Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

would you buy a bike without seeing it?

• 26-02-2012 8:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭

hi, would you buy a bike without seeing it?

i seen a motocross dirtbike on donedeal which i want to buy

he said he will put a video up on youtube of it running etc etc

its fresh enough and at a reasonable price

its in mayo and ive no way of getting it.

a courier would collect it relatively cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭cgarrad

Low mileage road bike with good pics. Yes.

Dirt bike. No way ;-)

They get hammered.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭hmf300

cgarrad wrote: »

Dirt bike. No way ;-)

They get hammered.

its 2006, fairly fresh looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Ride Safe

jimgoose wrote: »
    No.

+ NO

jimgoose wrote: »
    No.

hmm im stuck so.. was going to send him paypal and get the bike collected.

once the bike is going right id be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

hmf300 wrote: »

If you find something wrong with the bike after you receive it; it is already too late.

I could send you a video of my bike and from a video it looks great but if you are standing beside it you can see there are loads of scratches.

If you're that set on it and it suits you that much arrange to travel there with a mate (or a paid professional) to see the machine. It couldn't be that hyper-impossible, particularly as you're talking about purchasing a motor vehicle of as-yet unknown pedigree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭gipi

Someone posted an ad on dd yesterday in reply to an ad for a bike for sale that he'd travelled 3 hrs to look at. Bike was nothing like its description, was a heap of junk, so the prospective buyer put up an ad to warn people.

Funnily enough, bike for sale was in Mayo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,155 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Are you taking the piss here? Paypal someone after having seen the ad, getting a courier to deliver it to you? Cop on man.

NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭gipi

Sorry, T-maxx, couldn't quite hear you there....:D

gipi wrote: »
    Someone posted an ad on dd yesterday in reply to an ad for a bike for sale that he'd travelled 3 hrs to look at. Bike was nothing like its description, was a heap of junk, so the prospective buyer put up an ad to warn people.

Funnily enough, bike for sale was in Mayo!

Well if 'tis the same ****eheap I'll eat Cecil's jocks!! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Where in mayo is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Maybe if it's off a main dealer. Not a hope private, and definitely not a hope with a motocross bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Killgore Trout

WTF, OP? No!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭DaveD

A friend of mine bought a bike off donedeal without seeing it. It was in cork and he didn't fancy the trip. He used bike trans to collect the bike for him, who check it out before they take it and if theres any issues or it's not as described they'd ring you.

Bike trans - http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/motorbikes/2827116

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Yeah go on sure, what's the worst that could happen!?

Wooden-Dirt-Bike-Model.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

NO
    NO
    NO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I wouldn't recommend buying a bike without seeing it, but I would certainly recommend getting someone to check it out for you or getting Biketrans or other reliable bike courier to check it and buy it for you. I'm sure if you asked nicely you'll find someone in the area to take a look at it for you. Where in Mayo is it?

'cptr

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Motocross bike engines get trashed and can get big problems. A video will tell you nothing other than at some point in the past, this bike rode ok.

Never, ever, ever EVER trust a sellers description of something.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 T954

Under absolutely NO circumstances whatsoever would I buy a bike I had not seen and had not the chance to start myself from cold.

In any case the pic never tells the story until you have seen the bike......I though the new blade was so ugly till i saw it in the flesh back in 2008 and when I saw it I bought one and still love the look of the bike.

NEVER EVER consider buying a bike from a pic or a vid......NO WAY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭spankmaster2000

It's not quite the same situation, but I put a hefty deposit on a Speed Triple without seeing it. It was new enough, and from a dealer as well (in the UK), so I thought I'd go for it. The same dealer happened to have 2 other Speed Triples in stock as well; and was happy to let me use the deposit on either of them if I wasn't happy with the one I wanted.

As for paying full whack up front though....no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,304 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

So, a person could buy a bike 2nd hand. Take pictures of it. Take a video of it. Then uses it for 6 months going though fields until it can't go up hills due to damage. So he then sells it. To the OP.

The point of my story: you really don't know when the video was taken, or if it's even the same bike.

i would be paying with paypal... so as normally i will be 100% covered if im not happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i would be paying with paypal... so as normally i will be 100% covered if im not happy

no you wouldn't, paypal won't cover you 100%

i think i will use biketrans! thanks for the positive answers lads

• Registered Users Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

hi, would you buy a bike without seeing it?

i seen a motocross dirtbike on donedeal which i want to buy

he said he will put a video up on youtube of it running etc etc

its fresh enough and at a reasonable price

its in mayo and ive no way of getting it.

a courier would collect it relatively cheap.

I hope it is not this bike: http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/motorbikes/3047902

Apparently it is not exactly as described.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭B bopp

Not a chance should you ever pay for anything with a motor without seeing and starting it yourself. i wouldn't even buy a lawn mower like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

i think i will use biketrans! thanks for the positive answers lads
    What positive answers? :confused:

Hop on a bus and take a look ffs...

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭tiernanobrien

cgarrad wrote: »

Dirt bike. No way ;-)

They get hammered.

I did buy a road bike before without seeing it in the UK. Had FSH, millions of pics, MOT's and sounded grand. Bike was a minter in every respect.

Dirt bikes are a different thing all together though...

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭tiernanobrien

also, biketrans have a look at the bike but they don't drive it. The cosmetics are hardly the biggest problem you'll come accross