The Greenway - Facebook

got a friends wedding the day before so, i doubt it.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

irishgeo wrote: »

Its a leisure cycle not the tour de france :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭irishgeo

yop wrote: »
    Its a leisure cycle not the tour de france :)

the wedding is in mullranny , perhaps i could get a lift home to achill:D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Put the bike on the back you lazy fecker! :) I will bring u on the handle bars if I am back on the bike by then. ;) Shud be great crack.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,273 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

irishgeo wrote: »

Pretty sure I'm going to that same wedding :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭martyoo

Ah it will be good craic alright. I did Newport to Achill and back a few months ago. The wind on the way down was a nightmare but on the way back the bike nearly cycled itself. :)

p.s There will be sugary tae en route!

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

So, Anyone doing the challenge this Saturday. Myself and a friend have signed up but really don't know what to expect.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

TonyStark wrote: »
    So, Anyone doing the challenge this Saturday. Myself and a friend have signed up but really don't know what to expect.

As long as your bundled up and take your time you'll be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

I thought this event was fixed for last Monday:confused:. By the way next Saturday is promised to be a dog of a day:eek:.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,273 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I thought this event was fixed for last Monday:confused:. By the way next Saturday is promised to be a dog of a day:eek:.

Saw a few cycling by earlier, I bet they wish they left from westport rather than cycling into that wind!

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Saw a few cycling by earlier, I bet they wish they left from westport rather than cycling into that wind!

It was grand in the end... when it ended. I think it was a 20-25kmph headwind for all of it.. done a spin to Mulranny before and averaged about 22kmph... today it was 13kmph :-( Had never cycled on the Greenway to Westport...Good fun all the same!