Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dogs destroying our town

• 28-02-2012 4:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭

drogheda folk whats the solution to this major embarrassment:mad:.
    this morning i walked from newfield to west street and it was alarming the amount of DOG **** there is on the footpaths all the way to the town.
    i know dog owners are supposed to pick it up but how many do, not many going by the amount of it littering out footpaths:mad::mad:
    is there a solution to this folks WHO in the corpo should be alerted to this or is there a politican in town that can sort it out and quickly...
    Imagine what visitors to our great town think of all this **** littering our streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Plenty of 2 legged dogs causing more of a problem, the amount of cans, plastic drinks bottles etc about the place is a joke. They really should bring in a deposit/refund system on those like in other countries :mad:

On the subject of dog sh!t though it's the same on the other side of town, we bring our lad regularly up the industrial estate on donore rd, there is a special red bin on a poll at either end for the poos but they are regularly full to overflowing :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

yes i know all this but what can be done about the problem its getting to the point where your looking for a clear path to walk in.
    who on the council should i get in contact with surly someone is responsable for keeping out streets and more important footpaths clean:o
    i often see a guy from the corpo cleaning the streets in town so why not get more of these machines to clean the foothpaths around town.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

Its the same in Dundalk, dog muck on nearly lots of footpaths , its disgusting and getting worse

• Registered Users Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭blingrhino

its an aboslute disgrace but not just confined to drogheda im afraid-dundalks the same and i heard george hook rabbiting on about it lately on the radio.
    the kids are coming home from school after walking in it!
    i think most responsible dog owners do clean up after their dogs but feck all we can do about the lads that are let out on their own.
    but answer this if you saw a fella out walking his dog and he did`nt clear up the "prize"- would you confront him or just put up with more s*** !
    sorry about the rant:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,359 ✭✭✭positron

I love dogs and hope to own one some day when I can afford to, but there are way too many noisy dogs (or good dogs with bad owners) around where I live, it's an non-stop barking fest every evening, well into the night. It's not just 2 or even a handful of dogs, I can hear this constant bank and whine coming from my estate and surroundings estates, it's mental.

I too have noticed dog poo on sidewalks too - and I have started carrying a few nappy bags with me at all times - I am not broadminded enough to clean up after strange dogs owned by lazy owners, but I hope to catch one in the act someday and offer the owner a bag as a subtle reminder and hopefully it will him/her some embarrassment too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

drogheda folk whats the solution to this major embarrassment:mad:.
    this morning i walked from newfield to west street and it was alarming the amount of DOG **** there is on the footpaths all the way to the town.
    i know dog owners are supposed to pick it up but how many do, not many going by the amount of it littering out footpaths:mad::mad:
    is there a solution to this folks WHO in the corpo should be alerted to this or is there a politican in town that can sort it out and quickly...
    Imagine what visitors to our great town think of all this **** littering our streets.

You should retitle the thread "dog owners destroying our town" - anyway it's nationwide and going to get worse. People shouldn't own dogs if they have insufficient land to exercise them on - sad but true. If you had a pet shark you wouldn't expect to be allowed to bring it to the local swimming pool so why should dog owners think that the pavements are the preserve of their dogs?

I'm gonna sus out the drogheda leader's face book page and see if they can highlight the problem.
    my wife's aunt had people from england stay in her house last year and now every time they get in contact with her they always ask how is ****e street (chord road) wow what memorys of drogheda shameful.:mad:
    thanks folks for all the replys great to see i'm not the only one upset and angry about this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Only last wednesday I had the displeasure of walking from Smiths garage to Constitution hill and the amount of Dogsh1t on the pavements was unreal never seen the likes of it before, you couldnt walk 5 yards with a bit of it in your way, your 100% right its a disgrace, what unearth does the litter wardens be at and I believe their are two of them covering Drogheda.

yes it's a discrace but i guess as per usual nothing will be done about it.
    wonder would drogheda leader or lmfm take up the story probably not important enough for them.
    there has to be someone in our town that will take up this challange ,and you know whats laughable jed nash one our elected TD's his office is right in the firing line, surly he must have noticed all that dog **** on his way to work.
    i reckon the solution it hiring people with those cleaning machines to do the jod because no matter how many times you ask dog owners to clean up it will go in one ear and out the other.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Waitsian

Here's an idea. How many unemployed have we? Employ someone to go round cleaning it up. They do it in France, they do it in Canada - why not here? There are specialised motor bikes that hoover it up and then disinfect the area. Easy. If I had no job, I'd gladly do it - getting paid to keep my home town clean. Wages combined with civic pride? Sounds good to me...

All they need to do is to implement the existing law. Fine people for fouling. It will quickly put a stop to the feckless nature some dog owners have.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 queenie1981

mod9maple wrote: »
    Here's an idea. How many unemployed have we? Employ someone to go round cleaning it up. They do it in France, they do it in Canada - why not here? There are specialised motor bikes that hoover it up and then disinfect the area. Easy. If I had no job, I'd gladly do it - getting paid to keep my home town clean. Wages combined with civic pride? Sounds good to me...

Are you really implying that people on the dole are so low down in society that they are only good for picking up dog sh*t..

why dont we get our pensioners to wipe our ar*ses while were at it!!

no body should have to clean up after anybodies dog except the person who owns the dog.

we have a serious problem in our estate, im am now taking pictures of the dogs who are continously let out purposly to sh*t on the green where all our kids have to play! i have spoken to this person and she's to ignorant to care but im going to have great pleasure in handing the pics to the council.

I hope that you never have the misfortune to find yourself unemployed!

Are you really implying that people on the dole are so low down in society that they are only good for picking up dog sh*t..

why dont we get our pensioners to wipe our ar*ses while were at it!!

no body should have to clean up after anybodies dog except the person who owns the dog.

we have a serious problem in our estate, im am now taking pictures of the dogs who are continously let out purposly to sh*t on the green where all our kids have to play! i have spoken to this person and she's to ignorant to care but im going to have great pleasure in handing the pics to the council.
    i agree with you 100% but alas people are people and unless you have litter wardens on every corner the problem will continue.
    mod9 is correct in what he says we need more street cleaners equipped with the proper machinery to do the job it's really that simple.

I'm not about to get into a slanging match with you because you're not worth the time or effort if your bluster is anything to go by but answer me this - how do you get the implication of this:

"people on the dole are so low down in society that they are only good for picking up dog sh*

from my comments? :confused:

There are people on Social Welfare of all skills, all abilities and all ambitions and I daresay there would be some who would love a council or government job keeping our streets clean. Give he or she a decent wage and the right equipment and why not? You seem to have some sort of chip on your shoulder and/or beef to gripe and that's not my problem but you shouldn't make assumptions about how people think. If you knew me and my (non-party) political activism you wouldn't be making such statements! :rolleyes:

As for the next poster after you - I have spent most of my adult life on Social Welfare and when not, in menial jobs. I have nothing but respect for those in difficult circumstances through no fault of their own but our ravenous economic system. So I know exactly what it is like.

I think that it's the way your post came across. If you had said why don't the council buy some suitable equipment and advertise for staff it would have been less offensive - anyway we're all singing off basically the same hymn sheet. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

positron wrote: »
    I love dogs and hope to own one some day when I can afford to, but there are way too many noisy dogs (or good dogs with bad owners) around where I live, it's an non-stop barking fest every evening, well into the night. It's not just 2 or even a handful of dogs, I can hear this constant bank and whine coming from my estate and surroundings estates, it's mental.

People get dogs on a whim and haven't a clue about the responsibility of taking care of an animal. The reason dogs are barking and whining is most likely due to lack of exercise or being left alone in back gardens day after day while their owners are at work.

I too have noticed dog poo on sidewalks too - and I have started carrying a few nappy bags with me at all times - I am not broadminded enough to clean up after strange dogs owned by lazy owners, but I hope to catch one in the act someday and offer the owner a bag as a subtle reminder and hopefully it will him/her some embarrassment too.

Not quite the same but I was in my car up on the fairgreen one day sitting at the lights. The guy in the car in front of me threw a bag from his take away out the window. I got SO annoyed I jumped out of my car, picked it up and threw it in back in his window and told him I was reporting him to the litter warden if he did it again:mad:. I think I managed to embarrass him a bit...

I think that it's the way your post came across. If you had said why don't the council buy some suitable equipment and advertise for staff it would have been less offensive - anyway we're all singing off basically the same hymn sheet. :)

That's what I meant indeed; maybe I could have worded it better. But 'queenie' had no call to jump down my throat and make assumptions about how I think or what I was supposedly implying.

We have binmen and street cleaners who do a great job. I've never been one to look down on anyone doing such tasks. In my opinion, having a council employee cleaning up after dogs should and could go hand in hand with education and awareness campaigns with dog owners and fines for those fail to clean up after their animals. Or better yet - community service, doing....guess what? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

civic pride? cleaning ****e off pavements?

That's what I meant indeed; maybe I could have worded it better. But 'queenie' had no call to jump down my throat and make assumptions about how I think or what I was supposedly implying.

We have binmen and street cleaners who do a great job. I've never been one to look down on anyone doing such tasks. In my opinion, having a council employee cleaning up after dogs should and could go hand in hand with education and awareness campaigns with dog owners and fines for those fail to clean up after their animals. Or better yet - community service, doing....guess what? ;)

In fairness I was about to too after seeing that post , but you recovered nicely and explained yourself well in the end :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Their is a law in place but obviously its not being enforced, the onus is on the dog owner to clean up their dogs mess.
    Contact the relevant authorities and LMFM, its the worst Ive ever seen anywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 queenie1981

if you dont want people to jump down ur throat then maybe you should word your opinions more clearly before u press the submit button. no body should have to pick up after anyones dog! im currently unemployed and i certainly have no desire to go around and pick up what someones dog left behind- if you do then fair play what a civic hero u would be. people who are to ignorant to pick it up themselves deserve to be prosecuted for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

Maybe we should get Aongus O Snodaigh to leaflet the area

'If your dog poops u must scoop!'

I personally don't see anything wrong with what mod9maple suggested, or in the way he/she worded it. The problem seems to be with those who feels outraged because they think "picking dog poo" is somehow "low". Work is work, I don't see how this is a 'lowly' thing to do, and what about the litter wardens, what about those volunteers who does this kinda of stuff already, what about sweepers, janitors and what about nurses who have to clean and wash incontinent, the drunk and everything in between?

However, I don't agree with the idea mod9maple posted, and like I think such a post should be paid for by the fines on dog owners, rather than everyone else's tax. So essentially, what we need is people who catch the fouling and not cleaning, and issue on-the-spot fine to the dog owner. This would put immediately put an end to the problem, imho!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

This is a pet hate of mine and also disgusting. It's an offence to let a dog foul a path with a fine of several thousand suposedly however, given the amount of dog mess lying around you'd be forgiven for thinking that you were given money for letting your dog foul everywhere.

I would really like to see this highlighted more. If anyone see's an owner letting there dog foul dont take it lying down! They are hoping you wont have the balls to confront them about it. Get in there and give them hell! Like cockroaches if you shine a light on them they will quickly scutlle back into the shadows.

There is only one dog warden and one or 2 litter wardens for Louth (not drogheda as some have stated.) and they are based in Dundalk.

There is a litter hotline so you can report incidents to the warden and I'd encourage everyone to do this if they can provide enough evidence that people are allowing their dogs to foul pathways.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

This problem will never go away, same as the litter problem and the fly tipping problems.
    Ireland and the Irish people can be so dirty at times, its a eye opener living abroad and how little rubbish i see on the streets compared to back home.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Agree completely, though I have seen some serious litter/dumping problems while abroad too.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Mickery

This really annoys me. Chord road, Drogheda is always a mess. We end up walking it into our homes. The day I catch someone they'll be sorry.

http://www.dublinwaste.ie/RL_Leinster.html

County Louth

Senior Staff Officer,
    Environment Section,
    Louth County Council,
    County Hall,
    Millenium Centre,
    Dundalk,
    Co Louth

Tel: 042 9353130
    Out of Hours: 042 9335457
    Fax: 042 9353196
    Litter Hotline: 1800 202 606
    Email: environment@louthcoco.ie

so who's good at composing a really good complaint to the louth council;)

Was up home at the week end and took my fella for a walk up the industrial estate. Imagine my surprise to find they have removed those overflowing poo bins at either end and replaced them with larger ones :eek:

He immediately cocked his leg on it to show what he thought of that :D

Now if they only had a few more of them about the town.