Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nokia PureView 808 - 41 megapixel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Got my hands on one today, and its pretty slick. Its very similar to the N8 as suspected, but its much quicker. First thought were it looks much bigger, but it doesn't feel it when you using it. Holds better in the hand, doesn't have that slippery fish feel that the aluminum housing gives. The housing curve of the camera acts as a perfect rest against you finger. I do like the way the camera is silver in the black model, makes it stand out that bit more.

It runs the same as the N8 for most parts. Few little changes here and there, changes slower from landscape to portrait as it zooms out a little which is a bit annoying, wifi and NFC widgets are on the homescreen, better data tracker as part of the connectivity settings, holding the keylock switch for 2 seconds will turn the flash on/off to act as a torch. The hdmi adapter wasn't given like it was in the N8, which i thought was pretty poor.

I haven't used the camera enough to say how good it is, but the one thing I noticed is the speed. Its far quicker to open and take a picture than the N8. Their is no loading or waiting. The image isn't displayed after you take it, its slides to the corner, leaving the camera open ready to take more pictures without having to press back all the time like the N8. To go to the gallery, you simply click the little picture in the corner, no going to options menu etc which is a great improvement if you take a lot of pictures. The editing of them is much quicker, and laid out better. Their is a dedicated facebook button also while viewing the pictures, which uploads in one click.

All i can think of at the moment, any questions on it just ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Davy wrote: »
    Got my hands on one today, and its pretty slick. Its very similar to the N8 as suspected, but its much quicker. First thought were it looks much bigger, but it doesn't feel it when you using it. Holds better in the hand, doesn't have that slippery fish feel that the aluminum housing gives. The housing curve of the camera acts as a perfect rest against you finger. I do like the way the camera is silver in the black model, makes it stand out that bit more.

It runs the same as the N8 for most parts. Few little changes here and there, changes slower from landscape to portrait as it zooms out a little which is a bit annoying, wifi and NFC widgets are on the homescreen, better data tracker as part of the connectivity settings, holding the keylock switch for 2 seconds will turn the flash on/off to act as a torch. The hdmi adapter wasn't given like it was in the N8, which i thought was pretty poor.

I haven't used the camera enough to say how good it is, but the one thing I noticed is the speed. Its far quicker to open and take a picture than the N8. Their is no loading or waiting. The image isn't displayed after you take it, its slides to the corner, leaving the camera open ready to take more pictures without having to press back all the time like the N8. To go to the gallery, you simply click the little picture in the corner, no going to options menu etc which is a great improvement if you take a lot of pictures. The editing of them is much quicker, and laid out better. Their is a dedicated facebook button also while viewing the pictures, which uploads in one click.

All i can think of at the moment, any questions on it just ask

Where did you see it?.
    I'm not for the dedicated Facebook thing seen this a while back.

The rest seems fine and faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

jimmynokia wrote: »
    Where did you see it?.

Came from a mate, so you cant see it a shop im afraid. Im not that keen on the dedicated facebook button either, but im sure a lot would be. I do like how well they crafted it though as per previous attempts. I would like to see a change in futher updates that you could set it to something you wanted like flickr etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭long_b

Came from a mate, so you cant see it a shop im afraid. Im not that keen on the dedicated facebook button either, but im sure a lot would be. I do like how well they crafted it though as per previous attempts. I would like to see a change in futher updates that you could set it to something you wanted like flickr etc

Anything built in for Dropbox ?
    Is there a T9 text entry option ?

long_b wrote: »
    Anything built in for Dropbox ?

No, not that im aware
    Is there a T9 text entry option ?

Im not sure what you mean?

Do you mean auto finish using qwerty, or spelling using T9 on a alphanumeric keyboard? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭lolie

If you still have your N8 can you do a night time camera comparison with and without flash as all comparisons so far have been in daylight.
    I intend gettin it later on this year.
    Would be good if it could take pics while recording video like the onex and the s3.
    But reading damien dinnings comments on twitter it aint gonna happen

lolie wrote: »
    If you still have your N8 can you do a night time camera comparison with and without flash as all comparisons so far have been in daylight.
    I intend gettin it later on this year.
    Would be good if it could take pics while recording video like the onex and the s3.
    But reading damien dinnings comments on twitter it aint gonna happen

No you cant do it, and from the way the camera is setup i dont think it can. You could try get stills from the video afterwards but going to stand up compared to using creative mode.
    I will try get night shots versus the N8.

Cheers Davy.
    How does the low res screen look with the clearback display, compared to say the gs2?

Some of the photos online took with the 808 look stunning for a phone camera.

No, not that im aware

Im not sure what you mean?

Do you mean auto finish using qwerty, or spelling using T9 on a alphanumeric keyboard? :confused:

A T9 soft keypad for text entry - herself will be transitioning from an N82

Where did you see it?.

So where did your mate get it?
    Nokia Ireland don't even have One

Finland

Yes, does have one in portrait mode.

Cheers Davy.
    How does the low res screen look with the clearback display, compared to say the gs2?

The first thing I noticed were the blacks, more better than the N8. I haven't compared it to anything else so be hard to say exactly but it's not be the best screen out there but I'm willing to let that go for what else you do get.

Finland

Yes, does have one in portrait mode.

Cheers Davy.

The first thing I noticed were the blacks, more better than the N8. I haven't compared it to anything else so be hard to say exactly but it's not be the best screen out there but I'm willing to let that go for what else you do get.

Well can your mate help people here here it from finland?
    I would of took a few pics of it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Devane

I'm waiting to see what happens. If I can't get it here through my contract, I'll get it from Germany. Its EUR 509,00 . Better than 500 sterling.

http://www.amazon.de/Nokia-PureView-Smartphone-Touchscreen-Symbian/dp/B007VKAJYY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1339543966&sr=8-1

In fact I've read people have been receiving the 808 over the past week from Amazon Germany even though it states "not available".

I've been told some niche phones have appeared on contract at time of release for a limited time, so I'll jump on that if it happens. An official denial from Vodafone Ireland & co would be handy.

Devane wrote: »
    I'm waiting to see what happens. If I can't get it here through my contract, I'll get it from Germany. Its EUR 509,00 . Better than 500 sterling.

http://www.amazon.de/Nokia-PureView-Smartphone-Touchscreen-Symbian/dp/B007VKAJYY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1339543966&sr=8-1

In fact I've read people have been receiving the 808 over the past week from Amazon Germany even though it states "not available".

I've been told some niche phones have appeared on contract at time of release for a limited time, so I'll jump on that if it happens. An official denial from Vodafone Ireland & co would be handy.

No operator is stocking this here. It will be an online job like the N9.

Is there extra VAT on top to match Irish VAT rate and do Amazon Germany do free delivery to Ireland?

Say it was available in the UK or elsewhere subsidised on contract,
    what do you reckon the chances of getting it unlocked
    via an online code or local phone shop ?

bound to be someone offering this service. Probably harder to find it locked in the first place!

what do you reckon the chances of getting it unlocked
    via an online code or local phone shop ?

Hard to say bout getting it unlocked but if say phones4U get it which maybe the only operator that will and its a big might they will be unlocked,(firstbatch) follow them on twitter if your on it or just keep checking ,so leg it up to newry and get one.
    There is another P4U store a bit nearer cant remember the name of the place,but thats where i would go..

Amazon de. are quite good and also check out handtec uk.These would be the other options.
    Handtec uk is also on twitter and give good notice

Ive bought from both and never had trouble.

I think so but if there is a 1 in a million chance of it being cheaper on contract I'm waiting until it's 100% certain. I fear I won't be using my upgrade eligibility for some time.
    Is there extra VAT on top to match Irish VAT rate and do Amazon Germany do free delivery to Ireland?

I don't know. I haven't ordered electronics overseas for years. The last thing I ordered was Digital Piano from thomann.de for about 2000 euro and didn't get any additional nasty charges on delivery. The total was the total.

The final figure I get from Amazon.de when I click through all the screens is 526.11 Euro so delivery isn't free. You can use your .co.uk credentials.

Yeah a locked 808 will be hard. My N8 was from Vodafone on contract and it came unlocked.

I think so but if there is a 1 in a million chance of it being cheaper on contract I'm waiting until it's 100% certain. I fear I won't be using my upgrade eligibility for some time.

Suppose we could always just buy from Amazon.de, get a different phone on a contract from an operator here and then flog that (subsidised) phone then, effectively cashing in the subsidy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭jayjay2010

The phone is available to buy on Expansys.ie

I posted it on a seperate thread this morning but I suppose it would have been better here.

http://www.expansys.ie/nokia-808-pureview-white-eu-plug+uk-adapter-233712/

way too expensive tho

jayjay2010 wrote: »
    The phone is available to buy on Expansys.ie

I posted it on a seperate thread this morning but I suppose it would have been better here.

http://www.expansys.ie/nokia-808-pureview-white-eu-plug+uk-adapter-233712/

way too expensive tho

Are you sure it's "available to buy" and not a pre-order? It says "Ordered on request, please contact us for details" ?

Ye, when i read that i thought the same. You could order and then be left waiting. You would probably get it from amazon.co.uk quicker.

http://t.co/7lrEetyt
    Now available in germany via amazon

Nokia 808 on Auto mode 7416494114_df81f2bb22_b.jpg
    Nokia 808 on Creative Mode 7416498982_74b28b0063_b.jpg
    Taken with Nokia N8 7416654228_ff92780340_b.jpg
    Nokia 808 on Auto mode 7416495992_97eb17128f_b.jpg
    Nokia 808 on Creative mode 7416494334_0e2d28f324_b.jpg
    Nokia N8 7416693474_5d43b25071_b.jpg
    7416694034_d293ba33d5_c.jpg This photo shows the data tracker widget. Its quite handy, changes colour to red when roaming. Clicking on it brings adintion settings, max usage, reset etc. Wifi on/off beside it.

Whatsapp works much better on feature pack 1. A notification slides in from the top like sms preview showing the message briefly. This doesnt happen for standard text messages.

Email syncing and built in client has be updated. Much quicker to move between accounts and emails. The dedicated delete button (trash can) is back after being removed in previous update.

Photostream
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/davydavy/sets/72157630228106534/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

sorry,just posting this to point out how good the sound is
    ont his phone.truely amazin:)
    all round camera..video cam.
    i want one!
    but can any guess when it will be
    in a windows phone?

tbh,i just askin cos i want to try windows os.
    i would think it will be the new year,at least?

Nokia 808 on Creative Mode
    7416498982_74b28b0063_b.jpg
    Taken with Nokia N8
    7416654228_ff92780340_b.jpg

Good snaps Davy.
    Which out of the 808 and n8 grass pics is the most accurate colour wise.

Good snaps Davy.
    Which out of the 808 and n8 grass pics is the most accurate colour wise.

808 most defiantly

You dont zoom in full resolution mode, so you can crop the picture to give the picture you want with great results

Click pictures for large size

Took in creative full res mode 7420759188_cfcf625134_n.jpg

Cropped from above pic 7420759780_43d9d48cb7_n.jpg

Second crop from first pic 7420759882_c5ffd1a3ab_n.jpg

deco nate wrote: »

sorry,just posting this to point out how good the sound is
    ont his phone.truely amazin:)
    all round camera..video cam.
    i want one!
    but can any guess when it will be
    in a windows phone?

tbh,i just askin cos i want to try windows os.
    i would think it will be the new year,at least?

pureview is coming to windows phone it will be within the next year.

new full review from gsm arena - I want this NOW!

http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_808_pureview-review-776.php

new full review from gsm arena - I want this NOW!

http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_808_pureview-review-776.php

bet me to it lol,read this earlier,a great non biased review

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭g0g

Want one even more now after reading review but simply couldn't justify spending that much on a phone when I can get an upgrade in work the odd time. Why oh why won't VF just pick this one up!!!!

At least maybe if there's a WP8 from Nokia with Pureview later in the year that'll be worth the wait and I can try a new OS. That said, I'm perfectly happy with Symbian.

I've asked Nokia directly to even make it available online for people here and in the uk via Nokia website.

Might be coming to a UK network
    http://t.co/HPVJh99F

And buy from amazon UK very very soon
    http://t.co/MCliQJIi

And finally a message from stephen elop
    pureview is coming to more devices
    http://t.co/aE3K6lcJ
    Although i knew this and so did a few its out for all to see now,so enjoy these 3 little bits of news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

Ah, good, at last an alternative upgrade path for my N8.

G.

Amazon.de have raised the price (their own price) from €509 to €599...

http://www.amazon.de/gp/offer-listing/B007VKAN8G/ref=dp_olp_new/275-2267365-9802952?ie=UTF8&condition=new

That makes Amazon UK roughly the same for the moment.

I've asked Nokia directly to even make it available online for people here and in the uk via Nokia website.

any response? probably not necessary now if Amazon UK are about to go live, and it would probably be €599 in any event...

It ain't happening ,same route as N9.
    Fail, if you ask me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

Feck. That's out, then. I'll just have to overclock the N8 and keep it until it burns out. Then back to the treo, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭dr ro

What is overclock? Is it speed up? How's it done.

Amazon date has arrived - and it is now showing "out of stock, we will deliver when available".

Probably would not have got it immediately until price maybe dropped a bit, but this is disappointing.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nokia-PureView-Free-Mobile-Phone/dp/B0080E5G9I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1341048414&sr=8-1

Suppose we could always just buy from Amazon.de, get a different phone on a contract from an operator here and then flog that (subsidised) phone then, effectively cashing in the subsidy.
    My contract expired but no upgrade available. Basically you're paying for your upgrade even before you enter into a contract. I'll cash on it later. Not a good month for spending on gadgets when we've got this Volvo thing and the races in Galway.

Amazon.de have raised the price (their own price) from €509 to €599...

http://www.amazon.de/gp/offer-listing/B007VKAN8G/ref=dp_olp_new/275-2267365-9802952?ie=UTF8&condition=new

That makes Amazon UK roughly the same for the moment.

Yeah I saw that. Jack up the prices for the mad rush. I wonder will it drop quickly after the rush?

Note the availability map now officially has Ireland on the list which brings you here...
    http://www.nokia.com/ie-en/products/phone/808/

Which lead to Amazon.co.uk :rolleyes: Thanks Nokia Ireland so you're not selling it in Ireland.

dr ro wrote: »
    What is overclock? Is it speed up? How's it done.

Wait for the stripped down version of Belle Feature Pack 1.
    http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/flow/item/14883_N8_etc_quoted_to_get_cut-down_.php

The N8 has an update that it may overclock the processor. In the comments they state the default is 680 MHz and the max is 772 MHz. Battery performance would be my concern, which is probably why the default is what it is until they know how it performs in the wild.
    And finally a message from stephen elop
    pureview is coming to more devices
    http://t.co/aE3K6lcJ

Damian Dinning told us that in February. But "Pureview Technology" means "oversampling". It doesn't necessarily mean we'll see higher specs on the next windows phones. The under-emphasised sound quality of the 808 I could see being standard but I don't see non-geeks putting up with a bump of their phone.

No way will I buy a Windows phone anyway.

No USB mode, you have to deal with using software and mess around with converting files because it can't play them "as is".
    No FM transmitter. I use this everyday.
    Can't send files on Bluetooth. Seriously?

Jeez they'll need to fix that mess for when I buying from Nokia again...after my 808 (whenever I get it):)

hmm...not even appearing on amazon when searching for it now...