Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Occupy Cork Unoccupied?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

the camp is smaller again.
    6955395463_1bd1e60c2b_z.jpg
    Occupy Cork by Brian Clayton, on Flickr

and a lot of the junk has been cleared.
    6809284500_b866655015_z.jpg
    Occupy Cork by Brian Clayton, on Flickr

you can walk either side of the pod now, the barrier they built is gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I love the fact that we have a Shanty town on one of the nicest parts of the City.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

And most were probably claiming social welfare.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

How has that building got away with having no planning permission?

Also that orange tent looks like an MSR hubba, best part of €300.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

maglite wrote: »

Looks like one alright :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

maglite wrote: »
    How has that building got away with having no planning permission?

Where did you hear that it has no planning permission?

roundymac wrote: »
    Where did you hear that it has no planning permission?

Do you honestly think they could possibly apply for planning permission on a boardwalk to errect an unplumbed, unserviced, unsafe shack made from pallets and scrap wood?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Owen wrote: »
    Do you honestly think they could possibly apply for planning permission on a boardwalk to errect an unplumbed, unserviced, unsafe shack made from pallets and scrap wood?
    well the planners aproved underground car parks on a flood plane so there is a fraction of a chance it would slip through the system :D

Boom boom, well played sir!! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

I did't hear,

However I saw no public notice, nor did I hear of any objections to it. I also doubt the Council would grant Planning.

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭yenom

St Patricks day is coming soon, crusty camp right on the door of the biggest tourist day of the year. They also now want no government minister to look for foreign investment on St Patricks Day, fecking dirtbirds.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭wheresmybeaver

Occupy Dame Street was cleared by the Guards last night, I wonder will our local Cork eyesore be cleared as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,563 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Occupy Dame Street was cleared by the Guards last night, I wonder will our local Cork eyesore be cleared as well?

Any chance they did it last night as well? If they didn't, no doubt our crusty friends will be turning up again to occupy the camp they had abandoned.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

still there this morning, though the orange tent is gone. :)

News on a Council motion to have the boardwalk shanty town cleared off.
    http://corkindependent.com/stories/item/7922/2012-10/Un-occupied-Cork

This is superb. Last thing we need heading into Tourist Season is that mess on what is a beautiful riverside area in the City Centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 580 ✭✭✭regress

Highly likely same thing will happen as in Dublin. Gardai will come and dismantle it in the middle of the night when only one or two there. However now that they know it's coming and weather is getting warmer it may be reoccupied

• Registered Users Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭sozbox

News on a Council motion to have the boardwalk shanty town cleared off.
    http://corkindependent.com/stories/item/7922/2012-10/Un-occupied-Cork

This is superb. Last thing we need heading into Tourist Season is that mess on what is a beautiful riverside area in the City Centre.

Ha, just came on to post this!
    I think the best outcome for all involved is for the remaining protestor to leave voluntarily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

deRanged wrote: »
    still there this morning, though the orange tent is gone. :)
    Probably nicked when someone heard it was worth €300.

Ernest Cantillon runs Electric Restaurant and Bar next to the camp, as well as other city centre businesses. He said that for almost a month, there has only been one man in the camp.
    “They are down to one man,” he told The Cork Independent. “The Occupy Cork guys called into me and said that were finished. They had previously told me that they would be gone after Christmas.”
    He also claims that Cork City Council moved the stage for the St Patrick’s Day Festival, so that it blocks any view of the camp. This will cost him in the region of €10,000 in lost revenue, he estimates.
    “St Patrick’s Day is the biggest day of the year for bars and restaurants. (The camp) is going to cost me money for the first time,” he explains. For this reason, he wants the camp gone. He fears it will cost him money over the summer, as customers won’t be able to sit outside..........................

Electric have a smoking area for their patrons to sit avail of when sitting outside, I can't fathom how customers of Electric are allowed sit on public property drinking away.

They don't. Electric have their own beer garden area which is fenced off. There's separate double seat picnic style tables for their customers.

So how is the occupy thing preventing them sitting outside ?

Mostly due to the ugliness of it all. People prefer not to sit where there's a protest going on, if you were going to sit outside, would you chose Electric where you had to watch crusties looking like someone after an all weekend bender in need of a shower as a result of sleeping in a tent shuffling around with hand written placcards and tents everywhere, or would you go to somewhere like Fionnbarras with a great beer garden?

Given the choice of being somewhere nice, or somewhere that used to be nice but was now within 10 feet of a shanty town, I'd go somewhere nice.

I appreciate your point but I wouldn't go to Fionnbarras in a fit :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Electric have taken certain liberties in the use of that area next to them. Drinking hasn't been confined to the small smoking area.

Can hardly blame the customers. Its a lovely spot for a pint on a summers evening.

Electric will be jammed on Patricks weekend anyway. Occupy will not effect their business. And there will be no seats free on their outside area. The camp is public land where it is technically illegal to drink alcohol. I assume Electric is worried that they will not be able to sell alcohol which will then be illegally drunk on the boardwalk that they do not own. So they want the gardai to clear the area to facilitate them in making money from people breaking the law.

regress wrote: »
    The camp is public land

That area ceased to be public land when the camp was errected. The public lost the use of that area.

It's naive to assume Electric only want the camp out for the sake of the Patrick's weekend's business. It's an on-going issue for months. It's also naive to assume that Electric are the only people who want the camp removed. People are tired of it. The genuine Occupy movement left months ago, all that's left now are militant left wing Socialists.

I think the camp is an eyesore and should be cleared. It is deeply ironic though that the reason being given for clearing it is to facilitate profiteering from lawbreaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭KCAccidental

That area ceased to be public land when the camp was errected. The public lost the use of that area.

It's naive to assume Electric only want the camp out for the sake of the Patrick's weekend's business. It's an on-going issue for months. It's also naive to assume that Electric are the only people who want the camp removed. People are tired of it. The genuine Occupy movement left months ago, all that's left now are militant left wing Socialists.

that is a slur and I would ask you for your source on the political views of the remaining protesters. The occupy movement has had very little to do with the left wing in this country and any of the socialists that were involved initially moved on when the Ron Paul crowd took over. indeed occupy dame st in Dublin were putting up videos of Nigel Farage in the European Parliament. thats as far from socialism as you can get.

I would appreciate it if you didnt label anybody involved with any political persuasion. It's cheap and redundant.

It's my opinion, and I'm entitled to it - if you have a problem with my post, use the report button - you're not a Moderator here. The Occupy Cork FB page has had little to do with the Occupy movement in months and has been more concerned with the Shell to Sea protests and the Household Charge. They were also extremely close to handing out (If they didn't already hand out) 'legal advice' in the guise of the Freeman nonsense.

Ah, you ninja edited your post, specifically the bold bits demanding I take down my post. Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭KCAccidental

I don't want to report it, that's why I changed my post. I really think though you should do some research before making wild statements like you did in your previous post.

shell to sea, household charges and freeman advice, while they might be supported by some members of left wing parties they aren't specifically left wing issues and would be supported by other protesters.

why did you feel the need to bring up "militant left wingers" to support your point though? does it betray a political motive to the campaign you started? you had lots of support here before you brought socialism into it, so it's not like you need to bring a red scare tactic in to boost support.